We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina

32 Star Island Rd, Montauk, NY 11954-5271
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View deal
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (22)
Panoramas (8)
Pool & Beach (42)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina
Updated 08/14/20


#24 of 39 hotels in Montauk
Situated on scenic Lake Montauk, Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina is The Hamptons’ premier hotel destination for summer getaways, seasonal boaters, and private events. Gurney's Star Island guests receive complimentary shuttle service to Gurney’s Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, including direct access to a 2,000-foot private sand beach. Enjoy our 107 luxury waterfront hotel rooms, suites, or villas; 15 acres of grounds with outdoor amenities, and an array of restaurants, bars and meeting rooms for personalized and intimate events centered around the water.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Marina View
Harbor View
58Reviews21Q+A11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 25
  • 15
  • 3
  • 7
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chanelle F wrote a review Oct 2020
New York City, New York5 contributions
We stayed at Gurneys Star Island late Sept / early Oct after finding a great deal online. After booking the King Villa through a 3rd party, I read a bunch of negative reviews and the hotel was kind enough to upgrade us to a King Courtyard view room - which was GORGEOUS! Our room was spacious, with a stunning and large bathroom and a cute terrace that looked over the restaurant and lights by the marina. Everyone who worked at the hotel from check in to the casual take out restaurant were friendly. Dinner at Showfish was mostly great - awesome service, cocktails, apps (crudo) and dessert (tarimisu), but our mains were not amazing. We had one quiet night in with pizza on our balcony, which was also pretty delicious (expensive yes, but what I would expect for a resort). We didn’t use a ton of the facilities, mostly because it was cold during our trip. We did use the Montauk Downs tennis courts, which were included given that the onsite tennis courts were closed - it was a short 4min drive and a lot of fun! Overall the location is great. An easy drive to the lighthouse & town. All in all it was a great trip and a nice time to be at the resort as given the cool weather it was lovely and quiet & exactly what we needed to escape the city for a few days.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina
Responded Oct 16, 2020
Dear 986chanellef, Thank you for staying with us and I'm so pleased that you got to enjoy it before we closed for the season. We hope that you'll come back to visit next season or at our other Gurney's properties. Regards, Michael Nenner Area General Manager
Read more
mrskaso wrote a review Sep 2020
16 contributions40 helpful votes
For what we paid, we would have expected a much nicer room. We stayed in a villa which sounds awesome, and looks great in the photos on the website, but it was old and dumpy and smelled like mildew masked by sanitizer. Had some maintenance issues with our room too which were corrected right away, so no complaints with maintenance or housekeeping services. But the room itself was terrible. Stairs in the villa were creaky, and we could hear our villa neighbors (and smell their smoke) as if they were partying right in our room. Plus, with COVID, we weren't given any information about safety precautions to follow or those being followed. Not sure why anyone would give this a 5 star... Poor review because the cost was so not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay away from the villas, maybe the main building is better?
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Response from Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina
Responded Oct 4, 2020
Dear mrskaso, Thank you for staying with us and I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Our Villa rooms will be renovated this coming winter and the remainder of the property has been redone. I'd like to chat with you further, if you could contact me off-line. Regards, Michael Nenner Area General Manager michael.nenner@gurneysresorts.com
Read more
Andrea8182 wrote a review Aug 2020
Long Island, NY153 contributions52 helpful votes
We stayed here the last weekend in August for a girls trip. We wanted to stay at the original Gurney's but they were all booked up so we stayed here. We were told there is a free shuttle that goes back and forth all day between this Gurney's and the other one but when we arrived they said due to COVID they weren't providing the shuttle. We felt they should have reimbursed us for our Uber/Lyft rides. The property was kept clean and housekeeping came in each day to make the beds and give us fresh towels. The plants and flowers everywhere were beautiful. The room was ok, but the bathroom in our room was SO nice and had so much room. Be prepared to spend a lot of money while staying here. $7+ for a small cup of ice cream (one scoop) $75 for a zip up sweatshirt, $10 for an egg sandwich, and $16 for a breakfast pizza.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Response from Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina
Responded Sep 10, 2020
Dear Andrea8182, Thank you for staying with us for your girls weekend and I'm glad you were able to get into one of our properties. We appreciate the feedback regarding the properties and the prices. We look at other businesses in the area when setting our pricing and they're competitive with other resorts. We do hope that you'll stay with us again for next year or sooner. Regards, Michael Nenner Area General Manager
Read more
Phillip V. wrote a review Aug 2020
Brightwaters, New York1 contribution2 helpful votes
My family declared Gurney's marina our favorite boating destination after our stay during August 2019; however, our experience last week was so terrible we decided to leave mid-way through the 3rd day of our 6 day stay. We were more than happy to pay ~$400 per night to dock our boat, as well as endure the exorbitant prices (even by East End standards) charged for food and beverages in order to enjoy the amenities one would expect from a "luxury resort". Unfortunately, the amenities we enjoyed during our 2019 trip were almost non-existent this time around. The pool attendant routinely ran out of towels, leaving guests wishing to dry off after swimming to run to their room or boat. Poolside food and drink service was available one day, but inexplicably not the next. Getting food or a drink without a server is extremely difficult as Gurney’s policy (not NYS) requires guests to sit in one of only 8 seats (which were almost always occupied) at the bar to place an order. If you are lucky enough to get a seat, Gurney’s policy (again not NYS) only allows 2 people to be seated next to one another and you are separated by extremely large planters obscuring your view on either side, so forget about conversing. As these guidelines are not mandated by NYS or part of any CDC recommendations, a more pessimistic person could conclude the resort is choosing to capitalize on the COVID-19 pandemic by forcing parties greater than 2 people to tables where meals must also be purchased. Perhaps further proof Gurney's could be capitalizing on the COVID-19 pandemic can be found in their restaurant reservation policy (or lack thereof). Absolutely no priority is given to hotel and marina guests when making reservations. As the capacity of all restaurants in the area is limited due to COVID-19 restrictions, getting a reservation elsewhere was extremely difficult. Not providing preference to your well-paying guests is the least an "exclusive" resort can do, but instead a family with 2 small children was offered a 10 PM reservation on a Wednesday night. Additionally, if you are lucky enough to be seated the menu is extremely limited. While the lack of amenities was disappointing, it was thoroughly eclipsed by the detestable treatment by all levels of resort staff who treat guests as if we should feel lucky to be allowed to stay at Gurney’s. Except for the young man that helped us tie up upon or arrival and the pool attendant, the staff was complacent and management dismissive and unprofessional when confronted with our concerns. Our interaction with Gurney's staff began with a significant "tip" to the gentleman in charge of the dock being necessary to assure we would receive a slip near the party with which we were traveling, and ended with a manager treating my wife with condescension and threats after she politely expressed the poor treatment and lack of service we endured. Although our Gurney’s experience deserves 1 star, the view is beautiful, and our children enjoyed their time playing with other kids on the beach and dock allowing for the additional star.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2 Helpful votes
LucyQ wrote a review Aug 2020
Old Greenwich, Connecticut1 contribution
Our 2nd visit to Gurneys this summer and we had a completely different experience. The marina staff were excellent but everyone else was really rude, unhelpful and made us feel unwelcome. The resort is lovely but not what you’d expect when it’s so expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Response from Michael Nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina
Responded Aug 21, 2020
Dear LucyQue74, Thank you for joining us and I'd like more feedback regarding your visit to the Marina. Please email me at the address below. Regards, Michael Nenner Area General Manager
Read more
$276 - $821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
montauk yacht club resort & marina hotel montauk, montauk yacht club resort and marina, yacht club montauk, montauk yacht hotel and marina, montauk yacht resort and marina
United StatesNew YorkLong IslandHamptonsMontauk
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Nearby attractions include Gosman's Dock (0.5 miles), Gin Beach (0.5 miles), and Lynns hula hut, montauk (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Inlet Seafood Restaurant, Gosman's Restaurant, and The Dock.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Camp Hero State Park (2.6 miles).
Does Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Gurney's Star Island Resort & Marina accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.