We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hearthstone Motel

7958 Albany Post Rd, Red Hook, NY 12571-2159
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Hook
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hearthstone Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
Atlantic City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stay at this motel, for a weekend, every year. It's not a Marriott, but there aren't a lot of places to stay in the area. It is clean and the people that run it are quite pleasant. Over the years they have been improving the rooms. Redoing the bathrooms and other things. The walls between the rooms are cinder... More 

Helpful?
Thank FishkillBill
Rye, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
630 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016

It was getting late and we had to find a motel, so we stopped here. It looked okay from the outside, although the driveway up to the motel was in awful condition, lots of potholes. The room was musty and smelled like mildew, and the bathroom was horrible. The walls were so thin that we heard the television in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank NHjo

Travelers are raving about these Red Hook hotels

Denver, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

I traveled to Rhinebeck with a group to attend the NY State Sheep and Wool Festival. One of the ladies booked this hotel and going by the picture, I was a little worried about where we were staying. Let me say that I was pleasantly surprised. We had the room with the fireplace and it looks nothing like it does... More 

Helpful?
Thank flyingjen
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We stay here every year and are never disappointed. I bring my family so we can visit friends in the area and take in some history. The local farmers market down the road is also part of the reason why we come! The motel is located within a 5 minutes drive from every place we visit. The beds are probably... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cappucinomix888
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I see that there are almost all negative reviews here, and I should have checked this site before staying at the Hearthstone. The rooms were filthy, and the owners were extremely surly about the fact that we were arriving after 9:00 at night. We were traveling with dogs for a sheepdog trial, and when one of the dogs barked a... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Heather N
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. We have thoroughly enjoyed reading it! Now, of course, we would love to address all your concerns but will start with your reference to how we respond to customers on TA. We are thankful for all our customers and aim to please each and every one. Unfortunately, in life (and especially as a small,... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The motel is in a very scenic location and the service was great. Looking out the window is a great scene looking at the Catskill Mountains. The service was great and they were very nice and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
Clichy, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

When we arrived, we weren't sure that the hotel was even open as there was only one car in the driveway and no one at the front desk, when the management finally showed up, they turned out to be neither courteous nor hospitable. The rooms are that of a typical substandard American motel: cheap and not terribly clean. Given the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank William K
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our business. We value your opinion and wish to please every customer. When you stayed with us in the Fall, many of our customers are out apple picking, touring wineries, or admiring the local historic sites which is why you may not have seen too many cars in our lot. Customer service is our top priority... More 

Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Aweful!! I can do out-dated but this was beyond belief. Was told on the phone that only the most expensive "suite" was available.(room #8) The room was 139.00 plus 16.85 tax. There was only one other car in the parking lot all night long. Huge sign that said WiFi When I was told that I had to stand in the... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank lomein01
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The rooms should look like the pictures. It is a dump. If I was going to spend any amount of time in the motel, I would have asked for a total refund. It smelled like smoke. Internest access was horrible and the place was filthy and dusty. It is certainly not worth $99.00 a night. Close the place up and... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Betsy A
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

While we try our hardest to please all of our customers, we cannot please those who come here to attend a funeral but get kicked out of the reception due to their attitude, like this customer was. We live in a small town and know the family, who did not want her around because they have had many problems with... More 

local
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for just one January night as part of a family gathering in the area. We had three rooms. Everything was clean and it looks like they are trying to fix things up. We had the same toilet paper problem reported by others but the heat and water worked just fine. The driveway is a mess. The beds... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ttravel3
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad your stay was acceptable. We hope you will stay with us in the future as we have made many changes since you were here. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hook
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
7.8 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
6.3 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
7.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
2.2 mi away
The Red Hook Country  Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hearthstone Motel

Address: 7958 Albany Post Rd, Red Hook, NY 12571-2159
Location: United States > New York > Red Hook
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Hotel Red Hook
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing