We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Montauk Beach House

Save
Share
55 S Elmwood Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5342
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$239
View Deal
Agoda.com$239
Hotels.com$239
Tripadvisor$239
Lol.travel
Expedia.com$239
Orbitz.com$239
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (74)
Room & Suite (137)
Pool & Beach (45)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Montauk Beach House
Updated 08/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 39 hotels in Montauk
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Montauk Beach House is situated in the heart of downtown Montauk, and is a block from the Atlantic Ocean surf beaches and a short stroll to Montauk's most exciting shops, restaurants, bars and cafés.We are a 33-room boutique hotel with an active environment that encompasses a lively outdoor bar scene and entertainment within its grounds. Our summer season is booked with special events including DJs, live music, fashion shows, and other social gatherings with one common goal: a bit of serious fun.So if you understand what we are about, be prepared to have a rather splendid time!The Hotel lobby has a bustling atmosphere, with an open-air feel - afforded by the giant wall of glass doors that open to the street. Soaring ceilings, beautiful art, and décor set the scene. The Hotel's quirky and fun furniture intrigues you as you move through the lobby past the Café - an espresso bar serving Left Hand artisan coffee: freshly baked croissants, and other light fare.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Nightclub / DJ
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 4 more
294Reviews6Q+A57Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 155
  • 72
  • 26
  • 19
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
STAR24 wrote a review Oct 2020
Long Island, New York14 contributions9 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here for three nights in September and we had a really nice time. Since it was after Labor Day, the hotel was pretty quiet and we were so happy to get away. The pool is great!!! We actually ended up sitting out there each day instead of going to the beach. The beach is only a couple of minutes walk and so is town so it's really a great location. I have a gluten allergy so each morning we walked across the street to the Montauk Bake Shoppe for gluten free muffins and coffee. The hotel also has gluten free pizza and they also made me this delicious spaghetti squash dish. We ate there twice for dinner, the food was great and it's really pretty at night. The hotel staff were all terrific, very nice people and great service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Oct 22, 2020
Thank you so much for the great review and we're glad you really enjoyed your September stay with us. You've discovered the secret of September in Montauk where we still have amazing summer weather but with less of a crowd. The entire staff appreciates your comments as they work extremely hard to deliver amazing experiences for every guest. This pandemic has been an extremely challenging for both guests and hotel staff as we changed our entire operating protocols to deliver an extremely safe experience. We can honestly say that while it was definitely different it was a great season with so many guests like yourselves managing to get some real enjoyment from the stress of this pandemic. Again thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you back in what we all hope are more normal circumstances.
Read more
Claudi wrote a review Aug 2020
Englewood, New Jersey3 contributions3 helpful votes
This was our first getaway after having a baby. We were excited to finally enjoy some time together in our favorite town! As always we tend to arrive prior to check in and are able to use the facility. Upon check in we were greeted by what it felt like an annoyed front desk employee who was glued to her cellphone. She never showed or extended the grounds to us. I totally understand it’s a stressful time to work during covid, I myself will be the first to say as a health care employee, but try to at least be somewhat pleasant and attentive. The parking is horrendous! It’s first come first and there are no identifiers visible to let the hotel know who is exactly parking on the property. We had to wait for a spot which was taken by a costumer shopping next door. Later on we get a text stating our room is ready and to check in. Once we get to the room it was still dirty, I wiped down the end tables which had what looked like rings from a beverage. The toilet seat was soiled, and outside the shower had rotted wood which contained mold. I wiped everything down anyway, because we have a infant at home. I highly doubt they use any state of the art cleaning as specified on a letter which was placed on the bed. That evening we received a text stating they will have breakfast so we don’t have to go into town, and beat the crowds. The following morning we went to the lobby and no one knew what I was talking about. Apparently the delivery never came she said. We decided to head to the pool area and was asked to leave because they had morning yoga. The man who approached us was rude and should of offered us another area to relax in, but that was not the case. That evening we came downstairs to enjoy the fire pit around 930p and by the time we got someone’s attention he stated they stop serving at 10. We were perplexed because the table next to us ordered cocktails from a different server and that was not the case for us. Lastly, after checking out early, we received a text around 12 stating if we do not check out we will be charged an extra fee. I had to phone the front desk and make them aware a second time that we checked out. This was beyond an awful, unwelcoming, disorganized and a disappointing stay! I do not recommend this hotel, they need some education on costumer service and cleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Aug 31, 2020
We're indeed sorry that you had such a disappointing stay with us and we're disappointed it seems on several levels we did not live up to the type of customer service we strive to deliver. Parking has always been a challenge in downtown Montauk especially near the beaches where we are located. Since most visitors this season are driving here rather than taking the Jitney bus or LIRR trains (due to pandemic concerns) the situation this summer is particularly less than optimal. With regard to your end table having beverage stains we did check and we agree that some of these metal top appear to be permanently marked with beverage can shaped rings. We do want to assure you that indeed the rooms are extensively sanitized and despite those rings that surface was in fact wiped down with CDC recommended disinfectant prior to you arrival. And we're extremely disappointed in some of the other issues you encountered as they clearly do not reflect the service that we deliver on a regular basis. We invite you to contact the hotel directly and speak with either the Rooms Director or Director of Operations to share your experiences so that we can demonstrate that we are indeed professionals who want to do the right thing by all guests. That being said we hope that at some point in the future you will give us another opportunity to deliver the kind of great experiences that most reviewers have had.
Read more
Susana C wrote a review Aug 2020
Boston, Massachusetts5 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed at an Ocean Mist room from Sunday - Wednesday. It was a family trip with 2 kids, ages 6 and 10, and my husband. The pros: the pools, the beautifully landscaped grounds, the stylish spaces, comfortable, physically-distanced spaces in the public areas. Stylish hotel room, comfortable beds, awesome hot showers with good drains, and very friendly staff. I love how there's waitstaff service while you lounge at the pool. Easy walks to shops and restaurants, and of course, the beach. The cons: THE NOISE you can hear from your neighbors, especially from upstairs. (I had a white noise machine going and it was still too audible.) No chairs and table in the room. This was especially a problem when it's pouring out, and you just want to eat your take-out in your room. I just don't like to eat on my bed. I also disliked the carpeted patio space, just wouldn't walk barefooted on that carpet! The wooden patio chairs were uncomfortable to sit on for more than 10 minutes. We tried out this hotel because of a Travelzoo deal. I learned through reviews here about the noise prior to our arrival, tried to request for 2nd floor room but they had no availability. While our experience was good overall, a good night sleep is just so important to me.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Second floor for less noise
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Sep 22, 2020
Thanks so much for the great review and valuable feedback. So glad you enjoyed the pools, the landscape, and the rooms as well as our friendly staff. We do agree that we have a great location - 1 walkable block to the beach and all of the shops & restaurants in Montauk Village. Our entire staff works incredibly hard to pay attention to the these details and we're always happy to see that work is enjoyed by guests. Sorry about the neighbor noise. It's always a real challenge in completely soundproofing a historic beach community hotel property. Thanks for the heads up on the missing chair in your room as we will address that issue as soon as possible and will look into adding some cushions on those patio chairs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future when we hope we will all have returned to a more normal way of life on the other side of this pandemic.
Read more
Yannis P. wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
First off, amazing location just a block away from the beach but close enough to town works great if you have no car or took the jitney from the city. Inside, it looks completely different from what anyone would imagine from looking at the place from the outside; 2 pools, an outdoors bar and kitchen area, seating both covered and uncovered with umbrellas and all surrounded by lots of landscaping, making the place the perfect hangout spot. At night, they light up fire pits and the lighting under the covered kitchen area is so cozy and inviting with DJ’s for dinner and live bands. The food there is probably one of the best I had in the area; please try the Tuna Tartare (def instagram worthy) and the pizza is out of this world. Decent wine list and some amazing cocktails coming out of one of the most photogenic bars i’ve ever seen (seen plenty). They do take the whole Covid thing pretty seriously so better wear your mask when you are not seated because you will be in trouble. All tables and daybeds are set to keep social distancing between guests and and there’s plenty of sanitizers around the public areas and inside the rooms. All the staff there, from the front desk, wait staff and housekeeping were super accommodating and worked really hard to satisfy my needs while I was there. Good job Beach House, will definitely be coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Aug 19, 2020
Thank you so much for the amazingly detailed review of our property. The entire team has put in a tremendous amount of work into the details of the property with the intention of creating a secret oasis unlike any other right in the middle of downtown Montauk and close to the beach. It's been an especially challenging year as we try to continue to deliver amazing guest experiences and make sure every guest is safe from this pandemic virus. We do take the pandemic seriously and recognize that our number one priority is to keep all our guests safe. Again thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you back when we hope this pandemic will be a fading memory and we can return to at least some of the "old normal" instead of this "new normal."
Read more
KimmyG wrote a review Aug 2020
New Brunswick, New Jersey4 contributions3 helpful votes
It is my first time staying at The Montauk Beach House and I could not have picked a better place to stay in Montauk. I was a little worried about the reviews claiming the noise level in the rooms was high, but I found that the noise is similar to any other hotel where I have stayed in the past. Not an issue at all. I loved this hotel, the look, the vibe and how clean it was. The lobby area featuring paintings that were super colorful and made the place look so modern was so cool. The Miami beach feeling by the pool area with the DJ playing the whole afternoon made me forget a bit about the madness of Covid 19. The food offer at their restaurant is very good, the roman style pizza is to die for and the cocktails are amazing. I stayed in a room in their highest room category, upstairs facing the pool and the decor and how clean the rooms were, really amazed me. The fronts desk staff and manager were so nice and accommodating, every single request was fulfilled almost immediately. They really went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one. I really appreciate what this hotel and their housekeeping team is doing to keep everyone safe in the midst of the pandemic, they really are making sure everyone has a good time, but also is safe. Don't hesitate to visit this cool and hip property, if you are hip and cool, you won't regret it, it is definitely note for everyone ;)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Aug 18, 2020
Thank you so much for the great review and we're so glad you had such a memorable stay. Our entire staff works very hard to try and deliver an amazing experience for every guest who stays with us. In this especially challenging pandemic we've worked really hard to not only deliver an amazing experience but to do it in the safest way possible. We're exceptionally gratified that you were able to forget the madness of COVID 19 at least for a little bit since we know the stress everyone has been under these past months. We genuinely appreciate your kind words and great review especially in this "new normal" and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future in what we hope is something closer to the "old normal." Again, thanks.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$309 - $903 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLong IslandHamptonsMontauk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Montauk Beach House
Which popular attractions are close to The Montauk Beach House?
Nearby attractions include Ditch Plains (0.2 miles), Camp Hero State Park (0.2 miles), and Deep Hollow Ranch (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Montauk Beach House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Montauk Beach House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Montauk Beach House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Montauk Beach House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harvest on Fort Pond, Montauk Bake Shoppe Limited, and Naturally Good Foods and Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Montauk Beach House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Montauk Beach House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Montauk.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Montauk Beach House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, and Serbian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Montauk Beach House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Camp Hero State Park (0.2 miles).