We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lake House

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lake House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
214 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Travelling to see the Major League Baseball Hall of Fame and never hav ing been in the area we do the usual, check out TripAdvisor for restaurants in the area. When we got to the first one it was closed (on a saturday night) the second one wasn't much to look at but we had sighted a sign saying "Lake... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rick A
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

What a terrific review. You covered virtually every aspect of what we think a customer should be evaluating when choosing a business such as ours. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again More 

Albany, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We phoned in a sandwich order from out on the lake this past Sunday. We arrived at their dock and walked the grounds up to the back deck and restaurant. It was very easy. We ate sandwiches on the boat. They put in ketchup for the fries and napkins without asking. All of the sandwiches were tasty and fresh, even... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob F
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

I would like to extend on behalf of our entire organization our gratitude for your continued patronage. Your comments regarding our business is most appreciated. We are thrilled that you feel led to share your comments with fellow consumers. Thank you. More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Lake House and grounds are very well kept and deserve all the accolades that it has received. Cooperstown, NY may be home to the baseball hall of fame, but the Lake House has been there for many, many years and deserves recognition as a jewel in the quaint NY village of Richfield Springs only a few miles away on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ryan c
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

I see that you visited our business last week. We appreciate your conveying thoughts with fellow consumers who hopefully might be our future satisfied customers as well. As you probably realize, consumer reviews are the number one determinant for influencing other consumers. Thanks and thanks again for your patronage. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Please read the negative reviews closely as they mimic our awful experience to a T. - Greeted with owner who said "are you sure you're supposed to be in this hotel?" Entryway is cluttered and there were 2 cats and a dog wandering around. This leads directly into the restaurant; completely unsanitary. It stank of litter box and was only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katrina S

Travelers are raving about these Richfield Springs hotels

New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

The Reuben sandwich was very good. The coleslaw was some of the best I've had. The staff were very, very accommodating to our special, gluten-quests A good selection of beers on teal and specialty brands in the bottle. Good music played as we sat on the deck.

Helpful?
Thank Frank W
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to provide fellow consumers with your rich perspective. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Manlius, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016

Great place if traveling with pets. The owner was very nice and helpful in directing us to restaurants and other amenities in Cooperstown. Great place in the country to stay while visiting Cooperstown. Overall, we got a great room at a great price and dealt with great people.

Helpful?
Thank erie c
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016

I rented this property for a gentlemens getaway and it was perfect! The owner was extremely gracious in welcoming the group and made sure the lake house was fully prepared. The amenities were top notch and we left with a feeling of not wanting to leave!

Helpful?
1 Thank kenny p
Cooperstown, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016 via mobile

Well let's start with the " office seems to be the same as the entrance to the restaurant. But it is so popular around here and the food isn't cheap. Quite often they have live music. So I needed a room and got one for $60. But it smelled since the restaurant is below. It was hot in February in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank patriciafurlan
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2016

If I could give this place negative stars, I would. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! The place is filthy, our sheets were dirty (blood & cat urine), shower didn't work, toilet was broken, no hot water, several things in the room were broken. It should be named Misery Hotel. We left and found a different hotel for the rest... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank CAGirlInVA
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed but also shocked by your comments. Are you sure you were at our place? We have a lovely place that people enjoy. Your comments are untrue. More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

What a wonderful getaway for our whole family! Your lodge was the perfect setting for a perfect holiday week and things simply could not have been better. We enjoyed the rowboats and canoes at the lake house, the Baseball Hall of Fame, Leatherstocking golf course, Farmer's Museum, Main Street in Cooperstown, and Hall of Fame. This was a terrific investment... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank moonlightforge
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting with us. It is always pleasing when our customers elect to write a review so our future customers can see what we are all about… thank you. We appreciate your comments about our pricing, service and products. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

246 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (86)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
2:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield Springs
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
9.8 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#10 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Baseball Hotel
The Baseball Hotel
#1 of 4 in Richfield Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lake House is a charming and historic inn located on the shores of Canadarago Lake, 15 minutes from Cooperstown. Resembling the Great Camps of the Adirondacks, it is a relaxing place for lunch/dinner on the lake and to stay while in Baseball Country. Consider the Lake House for a family reunion, corporate retreat or romantic vacation. Also available is a private lakeside cottage with dock space. Great fishing, sunsets, weekly rates. Astonishingly affordable. Check out our newest performance stage! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lake House

Address: 2521 County Highway 22, On Lake Street, Richfield Springs, NY 13439
Location: United States > New York > Richfield Springs
Price Range: $149 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lake House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake House Hotel Richfield Springs
The Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel Richfield Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay