The Montauk Beach House

The Montauk Beach House

55 S Elmwood Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5342
Traveler (89)
Moonlight King (Poolside/2nd floor)
Room & Suite (152)
Only good thing about the hotel. The fun pool.
Pool & Beach (48)

View prices for your travel dates

Only 3 left at
$346
$360
Only 3 left at
$346
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
3.9
Value
3.4
The Montauk Beach House is situated in the heart of downtown Montauk, and is a block from the Atlantic Ocean surf beaches and a short stroll to Montauk's most exciting shops, restaurants, bars and cafés.We are a 33-room boutique hotel with an active environment that encompasses a lively outdoor bar scene and entertainment within its grounds. Our summer season is booked with special events including DJs, live music, fashion shows, and other social gatherings with one common goal: a bit of serious fun.So if you understand what we are about, be prepared to have a rather splendid time!The Hotel lobby has a bustling atmosphere, with an open-air feel - afforded by the giant wall of glass doors that open to the street. Soaring ceilings, beautiful art, and décor set the scene. The Hotel's quirky and fun furniture intrigues you as you move through the lobby past the Café - an espresso bar serving Left Hand artisan coffee: freshly baked croissants, and other light fare.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Nightclub / DJ
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 4 more

Location

55 S Elmwood Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5342
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 86 out of 100
86
New Haven Airport
51.8 mi
304Reviews7Q+A58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 160
  • 73
  • 26
  • 21
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Yannis P. wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Best hotel in The Hamptons
First off, amazing location just a block away from the beach but close enough to town works great if you have no car or took the jitney from the city.
Inside, it looks completely different from what anyone would imagine from looking at the place from the outside; 2 pools, an outdoors bar and kitchen area, seating both covered and uncovered with umbrellas and all surrounded by lots of landscaping, making the place the perfect hangout spot.
At night, they light up fire pits and the lighting under the covered kitchen area is so cozy and inviting with DJ’s for dinner and live bands.
The food there is probably one of the best I had in the area; please try the Tuna Tartare (def instagram worthy) and the pizza is out of this world.
Decent wine list and some amazing cocktails coming out of one of the most photogenic bars i’ve ever seen (seen plenty).
They do take the whole Covid thing pretty seriously so better wear your mask when you are not seated because you will be in trouble. All tables and daybeds are set to keep social distancing between guests and and there’s plenty of sanitizers around the public areas and inside the rooms.
All the staff there, from the front desk, wait staff and housekeeping were super accommodating and worked really hard to satisfy my needs while I was there.
Good job Beach House, will definitely be coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Aug 19, 2020
Thank you so much for the amazingly detailed review of our property. The entire team has put in a tremendous amount of work into the details of the property with the intention of creating a secret oasis unlike any other right in the middle of downtown Montauk and close to the beach. It's been an especially challenging year as we try to continue to deliver amazing guest experiences and make sure every guest is safe from this pandemic virus. We do take the pandemic seriously and recognize that our number one priority is to keep all our guests safe. Again thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you back when we hope this pandemic will be a fading memory and we can return to at least some of the "old normal" instead of this "new normal."
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MSaddleback wrote a review Aug 2020
San Diego, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Best Hotel In Montauk
I have stayed in other properties in Montauk in the past years and decided to check The Montauk Beach House this season. After reading all the precautions they were taking due to the pandemic, it felt like the safest place for me and my family to stay in. I was assisted by Camila upon making my reservation and she was so helpful and accomodating. Upon checking in, we were warmly welcomed by the front desk and was escorted to a lovely room, very modern, nicely decorated, and extremely clean room. The room I stayed in has a day bed outside and we could hang out there and take in the sun, although this rooms are facing the street, they are guarded by tall grass and feel very private. Even though we did not get service every day, which needs to be requested at the front desk and honestly we did not need, we were provided with fresh towels and toiletries when needed. We found hand sanitizer everywhere in the property including the room and masks are required of guests walking around public areas, by the pool social distancing is being implemented by using every other daybed. They have planters on the day beds, not in use, which gives the pool area a very lovely feel. The service by the pool is great and they have a nice food and drink menu, we had some wonderful cocktails made by the amazing guys behind the bar. I recommend this place 100% and will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Aug 18, 2020
Thank you so much for the great review. We're so happy that you were able to have a great time especially as we all try to emerge from the stress of this global pandemic. Our team works round the clock to deliver an amazing experience for all our guests while maintaining the highest level of safety for everyone. On behalf of our entire staff we are grateful for you sharing your positive experiences and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jtravels2211 wrote a review Jun 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean and Comfortable Stay
We visited MBH for a getaway and felt comfortable booking our stay because of the hotel's COVID safety measures, which are outlined on the website (and that we saw actually happening during our stay). The rooms are sanitized with UV lights between every guest...during our stay we walked by a room that had a sign on the outside that read, 'Do Not Enter-UV Sanitization in Progress.' We stayed in the moonlight king. The room was spacious and the decor was very nice and beachy. The room was spotless and the bed was comfortable. We stayed during the week and found it to be nice and quiet, although it did start to fill up on Thursday night. The staff all wore PPE and there were hand sanitizing stations on the property and in the guest room. All in all, we felt comfortable and had a relaxing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TMBH-Management , Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Jun 21, 2020
Thanks so much for the great review during these trying pandemic times. We have intend implemented the strictest comprehensive safety and sanitizing protocols possible that will remain in place until this situation is completely in the past. As we emerge from this pandemic our goal is to continue to deliver an amazing experience where the safety of our guests is our #1 priority. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claudi wrote a review Aug 2020
Englewood, New Jersey
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Disappointed Stay
This was our first getaway after having a baby. We were excited to finally enjoy some time together in our favorite town! As always we tend to arrive prior to check in and are able to use the facility. Upon check in we were greeted by what it felt like an annoyed front desk employee who was glued to her cellphone. She never showed or extended the grounds to us. I totally understand it’s a stressful time to work during covid, I myself will be the first to say as a health care employee, but try to at least be somewhat pleasant and attentive.

The parking is horrendous! It’s first come first and there are no identifiers visible to let the hotel know who is exactly parking on the property. We had to wait for a spot which was taken by a costumer shopping next door.

Later on we get a text stating our room is ready and to check in. Once we get to the room it was still dirty, I wiped down the end tables which had what looked like rings from a beverage. The toilet seat was soiled, and outside the shower had rotted wood which contained mold.
I wiped everything down anyway, because we have a infant at home. I highly doubt they use any state of the art cleaning as specified on a letter which was placed on the bed.

That evening we received a text stating they will have breakfast so we don’t have to go into town, and beat the crowds. The following morning we went to the lobby and no one knew what I was talking about. Apparently the delivery never came she said.

We decided to head to the pool area and was asked to leave because they had morning yoga. The man who approached us was rude and should of offered us another area to relax in, but that was not the case.

That evening we came downstairs to enjoy the fire pit around 930p and by the time we got someone’s attention he stated they stop serving at 10. We were perplexed because the table next to us ordered cocktails from a different server and that was not the case for us.

Lastly, after checking out early, we received a text around 12 stating if we do not check out we will be charged an extra fee. I had to phone the front desk and make them aware a second time that we checked out.

This was beyond an awful, unwelcoming, disorganized and a disappointing stay!

I do not recommend this hotel, they need some education on costumer service and cleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Aug 31, 2020
We're indeed sorry that you had such a disappointing stay with us and we're disappointed it seems on several levels we did not live up to the type of customer service we strive to deliver. Parking has always been a challenge in downtown Montauk especially near the beaches where we are located. Since most visitors this season are driving here rather than taking the Jitney bus or LIRR trains (due to pandemic concerns) the situation this summer is particularly less than optimal. With regard to your end table having beverage stains we did check and we agree that some of these metal top appear to be permanently marked with beverage can shaped rings. We do want to assure you that indeed the rooms are extensively sanitized and despite those rings that surface was in fact wiped down with CDC recommended disinfectant prior to you arrival. And we're extremely disappointed in some of the other issues you encountered as they clearly do not reflect the service that we deliver on a regular basis. We invite you to contact the hotel directly and speak with either the Rooms Director or Director of Operations to share your experiences so that we can demonstrate that we are indeed professionals who want to do the right thing by all guests. That being said we hope that at some point in the future you will give us another opportunity to deliver the kind of great experiences that most reviewers have had.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KimmyG wrote a review Aug 2020
New Brunswick, New Jersey
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It Couldn’t Be Better!!! 👏 Thank you MBH ❤️
It is my first time staying at The Montauk Beach House and I could not have picked a better place to stay in Montauk. I was a little worried about the reviews claiming the noise level in the rooms was high, but I found that the noise is similar to any other hotel where I have stayed in the past. Not an issue at all. I loved this hotel, the look, the vibe and how clean it was. The lobby area featuring paintings that were super colorful and made the place look so modern was so cool. The Miami beach feeling by the pool area with the DJ playing the whole afternoon made me forget a bit about the madness of Covid 19. The food offer at their restaurant is very good, the roman style pizza is to die for and the cocktails are amazing. I stayed in a room in their highest room category, upstairs facing the pool and the decor and how clean the rooms were, really amazed me. The fronts desk staff and manager were so nice and accommodating, every single request was fulfilled almost immediately. They really went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one. I really appreciate what this hotel and their housekeeping team is doing to keep everyone safe in the midst of the pandemic, they really are making sure everyone has a good time, but also is safe. Don't hesitate to visit this cool and hip property, if you are hip and cool, you won't regret it, it is definitely note for everyone ;)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Aug 18, 2020
Thank you so much for the great review and we're so glad you had such a memorable stay. Our entire staff works very hard to try and deliver an amazing experience for every guest who stays with us. In this especially challenging pandemic we've worked really hard to not only deliver an amazing experience but to do it in the safest way possible. We're exceptionally gratified that you were able to forget the madness of COVID 19 at least for a little bit since we know the stress everyone has been under these past months. We genuinely appreciate your kind words and great review especially in this "new normal" and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future in what we hope is something closer to the "old normal." Again, thanks.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guillaume F wrote a review Aug 2020
London, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Overpriced motel
I have travelled in many luxury hotels around the world and that one fell in the category of the lower quality / massively overpriced hotels.

It is more a motel than a boutique hotel. The room are tiny - super noisy. For 900$ per night, the room was over-looking the parking. While we asked for a quiet room because my wife is pregnant, we heard our upper neighbors all night long walking (walls and floors are so tiny).

While I hear the concept of beach hotel, the rooms are really old style, with literally nothing inside: no fridge, no closet, no robes etc... (we asked for robes first night, we were told the hotel doesn’t have any just to see next day there were in other rooms).

They use COVID situation not to make the rooms every night (we just came from Gurney Montauk the weekend before - they were doing the rooms every night).

Next day we complained to get a quieter room. My wife had to cry for the receptionist to listen, which they finally agreed to. Of course for an additional 200$.

The only positive note is the personal is nice. There are many better options in Montauk, whatever metrics you look at.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Aug 19, 2020
We realize The MBH experience may not be what every traveler is looking for and we're always disappointed when we don't meet any guests expectations. We are an iconic restored and updated beach community property that dates back to the 1950's and 60's. So unfortunately for guests expecting a "5 Star Ritz-Carlton" type experience we might not be the right choice. As far as our pricing it is quite competitive with similar properties in Montauk and in fact sometimes a bit lower than some. We're indeed sorry you had noisy neighbors during your stay and we do our best to prevent this type guest from spoiling the experience for others. We can't speak for other properties COVID policies on housekeeping, etc. but our comprehensive sanitizing and safety program is based on the advice of health experts that minimizes exposures between staff and guests. In fact we have been advised by those responsible for public health & safety that our program was one of the best they've inspected. All guests have the option to request housekeeping services and again on the advice of health experts all we ask is that the guest leave the room while it's being done. Additionally fresh sanitized towels and linens can be requested at any time and are promptly delivered to guest rooms in sealed sanitized bags. We realize both the emotional & mental stress that this pandemic has created for both guests and hospitality staff alike. And that some of these safety changes during this pandemic may be inconvenient for some guests but our number one priority is guest safety. Thanks for the positive comment about our our staff and again we're disappointed we didn't meet your expectations. We wish you and your wife a safe and healthy pregnancy under what we can only imagine is an incredibly stressful time in your lives.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alisa C wrote a review Aug 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Extremely overpriced for quality you get!
The room we stayed was closed to 1000$ per night. For this price you get old, extremely noisy room, overlooking parking and noisy street, with nothing inside, not even a phone to call reception or a battle of water to drink! We could hear our neighbors 24h a day, some with little kids who wake up very early and some who party all night and come back at 3-4am to their room. When I say we could hear everything I literally mean it! We could hear how they walk, how they use bathroom, even their conversations! So forget about any sleep in this hotel if you are more or less sensitive sleeper!
Hotel it self provide no service. They don’t clean rooms, while other hotels do, they still use plastic plates and cutlery, there are no towels at the pool until late morning, you can’t order room service.
We came to this hotel because it s supposed to be cool and fun, but in reality there are no even music playing around the pool.
The only nice things about this hotel is a lounge area, but you can use it even if you don’t stay in this hotel.
We tried before Gurney and Marram hotels and both for the same price are so much better and friendlier!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Aug 19, 2020
We're always disappointed when we don't meet guests expectations especially during this global pandemic. While it's true that our buildings are older all of our rooms have been refurbished with updated furniture. And yes we don't have phones in the rooms, like many other beach community properties, because the idea is to disconnect while you're on vacation. For guests who find the disconnecting too stressful they free to communicate with our staff via our "Alice" app. Sorry you had noisy neighbors but it seems like as some folks have emerged from being shut-in they taken the new found freedom a bit too far. We not sure if you contacted them but we do have night security that does it's best to control this type of guest situation. We feel our prices are quite competitive and sometimes less than comparable properties in Montauk. We can't speak for other properties COVID policies on housekeeping, etc. but our comprehensive sanitizing and safety program is based on the advice of health experts that minimizes exposures between staff and guests. In fact we have been advised by those responsible for public health & safety that our program was one of the best they've inspected. All guests have the option to request housekeeping services and, again on the advice of health experts, all we ask is that the guest leave the room while it's being done. Additionally fresh sanitized towels and linens can be requested at any time and are promptly delivered to guest rooms in sealed sanitized bags. We utilize biodegradable plates and cutlery to avoid additional dishwashing as part of our conservation effects to reduce what's called "gray water" into our groundwater. Many guests don't realize that rural areas like Montauk are not connected to public sewer systems and depend on underground septic systems. These are essentially tanks that require regular maintenance and servicing and are dependent on the volume of water used at a property. We're not sure why there were no towels or music by the pool on one day of your stay but a simple request to any of our staff should have promptly remedied it. Like all other hotel restaurants the Beach House Grill Lounge area is available to hotel guests and non-hotel guests who have made reservations. Currently if you place an order at the grill area during hours of operation we are happy to bring it to your room if you wish. We're glad you liked the lounge area and hope that at some point in the future, when things are less stressful for all of us, that you'll give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the friendly MBH way.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
esmeluv wrote a review Aug 2020
ny
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DO NOT STAY HERE
I understand that things are different now due to corona. Unfortunately, this hotel thought that since the world is suffering their guests should suffer too. This place is not cheap and from the beginning of our stay until the end we didn’t get our moneys worth. Here is a quick summary. If you are on the 2nd floor there is no elevator. There are metal steps that you have to carry up your own luggage. The rooms are bare, not even a table or desk. 2 out of our 3 rooms had bathrooms doors that didn’t close. The shower temperature didn’t work, it changes from freezing to scalding hot (they came to fix it and it still didn’t work). The service in general is terrible and there is not enough staff. If you want coffee in the morning you have to wait on a long line. They do not take orders at the pool until 12 and they stop taking orders around 5. If you ask for an umbrella they tell you to switch seats. There is not enough towels for everyone to have ONE. If you need a cushion you have to go get it yourself. The cushion triangles that go under your head do not stay in one place, there is no point to them at all. My friend asked for a salad without onions as she is allergic and they gave her onions. She sent it back and it still came back with onions. The hotel itself is not cleaned enough, you will see garbage lying around the common areas and around the pool. They wont clean the rooms unless you ask. We asked and they said they already had 5 rooms to clean so they may not get to ours. One room had dirty tissues in it when we arrived. The wifi is terrible, do not come here if you need to work. At night there is no staff around at all other than a security guard. They told us we can get water in the evening from security. The security guard said all he had was ice. He also told my friend and I to go back to our rooms or leave the outdoor area for no reason at all. When we tried to get late checkout they told us no. They had no interest in accommodating us. The positive- the pools are nice and the fire pit area is chilled. Hang out at night at the Memory Motel, great bar! Next time we will try out Gurneys!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: pool view rooms are better than balcony street view rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Aug 14, 2020
We take every guest review seriously and try not to question the motivation of any reviewer. But from time to time we encounter a review where our faith in our fellow human beings is really tested which is the case here. Readers of these reviews will see that the overwhelming majority of our reviews are favorable. During a multi-day stay at our property we did not hear any complaints from this guest until we were unable to accomodate the guest's request for an additional 2 hours on check-out. At that point the guest threatened that unless we gave them the additional 2 hours that they would write a very bad review which readers can see they did. We explained that due to the pandemic housekeeping needed the time to perform the additional pandemic sanitizing procedures to make the rooms ready for next guests. We did grant this guest an additional half hour on check-out but that apparently was not sufficient to escape the threatened bad review. With regard to housekeeping, on the advice of health experts for guest safety, we only service rooms upon requests and the guests are required to leave the room. This is to minimize close exposures for guest and staff safety. (These policies are clearly stated on our website, in all reservation confirmations, and again at check-in as well as written information in every room.) It is true that we do not have an elevator to the second floor which is the case of all the beach area hotel properties in Montauk. We are an iconic restored boutique hotel property which any reasonable person would understand means that you will not find all the conveniences, such as elevators, of a modern high rise hotel. At the pool, for guest safety, in this pandemic only every other daybed is in use to maintain the legally required social distancing which means there are no cushions/umbrellas on them since they are not supposed to be used. Despite signage everywhere this guest apparently wanted our staff to violate these rules and put cushions/umbrellas on daybeds they were not supposed to be using. We find it incredibly sad that sometimes a fellow human use this and other forums to vent their own personal frustrations and demons especially in this worldwide pandemic where we're all trying hard to help each other through it. We will give this reviewer the benefit of the doubt and assume this review is related to pandemic stress in their life. All that being said we are always disappointed when we don't meet any guest's expectations whether they are reasonable or not. We wish this reviewer the best in their future travels when we hope they are in a happier point in their life.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah P wrote a review Jun 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Enjoyable getaway!
We arrived to stay for the weekend and were immediately impressed by the friendly staff and professional handling of safety and hygiene throughout our time there. The hotel was clean and our room was prepared for us with a surprise bottle of champagne. The pool was amazing, clean, and very peaceful to sunbathe around. The food we ordered inside the hotel was delicious including the chicken caesar salad and mojito to-go. I recommend this hotel if you're looking for somewhere peaceful to spend time but also have access to the surrounding area if you want more activities.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TMBH-Management , Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Jul 1, 2020
We really appreciate the great review and are so glad to hear that your experience was so good. Our entire staff continuously strives to deliver a great and amazing experience for every guest who comes to our property. As you can imagine this is especially challenging during the COVID pandemic so in addition to trying to provide an amazing experience we are obsessed with assuring that it is a SAFE & AMAZING. We believe we have created the safest environment possible, exceeding all federal, state & local requirements, as we emerge from this crisis. On behalf of the entire MBH team we look forward to seeing you back again in what we all hope will be more normal circumstances.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
G-lo931 wrote a review Jul 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location Location Location
Location is great, walk across the street to ocean as well as anywhere you want In town. Room was ok, small for a family of four. No mini fridge, which is ridiculous for anywhere in Montauk. May be the only hotel in town without them. If you are staying for an extended stay (2 plus nights) it’s a nice accommodation. It’s hard to find a place to stay in Montauk where you will find a great nights sleep. TMBH, regardless of its positive vibes, good service, and tasty drinks/food made sleeping a hard task. I don’t blame the hotel I just think the concept of consideration for others is a lost art. I do wish they gave out the number for after hours security upon arrival, would’ve been handy to have. Walls are thin so request an upper level room if you can. Pool area inside hotel is probably the nicest in Montauk with restaurant and bar service. At night it’s lit up with fire pits and is a really cool atmosphere. If you decide to stay bring your wallet ( and mask ) and earplugs and you will be all set!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TMBH-Management , Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Jul 5, 2020
Thanks for the review and we appreciate the feedback. With regard to the mini-fridges they've always presented a challenge in the humid salt air environment of Montauk. It seems no matter how much you cleaned them they develop a musty odor so we elected long ago to not have them except in special needs cases (guest medications requiring refrigeration, baby formula for example). Sorry you experienced some noisy neighbors - we do our best to remind all guests to be considerate especially during the quiet hours of 9PM to 8AM. Restoring and updating this historic Montauk hotel (dates back to the early 1950's) it was extremely difficult to completely soundproof all the rooms. We will however attempt to re-enforce our quiet time rules with all guests going forward. Also I'm sorry we do give our guests a night security number they can use and I apologize if you didn't receive that information. We're glad you enjoyed the "positive vibes, good service and tasty food & drinks" as our entire team works very hard, especially during this challenging time as we emerge from the COVID-19 pandemic, to try and make sure every guest has an amazing experience. Look forward to welcoming you back during more "normal" times in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PRICE RANGE
$297 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLong IslandHamptonsMontauk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

THE MONTAUK BEACH HOUSE

Frequently Asked Questions about The Montauk Beach House
Which popular attractions are close to The Montauk Beach House?
Nearby attractions include Camp Hero State Park (0.2 miles), St. Therese of Lisieux Catholic Church (0.1 miles), and Kirk Park Beach (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Montauk Beach House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Montauk Beach House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Montauk Beach House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Montauk Beach House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harvest on Fort Pond, Montauk Bake Shoppe Limited, and 668 The Gig Shack.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Montauk Beach House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Montauk Beach House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Montauk.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Montauk Beach House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, and Serbian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Montauk Beach House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Camp Hero State Park (0.2 miles).