We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gideon Putnam

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
Panoramas (8)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

925 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 922: English reviews
Beach Haven, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a nice old hotel with beautiful grounds. The spa is wonderful - recommend a mineral bath and massage. Enjoy a good meal on the patio, especially the Sunday brunch. It is easy to walk to an event at the SPAC

Helpful?
Thank jenniferdericks
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Even a quick getaway can "recharge the battery." It sounds like you had a perfectly wonderful stay. Thank you for choosing The Gideon Putnam! More 

Palm Springs, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The setting and grounds were lovely and the amenities available at the hotel were standard resort. We found the staff to be average. Upon returning in the evening after a long day, we found housekeeping had failed to clean our room. The error was addressed by a maintenance man while we went out to dinner. He did a cursory job... More 

Helpful?
Thank Skindiva
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

I am sorry we failed to provide you with a higher level of service. I have shared your comments with our Executive Housekeeper. We begin our next major renovation today, starting with the ballroom/conference center - we are very excited about it! We hope you will return next year to see the changes we will be making to the guestrooms.... More 

Woodmere, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Convenient location in a park-like setting. Very friendly staff. Lovely restaurant with outdoor dining option. Lots of choices on the menu. Room was clean. Free parking available. Front desk staff were helpful and courteous.

Helpful?
Thank jkgcrg
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a perfectly wonderful visit! Thank you so much for finding The Gideon Putnam, and for taking the time to share your experience. Please come see us again. More 

western ma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Gideon Putnam because it is very close to the SPAC and it has a free shuttle that will take you everywhere in town. We knew this hotel was going to be old but we didn't realize it wasn't going to be maintained either. The outside grounds are beautiful- well-maintained flower beds and a lovely front area... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank janea8
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are a 1935 historic hotel. The elevator and bathrooms are original, and the room configurations vary. Some of the rooms are smaller than others. Mattresses were replaced within the past several years, and pillows were replaced this past Winter. This hotel is well-maintained and we take great pride in being the caretakers. However, we... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our visit was just a bit less perfect than it has been in the past; just before racing season started, so they get a pass. Those familiar with this hotel seem to find a way back. The location is stellar, there's great golf nearby and we've always felt like welcomed guests. Looking forward to our next visit!!

Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your love of The Gideon Putnam, and for finding your way back to us. I am sorry this visit was a little less than perfect. In two days we start our next major renovation, so hopefully we will have made some good progress by your next visit! More 

Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Stayed one night at the Gideon so that we could attend the opening day at the Saratoga Race track. Our room was great, very comfortable beds. The breakfast was good but service was terrible, we waited at least ten minutes before our coffee came and coffee was getting cold by the time the cream came. We waited 45 minutes for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stonetravel2013
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

I am glad to hear you love the beauty of our hotel. But your breakfast service was certainly unacceptable. I will share your comments with our Food & Beverage Manager. This is certainly something we can easily improve. Thank you. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Old fashioned hotel in the middle of Saratoga Springs. Close to downtown Saratoga, Spac, many mineral springs, Victoria Pool, race track... Jog walk or cycle to just about everything. blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah 200 words!

Helpful?
Thank steven b
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

No, please, go on!! We love to hear all the great things our guests have to say about us, the Park... Saratoga!! Stay at The Gideon Putnam, and the opportunities are endless. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Over 30 years ago my husband and I were married at The Hall of Springs and all of our guests, including ourselves (being from out of town) spent the weekend at The Gideon. We were so happy to stay in what seemed to be a very classy hotel with its historical past set in beautiful grounds. Even then the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank sendfield
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a wonderful stay at the Gideon Putnam for my birthday - we were there for 3 nights. The staff was pleasant, helpful, and professional. Our room was large and comfortable, although could have been a tad cleaner - blinds needed dusting, the rug was stained. Beds were comfy, towels new and clean.....bathroom amenities were lovely. We will definitely go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday here with us. I am thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay. Next week we begin our next big renovation, starting with the conference center/ballroom. By the time you return next year, guestrooms should be well underway! More 

Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has many lovely common areas, although some of the conference rooms are poorly lit and showing wear. The staff is friendly and the grounds are beautiful. For those reasons, I'd love to give this place a better review but my room was not so good- especially for the price. I had a king sized bed in a room... More 

Helpful?
Thank joyhiggs
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very excited to start our next major renovation next week! We will start with the conference center/ballroom, but when we get to the guestrooms, we will be addressing lighting, and AC, carpet.... everything. Thank you for also pointing out some of the things that you enjoyed about your stay.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

323 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (163)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (22)
Viewed
Large Porch Suite (25)
Viewed
Putnam Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Standard Room with Two Double Beds (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#4 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#3 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#8 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Springs
Hilton Garden Inn Saratoga Sprin...
#7 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Some places are just different. You feel it. You sense it. And when you're there it welcomes you. It encourages you, and it leaves you in a better place than when you arrived. A place that is legendary for making people feel better. It's not just a hotel. It's the cure for what ails you. The Gideon Putnm is a classic boutique hotel located in resort-like setting of Saratoga Spa State Park, minutes from downtown Saratoga Springs and the Adirondack Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gideon Putnam

Address: 24 Gideon Putnam Rd, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-6218 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Price Range: $181 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gideon Putnam 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gideon Putnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gideon Putnam Saratoga Springs
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#11 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay