We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oia Mare Villas

Traveler (482)
Room & Suite (293)
Storyboard
Overview
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
Oia 84702 Greece See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Free Airport Transportation
Suites
4 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit hotel website
Offers from Oia Mare Villas
Offers & Announcements:Complimentary bottle of wine
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews(425)
Traveler rating
  • 385
  • 90
  • 28
  • 8
  • 7
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
Marcy R
30
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
We had a large cave room at the very top of the cliff-side stairs. It was not a honeymoon suite as we were 2 women. I recommend a high level room for more privacy, as other guests were not able to pass by our patio and look onto it.
The front desk staff were very courteous and helpful with arranging a couple of tours and a car rental. The car rental agent met is with the car at the front gate of Oia as cars do not enter the town. The room service staff impressed us with the speed at which they were able to convey cold glasses of wine up the steep steps to our room without spilling a drop. Tips were appreciated but not expected.
Breakfast was very good, but it would have been nice if the buffet menu changed a little from day to day.
Thank Marcy R
Response from GZouvelas, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Oia Mare Villas
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Marcy , Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is nice of you that you want to share your experience with other people . Thank you for your kind words about our Staff and rest assured that they will appreciate it . We will be very happy to welcome you back in the future and exceed your expectations , including the breakfast menu as you suggest . Thank you for staying at Oia Mare Villas !
tessaj656
42
Reviewed Nov 2, 2018
Oia Mare Villas is perfection! If you're going to go to Santorini, you need to stay in Oia, it is unbelievably beautiful. The island can get very busy during the day with day trips/tourist and this is in the heart of it all without having people walk past your door frequently. We did a sunset catamaran cruise and it dropped us off at Amoudi Bay (you can literally see it from the hotel). Instead of having to board a coach with the other few couples to get back to their hotel, we literally just walked up the stairs from Amoudi Bay to our hotel.

The staff is so welcoming and friendly. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious. The pool was such a great amenity with the sun being so hot and the views are just gorgeous (not matter where your room is located). We stayed at this property as the very first part of our honeymoon and it was the highlight of our trip. I have been recommending it our friends and family ever since we left!

P.S My husband and I actually traveled here in June 2017 as part of our honeymoon but this wasn't a date option during the review submission.
Thank tessaj656
Response from GZouvelas, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Oia Mare Villas
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Tessa , Thank you so much for your wonderful review.We really appreciate it . But most of all, we are glad that you had a memorable honeymoon by staying with us and that you will remember us for a long time.There cannot be someone better than you to recommend us to friends and family , as you experienced yourself our facilities and services . Most surely , we will be very happy to welcome you back in the future and exceed your expectations once again . Thank you for staying at Oia Mare Villas !
Crystal O
61
Reviewed Oct 31, 2018
All in all I would recommend this hotel. We stayed there for 2 nights in the honeymoon suite. We initially paid for the room with the hot tub but they upgraded us. I want to say this was an improvement but I don't really know. I'll start with the positives:

1) Beautiful views- Plain and simple these are the best view in my opinion on the island. We were able to sit on our balcony and enjoy what others were clamoring for, the famous sunsets. Our family and friends were so jealous! The suite had a little kitchen type thing which was nice. There were 2 bathrooms which was nice too. The location was secluded and away from the crowds.

2) The breakfast- OMG this was delicious and varied. I feel like there was something for everyone. They made sure it was plentiful fresh and hot. And most of all it was included. I felt like even if it wasn't I would have gladly paid for it.

3) The service- Hands down, the best. The front desk Margarita is so wonderful. Vasilios was our driver both ways. They offer transport to and from the airport, which you absolutely need. Then the Hercules descendants they have to carry your bags for you. I couldn't believe how strong they were. They made everything so easy because without them I know we could never have gotten there on our own and we are pretty fit people. It rained when we were there and we had a small leak in the windows and doors but they responded quickly and got us squared away.

4) Private-they don't just let anyone walk into the complex. There were some tourists who tried to sneak in to take photos of the sunset and they were quickly removed. It was very quiet too. There weren't any kids when we stayed there which we loved.

5) Cleanliness-hotel was spotless.

Now the not so greats:

1) WiFi is terrible- it was nonexistent in certain areas of the suite due to the construction of the hotel. Its thick walls make it difficult to get a signal, but if you go to a different area its much better, but be aware.

2) The stairs- in the honeymoon suite, there are stairs and they don't seem all that safe. They are uneven, narrow and steep. The final step you have to remember to take a big step up otherwise you would stub your toe. If it were not for the stair it would have been great. I hated having to go up and down them.

3) Not good for those with mobility issues-not only are the stairs in the suite precarious but the stairs getting there are pretty bad. Thats not the fault of the hotel but its worth mentioning. If you have issues walking or are out of shape this may be a problem for you. Especially if you want to constantly be leaving and coming back to your area.

I'm likely to stay here if I come back to Oia. I felt like it was one of the better hotels
Thank Crystal O
Response from GZouvelas, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Oia Mare Villas
Responded Nov 1, 2018
Dear Crystal , Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor .We are glad that you enjoyed most of your stay with us but the stairs . As you probably have seen with your own eyes , stairs are a given amongst all Hotels located on the Caldera cliffs .They only add to the charm of the place and it also adds to the privacy that our guests are enjoying when staying with us . It will sure be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future and this time exceed your expectations with our services and rooms . Thank you for staying at Oia Mare Villas !
Jane B
10
Reviewed Oct 29, 2018
It has been a dream of mine to go to Santorini for 30 years. I searched and searched for a place that would meet my dream. Oia Mare exceeded my expectations. We were there from Oct. 10-13, 2018. It was a magical place. The sunset was wonderful and it was so great to have our own personal balcony to watch it from. It was so romantic. The staff was wonderful. They were always willing to meet any need we had. Anna was so sweet and accommodating and Vasilis the chef made awesome breakfasts every morning. He was also friendly and suggested things we should do for the day. He suggested Fira and it was a great suggestion. The room was just like I imagined it to be. The bed was comfortable and the room was always clean. The people at Oia Mare worked tirelessly to make sure the place is pristine and that your visit was special. Thanks so much for making my 30 year dream come true.
Jane and Doug Purdy
California
Thank Jane B
Response from GZouvelas, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Oia Mare Villas
Responded Oct 30, 2018
Dear Jane and Doug , Thank you so much for your wonderful review . We are so delighted to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and offer you a unique and memorable stay .Most of all we are proud that we made your dream come true .We just informed Anna and Vasilis about your kind words about them and they were so glad to hear.They also enjoyed meeting you and Doug and they are sending you their best regards . It will be our honor to welcome you back in the future and offer you a dream vacation once again . Thank you for choosing Oia Mare Villas for your recent stay in Santorini .
Lana E
Canton of Vaud, Switzerland
85
Reviewed Oct 24, 2018
Oia Mare Villas is ideally situated for sunset viewing. The troglodyte suites are nicely decorated and the beds are comfortable. We were there in October, so appreciated a lot the hot tub. So, all you can evaluate from pictures on the hotel website was perfect. But what a difference between “hardware” and “software”! The service was clearly poor. Our bed linen were not changed in 4 days, even after I told the reception that the sand that was in our bed in the morning stayed there after the cleaning lady did her work in our room, and that bed linen were clearly dirty. On another occasion, the hotel organised a trip to neighbour islands for us that was expected to last 4 hours. It lasted 8 hours instead due to poor organisation, including 1.5 hours we had to wait in Phira where we brought by private transfer to take the boat. Our departure was the last hardship. The hotel organised a transfer (complimentary) to the airport for us, which was nice, but the driver was half an hour late....
Be prepared to wait when you go there!
Thank Lana E
Response from GZouvelas, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Oia Mare Villas
Responded Oct 27, 2018
Dear Lana , We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us . Regarding your comment that your bed linen were not changed during your 4 days of stay with us . Please let us remind you , in case you have forgoten it , that your bed linen were changed every second day and your towels were changed daily and even twice a day when asked and replcaced with fresh clean towels .Our Hotel is not near to a beach, so we wonder how was the sand found on the bed?Did you go to a beach and never washed off your feet,but instead you preffered to lie on the bed with dirty feet ? We are sorry that you did not like the boat trip you had booked.We suggested you many options , but you were the one who made the final choice. We are also sorry to hear that you did not appreciate your complimentary departure transfer , because you had to wait for a few minutes for our driver to come and pick you up.Please be informed that he was late for a few minutes due to traffic . We will not even comment on your advice to other guests , that they have to be prepared to wait when they come to our Hotel .We hope to see you again in the future and prove you wrong .
PreviousNext
12345685
About
Description
A delightful heaven in the heart of Oia - Santorini Oia Mare Villas is located in the centre of traditional Oia village in Santorini, above Ammoudi bay, the old port of Oia. Perched of the caldera More cliffs, Oia Mare Villas overlook the deep blue of Aegean Sea, the amazing Caldera and Thirasia island. Oia's hotel location provides excellent views of the famous Oia's sunset. Oia Mare Villas offers Cave Suites and Studios with spectacular views of the Caldera and the Aegean sea. Each unit remains true to the style of the island featuring simple yet elegant. Oia Mare Villas was fully renovated during the winter of 2014. Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Concierge
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Refrigerator in room
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
22
Price range
$340 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Oia Mare Villas Hotel Oia
,
Oia Mare Hotel
,
Oia Mare Villas Santorini, Greece
Location
Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
22
Price range
$340 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Oia Mare Villas Hotel Oia
,
Oia Mare Hotel
,
Oia Mare Villas Santorini, Greece
Location
Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Photos
Traveler (482)
Room & Suite (293)
Pool & Beach (78)
Dining (11)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 388 nearby hotels
VIP Suites
300 reviews
.01 miles away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
749 reviews
.02 miles away
Fanari Villas
350 reviews
.04 miles away
Oia Mansion
45 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 800 nearby restaurants
Elinikon
259 reviews
.10 miles away
Karma
818 reviews
.15 miles away
Pelekanos
1,410 reviews
.14 miles away
Vitrin Cafe Creperie
190 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 498 nearby attractions
Mnemossyne Gallery
135 reviews
.05 miles away
Amoudi Bay
3,422 reviews
.12 miles away
Byzantine Castle Ruins
499 reviews
.03 miles away
Kamari Tours
302 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jerzei23
May 20, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from GZouvelas | Property representative |
We kindly inform you that the Pool is not heated , and it closes at Sunset time , arround 20:30 . However , you may sit arround the Pool and enjoy the Summer breeze and the view , having a glass of wine .
1
Vote
Google Translation
Eman C
January 20, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MsMacSF | Reviewed this property |
It depends on the time of year. However, there are gorgeous spots at the hotel for watching even if not from your room, itself. I was there in July and watched from the common deck with other guests while sipping wine. If... More
1
Vote
Amy N
March 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from CCtiger258 | Reviewed this property |
I wouldn't recommend it from the parking lot there are thousands of steps up and down . Great hotel and view bust just recovering from knee surgery it,s practical.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Higher level rooms offer privacy and a wide view of the caldera and surrounding hillside hotels."
marcyr581
4 weeks ago
Read review
"We asked for a room with a sunset view and were given our request."
C1850WMjaneb
Oct 29, 2018
Read review
"We were surrounded by views"
Stirrup0351
Oct 12, 2018
Read review
"Ask for a room facing the sunset."
878joannew
Oct 3, 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing