We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Pongwe

Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel

Save
Mwadudu Pongwe, Pongwe 727 Tanzania
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
$339
View Deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (53)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (14)

About

#7 of 8 hotels in Pongwe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Tikitam Palms 5-star boutique hotel on pristine beach in Zanzibar offers large swimming pool at the beach area with pool bar. Its 4 villas & 4 rooms of unique design, colonial furniture, decorated with antiques, modern & African art are placed in lush tropical garden with giant baobabs & tamarinds, all with terraces and some with ocean view. Equipped with AC, smart TV, minibars offer large bathrooms with bath tubs in villas, bathrobes & luxury bath amenities. Free Wifi . 2 restaurants , one at beach front, serve all-fresh local seafood with combination of local, Arabic & Indian tastes , offer rich variety of local organic fruits, vegetables & endemic spices. Buffet breakfast & 5 o’clock tea is served. Bar offers detox- & purifying cocktails, international drinks & real piano music. Free use of bicycles , water sports equipment, work-out facilities, billiard & water polo.Walk to coral reef & wide range of local tours available at hotel desk thru prime local tour agency
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Concierge
Show more
Good to know
  • Languages Spoken
    English
  • NUMBER OF ROOMS
    8
32Reviews2Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 29
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
Our first observation was that the hotel had an awful lot of staff for the size of it. A place to relax with staff that aim to please but a very disappointing location as the beach is torrid. Please do not expect a white sandy beach. The beach is covered in unsightly dead seaweed , which to the hotels credit does its best by daily raking of the sands, but even this does not give a nice appearance, nor does it eradicate the problem. To swim in the sea, you first of all have to swim through the thick blanket of seaweed before you reach any kind of clear area. The sea is very warm if you do find a way in it. You can walk a long way out at low tide and this makes a nice walk with interesting rock pools to explore. There are areas for improvement at this hotel to warrant it being a 5* and one of those areas are the rustic sun beds that are made with rope and wood. The sun beds have no moveable back rest which is very uncomfortable for reading nor can you lay flat on the bed. Getting on and off the beds is uncomfortable and the rope scratches the backs of your legs as the sun beds pad does not cover the entirety of the lounger. Whilst the talent and craftsmanship of the sun beds should be admired, and the rustic charm of them, they do not belong in a 5* hotel. Further attention is also needed to the chairs on the terraces outside your room where the rattan has cracked and broken resulting in a sunken seat. Attention to the finer details are needed, such as curtains hanging off their hooks and the general polishing of furniture and items in the room. The safari room has a real skin of a zebra in it which really is not to everyone’s liking. The skin had holes in it and was grubby in appearance. A crafted rug made by local people would look and feel so much nicer. The food at breakfast is basic but adequate and the evening meals were nice. We found that management frequented guests too much whilst they were eating. This did get on our nerves, but then some people may like that attention, we did not. Overall, we found all staff polite, with the exception of the cleaners who could not break a smile. All of the above was listed in our feedback sheet prior to leaving the hotel. And lastly, Dolleen, what a lovely lady.
Read more
Response from JanTikitamManager, General Manager at Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Michael and Georgina, thank you for your comments. I apologize for the inconvenience that you had encountered during your stay with us, it would have been great if you had mentioned this to us while we were always checking on you to ensure that you have a great stay. I am always looking for suggestions to improve our guest’s experiences that’s one of the reasons behind to check on you on a regular basis. The zebra carpet in your room is a decorative carpet, no animals were harmed. If you had mentioned your dislike for it, we would have removed it for you. As for the sun beds, they are typical Zanzibarian sun beds to give our guests the feeling of where they are. This is not the type of review that we like to see, and I assure you that I will be looking into each point that you have mentioned. Thank you for staying with us. On behalf of the entire Tikitam Palms team, Jan, General Manager.
Read more
+1
Small hotel/resort in a quiet enclosed and secure beach location. Staff were excellent and very attentive - all led brilliantly by the management team. Zanzibar as a location means you tend to eat every night at the hotel, and the food and chefs are fortunately very good. Staff help with excursions but you might deem them a little pricey by comparison if you’ve just been in South Africa! Can have a ‘cabin fever’ feel to it but if you’re looking for a few days to ‘chill’ by the pool, switch off and do very little else this is a place to do it.
Read more
Response from JanTikitamManager, General Manager at Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality. We are looking forward to having you back soon. On behalf of the entire Tikitam Palms team, Jan, General Manager.
Read more
First of all thanks to Jan and his entire team who made this an unforgettable 3 days stay! Everyone in this resort is super friendly and tried to make our stay as easy and relaxing as it could be. Before coming here we climbed Mt Kilimanjaro and we really needed some time off without too much hassle - and this is exactly the right place for it! The hotel itself is set directly at the beach and with only 8 rooms/villas it is not crowded at all. We picked the ocean view room (#1) which has a great view on the white sand and the sea. The rooms itself are beautifully decorated with a lot of attention to details, you can really feel that the owners wanted this to be a very special place. The food is very good, a well stocked buffet every morning and evening. There are activities every day and if you want to escape the sun you can still play a round of pool billiard with a cold Kilimanjaro beer! We recommend you visit this boutique hotel if you want some quiet and relaxing time without the buzz of Nungwi or other Zanzibar beaches.
Read more
Response from JanTikitamManager, General Manager at Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Thank you for your amazing feedback. We thoroughly enjoyed looking after you and we really appreciate your comments about the delicious food, drinks and decor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. On behalf of the entire Tikitam Palms team, Jan, General Manager.
Read more
I booked this in the myriad of available hotels, and I could honestly not be happier with my choice. I’m actually disappointed that I’m going north for the rest of my stay. Hear me out: Food: amazing!! Service: almost embarrassing how attentive they are Mood: I felt like home. I honestly didn’t want to leave the premises. Location: perfect, silent but with a view. Facilities: they had swahili classes, board games, and so so many activities that you could embark on yourself (kayak, volleyball, pool). I used the threadmill a lot. In general: I felt so at home, everyone was genuine and attentive, I felt so seen and so.. loved? It’s just an amazing place. It’s not too touristy, with monkeys in the trees and cats running around. Hotel: Jesus, my bathroom was 2x the size of my room, and extremely high standard. I wanted to live there. Kudos to the cleaning staff, that silently stopped by at least twice a day and kept everything so so nice. Please. Go here.
Read more
Response from JanTikitamManager, General Manager at Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel
Responded Dec 20, 2019
Dear Liliane, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Your kind comments have been shared with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. On behalf of the entire Tikitam Palms team, Jan, General Manager.
Read more
+1
We spent there 3 nights in superior villa. Hotel is very private, with only few rooms and villas. Beautiful garden, flowers. Villa was in Zanzibar style, with beautiful bathtube, living room and big bed. There is a lot of sunbeds, great swimming pool. The beach is quiet, with shallow water, no hotels close by. Its a perfect place for a luxurious chill. Staff is great, very welcoming, not pushy. Food is very tasty. Chef Marceli was just fantastic. He cooked us what we wanted to eat. Fish, octopus - very fresh just from the water. Best food we had in Zanzibar! Only small minor thing... On the breakfast area is really hot, there is no wind there, stone floor heated from the sun works like a frying pan. Its not a big problem you can always eat it in your Villa. If you look for a quiet, luxurious place, with great food not overcrowded, with empty beach its a place for you. It was like a paradise. Our best hotel in Zanzibar.
Read more
Response from JanTikitamManager, General Manager at Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel
Responded Dec 7, 2019
Thank you for your amazing feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you soon again. On behalf of the entire Tikitam Palms team, Jan, General Manager.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$204 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandPongwe
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kiwengwa Beach (2.7 miles) and Kiwengwa Caves (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Island - Pongwe Lodge Restaurant, La Base JungleKite, and Zan View Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Tikitam Palms Boutique Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mtoni Palace Ruins (9.7 miles).