We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Riu Karamboa

Traveler (10101)
Pool & Beach (1736)
Videos (4)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#4 of 14 hotels in Boa Vista
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The All Inclusive 24h Hotel Riu Karamboa, is situated on the Boa Vista Island in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean, with direct access to the marvellous Praia das Dunas beach of fine sand which extends for kms. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Sal Rei (8km) and Aristides Pereira International Airport (BVC) is approx. 1.5 km away. The hotel has 750 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax with a massage at the Renova Spa or get in shape at our gym. 1 outdoor pools, 1 children’s and baby pool. For the youngest guests, there is the RiuLand Kids Club (for children from 4 to 7 years & 8 to 12 years old), RiuArt atelier and for adults, day and evening entertainment, discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet as well as Cape Verdean, Asian, African cuisine, 5 bars situated in various areas of the hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free Internet
Airport transportation
Babysitting
Breakfast Available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Sauna
Show more
Room features
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Ocean View
Hotel links
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points
9,145Reviews
1,941Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,406
  • 3,190
  • 1,094
  • 285
  • 170
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We visited this hotel in 2016 just after Christmas. The hotel was great, food good and plentiful. Unfortunately it was overshadowed by a Sandstorm which I'm told are not unusual. It meant it wasnt sunny or particularly warm. We were delayed flying home by 3 days. This island does not have Radar for the planes, as visibility was limited, flights were cancelled. This should be something to bear in mind if you go to this island. I would go to Sal if I visited again.
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
We returned for another stay at Riu Karamboa and immediately felt at ease in the ambience of the hotel and the wonderful staff. The rooms are comfortable, the food varied and continually freshly prepared. The main restaurant may start to feel 'samey', but there are 3 others to choose for a different menu and more personal service.All the staff, whether on reception, in the restaurants or in the gardens were helpful and smiley. The mature vegetation and well manicured gardens ensure the complex is a pleasure to amble around. There is a gym, sauna and jacuzzi as well as a wide range of classes and activities to join in. The hotel is only minutes from the airport, yet you never notice aeroplanes landing. The beach is lovely for an afternoon stroll and there are beach bars in both directions. We tried to visit the new Riu Palace next door after listening to unfavourable comparisons with the Karamboa in regard to staff and pleasantness of the site. Unfortunately we were not allowed in to judge for ourselves which was disappointing. The flights were straightforward, ran on time and the aeroplane was comfortable The weather was consistently warm, but there was a wind every day....this may not be to everyone's liking but it enabled us to be in the sun all day. Do ensure you wear plenty of sun protection, there were a lot of sun burnt people around. Value for money, it would be hard to beat. I'm sure we will return again.
Read more
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Karamboa
Responded Apr 17, 2019
Dear Phil, Thank you so much for returning to Hotel Riu Karamboa and for taking the time to write this nice review. These are exactly the types of comments we strive for. How wonderful it is to hear that your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed again all aspects of your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience and hope to welcome you back anytime! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Karamboa Online Reputation Manager
Read more
+1
I'm not sure where to start, I returned home from a 2 week holiday just 2 days ago, I already want to return, from the moment we got to the hotel we were greeted by a man with a cocktail while we checked in he returned a further 3 times with another cocktail... great start and from that moment on the staff and the hotel did not stop amazing us. I have no complaints at all well apart from having to leave. I love this place and I will be back soon. Thank you to all house staff bar staff and the day and night animation team you are truly magical xx
Read more
Amazing hotel, I can not understand all of the bad reviews at all, I guess some people just search for something to moan about. Yes there was quite a few tiles missing in the pool but it did not ruin my holiday at all like other reviews said. The hotel is beautiful and clean all the time. The staff are perfect and prompt. The grounds are fabulous. There is always sunbeds around the pool and beach at any time of the day. The food is great but does end up being repetitive (unless you like fish! Loads of fish!!) we didn’t book into any of the restaurants as they are not our cup of tea but they always smelt amazing. Entertainment team were great but will not pester you during the day around the pool like other hotels I know. It is a beautiful relaxing hotel and I could not fault it. Don’t listen to the reviews, go and judge for yourself. Although would recommend taking a cardigan for the evening as the wind picks up and does get chilly. Also if your looking at doing quad bikes(which I recommend) book with giggling geckos before you go through their Facebook site, it was a great experience and much cheaper than what they were charging at the hotel.
Read more
One of the best resorts i have ever been. Once you enter the hotel you are greeted by the friendly and helpful front desk staffs with a big smile. The accommodation is excellent. It is very clean and the rooms are done everyday. The room maids are very friendly and trust worthy. I would recommend ALL INCLUSIVE. The drinks and beverage are available till late. There are two big restaurants, one opposite the swimming pool and another below the main reception. The food is excellent of different variety for adults and children. The restaurant staffs are very good. They all speak very good English. There are two big swimming pools. There is a pool bar where you can get all sorts of their local drinks. People working in the pool bar are very friendly and helpful. They have day entertainment like they have carnivals in Brazil with colourful dresses. The beach is behind the pool bar, just 2 minutes walk. You can book a taxi for a day which will take you around the island where you can buy souvenirs. Most of the island is covered by white sand. The evening entertainment starts at 9pm next to the shops. I will not hesitate to go again.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$142 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
clubhotel riu karamboa hotel boa vistaclubhotel riu karamboa boa vista
LOCATION
Cape VerdeBoa Vista
NUMBER OF ROOMS
750
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing