We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save
Share
948 George St PO Box 226, Mumford, Wheatland, NY 14511-9823
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity$155
Hotels.com$155
FindHotel$155
Orbitz.com$155
Tripadvisor$155
Etrip$155
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (15)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
5.0
Value
4.7
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast, built in 1833in Mumford near Rochester, New York, is situated on Spring Creek, a trout stream where guests can enjoy private fly fishing or relax by the mill pond. The inn has ten distinctly, comfortably decorated bedrooms, all with private baths, air-conditioning, telephones, hair dryers, and TV/DVD players. The king suite enjoys a beautiful view of the gardens, fountain, and mill pond. The garden rooms have gas fireplaces and a view of the creek. Guests enjoy the comfort of a large parlor, dining room with a gas fireplace, and a beautiful all season sun room with gas stove. During the 1800s, the inn was a plaster mill and later a lumber mill. Around 1917, this lovely old mill with its 2 1/2-foot thick stone walls was converted to a two-family home. It wasn't until 1982 that the Garbutt Mill, which was a private residence, became the Genesee Country Inn. The inn is close to Rochester, Letchworth State Park, Niagara Falls, many museums, art galleries, colleges and universities. Also The Genesee Country Village and Museum, less than a mile from the inn, is the third largest living museum in the country where visitors can experience craftsmen demonstrating the trades of life in the 1800s.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast in the room
Golf course
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Massage
Gift shop
Wifi
Special diet menus
Skiing
Bowling offsite
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Sofa
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
76Reviews0Q+A25Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 69
  • 5
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Beth A wrote a review Aug 3
1 contribution
This was my husband and my first time at a bed and breakfast and we were a bit unsure what to expect. From the moment we walked into the inn, Deborah put us at ease. She was warm, friendly, and ready to do anything to help make our stay enjoyable and easy. The room and inn was immaculate. We experienced great food and conversations. And Richard was a plus to talk to. We felt completely at home--as she gave us the keys to her home--and able to relax and enjoy ourselves. I would 100% recommend staying here to anyone interested!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John D wrote a review Oct 2021
Beavercreek42 contributions25 helpful votes
This was our second visit to this wonderful, relaxing Inn. The first time we visited was only for one night, but we loved this place so much we decided for a weekday 4 night getaway to celebrate my wife's retirement. With all the COVID craziness, this was the perfect place to get away from it all. Debbie and Richard were wonderful hosts who cheerfully accommodated my wife's need for non-dairy products at breakfast - which was a different offering each morning - both hearty and delicious. The Inn was not very busy and it was as if we had Debbie all to ourselves. Our room (McGinnis room) was clean and comfortable and included a gas fireplace along with a private patio overlooking the trout stream and pond fountain. We took a tour of the other rooms (that were unoccupied) and noted how each of them had their own personality. There was a surprising number of things to do in the area (be sure to visit Letchworth State Park and the Genesee Village and Museum), and there are wineries galore to visit and sample their wares. Some nearby restaurants had limited hours due to staffing shortages (a sign of the times) but Debbie offered to call and make reservations for us if we desired. We definitely hope to return again and perhaps visit some of the sights in Rochester.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Stankevich, Owner at Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast
Responded Oct 23, 2021
Thank you for your kind words! We enjoyed your visit. I am so thankful you continue to support us during these unsettling times. I hope on your return you will be able to enjoy more of the area and the inn. 😊
Read more
erieites2015 wrote a review Oct 2021
Erie, Pennsylvania17 contributions8 helpful votes
very accomadating, food at breakfast eye appealing as well as tasteful, debra was very helpful with making reservations ahead of time,, unfortunately my health issues did not allow me to enjoy myself as well this time nor get much sleep as i was able to get in the past visits.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: if stairs are difficult- stay on the ground floor or garden level -you can do everything without...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Stankevich, Owner at Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast
Responded Oct 13, 2021
Thank you! I hope you feel better soon!
Read more
Henry N wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
Debbie was wonderful, it was so peaceful and relaxing, and great big breakfast! You can see and feel how much Debbie cares about every guest the comes to her B&B.When its time to go back home you are all ready planning your next visit. Their are not enough words to express how wonderful the stay was.Thank you Lisa and Henry
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Stankevich, Owner at Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jun 30, 2021
Dear Henry and Lisa, Thank you for those kind words. It was wonderful seeing you again and look forward to your next visit. Stay safe and healthy! Debbie
Read more
Kim wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
We stayed in the Skivington and the McGinnis rooms for the weekend. We signed up for a pack and go trip which was overall great. However, they did not research the rooms reserved for us well enough. Trip advisor does have a previous review from 2011 on the McGinnis room as having a musty smell and dark and not as described on the website. The website mentions both rooms as garden rooms, no mention the rooms are in the basement, deceptive advertising. These rooms did have a musty, moth ball or wet dog smell, I couldn't quite pin it down. They are dated in comparison of the lovely rooms on the 1st and 2nd level. These are listed as the more expensive rooms and should be listed as the cheapest rooms. The TV on the porch is still broken since 2011 review as well. Not sure if the mattress has been updated, we noticed we kept rolling to the center of the bed and they were overly soft, sinking into the middle. I would have rated these rooms as 2 star but bumped it up to 3 star because the owners are wonderful. You will not find more sweet informative people. They are simply delightful. The food was spectacular. Deb is accommodating for any dietary restrictions. She created great eventful breakfasts, you will be blown away. I would simply recommend getting rooms on the 1st or 2nd level, not in the basement where the Skivington and McGinnis rooms are located. If we had stayed on the 1st or 2nd level, we would have rated this place as 5 star. Also the grounds are simply breathtaking. You would love it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a room on the 1st or 2nd level, not the garden rooms which are located in the basement. ...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jun 23, 2021
I am disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations. Pack and Go did not call us and talk to us about accommodates or any specific needs. I would have been happy to change your rooms if I had known that you were not happy with the accommodations that Pack and Go had selected for you. I did not have your personal information, the only contact was Pack and Go, so I was unable to reach out prior to your stay. The rooms on the garden level are not basement rooms, but a walkout to the race and patio. The McGinnis Room has a private patio, which overlooks a secret garden and the fountain. Blackout blinds across the double patio doors provides a private and secure setting. The Skivington Room has a full wall of windows that overlooks the creek and fountain. Individual blinds cover the windows for privacy. Since the 2011 review (10 years ago), the TV that was not functioning was stored in the Necessary Room (our public restroom). A 32" TV was installed in the Sunroom for DVD use only. We do not have cable at the Inn, but our TVs are attached to an antenna. The Sunroom TV only has a DVD player and is not connected to an antenna for local programming. Our extensive DVD collection of over 500 films are available for guest use. I appreciate your comments and we will check those rooms for those concerns. Although I had asked at breakfast if all was okay, I did not get a negative response; therefore, there was no way I could correct or address any issues. If our guests do not tell us, we are unable to correct them. As stated in our policy and on TripAdvisor, due to COVID, we have not been going into any of the rooms once a guest checks in, but that does not mean that we do not take care of their needs. We take out trash, replace towels, and will clean the rooms daily if asked. I would have provided whatever you needed if requested. We will continue to provide the best possible service. As I mentioned before, I am looking forward to extended or daily service as restrictions in New York State are lifted. Thank you for the comments. We will address them.
Read more
Mercy A wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
I loved being inside of this stone house, the rooms are beautiful, and the grounds are so peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast was great! I went to an event at Genesee Country Museum and decided to stay locally.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deborah Stankevich, Owner at Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast
Responded May 21, 2021
Thank you for such a great review! I hope you will be able to visit again soon!
Read more
John D wrote a review Jul 2020
Beavercreek42 contributions25 helpful votes
We stayed one night here as part of a Wilderness Voyagers bicycle trip along the Erie Canal. It was a hot dusty day, but we were met by Richard and Deborah who promptly took our temperatures (we all passed :-) ) and gave us a quick overview of the property before we were handed our keys and given directions to our rooms. Deborah was very proud that they had been inspected by the local health department and not only met, but exceeded the requirements for operating during the COVID-19 pandemic. Great job Debbie and Richard!! After a cooling shower, we sat on our back deck and had a cold brew and wine (which we brought along) and admired the fountain and gardens. There was a stream flowing through the 8 acre property teeming with fish. Also, the mature trees kept the deck area cool in spite of the July heat. Our room was meticulously clean and the bed wonderfully comfortable. Deborah, who I think did most of the cooking was extremely interested in how my wife liked some of the food which was specially prepared because of her dairy intolerance. The food and friendliness of the proprietors was EXCELLENT! While we only spent one night (because the next day was a 35 mile additional biking miles) we would not hesitate to return and sample more NY wines as wineries were located throughout the area. Very peaceful and relaxing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Every room was unique - their probably isn't a bad room in the entire house.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Divehpu wrote a review Oct 2019
Chardon, Ohio87 contributions33 helpful votes
Thank you Deborah and Richard for being wonderful hosts. Deborah is a wonderful cook and flawlessly accommodated my gluten free diet. She also recommended excellent dinner restaurants and made reservations for us. The property and the home are beautiful. Make sure to talk a walk to the back of the property along the creek. We will definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cathy R wrote a review Oct 2019
Rochester, United States6 contributions6 helpful votes
Deborah and Richard created an absolutely magical wedding weekend for my daughter's wedding. Their Inn is gorgeous and comfortable and their hospitality is second to none. We rented the whole Inn for the entire weekend and the entire bridal party had a blast. The food was great. The property is spectacular. The beds were comfortable. Every beautiful room has its own bath. Best of all Deborah makes you feel so welcome. Highest recommendation possible.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
nopainjoe wrote a review Jul 2019
Phoenix, Maryland18 contributions6 helpful votes
We were on our way north to Canada. It had been a long drive. Our navigation app named GCI. We called and fortunately they had room for us. Terrific room. Surrounding were very nice. Dinner recommendation was right on! Next morning breakfast was wonderful with an assortment on fruits, baked good and homemade entrees! Would go back in a minute! You will not be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from YankeeInnkeeper, Owner at Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jul 13, 2019
Thank you for your kind words! I hope you will be travelling my way again. We would love to see you and see how your trip went.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$177 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
country inn mumford, mumford country inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkFinger LakesWheatlandMumford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Genesee Country Village & Museum (1.1 miles), Stokoe Farms (4.6 miles), and Big Springs Museum (1.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a golf course.
Which room amenities are available at Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
Is parking available at Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Village Inn, Reminisce Soda Fountain Diner, and Cozy Kitchen.
Is Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Mumford.
Are there any historical sites close to Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast?
Many travelers enjoy visiting LeRoy House (6.2 miles).