We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
557 Winter Clove Rd, Round Top, NY 12473-0067
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (77)
Room & Suite (17)
Videos (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Winter Clove Inn
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Round Top
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Discover Your Happy Place! Located on over 300 pristine acres and nestled at the base of North Mountain Winter Clove Inn is an all inclusive family resort offering three delicious meals served daily, indoor/outdoor heated pools, bar/lounge area, bowling alley, 9-hole golf course, miles of hiking trails, waterfalls, fitness center, tennis, basketball, volleyball, and much more. YOU'LL LOVE IT HERE!!!
Read more
Room & Suite (17)17
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Golf course
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
239Reviews11Q+A54Room tips

Reviews

Write a review and earn more badges
Traveler rating
  • 131
  • 63
  • 13
  • 16
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kayakstef wrote a review Jul 2020
22 contributions2 helpful votes
We had an amazing time at Winter Clove Inn. The hotel itself was beautiful and the grounds were amazing. Everything was cleaned often and the staff was more than up to date with all of the COVID regulations. We were impressed with the food, everything was homemade and the portion sizes were just right. Even my 11 year old picky eater was happy with the options. We had several types of electronics (iPhones, iPad, laptops and Xbox) with us and all worked well with the Wi-Fi, in the room and on the front porch. During our stay we enjoyed the fire pit and s’more night, BBQ with entertainment and a movie night with popcorn. Each event was run smoothly and without issues. We were fortunate to know about the nightly entertainment and hiking trails being posted on the bulletin board, some families missed the fire pit because they didn’t see the sign. We will definitely be back for another visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Robin G wrote a review Mar 2020
Poughkeepsie, New York91 contributions50 helpful votes
I spent the weekend there with a group of friends for a winter break and was more than pleasantly surprised. The place is old and that is part of its charm. The beautiful old floors, stairways, doors and decor in general are well-maintained, sturdy and comfortable. We spent a great deal of time in the community room by the fireplace putting a puzzle together, reading and playing games. The food was very tasty although the dining room was a bit cool and needed another heat source though this is understandable in such a large old structure. We did like the indoor pool but it could use some more attention. The rooms are very well-appointed and immaculate. The bed was comfortable, the shower and bathroom very clean as well. The weekend provided a very good workout inasmuch as there is no elevator and our rooms were on the third floor. We also enjoyed a short hike to the waterfall and covered bridge. We found the rec Hall entertaining and played pool, ping pong, shuffleboard and air hockey. We did not get to bowl but hopefully we'll be able to try that on our next visit. The Winter Clove Inn was perfect for our weekend winter escape.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Terence B wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York15 contributions1 helpful vote
In the '80's, we visited Winter Clove Inn many times with our young son. After a gap of 30 years, we decided to re-visit this family oriented inn. To our delight it still retained the charms that we loved back then. Thrilled that it continues to be run by descendants of the family that established it over 100 years ago. And now as grandparents, we loved seeing kids of all ages enjoying "old-fashioned" pleasures, such as Marco Polo in the pool, bowling, and board games in front of the fire. Can't wait to go back with our young granddaughter.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All rooms are spacious for including a couple of kids with parents. Great 4th floor for large...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Lenore Whitcomb, Owner at Winter Clove Inn
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Greetings, Welcome back! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We take great pride in being a place where families of all ages and generations can come together and reconnect. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
megh wrote a review Jan 2020
New York City, New York13 contributions4 helpful votes
We had a family reunion here. Pretty place and spacious grounds with a pretty porch. The kids loved the creek nearby. As of 2018 this was outdated which would be fine but a lot of mold smells, both very much like most places in the Catskills. The bowling alley and game room. The bedrooms. Things we wished. There was maybe more activities going on for the kids. Maybe a little night entertainment for adults. One place we stayed they had an activity director for kids and everyone loved that. And last complaint most people didn’t like the food at all some inedible and during our lunch they ran out of food. All in all at the end of it everyone had a good time and everyone is lovely and helpful. Our directors did rebook for next reunion. So there were plenty of happy people. But the younger folks 20’s - 40’s weren’t 100% pleased. I’ve read here that there have been some updates. So we are really hoping for great improvement.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from WinterCloveResort, Owner at Winter Clove Inn
Responded Jan 28, 2020
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am very concerned to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us back in 2018. We take our guest feedback very seriously as we are always striving to improve and comments like yours provide invaluable insight. I am happy to hear that your family has decided to return and stay with us once again, as you mentioned we have been busy making improvements, and renovations and am positive you will find each stay better than the last. If there is anything we can do leading up to or during your stay at Winter Clove Inn please do not hesitate to ask. Thank you, Lenore W
Read more
LaDaina wrote a review Nov 2019
New York City, New York32 contributions17 helpful votes
I liked the place, it was cosy and charming, and it gives a nice feeling. The bowling alley is really something: we enjoyed it and I felt like in a tv show (Mrs. Maisel-ish!). I would avoid the plastic fake pumpkins in the Halloween weekend, but hey... Anyway, the "old fashion" needs some adjustments. Our rooms were the 30 and 32: great wooden floors (no kidding, they were really fantastic), good beds (a little short), we slept well, but the restroom really needs some renovation, the shower (into the tub) does not work properly (it's veeery cold or veeeery hot and it takes some time to find the very tiny point of equilibrium!). And I hate the plastic curtain on the tub: who is going to take a bath in that tub? I mean: just make a nice, large, glassed, working perfectly shower and thats it! We guests don't need tubs! The restaurant is fine, fixed menu, being this a place for big family or friends reunions, good food. The service is pretty slow, but that's ok, we were not supposed to take a train... The lights are awful (I admit I am very picky with the color and intensity of lights when I eat: i would add more lights and change the bulbs in warmer yellowish ones, instead of the white cold spots they have). The lady at the bar (who i guess is the owner of the place) made a wonderful hot cocktail to me, but I don't remember the name, it was with cider and something very alcoholic. Delicious! Don't count on the heated swimming pool: it gives a sense of abandoned and mellow and you don't want to put a finger into it. Even my 10 years old daughter, who would swim in a pond, did not feel like going (not that I would have agreed...) They were really kind not to charge us for a shutter that fell down when we tried to close it. That (and the great cocktail) is the reason why I give a 4 to the service. I would come back, as perfect spot for some nice hiking trails, just out of the door. Oh btw the patio is gorgeous, but I would add some heaters, to make it pleasant in sunny but cold days like last weekend. That's all, folks!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: 30-32 are both nice, great wooden floor, nice view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Passport09975204301, Owner at Winter Clove Inn
Responded Nov 23, 2019
Greetings, Thank you for your recent stay at Winter Clove Inn and for taking the time to leave a review. It was great having you and your family stay with us and I am glad to hear you overall enjoyed your stay especially the bowling alley, hiking trails, and other features. And thanks for the compliment on the Round Top Cocktail :) With that being said it seems like some aspects of your trip did not live up to your expectations nor our standards and for that I apologize. We will certainly take a look at the bathrooms in room 30 & 32 and rectify any issues with the drain. We do cater to families and have many families with small children who prefer the tub is the reason most of our rooms have the tub/shower combo instead of an exclusive shower. Also I love the idea of adding some heaters to the front porch for the fall/spring season when temps still get chilly and will definitely look into it. Thanks for the awesome idea! We are dedicated to constantly improving our resort and guest feedback like yours provides us with invaluable information. I truly appreciate you taking the time to leave your honest feedback. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Lenore W.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$243 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
winter clove hotel round top
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkCatskill RegionRound Top
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Winter Clove Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Winter Clove Inn?
Nearby attractions include Kaaterskill Falls (3.6 miles), The Old Game Farm & Long Neck Inn (1.3 miles), and Bailiwick Animal Park (2.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Winter Clove Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Winter Clove Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Winter Clove Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Winter Clove Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Circle W General Store, Rip Van Winkle Brewing Company, and Log Cabin Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Winter Clove Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Winter Clove Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Winter Clove Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Thomas Cole National Historic Site (8.8 miles).
Does Winter Clove Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.