We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady/Albany West

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady\/Albany West
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 23: English reviews
Zwolle
Level Contributor
212 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First of all I want to say that I disagree with the bad reviews. For this price you have to set your expectations at a realistic level. For a stopover I can do without he concierge, valet parking, spa and room service. What you get is a well kept clean room that has all it needs. Clean beds and linen,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dick Z
New Britain, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything looks so nice on the internet, but when we reached there, we thought our GPS had send us to the wrong location. The building is poorly kept and not clean. We wanted to cancel and go to another location, but it was too late to change our minds. My works called the place A DUMP.

Helpful?
Thank edward832
Rick P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady/Albany West, responded to this review

first of all sorry for the any inconvenience that may occure during your recent stay. we read the review and wanted to let you know that we are taking it serious. we doing some of the changes in our building and i assure you that next time when you come you will not disappoint. hope to see you soon. Again... More 

Akita, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

I would never recommend staying here to anyone under any circumstances. I did not feel safe outside after dusk (much less dark) and didn't feel all that safe in the hotel, either. There was constant noise from the area, and my daylight excursions led to the unmistakable conclusion that it was a rough neighborhood. The rooms are mediocre, at best.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travis S
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

This is my second time staying at this hotel in the past 10 years and have to say that the hotel itself has gotten significantly better in that time. It appears to be under different management, my room was a little smelly, but definitely clean. Kudos. That said, the neighborhood is just NOT SAFE. Period. Schenectady, while getting better, is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank union_grad
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

Hotel in Disrepair, Atrocious Unresponsive Staff & Service, located in crime and drug infested neighborhood. Be prepared to wait until the sun shines before venturing outside. Don't ask for more TP, towels, or pillows. Your request will be met with derision! There is nothing redeeming about this waste of public lodging!!!

Helpful?
Thank Tom L
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

My husband and I have stayed here at least a dozen times over the past couple years while visiting our kids at Union. Pros..rooms are always clean with crisp linens and towels, easy check-in, it's always quiet at night.The owners are nice and accommodating. The rooms are inexpensive and make it an excellent value. The hotel is only a couple... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynn374
Rick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady/Albany West, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave such a nice review. We try very hard to make our guests comfortable, we are glad that you had an enjoyable visit. Schenectady is up and coming. Presently they are building a casino only a mile away! Hope to see you when you're back in... More 

Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

This hotel is in a "fringe" neighborhood. There are security cameras covering the outside, for what it's worth. The room was clean, but it had lots of poor repairs and the heater/ac was a piece of junk. The room had a musty/smoky smell to it even thought it is a no smoking room. For what I paid for this room... More 

Helpful?
Thank EllenFA_13
Rick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady/Albany West, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not have a comfortable stay with us. We are not sure about the air conditioner, because they are all the same at our hotel and are in great running order. If you were having trouble turning the ac on we wished you had called the front desk, we would have been more than... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015 via mobile

Check in at 5pm sun rate 65 online and when got there was 78 this not the first time at this hotel customers service sucks 1030 am there knocking on the doors telling you check out there's not late check out and lots of Noise think they rent to the city this was my last time staying there June 14... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eugene P
Cooperstown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

The hotel was a very uneasy and uncomfortable experience. The room itself only had one outlet with 2 plugs just enough for frig and alarm clock which were across the room. Alarm clock was not by the bed.Only other outlet was in the bathroom. The room was not that clean and the shower looked dirty and run down. Curtains wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank octopus12221977
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the motel last minute. When checking in, the staff didn't make eye contact. The room was small, there were stains on the carpet and bedding! The room took so long to warm up. There was no iron and when we asked for one, we were told to come back in the morning! This place is so shady! Pay... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank shirley a
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schenectady
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Schenectady
Hampton Inn Schenectady
#1 of 13 in Schenectady
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Parker Inn & Suites
The Parker Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#4 of 13 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Schenectady
Quality Inn Schenectady
#7 of 13 in Schenectady
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stockade Inn
The Stockade Inn
#6 of 13 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady/Albany West

Address: 759 State St, Schenectady, NY 12307-1288
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Price Range: $73 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady/Albany West 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady/Albany West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Schenectady
Schenectady Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay