We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

A Wave Inn

32 South Elmwood Avenue, PO Box 1630, Montauk, NY 11954
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
A Wave Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for A Wave Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 88: English reviews
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My family and I flew up to Long Island this Memorial Day weekend to visit and celebrate with our extended family. We all had a fun filled mini vacation, the area in and around Montauk was beautiful, the location of A Wave Inn was perfect, the hotel and rooms there of were nice, and the room rates were more than... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Jay R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We just paid 1400.00 for a 5 night stay at the Wave inn and were given a much smaller room than offered.we could barely get to the bathroom around the bureau and bed ! There were 4 of us and we were very unhappy.we were also told on the phone there would be coffee in the lobby and continental breakfast... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Babien A
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Babien, Thank you for your feedback regarding A Wave Inn. The issues you brought forward are very disheartening, because they indicate that you did not enjoy the East End, the way you should have. The room type booked was a Deluxe Studio Efficiency, which offered ample space for your party of four. We do not offer complimentary breakfast... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montauk hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Rooms were clean and staff was very accommodating. The inn is Beautiful and my family and I enjoyed our stay there very much. The location was great and they were more than helpful with any questions we had about the area.Thanks for the memories, I am definitely coming back again!

Helpful?
2 Thank amber m
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel confirmed a room and gave me a much smaller room. Couldn't fit my party of 4 and had none of the amenities that the confirmation promised. They offered to find us another hotel which was ridiculous because there wasn't another room within 20 miles of Montauk that wasn't already booked. It was 4th of July weekend. The reservation... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dana M
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dana M, First let me apologize about the mis-hap with your reservations over the 4th of July holiday. It is not a habit of ours to provide paying guests with services far from what was requested. With that being said, we did our utmost best to accommodate you and your party for this weekend. As your Expedia reservation stated,... More 

mberga25
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We didn't know what to expect, but it definitely wasn't this - especially for the price. Although our room appeared clean, we hard a hard time believing it. The place smelled very old, with very old bedspreads, carpeting, and amenities. The cauking was cracking in the bathroom and again, even though it looked clean, you felt like you wanted to... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank mberga25
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mberga25, Thank you for your feedback regarding our property. It is unfortunate that your stay with us was not as expected. If only we were made aware, we would have done our best to accommodate any request/concern. We do general maintenance of the property such as carpet cleaning, painting etc. on an annual basis. We are aware that it... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights last Labor Day with my husband and two kids, and what a waste of money!! There were kids staying 8 to a room, partying all night. Montauk used to be a great family destination, but it's been ruined by party kids who take the train out, stay 10 in a room, and ruin any... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tracy f
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tracy F, Thank you for your review. Montauk has changed a lot over the years. It is unfortunate that you have decided not to return to such a beautiful and quaint town. Apart from the trails and beaches, there are plenty new businesses that offer a variety of services, that were never an option before. With new business, comes... More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

For $250 a night, you'd think they would at least mop the hair off the bathroom floor. Or maybe clear the giant hairball out of the bathtub so it would drain. Or if not that, at least consider not leaving the envelope requesting tip for the maid. Really? I'd move to another hotel, but unfortunately I'm not made of money... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank DakotaNYC
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review

Dear DakotaNYC, It is very unfortunate and disheartening that your stay with us was not as you expected. Being competitively priced, we try our best o ensure that our guests have the best experience in Montauk, and we did our best to correct all the issues you brought to our attention. Our housekeepers have more that 10 years experience, and... More 

Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

You get what you pay for in Montauk....reasonable rates for the location and season...no frills but clean rooms, great staff....nice pool...our room had full kitchen (which we didn't use but it was there).The beds in our room where a bit hard..but the beds in the other room we booked where good. Would stay there again.. CR Holbrook

Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen R
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Glad we stayed here nice rooms great location sweet staff larger room then we expected nice pool when the beach was windy we really enjoyed the stay look forward to coming back in August you guys were great

Helpful?
Thank Esta22
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here over the summer and have been meaning to leave a review for a while but haven't had a chance till now. I will make this one simple. Clean, near beach, big pool, reasonable rates. Need I say more?

Helpful?
Thank Ralph B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
0.1 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#4 of 42 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 42 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Breakers Motel
The Breakers Motel
#27 of 42 in Montauk
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Beach Resort
Oceanside Beach Resort
#19 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about A Wave Inn

Address: 32 South Elmwood Avenue, PO Box 1630, Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Price Range: $222 - $778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Wave Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your A Wave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Wave Hotel Montauk
Hotel a Wave
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay