We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brentwood Hotel

Save
Share
15 Gridley Street, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-5226
eDreams
FindHotel
Lol.travel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (15)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#11 of 35 hotels in Saratoga Springs
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Located steps away from the historic Saratoga Race Course, the Brentwood boasts 12 carefully appointed rooms with splendid race views. Rooms feel classic, but are subtly skewed with an inventive use of materials – an old world character executed with a modern resourcefulness. A short bike ride to downtown, the Brentwood is the ideal outpost for a race weekend or family vacation to Saratoga Springs and its surrounding natural wonders. We look forward to having you as our guest.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Wifi
Happy hour
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
168Reviews1Q+A25Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 123
  • 31
  • 3
  • 8
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
S.L. wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
Customer Service Its off season, COVID is a thing right now, staffing (As it was reiterated to us) is minimal--maybe this was the cause for lack of good accommodating service/management? Contactless check-in, zero explanation of room amenities. They advertise/market bike rentals, smore kits, record playing (they own outdoor speakers even if the bar was in fact closed) coffee on their website and social media platforms for incentives to visiting their establishment--were we supposed to inquire with the bartender as she was the only person on-site during our 2 night stay? Were we supposed to ask during booking reservations? I'm confused who to speak to and when the appropriate time is as there was only 1 person on staff running the bar. Very confusing and frustrating. We felt we were more of a bother than an actual guest. Room Beds are damn comfortable, Clean, minimalistic, scandinavian modern decor. The Bathroom is small and dark, there's no window and there's very low lighting. The rooms are just big enough to hold a bed and some room to move around it, but that's generally it. There was 1 wooden chair and a tiny round table. What you see in photos is what you get, don't expect anything grander. WALLS ARE PAPER THIN. You can hear everything being said/done. Not just from outside, but from rooms down. We got no sleep at night or in the morning as there was a child in the room next to ours and late nights from people hanging in the patio area. I can't imagine wha the noise level is like when racing season is in full swing--yikes. THERES NO THERMOSTAT! AC or Heat. We found a space heater next to the fridge. We searched high and low for a nob on the wall or any indication that we could adjust the temp particularly for the AC as the temp outside was 80 that day--but found nothing. We slept hot and without covers. Conclusion is the temp is 100% controlled. Location A stones throw and i mean "feet" in distance to the Saratoga Racing track. The surrounding land is acres and acres of stables and housing for the track activities. We visited during the off-season and even with the lack of people, the cars driving back and forth down the street was distracting. The property is kitty cornered on a residential street and side street for the racing track and casino. Ambiance They heavily advertise their bar service as well as the fire pit. Bar operating hours 12:00P - 11:00P. During our visit we were told bar service runs until 8, fire runs until 8. She (Bartender) clocks out at 8. First night the fire ran for two hours and the second the fire pit wasn't lit at all that day. IF THE FIRE & DRINKS are added incentives for your visit. PLEASE KEEP IN MIND their hours change frequently and without notice. You need to poke at them for your amenities as they don't go out of their way to make these things known. If you don't ask for the fire, it won't get lit. If you want water, tea--it comes with a cost. And the fire can only be started/distinguished by a staff member during their operational hours. During our visit here we learned Governor Andrew Cuomo initiated an executive order to mandate that food must be sold with alcohol at bars and restaurants. If you want a drink, a snack must be purchased by every person. If you have 5 ppl in your party, that's 5 snack orders on top of your beverages. I get the reasoning, but this is frustrating when traveling to the state and get added costs to your travels. Conclusion We played so many guessing games here. Came from out of state only to learn that everyone appears tired, run down, unfriendly and annoyed. SO many things made zero sense. How are you supposed to relax/enjoy your stay and get what you pay for when management/service is non existent. I've been routed to e-mail them concerns--have done just that and have yet to receive acknowledgment for any communication. This tells me everything I need to know about who they are as individuals. *Insert deep breaths* This was my present to my boyfriend, I paid damn good money for our visit and felt utterly embarrassed by the experience. I haven't apologized so much in one night--as if this was my doing? Needless to say--we won't be back, I won't be hyping them up. Im tired. They need to do better. Dear owners, maybe it's time to reevaluate whether or not running an Inn business is for you. If you don't give a hoot then don't expect to have happy repeat customers. Goodluck to future travelers.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Rezin, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review, and for sharing your concerns. I'm sorry to hear your experience at the Brentwood was so disappointing. It is never our intention to mislead our guests or misrepresent our offerings. We sincerely strive to do the best we can to offer an enjoyable and memorable guest experience. With that, I am truly sorry we were not able to meet your expectations. I will do my best to address each of your concerns, as I feel it is important to clarify details in the best interest of accurately portraying our offerings for future travelers. In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, we have instituted 100% contactless procedures and increased pre-arrival communication — including an email, welcome text, digital registration, and a follow-up phone call — to ensure our guests are educated on how to check in, when hotel staff will be available, and how to best reach hotel staff during their stay. I do apologize if any information was unclear during your pre-arrival communications. Information about our in-room and on-site amenities (like bike rentals, s’mores kits, and coffee) is available on our website, with more detailed information available to you in our guest services app. Our bikes are offered first-come first-served, and are only available by request, because we ask guests to fill out a waiver before taking a bike off property. Our bar, lobby, and front desk are all one, and are staffed by the same person at any given time. On property, guests are encouraged to contact hotel staff by text, phone, or in person. Every member of our staff is trained to assist guests with any needs that may arise, and we would have been more than happy to relay any additional details pertaining to our amenities had you asked. While our rooms are appointed the same, each room is slightly different. That said, the room you booked does not have an additional window in the bathroom, but most of our single king rooms do. Ceiling lights in our guest rooms are dimmable. I do apologize if you missed the dimmer switch on your bathroom light. Regarding room size, while the double queen room that you stayed in is actually one of our largest rooms, the size of our rooms is typical for a motor lodge structure like ours. That said, we are uniquely set up for shorter stays, and I often go so far as to deter guests from booking extended stays in the interest of their general comfort. I'm sorry to hear other guests caused such a disturbance. It's an unfortunate reality of sharing quarters, and while we do our best to make quiet hours known to guests, there are instances where we are unable to properly enforce them. Had you brought either of these instances to our attention while you were here, we would have been able to address them with those guests or gladly offered to move you to a different room. During the 8 week racing season each summer, our corner of the neighborhood is very lively. On weekends, live music can be enjoyed across the street until 11pm. I'm sorry you found the temperature in your room uncomfortable. There are limitations with the age of our buildings that prevent us from offering individually zoned rooms. As with everything, we do our best to offer the most comfortable conditions we can, but that can often be difficult with said limitations, especially this time of year. Early spring in upstate New York is one of the least predictable times of year for weather, and temperatures can swing dramatically, which is why we have space heaters and fans available for guest use. We do install wall mounted AC units seasonally, but haven't yet because nightly temperatures regularly dropped into the 30s or below. I apologize for any confusion, but we do not advertise that our bar is open until 11pm. Even during the 8-week race season — our longest hours of operation each year — we inform our guests that last call is 10:30pm. Our hours do change seasonally, more so due to staffing shortages during the current pandemic, but we do not change hours of operation on a whim or without notice. Our current hours of operation were made available to you in pre-arrival communications, on the door to our lobby, and in our guest services app. I'm sorry that you missed this, and I'm especially sorry it resulted in you feeling misled or denied any part of the experience. It is also clearly stated on several pages of our website, in pre-arrival communications, on the door to our lobby, and in our guest services app that as a COVID-19 precaution, the interior of our bar is currently closed and drinks are available at the window. Each night at closing, it is hotel policy that loose patio furniture be locked up and the fire extinguished. I'm sorry if you felt misled by the promise of a fire on the patio, or whether or not guests were allowed to manage the fire themselves, but our fire policies are clearly stated on our website, as well as in our guest services app. Weather permitting, we will make a fire each night for our guests at sundown, and occasionally by request. During the second night of your stay, lighting a fire would have displaced and disturbed other guests. I sincerely apologize that we were not able to offer this part of the experience on Saturday night. I agree, it is an important part of enjoying all of the Brentwood, so I am sorry that circumstances did not allow it. Had you brought any of these concerns to our attention while you were here, we would have done the utmost to see that they were addressed in a timely manner. Through debriefing the weekend and your concerns, I was told you spoke at length with hotel staff on the patio, but you gave no indication that anything was wrong. I am truly sorry that you left feeling confused, unwelcome, cheated, and stressed. We take great pride in providing an enjoyable and memorable escape for our guests. Being good hosts is what brings us joy, and we regularly go above and beyond for our guests. I'm sorry you chose not to give us the opportunity to do the same for you while you were here. Thank you again for staying with us. We appreciate your business.
Read more
thisismdv wrote a review Jan 2021
New York City, New York25 contributions11 helpful votes
Rang in the New Year with my boyfriend, and we had a great stay. The beds have just the right amount of firm/soft, the linens make it hard for you to want to crawl out of bed. The shower and bathroom are gorgeous with the black tile and brass details, and it was one of the best showers we’ve had. The lighting in the bathroom was a bit limiting for mirror use, as there was no window in ours. Loved the small details like the coffee kit in the room. The bonfire and to-go cocktails from the bar are a great way to enjoy the night without having to go out, especially with the current pandemic restrictions. The primary reason I’m taking one star off is because my boyfriend and I were shocked at how “thin” the walls were. We could hear neighbors on both sides of our room. A dog next door barking loudly, and the other room’s TV and a couple sounding like they’re breaking their bed frame. Even hearing loud footsteps on the wooden floors and doors slamming nearby. My boyfriend and I were luckily still able to sleep the nights away, so the sounds didn’t interrupt our stay. However, I can imagine this being a problem for light sleepers. Something to keep in mind, especially if staying during a busy holiday weekend. Location is prime. Five minutes to the amazing restaurants in town and right across from the racetrack. Shocked at how great the price was too considering it’s prime location. Recommend staying here if ever in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Rezin, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel
Responded Jan 5, 2021
Thank you for spending New Year's with us! I'm glad to hear we were able to deliver an enjoyable experience. I'm sorry to hear about the disruptions from neighboring rooms. There certainly are quirks that come with operating an old building, but I'm happy to hear it did not detract too much from your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review, we truly appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Kikirun81 wrote a review Sep 2020
San Francisco, California12 contributions15 helpful votes
We stayed at the Brentwood on recommendation from good friends of ours and it could not have been more perfect! We were traveling with our dog, who was very welcomed, and they even had a welcome package for us which was just the cutest! The room was spotless! And I so much appreciate all the tiny, perfect details within the room and property, especially with regards to the enhanced cleaning and safety measures they put in place. They were incredibly friendly and we just had such a great time! The bikes to use were so fun to explore Saratoga and the unexpected but absolutely delightful surprise was watching the racehorses walk into and out of the track for practice each morning! So fun!!! We will be back! P.S. I now want to decorate my entire apartment just like the room, lobby, and just overall decor aesthetic!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Rezin, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel
Responded Nov 18, 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I'm so happy to hear you (and your pet) enjoyed everything! Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
DRR wrote a review Mar 2020
Boston, Massachusetts6 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed here in January in a visit to the area. It's a wonderful place for a night in Saratoga. The rooms are nice, beautifully maintained, clean, and stylish. The bar area is cozy and has great design and drinks. The location is wonderful right across from the tracks and a less than 5 minute drive from the center of town and all the great food. I look forward to our next trip. The hotel is also extremely accommodating and has been very responsive with reservation requests we made this spring.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BrentwoodHotel, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. I'm happy to hear you've enjoyed your time at the Brentwood! We're happy to do whatever we can to accommodate. Looking forward to hosting you again in the future!
Read more
Catshelton wrote a review Nov 2019
19 contributions4 helpful votes
I stayed at Brentwood while I was in town for a conference and it was the perfect place to come back and wind down after a long day. If you are in town for horse racing, you couldn't ask for a better location. It is right across the street from the race track. If the weather had been a bit warmer this week I could have walked about 20 minutes to my conference, but alas, NY winter has arrived early and I had to drive 5 minutes to get there. The location is perfect, but the accommodations were even better. When I arrived Rob informed me that they had given me a king room instead of a queen--no complaints from me. By the time I left I wanted to figure out how to pack that bed up in my little compact car---it was the most comfy bed I've ever slept on. The room was spotless and it just has such a unique vibe. Staff was lovely and welcoming...I'd love to come back again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from BrentwoodHotel, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$123 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkSaratoga Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Brentwood Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Brentwood Hotel?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame (0.6 miles), Saratoga Race Course (0.6 miles), and Saratoga Casino Hotel (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Brentwood Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Brentwood Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Brentwood Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Brentwood Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Brentwood Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Brook Tavern, Pennell's Restaurant, and Morton's the Steakhouse.
Are pets allowed at Brentwood Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Brentwood Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Petrified Sea Gardens (3.8 miles).
Is Brentwood Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.