We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SaraPlacid Inn & Suites

Save
Share
445 Lake Flower Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-2463
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (31)
Room & Suite (40)
Pool & Beach (6)

About

#4 of 9 hotels in Saranac Lake
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Since 1983, Sara Placid Inn & Suites has been a serene retreat and a home away from home for people wanting to escape to the heart of the majestic Adirondacks. Find us in the historic village of Saranac Lake, where you’ll have your choice between a variety of immaculate, well-appointed accommodations, from our motel rooms to our suites and condos, complete with views of the mountains, water, and stars. Wake up to the crisp mountain air and a hot cup of coffee as you explore our spacious private land, complete with gazebos and right across the street from Lake Flower. When you’re ready for adventure, kayaking, hiking, biking, boating, and just about any other adventure you could dream of are just minutes away.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Lake View
135Reviews0Q+A31Room tips

Reviews

Earn 100 points towards your next badge level for every review you write
Traveler rating
  • 89
  • 31
  • 7
  • 2
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bodenboys wrote a review Jun 2020
Stanhope, New Jersey96 contributions39 helpful votes
Our family just spent the weekend at the deluxe house at SaraPlacid. The house was really nice and comfortable. The house was very, very clean which eased my mind a bit about COVID too. Everything you could want was there including a great tv and WiFi which kept my 4 teenage boys happy too. The owners were super nice as well. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Kristen B wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
We needed a place to stay with very little notice. This quaint inn on Lake Flower has a great location and the owners are incredibly nice. Across the street from the lake, tennis courts and local marina where you can rent boats. Short walk to the Village of Saranac Lake and just 5 miles or so to Lake Placid. If you love the Adirondacks and want an affordable vacation, try SaraPlacid Inn & Suites!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
G G wrote a review Feb 2020
10 contributions
We stayed at the SaraPlacid Inn & Suites this past weekend for the Saranac Lake Winter Carnival and we would highly recommend it. Located close enough to town that it's an easy walk but just far enough not to pose a problem with traffic during the carnival, this inn's best feature, beyond it's beautiful surroundings, are its new owners. They were kind enough to let us check in early so we'd have a place to park (a local informed us that trying to park in the village during the carnival would be a waste of time, if we could even make it past the traffic). The price was reasonable for such a busy weekend. With their gazebo on the lake, an interesting idea that I hope they'll consider down the road is mini-elopement packages. The location is ideal for something like that. Well done!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Scenic57505015754, Front Office Manager at SaraPlacid Inn & Suites
Responded Feb 5, 2020
We thank you very much for choosing the Sara Placid Inn and Suites for you stay while here enjoying the Winter Carnival. As you said we are a comfortable walking distance to downtown Saranac Lake and many more venues and amenities, our location is perfectly nestled between McKenzie Pond and Lake Flower with wonderful views all year round from the Gazebo, and the idea of the mini-elopement packages is something we have considered, there may be more to come on that subject in the future so keep in touch. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Read more
Jeff F wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
I am traveling frequently to the Lake placid/ Saranac lake area and needed a hotel on an ongoing basis. What luck to find the Saraplacid! It's conveniently located on the road between Saranac Lake and Lake Placid. From the road It looks like an old fashioned motel from the 1950s. Nothing to write home about. But once you get inside it's great! Great internet access, big screen TVs, everything you need. I really liked the free Hulu, YouTube,Netflix and was very pleased to find that the TVs had multiple HDMI inputs for games, laptops, smart phones, etc. Really sweet setup! Rooms are old fashioned, spacious and very, very comfortable and QUIET. All the rooms are different. I can't wait to try the Jacuzzi room on my next trip. But the best part is the owners, John(?) and Colleen Farmer. They are small business owners and make sure you are well taken care of. Last time I was there I left in a rush and forgot to take my stuff out of the bathroom. Colleen called me the next day and said she would keep them behind the desk until my next visit. The service is so personal. They are also the cheapest hotel in town. I stayed at the other two this summer and if you're rich you might like the Hotel Saranac better but it's no bargain. If you're not rich or like a good deal then SaraPlacid is the best!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Scenic57505015754, Owner at SaraPlacid Inn & Suites
Responded Nov 16, 2019
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again ! bob.
Read more
Lakelover69 wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions
Absolutely terrible. We made a list of complaints the first night with 23 different things on it. ON THE FIRST NIGHT. They include (but aren't limited to) -Strong unbearable smell of pot -Unvaccumed floors, dirty walls, dirty bathroom, full trash can, full of bugs and dust -PUBIC HAIRS WERE FOUND IN OUR BED It was so gross we had to buy a mattress cover, use our own blankets as a sheet, and use our own pillows and blankets. Truly disgusted and we can't believe they would rent out a room in this condition. Someone did come in to clean it after we complained, and it's decent at least now, so we appreciate that, but that shouldn't have needed to happen in the first place. The only good parts are the wifi and hot water. My suggestion, stay far away.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Please don't stay here, it is not a good idea.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Scenic57505015754, Owner at SaraPlacid Inn & Suites
Responded Nov 16, 2019
First, Thank you for staying with us. My wife and I purchased this motel last summer and have made many upgrades and will continue until our vision of providing first class lodging is met. I heard about your stay from my staff and I will say that I am truly sorry for your experience. I wish we had spoke before you left. I do know that we had some contractors here before you arrived and I confronted them about the pot smoking and fined them $250. I also told them that if it happened again they would not return. As far as the condition of your room I can only say that the cleanliness of the rooms is our #1 priority and we get many positive comments about our room conditions. We closely monitor how well the rooms are cleaned and overall the staff do an excellent job cleaning the rooms. As a small business our survival depends greatly on our reviews. A bad review is harmful to our business so we take them very seriously. Feel free to contact us (518-891-2729) and talk with either Bob or Colleen to discuss your experience. We look forward to speaking with you.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$110 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sara-placid motor hotel saranac lake
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sara-Placid Motor Inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkSaranac Lake
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about SaraPlacid Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to SaraPlacid Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Blue Line Brewery (0.2 miles), Pendragon Theatre (0.6 miles), and Moody Pond (0.7 miles).
Which room amenities are available at SaraPlacid Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at SaraPlacid Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SaraPlacid Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lakeview Deli, Blue Line Brewery Pizza & Pub, and Mckenzie's Grille.
Is SaraPlacid Inn & Suites located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Saranac Lake.
Are there any historical sites close to SaraPlacid Inn & Suites?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Saranac Laboratory Museum (0.9 miles) and Bartok Cabin (0.4 miles).
Does SaraPlacid Inn & Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.