We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Pontao

Savings alert: 19% below average rate
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (163)
360
Panoramas (49)
Room & Suite (276)

About

#17 of 22 hotels in Ilha do Sal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save
295Reviews
30Q+A
44Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 58
  • 142
  • 67
  • 13
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Great hotel with Amazing service, i recommend surely this place, been there for around three weeks and had the best experience of the island, everything served in place and time, good prices and the location made everything even better...
Read more
Response from Ouril p, Assistente Direcção at Hotel Pontao
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jorge Brito From now on thank you very much for the rating and the comments, the Hotel Pontão and his team thank you, we are grateful because they are valuable, Come back, it will always be a pleasure to host you again. We leave here our cordial greetings from Cape Verde Island of Sal, Ouril Hotel Pontão
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
Lovely hotel with great super friendly staff, very clean, the cleaners are working all day around the rooms and communal areas, perfect pool with great cocktail bar. The staff were so helpful and friendly even before we arrived I phoned to arrange airport transfer as we didn't book through a package scene, the manager lady was so helpful and arranged a taxi to be waiting for us. On arrival our room was ready and spotless, the staff are easy to communicate with and always smiling. Great breakfast buffet, always lots of choice and everything was delicious! we ate in the hotel two evenings swell which is a set mane that changes daily, simple food cooked well. The location of the hotel is perfect, walking distance to main beaches in Santa Maria and small shops and restaurants. taxis stop right outside the front entrance so it is really easy to get to other places around the island and about 10 metres from the front entrance of the hotel is also a hire car office. Rooftop hot tub and gym is perfect for early morning workouts and to catch the last of the evening sun and sunset views over the beach. Courtyard Pool perfect on windy days when you get sandblasted on the beach! We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere friendly safe and relaxing at a great price!
Read more
Response from Ouril p, assistente Direção at Hotel Pontao
Responded Mar 18, 2019
Dear Mr Tegen   Many thanks for your comment about your recent stay at our hotel. Your opinion is very valuable to us as we strive to improve each of our stays. We are very grateful for your comments on the mentioned aspects. Our priority is to offer a clean and comfortable environment and the best service. We hope you come and visit us again and it will be a pleasure to host you. Our Best regards, Hotel Pontão and Stafff
Read more
+1
2 women travellors, 1 room, stayed end of November 2017 for 1 week. This hotel is close to the airport, we were the 2nd drop off. Not much English was spoken at the reception desk and they ran out of money so we ended up at the bank to pay out fees but they had closed so the hotel waited for us to get it to them. The bank was an experience and somewhat fun so we did not mind. They gave us the wrong key to our room and it was on the 2nd floor so after dragging our bags up 2 flights of stairs (no lift or help), we had to go back for the right key. The cleaners were very helpful and smiled at us daily, one even helped with bags! They didn't speak any English but they tried their best to smile and this made things nicer. The room was spacious and clean. WiFi was on and off, very randomly to be honest and one TV chanel was in English but we only put it on for background noise. The room overlooked the pool with a spacious balcony. The plugs next to the bed didn't work and neither did the room lamps. We told reception and someone looked into it but the plug still didn't work for our whole stay. The bed was spacious, comfy and big enough for twins to share and the bathroom was clean with easy to access facilities. Not much else to say about the room really, it was fine. The ground floor rooms didn't seem to get much privacy as they were being walked past all of the time. Breakfast was basic but there was always something to eat: freshly cooked pancakes one day, fresh eggs like fried, omelette and boiled etc another, sausages, beans, daily variation of fruits (some grown on their own palms) , bread rolls, slices, sweet breads and cakes, yogurts, fruit juices, cheese, hams, water, coffee, tea, and more that I've forgotten about. The meal time dress code of some hotel stayers left nothing to be desired 🙄 you always get that though. The hotel is close to the main strip, just a short walk around the corner, and there's a mini supermarket not too far away... to the right and diagonally from the entrance. We went for a walk on day 1 after we had settled in and were hounded by the men near and on the pier trying to get customers. They claimed they knew us from the hotel and that they were there when we checked in... They were NOT at all... They clocked our wrist bands and claimed to see us at the hotel! We aren't daft so didn't fall for it, and he said "yesterday" but we'd only arrived that day, but it could easily come across as intimidating! Just be firm but polite and say no thank you with a smile. There are lots of places to eat on the strip, beach front and at other hotels, and the main roads are closed to cars on times and weekends. Be aware of food washed or cooked in their own tap water.. We were unwell within hours of eating pasta on the strip but some immodium soon sorted that out! Make sure you barter for goods if you buy anything, some are highly priced for this reason! Keep your money, phone and bag close by! We went to a place up the main road in an open square called Cultural Cafe and I went to the communal toilets. Some local kids followed me in and tried to snatch my bag from me..( It had feminine products in it, so of no use to them but it was very scary as they knew what to do...) One blocked the doorway and another went for my bag pulling it down. It was on my shoulder but under my high jacket so it was secure but that's not the point. I just lifted it up out of the way and tried to barge past them. It was only when another customer came in that they moved. I told the bar staff and they threw the boys out saying it happened a lot!!! It was really scary to me, but only afterwards, when I realised how bad it could have been! We ate our evening meal at the hotel twice and really enjoyed our meals there. They were well priced and cooked perfectly with reasonably priced drinks also. The pool was cold and small but tidy and clean and the sun beds were OK. You had to get your spot early if you wanted one, like most places, and people would reserve beds all day without showing up until after 2 😞. Also the sun wasn't always on all of the beds so you'd have to move around the pool if you wanted all day sun. We went to the beach and lay on the sand which was soft and clean and the waters were clear and warm . This worked out better for a sun worshipper like myself. We kept busy all week, we snorkelled, swam, scuba dived, went on segways (a must do, we went across the sand dunes) walked to see the hatching turtles, did an all day island tour (I highly recommend, you get to see almost all of the island) went on a boat trip (not much cop, its rough and cold ) and did some general sightseeing. The weather was nice once the sun came out, it was in the 20's. We had 4 hazy days out of 7. I would stay here again as its cheap, cheerful and far enough away from the noise but close enough to the strip to be included. The rooms were comfortable even with a few broken aspects.
Read more
Response from Ouril p, Assistente Direcção at Hotel Pontao
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Thank you very much for the comments and your assigned rating, we are grateful for every detail left behind are valuable for the group Hotel Pontão and his team. We are glad that you have made the most of your holidays. Returning will always be a pleasure to host them again. We leave here our cordial greetings from Cape verde island of Sal, best regards Ouril Hotel Pontão
Read more
Having got here on late deal I was a bit dubious about coming here but what a beautiful surprise.... reception staff so attentive and make sure you have everything you need ... breakfast I would say is enough because at least it was fresh to accommodate the people that was there some people think they should have loads ... but hey waste or fresh food and that's what you get ... rooms are spectacular and kept very clean, bar staff well just to mention and I don't do this normally but Jorge on front bar is one a little cutie he looked after me and my husband from day one and did for 7 days we were there not to mention debs and jo jo and here's a video for u all go to pontao it's best hotel in santa Maria
Read more
Response from Ouril p, assistente Direção at Hotel Pontao
Responded Apr 21, 2019
Dear Claire We are happy to hear from you, thank you very much for your stay and it is a pleasure to have nice and friendly guests, We are grateful for the comment and the aspects mentioned are valuable to us and the team generally appreciates. Jorge sends a big hug. Well there is more health and it will be a pleasure to welcome you again. thank you big hug from Cape Verde Hotel Pontão e Staff
Read more
Decided to write a review for this hotel after reading a few reviews that I felt were quite unfair. Considering what we paid I was impressed with what we got. Our room was spacious and the clean, the breakfast was basic but OK and it was in a great location close to the beach and bars. Our only gripe was that it was difficult to get a lounger round the pool due to people getting up early and claiming them with their towels. The beach is stunning though so we spent most of our time there or on the roof terrace which was much more peaceful than around the pool and had a small gym and jacuzzi. Would definitely return to Cape Verde and to this hotel. Take a light coat for the evening and longer trousers as it can get quite chilly with the breeze.
Read more
Response from Ouril p, Assistente Direcção at Hotel Pontao
Responded Mar 26, 2019
Dear Lorraine and Elizabeth It is always good to hear and see these messages we feel grateful. Thank you very much for the comment and the aspects mentioned are valuable to us and the team in general thanks. Our priority is to offer a clean and comfortable environment and the best service to make you feel at home. We can improve on the sun loungers 😊 we are waiting for another visit of yours it will be a pleasure to host them. Big hug from Hotel Pontão, Cape Verde and the team in general
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$50 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pontao hotel santa maria
LOCATION
Cape VerdeIlha do SalSanta Maria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing