We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

1850 House Inn & Tavern

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
1850 House Inn & Tavern
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Found the 1850 house through yelp after searching for "Inns of the Hudson Valley" after checking In, I remember thinking to myself how this is exactly what I was looking for. We had driven up from NYC for an escape to the country. I was happy with room cleanliness and the check in process was a breeze after checking in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad D
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you Brad for your review. It makes me smile when I read that the guests feel at home and comfortable. The historic preservation of the Inn lends to a very special vibe and comfort. With that said, yes sometimes voices travel...especially in the halls. We hope you found the ear plugs in your room as our gesture of acknowledgement....

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed October 21, 2016

A very charming inn with updated rooms and amenities. The staff was extremely helpful with directions and providing an early breakfast for the road. The tavern restaurant had great food and drink! The inn is close to Hyde Park and really the best choice for the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathie B
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Cathy, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and had a great time exploring the Hudson Valley. The area is perfect for sightseeing, relaxing and enjoying nature. We can't wait for your next visit, there is plenty more to see!

Hershey, Pennsylvania
Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this lovely inn while traveling through the northeast. It is a beautiful spot with a great deck on the back that is part of the tavern several nights a week. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely furnished. Our room had a king bed and three chairs - thank you for the extra seating!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pettags
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. The deck is my favorite spot to relax and enjoy the foliage during the season. The rooms were decorated with care, thank you so much for noticing. We choose our staff with our guests needs in mind. We try to anticipate your needs before you do! We hope to see you on your next...

New York City, New York
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

I travel to this area about once a month, and I probably stayed here about a dozen times. At this point I know everyone's name and I've had a chance to get to know everyone who works there. I can say this the place is very clean. The food is very good. The staff is very kind. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happy Holiday N
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful message, after so many visits. We enjoy having you as a guest as much as you enjoy the Inn and its many nuances. Its nice to know the voice on the other end of the phone! I know we will see you soon.

East Patchogue, New York
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

Our trip to Miami was canceled due to hurricane Matthew so we decided to take an impromptu trip out to go hiking and chose this place because of all the great reviews. We where not disappointed, the staff was warm and friendly. Jimmy greeted us at check-in and suggested a hiking trail behind the movie theater which had phenomenal views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, Danielle. Rosendale's quaint vibe lends itself to a relaxing stay, filled with art, nature, great food and friendly people. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2016

Time seems to have stood still in Rosendale, which surely must be the most charming place in upstate New York, made more attractive by the lack of "gentrification". Taking a prime position on the picturesque Main Street is the 1850 House Inn and Tavern. This is certainly not a motel, but an old fashioned inn which offers old fashioned hospitality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

We thank you for the time you took to write such a wonderful review. Rosendale is a very special place and we agree it is good just as it is! To add to the charm we are Where the Mountains Meet, between the Gunks and the Catskills! Stop by the next time you pass through.

Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

We chose this establishment based on the photos on their website. It looked clean and tidy, brimming with history as their name implies. We were not disappointed. As with all our stays, we arrived late in the afternoon, dusty from a day of exploring the region. We were greeted by friendly staff and shown our room at the top of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross V
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review and pointing out a few areas we can improve in. We take constructive criticism seriously and when we replace that Keurig we plan to move to something different. Many people visit the town of Woodstock for the art and boutiques, I am sorry we didn't realize you meant The...

Elmont, New York
Reviewed September 24, 2016

We took a last minute trip to visit some New York Wineries and other local attractions. The service was friendly and wonderful, the bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept on. Dinner was very good, accompanied by a talented singer/guitarist who managed to add to the ambience of the open air deck that overlooked a lazy river.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Froeddy
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

We appreciate the kind words and glad you had a comfortable sleep! We also love the deck and on sunny winter mornings you can find me or a guest bundled up and enjoying the view! Good beds and good food mean we did our job well! Thank you.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 22, 2016

I stayed one night to do a trail race in the mountains the next day. Received a very friendly welcome, lots of good food (both dinner and breakfast) and drink, and a got a great night's sleep. The friendly atmosphere and excellent staff was the highlight for me. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

We are so glad you slept well and enjoyed your short stay. That race was a doozy. We hope to see you again, when you can stay longer.

Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewed September 20, 2016

We often like to visit the Mohonk Mountain House in New Paltz to play tennis on their clay courts and hike the property, but staying there is prohibitive. We found the 1850 House is just minutes away and offers all the charm of a historic inn and is convenient to the mountain house. The two bedroom suite is lovely with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eats0utal0t123
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It makes us happy to know that we provided the service and comfort you expected. The property is special and we enjoy sharing it with our guests. Hope to see you again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosendale
9.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
312 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
761 reviews
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
6.4 mi away
Mohonk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House
#1 of 6 in New Paltz
1,861 reviews
10.2 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A renovated historic hotel on the Rondout. The property features 11 guest rooms, a waterfront deck that serves fresh homemade food, many gluten free options are available daily. Our tavern boasts craft beers and signature cocktails. Cocktail favorites include house made red and white sangria with fresh fruit, thai chili margaritas and a garden mojito whose mint is picked on the property. We are located in Rosendale, N.Y. a town where you can park your car and walk to shops, dining, coffee, entertainment swimming and hiking. Check our promotions pages for our recent accommodations specials. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 1850 House Inn & Tavern

Address: 435 Main Street, PO Box 33, Rosendale, NY 12472
Location: United States > New York > Rosendale
Price Range: $176 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1850 House Inn & Tavern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your 1850 House Inn & Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from 1850 House Inn & Tavern staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from 1850 House Inn & Tavern staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All the rooms look to be charming.”
 of 5 bubbles 557colint, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
“The rear rooms may be quieter to not face the road, but really at night there are hardly any cars going by to even make that a huge issue.”
 of 5 bubbles DJDBrooklyn, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing Main Street might be slightly more noisy”
 of 5 bubbles vinoron, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“2 friends took the suite so we each had our own bedroom and bath(one was a half bath)”
 of 5 bubbles rodi925, Aug 19, 2016 | Read review
“Flip a coin; they are all great.”
 of 5 bubbles B4808HBroberth, Aug 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay