We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Hook Country Inn

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (45)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 2 inns in Red Hook
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Historic Federal Colonial built 1841. 2 Brand new First Floor Wheelchair Accessible Rooms with roll in shower. Pet friendly with additional cost. Family friendly. 7 Second floor bedrooms are private, some with jetted tubs, all with private bath, electric or gas FP, self controlled radiators and a/c May- Oct, Cable HiDef TV, WiFi, All new triple glaze windows, living room gas fireplace, player piano , community breakfast room (accessible), newly completed back deck. Great covered front porch with ceiling fans, wicker and rockers! On site parking. Totally non smoking, all food requirements met, 24 hour coffee, tea, snacks and cold water. 4 guest refrigerators. Onsite wheelchair and portacrib available. WiFi available throughout entire house. Home to MaggiesRoyalTea available for private catering and weekly High Tea with reservations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
423Reviews1Q+A90Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 314
  • 59
  • 8
  • 24
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ulukbek V wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
It was the place guest house I have ever stayed. It is difficult to say that it was a guest house, I think it was my second home. She acted like she was our grandma, giving her love, laugh, kindness and generosity. Breakfast cooked by her and her husband Nabil (who is the professional chief) are incredible and delicious. Her breakfasts are like lunch, after her breakfast you will need to eat only a dinner, since she provides so much food for breakfast. Whenever you approach to her, she responds immediately (towel, cleaning, food, help...). We became close friends during 2-week stay, even one family. She even bought a big toy four our son and cooked a free farewell dinner for us, so we had a family talk with her family. It is located in the heart of Red Hook, everything (grocery, cafes, shops and CVS) is so close to her house. I highly recommend to stay only there in Red Hook, if you want to feel the big heart of local people.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
janism339 wrote a review Oct 2023
Clinton, CT16 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed at the inn for our first visit to the Rhinebeck sheep and wool festival. It was an excellent location!! Pat had advised us to eat in Red Hook as it would be less crowded and even made reservations for us! The breakfast was amazing! Homemade quiche and the most delicious eggs Benedict I’ve ever had!! Pat really cares about her guests and works hard to make sure your stay is the best!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ann M wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Having stayed in many B&B . Inns. Air B&B. This was the most misrepresented!!! Actually the only one we’ve encountered. Nothing like the pictures !!! Not like anywhere we’ve ever stayed. No common area to relax with friends. Part of the reason to choose to stay. Just clutter everywhere. A bar of Dove soap on table in the entry. Soap??!! Breakfasts were absolutely average and worse than any other place visited. Never given a negative review to a B&B before but we all agreed that travelers should be alerted. See previous negative reviews. We wish we had read them.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pat Holden, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn
Responded Oct 22, 2023
I sincerely wish any or all would have spoken directly to me and I would have moved the bar of soap that I left there as an extra if you needed it. Your group was quite lovely and I gave you the largest room upstairs as a COMPLIMENTARY upgrade so you would have room to enjoy each other since we have not quite returned to our original business model and have focused on extended stay rentals. I provided anything that you needed or wanted. We laughed together and chatted openly and I never expected you to feel such disdain. I made you keenly aware that I had not been actively at the inn for almost a year due to the deaths of my two sisters and had literally just returned. Without my direct control, the conditions were not up to my standards and I have done much to alleviate the issues. Thank you for taking the time to write. All I can do is say that I’m sorry you felt that way.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CAR wrote a review Oct 2023
3 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
It took me a while to write this review because I didn’t know what I wanted to say. First the plus, the owner is very nice, our room was clean, towels were lovely and the window shades did the job. However, if you do not like clutter this is not the place for you. There is a lot going on in this Bed and Breakfast. Every nook and cranny of packed. There is a large pile of garbage in the parking lot and this is not a place with a common area to sit in, play cards or just relax. The front porch has so much potential but is dirty and the furniture is so worn out and old. I honestly do not know how this Bed and Breakfast has passed their heath inspections. After catching a glimpse of the kitchen on the way to my bedroom I was horrified. There is a beautiful back yard that you can’t even go into because of all the clutter and trash. The Red Hook Bed and Breakfast can be beautiful if the owner could let some things go, declutter and remove the junk.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pat Holden, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn
Responded Oct 22, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings. There are some things that I can agree with and some that I can truly explain.. We are just starting to come back after Covid, and have not yet resumed our set up for more common space. We actually took it over ourselves as we changed our business plan during the Covid years to allow long term rentals. We anticipate in the next few months that the guest common space will return to our pre-Covid days. We miss having our guests spend time in the parlor enjoying the player piano! I’m sure that you noticed that our front porch was under construction with a building permit on the window. We have taken up all of the Fieldstone/Flagstone and reinstalled it in but fired the contractor in the middle, and we are waiting to have the job completed. in addition, believe it or not, someone stole our couch cushions over a two day time period and we have ordered all new and are waiting for them to be delivered. As far as the backyard, we have just finished having a sewer system installed in our village, which included tearing up our driveway and entire backyard area for their piping to be installed. Again I’m hoping by next summer, when we reopen that it will be more ready for guests. Now, the large pile of debris is waiting on a dumpster as it is the remnants of a severely damaged RV which was finally removed in September. The same porch contractor has lied to us for months about the dumpster arriving but being delayed due to all of the rain we’ve had. Now that he’s been fired (and on his way to jail for theft and damages). It will arrive on 11/1 to finally complete the project. I realize that none of this matters to you but overall, we are doing what we can step by step. We have been overloaded and sincerely apologize for any distress it may have caused you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RMQP wrote a review Aug 2023
Greenwich, Connecticut3 contributions3 helpful votes
While out of town for the weekend, we ran into car trouble near Red Hook that required us to stay overnight. Pat was extremely accommodating and understanding of our circumstances, and went above and beyond at a late hour to be helpful to us and get us settled in promptly. She was very gracious and welcoming, and the inn's rooms are eclectic and fun.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Robyn J wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution4 helpful votes
We are horrified by the inn. We pulled into a completely dark driveway with a burnt out RV parked. The house was decrepit, moldy, and we found a tick in the bathtub. We left almost immediately because we were so disgusted, and Pat would not refund our 350.00 deposit
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Do not believe the pictures on the website
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Pat Holden, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn
Responded Oct 22, 2023
I fully expected to hear from you as I refused your demand for a refund after finding a tick in your tub. Since we are in the Hudson Valley which is filled with summer ticks, we knew you had been hiking in wooded areas with your daughter and husband at Bard College. I personally inspected your room to ensure that you were set up for your after hours arrival with adequate supplies. I checked the tub for soap and shampoo and it was totally clean. As a matter of fact, I moved the 3rd set of towels to the edge of the tub for your convenience. Your biggest response was horror when I suggested that it might have come in with you. Your family was already comfortably set up in beds and you expressed that instead of 3 nights, you wanted to depart the following day. I agreed that I would release you from the reservation as of the following morning. I was very cooperative but you left quietly and booked at the Best Western in Kingston. We clearly texted regarding your very late arrival and the fact that there was an RV that was being demolished in order to have it junked. A Tree fell on it and it was not burned out. We had a dumpster being delivered and it had not yet arrived. Also, the back lot is completely lit not only with a commercial street lamp but with motion sensor lights that remain on 24/7 all over the yard. Your overreaction to finding a tick immediately following your arrival is not a travesty. I offered to tear open all the bedding to reassure you that there were no other ticks or anything else in the room. The only person in your room was me and I hadn’t been outside in the wooded areas. I also supply everyone with insect protection spray during your stay for mosquitos and ticks. Your husband attempted to strong arm me on the following Monday and I held my ground much to the support of all others who were in attendance during his threats, including this review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Valerie K wrote a review May 2023
Oakland, California2 contributions2 helpful votes
Excellent for an extended stay. Caring friendly hostess. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and quite unique. Quiet. Located in center of town. Home cooked breakfasts. Wonderful front porch for reading, visiting, hanging out.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Prepare to relax!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
KLR wrote a review Aug 2022
9 contributions3 helpful votes
We had a lovely stay at the Red Hook Country Inn. The inn itself is lovely; beautiful front porch with plenty of room to sit and relax and decorated lovely with antiques. The room we stayed in (number 6) was excellent!! EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE king sized bed, AC and a ceiling fan, cute stained glass window in one window, cable TV, a large bathroom, and most importantly clean and tidy. Excellent location in a very cute town, close to other cute towns and plenty of things to do in the area. I only met one of the innkeepers Sharon, but both were lovely. Pat was extremely helpful booking our last minute reservation, and gave us great information and recommendations for the area. Sharon was very friendly too! We will definitely stay again when we visit the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Self parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Teena L wrote a review Aug 2022
Jupiter, Florida1 contribution
Convenient location & hostess/owner Patricia was communicative as I checked in late for my one nite stay. My room was comfortable and clean with a new wall unit air conditioner. There was cream left in my mini-fridge for the Keurig coffee maker in the 2nd floor common area. A little difficult logistically to carry up a suitcase to the 2nd floor due to the ADA wheelchair electric ramp that goes up the steps but there’s no way to get around that. The Inn itself, furnishings and common areas were a bit tired & needed attention.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Holden, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn
Responded Aug 8, 2022
HI Teena, Thank you for taking the time to outline your experience during a recent stay. I’m glad my communication skills were important to you as I often chat with folks who are on the road and arriving very late. I prefer to meet you and personally carry your bags and offer that service between 4-6pm. Our security lock and WiFi password keeps you and your info secure so we only give it by text as you are arriving. The acorn chairlift lies fairly flat against the wall and it’s a nice wide stairwell. This was the first time I heard anyone mention difficulty sharing the stairs with Luggage . I am sorry about that! The trade off with the convenience of an accessible second floor is well worth it, in my opinion. As far as the inn and some furnishings being tired, we have steadily been upgrading each room and had not yet reached the room in which you stayed. It’s in the list! Finally, I’m glad we were convenient and that you found your room clean and comfortable. We appreciate your support and hope that you will return in the future, post Covid and monkeypox, when we hope to be back in a full operating mode as a B&B! Pat
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Brian C wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Wonderful stay on April 28 and 29th my daughter and I stayed at the Redhook country Inn we found it very pleasant and quaint it’s located near a couple of excellent restaurants my favorite was flat iron only a few doors down from the inn The room was clean and nicely appointed I would highly recommend as an excellent base camp to explore the area
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Holden, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn
Responded May 15, 2022
Thanks so much! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Red Hook area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
the red hook country hotel red hook
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkRed Hook
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE RED HOOK COUNTRY INN - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (NY)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Red Hook Country Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Red Hook Country Inn?
Nearby attractions include Little Pickles (0.10 miles), Equis Art Gallery (0.10 miles), and Living Eden (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Red Hook Country Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Red Hook Country Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Red Hook Country Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Red Hook Country Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taste Budd's Cafe, Flatiron Steakhouse, and Historic Village Diner.
Is The Red Hook Country Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.08 miles away from the center of Red Hook.
Are pets allowed at The Red Hook Country Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Red Hook Country Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Montgomery Place (2.4 miles) and Blithewood Manor (2.4 miles).
Is The Red Hook Country Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.