We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
222 Beaverwood Rd, Saranac Lake, NY 12983-3029
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Lol.travel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (42)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (6)

About

#1 of 9 hotels in Saranac Lake
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Point is a world apart. A Private, adult only, Adirondack estate on the edge of a shining mountain lake. A Great Camp of the Great North Woods, built by William Avery Rockefeller a century ago as his family’s private home. Today The Point is a resort like no other, a magnificent log retreat full of priceless art and fine antiques, where guests gather as the high society of the Gilded Ages once did at vibrant house parties deep in the forest. As a guest of The Point, the secluded, 75-acre property is yours, the days unfold at your leisure, and the staff anticipates your every need. Each meal is an event, each day an adventure, each night a celebration. It is simple, splendid, authentic. It is a perfect place.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Tennis court
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Historic Hotel

Location

Full view
129Reviews6Q+A44Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 120
  • 5
  • 1
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
robynrus wrote a review Apr 16
St. Petersburg, Florida28 contributions34 helpful votes
My husband and I split time between the ADKs and FL. We are fairly frequent guests at the Lake Placid Lodge and Whiteface Lodge. This was our first trip to the Point -- we stayed two nights for our 5-year wedding anniversary. The property is absolutely beautiful. If you like ADK architecture and vibes, it just doesn't get better than the Point. The food was shockingly good - we were expecting "good," but a number of dishes were excellent. Service was super kind and helpful, but not 5-star at a $3500/night (inclusive) price point. Frankly, this was OK with us given that it is a pandemic and it has been a tough year for a lot of industries, particularly hospitality. The second night we had dinner in our suite, we had the most amazing server - wish I could remember her name. She was exceptional. We stayed in Trapper's, which is our only real complaint. The noise from the above room on our first night was intolerable. There were three couples partying in the above suite (think loud music and dancing on the wood floor over our heads) until almost 2:00 am. Not what you would expect at a resort like The Point. Unfortunately, they were up at 6:00am making even more noise (doing what I presume was an exercise regimen of sorts or something equally loud?). In retrospect, we should have complained that evening, but my husband and I chose not to (it is covid-times after all, and we understand the need to let off steam). We reported the issue the next morning and were comped in-room massages, which was a nice gesture. We will definitely return in the future, perhaps for a family reunion or another special occasion, but we would chose a different suite.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Trapper's was very noisy with guests overhead and the pub next door. We chose poorly.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Lisa wrote a review Mar 2021
New York City, New York1 contribution
I cannot say enough positive things about The Point! This was our first getaway since early 2020 and it was exactly what we needed. Starting with our phone call with a lovely lady we felt valued and that the property was genuinely excited to have us. From the second we stepped on property to our departure (which was accompanied by a gourmet to- go lunch) the experience only kept improving. The staff is welcoming and always ready to go above and beyond. On the day of our arrival, we were greeted with a bottle of champagne in the room. The dining experience on Saturday night was unlike anything else. From cocktails to dinner service the entire meal was magical. For dessert we were served a vanilla cake with chocolate frosting- his favorite! That night we mentioned hiking at dinner and that morning was a list of hiking trails for us to try. The entire day was an experience, better than I could have imagined or planned myself. Waiting for us after the trails was a roaring fireplace and gourmet lunch spread. If you are looking for a place to completely unwind and leave your worries at the door this is the place. The entire property is steeped in detail that shows through every aspect of the stay. This is just one of the many amazing moments we experienced during our stay. We cannot wait for our next chance to stay at this one-of-a-kind property.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Maiurano, General Manager at The Point
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Lisa224422, Thank you for your wonderful response! We strive to make all of our guests feel welcomed from the moment they make their reservation to arriving on property. Our culinary and guest services team strives to personalize each experience and we are elated you enjoyed these personal touches. It was a pleasure having you with us and we can not wait to welcome you back to enjoy another season at The Point! Warmly, Joe Maiurano, General Manager
Read more
Doug H. wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
My husband and I visited The Point in November hoping to enjoy a quiet weekend before the holidays got underway. We had always been intrigued by The Point. Friends had visited and raved about it. A few days of R and R sounded like a good plan. The service, the accommodations and the food far exceeded our expectations. Our room was a sumptuous space with a fireplace you could almost stand in. The fire wood supply was endless. We consciously fought not to be the type of guest that never left their room. We wanted to explore the environment but leaving the extreme comfort of The Rockefeller suite was a challenge. We did finally get out on Saturday and took a tour on the trail that hugs the lake. This led us to another property on the grounds, Camp David, that sits apart in the woods surrounded by birch and ash trees—no electricity or running water but again a massive and roaring fire and a luncheon prepared by the kitchen. This was arranged unbeknownst to me by my spouse at the suggestion of Jenni in the main office. This was a country barbecue fit for a king. Later in the afternoon, we enjoyed a cocktail in a lean-to situated on bluff overlooking the lake. There is no limit to what the staff will do to accommodate their guests. It seems any request is answered by “of course.” Any review that failed to mention the food would be criminally remiss. Breakfast, lunch and diner were remarkable in their creative expression. If attention to detail means anything anymore, The Point is miles ahead of the best resorts in a comparable class. In a world of mediocrity, this sets a bar few can claim. We’ll be back. Once in every season of the Adirondacks doesn’t seem like too much to ask. Kip and Doug H.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Maiurano, General Manager at The Point
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear TheTravelinDupise, Thank you for your lovely reply! It was wonderful having you on property and I am overjoyed to hear that you found such comfort in your room. I am thrilled that you found a moment to leave the fireplace for a Camp David excursion, as it is one of my favorite locations on property as well. Our front office team works exceptionally hard to ensure each guest experiences The Point in a unique way. We have passed on these praises to our Front Office and Guest Services team as they strive to create personalized and memorable stays. We hope to see you again soon! Joe Maiurano
Read more
Nate L wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
This September I worked with the staff of The Point to propose to my fiancé and it was truly the experience of a lifetime. We had a number of friends who had visited the point in the past and sworn to its charm and serenity but our experience blew any reviews out of the water. I worked with the staff for a week before our arrival to plan a special setting to do the deed and they were of spectacular help. We had multiple phone calls with different ideas and events for my proposal (including a last minute weather warning that changed our day for the better!) and we couldn’t feel luckier to have spent our special day at the point. The whole team was a part of our engagement and they prepared a special lunch for us with a photographer and champagne all while impressively not giving up the surprise! I decided to do the actual proposal right when we got on campus at the point because of all of the fun activities and offerings that were in store for the weekend and it was definitely the right call. The point gave us a little bit of everything for our special weekend. We hiked, we boated, we exercised, we played board games, we relaxed, and most importantly we ate and drank. It was a perfect marriage of relaxing and fun that we will never forget. The point made our engagement weekend feel like a true team effort and I honestly could not have done it without them. The level of service was so over the top impressive I sometimes wish we could do the whole thing again. Couldn’t recommend a stay or engagement wknd here any more. We cannot wait to get back and celebrate this special place with all of the people that made it happen.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Rich H wrote a review Mar 2021
New York City, New York2 contributions2 helpful votes
My wife and I just returned from The Point where we celebrated her birthday. We had very high expectations given reviews and experiences from other hotels across the world; I must say that The Point exceeded them. The customer service is simply the best I've ever had - they quickly learned our favorite food and beverages; bourbon for me and champagne for her. One night i forget to order my wife's customary hot chocolate and amaretto, but they delivered it anyhow. I was served Whistle Pig Boss Hog and Pappy Van Wrinkle as an after dinner cocktail each night - really, I'm not kidding - but they also introduced me to new rye's that i hadn't tried before. The wine pairings are amazing and I promise you won't be disappointed with what they pour (I was naively concerned pre-arrival). The staff is always eager to help and delivers surprises around almost every corner. Oh, my car was also filled with gas for the drive home. Amazing doesn't do it justice. My pro-tip is stay on Sunday night after most people leave following the black tie dinner on Saturday; it was magical.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Maiurano, General Manager at The Point
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear jrh9217, We are overjoyed to hear you had such a wonderful time celebrating your wife’s birthday with us and had so many magical experiences throughout your stay. Our dining room team always strives to provide amazing anticipatory service and pair wines perfectly with every dinner, and sometimes the very special bourbons! We cannot wait to welcome you back, hopefully to experience the boats in the water and the warm summer days of the Adirondacks ahead of us. Warmly, Joe Maiurano
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$2,312 - $3,435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the point hotel saranac lake, point saranac lake, point hotel saranac lake
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkSaranac Lake
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Point
Which popular attractions are close to The Point?
Nearby attractions include Coney Mountain Trail (3.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Point?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Point?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Point?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does The Point have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Point offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at The Point?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Point have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.