We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina

Save
Share
32 Star Island Rd, Montauk, NY 11954-5271
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$415
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/06/22
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$415
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$415
eDreams$415
FindHotel$415
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (52)
360
Panoramas (8)
Pool & Beach (42)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina
Updated 08/14/20

About

#22 of 39 hotels in Montauk
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated on scenic Lake Montauk, Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina is The Hamptons’ premier hotel destination for summer getaways, seasonal boaters, and private events. Gurney's Star Island guests receive complimentary shuttle service to Gurney’s Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, including direct access to a 2,000-foot private sand beach. Enjoy our 107 luxury waterfront hotel rooms, suites, or villas; 15 acres of grounds with outdoor amenities, and an array of restaurants, bars and meeting rooms for personalized and intimate events centered around the water.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycles available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Parking
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Boating
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Fishing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Minibar
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Great View
76Reviews23Q+A15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 33
  • 17
  • 5
  • 11
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Christine P wrote a review Oct 2021
Dublin, California, United States2 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
I visited for a company retreat and was extremely impressed. The location was beautiful. The conference rooms were perfect for our agenda offering opportunities for both inside and outside group sessions. The staff were quick to help. The rooms were nice and had large space for working or relaxing. Food provided was delicious, Our team stayed three nights and enjoyed the restaurant for dinner on the last night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
JerseyB0yDan wrote a review Oct 2021
Jersey City, New Jersey42 contributions26 helpful votes
Excellent destination for a short getaway from NYC! The hotel staff were all friendly and attentive to your needs. Plenty of local sites to discover nearby the hotel. A restaurant in the premise offer excellent choice of menus for diners.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
pastapie wrote a review Sep 2021
White Plains, New York36 contributions13 helpful votes
1st day, found pool closed at 4pm. Called gurneys to find out why, and was left on hold. 2nd day key didn't work, called again, spoke to abbey... hung up. We enjoyed pool, and breakfast, but evening was totally understaffed for the amount of people that are staying.. Not to mention the ants in the bathroom....... for the amount of money, we expected different.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Stephen D wrote a review Sep 2021
New York City, New York4 contributions4 helpful votes
Booked a last minute trip to Gurneys Star Island through Hotel Tonight…I’m glad it was a “good” deal (relative to Montauk) because the hotel stay was not good. Not worth it. First off we ended up in the villas - room 460 to be specific. DO NOT STAY IN THE VILLAS. From the outside they look like an abandoned campground. The room was spacious but that’s about it. Room had a very distinct musty scent and the floors would get wet in the late morning. Broken floor tiles in the bathroom. The rooms are so far away from the property. The walk to the property is dark and not well marked at all. And there is no balcony which was a huge reason we booked here - with a young baby in tow our options at night were limited - we hoped we could at least hang on a balcony but nope. I’m genuinely shocked that Gurneys includes these villas under their umbrella - it knocked the Gurneys name and prestige down several notches for me. Second the service is just not good - again, surprised with the Gurneys franchise on this one. I have stayed at cheaper hotels in Montauk and gotten better service. The best way to describe the staff was indifferent, maybe unempathetic. No offer to help with baggage. Was told no outdoor breakfast service despite it being sunny out - 5 minutes later there are 4 tables sitting outside for breakfast. When trying to carry a pizza and two drinks to the pool I asked if I could get a hand and was told nope, lol. Things just generally felt unkept - the bar was left a mess at night and was covered by hundreds of hornets in the morning. All weird bc we stayed here two years ago and the experience was much different. In 2019 we were offered blankets at night, dinner at Showfish was great, etc - maybe they’re having trouble with staffing, don’t know. Take your money elsewhere / I’ll stick with the warmer, more budget friendly Montauk hotels for my future stays.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Not worth the cost, doesn’t live up to the Gurneys name
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina
Responded Sep 8, 2021
Dear stevedietsch84, Thank you for staying with us again and I'm sorry it was like your previous stay. Not sure if you stayed in the Villa rooms last time. I would like to catch up with you if possible and discuss this further. Please contact me at michael.nenner@gurneysresorts.com Regards, Michael
Read more
danwJ7066TX wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions
Sadly lacking in hospitality, particularly in light of rooms 245 and 247 being infested with ants. Beware that the remedy may be only vacuuming and some ant spray, but do not expect an apology or offer to accommodate in any other way. Front desk staff are poorly equipped to handle challenges, they lack empathy, and they are not empowered to escalate to supervisors when needed. Not a pleasant destination and would not recommend. In addition, mask policies were not followed by employees (they state that all staff are required to be masked indoors, yet this is not enforced and few follow this protocol).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina
Responded Sep 8, 2021
Dear danwJ7066TX, Thank you for staying with us and my apologies for the issues you had with ants and the service follow-ups from the team. Please contact me directly to discuss further. Regards, Michael Nenner michael.nenenr@gurneysresorts.com
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$276 - $821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
montauk yacht club resort & marina hotel montauk, montauk yacht club resort and marina, yacht club montauk, montauk yacht hotel and marina, montauk yacht resort and marina
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLong IslandHamptonsMontauk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
107
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Nearby attractions include Gosman's Dock (0.5 miles), Gin Beach (0.5 miles), and Lynns hula hut, montauk (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Inlet Seafood Restaurant, Gosman's Restaurant, and The Dock.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Camp Hero State Park (2.6 miles).
Does Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.