We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Save
Share
550 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2034
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
$199
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/30/20
eDreams
Travelocity
Priceline
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
traveler_photos_ffffe986 (168)
room_amp_suite (53)
phototagging_dining (23)

About

#3 of 29 hotels in Rochester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
hotel_amenity_free_parking
amenity_free_internet_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_pool
amenity_fitness_center_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_bar_lounge
hotel_amenity_bicycle_rental
tags_category_tag_free_airport_transportation_1
amenity_business_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_valet_parking
hotel_amenity_wifi
hotel_amenity_indoor_pool
hotel_amenity_heated_pool
hotel_amenity_sauna
hotel_amenity_restaurant
hotel_amenity_breakfast_buffet
hotel_amenity_breakfast_in_the_room
hotel_amenity_special_diet_menus
hotel_amenity_wine_champagne
hotel_amenity_vending_machine
hotel_amenity_rooftop_bar
hotel_amenity_free_shuttle_or_taxi_services
hotel_amenity_airport_transportation
hotel_amenity_shuttle_bus_service
hotel_amenity_conference_facilities
hotel_amenity_banquet_room
hotel_amenity_meeting_rooms
hotel_amenity_full_body_massage
hotel_amenity_massage
hotel_amenity_rooftop_terrace
hotel_amenity_baggage_storage
hotel_amenity_concierge
hotel_amenity_newspaper
hotel_amenity_non_smoking_hotel
hotel_amenity_outdoor_fireplace
hotel_amenity_outdoor_furniture
hotel_amenity_atm_on_site
hotel_amenity_24_hour_front_desk
hotel_amenity_express_check_in_check_out
hotel_amenity_dry_cleaning
hotel_amenity_laundry_service
Show more
Room features
hotel_amenity_fireplace
hotel_amenity_room_service
hotel_amenity_safe
hotel_amenity_flatscreen_tv
Room types
tags_category_tag_non_smoking_rooms_1
hotel_amenity_suites
hotel_amenity_family_rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
hotel_style_tag_11265
hotel_style_tag_6296
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1,220Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 865
  • 224
  • 68
  • 38
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
treandtaj wrote a review Nov 9
Rochester, New York43 contributions12 helpful votes
Stayed this weekend in 2/3 rooftop suites. Hosted a dinner party in one of the private dining rooms. Neither were cheap, and for the price I expected a level of service. The sales staff were awesome, jordan and sage! Our room was not clean, there were lemon seeds on the counters and the ceiling fans were awful, we didn’t see before turning them on and dust went flying all over the the bed. We looked at the others and they were the same, the couch arm rests were filthy also. We were told the rooftop bar and fire pit would be open, both of which I confirmed the Thursday before our saturday arrival, and both were closed. We were told there were staff issues?? Well, that’s not our fault? We paid a lot for our rooms for the experience. I get COVID but that wasn’t the reason. At dinner, our waiter dumped a lemon drop martini down the back of my guest. No compensation was offered. Not even a drink on the house? That is ridiculous. She was sticky and wet for the entire meal. Then I had two guests order a steak which apparently they sold out of. So they were stuck paying >$20 for an alternative. Something should have been said. But this couple was on a budget and ended up paying twice the price. Idk- communication could have been better. Overall, was disappointing! Rooms should be cleaner, all rooms, but the rooftop suites you would expect attention to detail. This is typically a great hotel but the attention to detail seemed gone, and I don’t feel I got my money’s worth at all
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Agency / Consultant at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the poor service you received that impacted your dinner party. It is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way, so we will certainly follow up with our team to address all the problems you outlined. We are also sorry for the cleanliness issues you encountered in your room. Your feedback has been relayed to our housekeeping department, and we will make sure steps are taken to prevent such things from occurring again. Please consider giving us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional experience you deserve. Sincerely, Paul Walters General Manager
Read more
high speed aluminium wrote a review Oct 2020
Norfolk, Virginia136 contributions20 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Very short stay last week. I am a Hilton Honors member. Several of my group have Diamond status. At check in, a front desk person greeted my group with less than hospitable tone. Lobby was beautiful, and the restaurant was amazing. It looked like a place locals go to have a nice meal. They gave me a suite. The rooms were very nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. Hotel seems to be situated in a neighborhood close to downtown. I would like to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: my room was located over the front entrance. it was loud when the restaurant closed.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Agency / Consultant at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded Oct 20, 2020
Thank you for being a valued Hilton Honors member. We love our loyal guests and appreciate your great feedback. We are happy to see you had a fantastic stay with us and that you loved your well-appointed accommodations. It is also delightful to see you were pleased with our beautiful, modern property and our on-site restaurant. It was our pleasure accommodating you and your group at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, and we love knowing you will return soon. Sincerely, Paul Walters General Manager
Read more
Fltchick wrote a review Oct 2020
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina173 contributions48 helpful votes
When checking in, Ryan, the front desk clerk was rushed and flustered. I am a diamond member with Hilton and wanted to ask a couple of question after I had received my key, but Ryan was done with me and told me he had other guests waiting behind me. If this job is too much stress for you then find another job. Meanwhile what looked to be management was standing there looking on. Not sure why he doesn’t help Ryan. It seems they are more concerned about policing masks and distancing than taking care of guests. This diamond won’t be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Agency / Consultant at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded Oct 17, 2020
First and foremost, thank you for your loyalty to our hotels. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and for the poor service you received from one of our front desk staff. We are known for our exceptional service and attention to detail; therefore, we regret this was not your experience. We have reviewed your comments with our team to correct and prevent these issues from repeating. We look forward to another opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, Paul Walters General Manager
Read more
Mike B wrote a review Oct 2020
Vicksburg, Mississippi1 contribution
We had booked two rooms, one on the Hilton Honors Floor and a suite on the 8th floor which is the most expensive rooms. We were unable to sleep due to constant sliding of furniture, sliding glass doors or some other event at all hours of the night. Loud people in the hallway, broken glass in the hallway of the Hilton Honors Floor, people yelling and banging into the walls. The management has no control at this hotel. While waiting for the elevator, the security guard got into an argument with patron and both were screaming and dropping F-bombs every other word. As a Hilton Gold Patron it made me wonder why I would pay so much for a stay that was no better than a Motel 6. Your management team needs to be replaced and the bar and maintenance staff need to be more respective of your loyal patrons. Will never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Agency / Consultant at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Responded Oct 5, 2020
Thank you for being our guest. We are sorry you were disturbed by the nearby guests and the inconvenience you had due to it. Your comfort is very important to us. Please be assured that we are reviewing this with our front office staff to make sure we are doing everything possible to prevent this type of situation. We also regret your disappointment with the service you received from some of our associates. We have shared your feedback with our team to be more diligent going forward. We hope you will give us a second chance to deliver the type of experience you should always expect from our hotel. Sincerely, Paul Walters General Manager
Read more
Debi P wrote a review Sep 2020
chicago, IL143 contributions41 helpful votes
Stayed 2 nights with our dog while visiting our daughter at RIT. Staff is super nice. Char restaurant is fabulous both food and service. Hotel is older but it got a face lift in lobby and restaurant areas. Rooms a bit dated but very clean. Area is really pretty and close to many attractions, not sure open during Covid.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
ur_question.prompt.11
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$171 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
strathallan hotel rochester
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkFinger LakesRochester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
155
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include Memorial Art Gallery (0.2 miles), Rochester Pedal Tours (0.3 miles), and Rochester Museum & Science Center (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
What food & drink options are available at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Char, Edibles Restaurant, and Roam Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton?
Many travelers enjoy visiting National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House (2.0 miles), Stone-Tolan House Historic Site (2.6 miles), and Holy Sepulchre Cemetery (4.6 miles).
Is The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.