We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
55 S Elmwood Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5342
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (84)
Room & Suite (152)
Pool & Beach (47)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Montauk Beach House
Updated 08/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 39 hotels in Montauk
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
3.9
Value
3.4
The Montauk Beach House is situated in the heart of downtown Montauk, and is a block from the Atlantic Ocean surf beaches and a short stroll to Montauk's most exciting shops, restaurants, bars and cafés.We are a 33-room boutique hotel with an active environment that encompasses a lively outdoor bar scene and entertainment within its grounds. Our summer season is booked with special events including DJs, live music, fashion shows, and other social gatherings with one common goal: a bit of serious fun.So if you understand what we are about, be prepared to have a rather splendid time!The Hotel lobby has a bustling atmosphere, with an open-air feel - afforded by the giant wall of glass doors that open to the street. Soaring ceilings, beautiful art, and décor set the scene. The Hotel's quirky and fun furniture intrigues you as you move through the lobby past the Café - an espresso bar serving Left Hand artisan coffee: freshly baked croissants, and other light fare.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Nightclub / DJ
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 4 more
300Reviews7Q+A56Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 158
  • 73
  • 25
  • 21
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
CASTLACH wrote a review Sep 2022
Island Park, New York31 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
Great Spot! This is our second stay here. The location is perfect right in the middle of town. We love the decor in the rooms. Great bar and grill and 2 pools. Our only complaint is that it says the pools are heated and they were freezing cold at the end of September. Definitely not heated. Even the kids wouldn’t go in. Other than that, we loved everything about or stay and will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Baron S wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
I stayed at the Montauk Beach House after doing research on the hotel beforehand. When I checked in I found that my room was infested with bugs. I notified the front desk and they treated the issue very nonchalantly. The issue was never dealt with and I was charged full price for that room. Montauk Beach House is certainly not taking precautions to sanitize their rooms because of the Covid pandemic, as most hotels out there are. If a clean room in Montauk is what you’re looking for I would avoid Montauk Beach House at all costs!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Aug 17, 2022
This guest did advise us that they saw a bug and upon inspection we found a single cricket which we think hardly represents an infestation. We promptly removed it and advised these guest that these crickets are quite common outdoors especially in the beach grasses at nearby local beaches which seemed to satisfy this guest. We also advised the guest that when returning from the beach or other outdoor areas they should always shake out their beach towels and blankets thoroughly prior to going inside. The guest understood and we never heard another mention of bugs from this guest for the entire duration of their stay until after they left the property and posted this review and picture (we note that the pictured crickets are all apparently deceased since they seem to be willing to pose for a small group photo). This reviewer is not accurate when they state we are "certainly not taking precautions to sanitize". We have protocols that exceed industry and government requirements which can be found at https://thembh.com/pandemic-operational-procedures/ on our website as well as a regular inspection program by pest control company. All that being said we are always disappointed when don't meet any guest's expectations no matter what those expectations are and we hope someday to welcome this guest back to what we hope will be a cricket-free stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael M wrote a review Apr 2022
Toronto, Canada18 contributions22 helpful votes
My girlfriend at the time and I drove down to this 'end of the world' surf town for a weekend getaway and it was exactly what we were looking for. A surfy converted motel with two pools and a DJ playing in the courtyard. The rooms were uniquely decorated, complete with a romantic bathtub in the main room. Walking access to both the beach and town made our stay convenient and comfortable. We loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded May 16, 2022
So glad you enjoyed your stay in our unique boutique property. The team works very hard to create an amazing experience for every guest and it sounds like it succeeded for you. Glad you loved it and come back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa S wrote a review Aug 2021
East Hills, New York81 contributions55 helpful votes
We have been coming here for years but the place is run down and needs a face lift. The lounge chairs are so uncomfortable. The cushions are so worn and dirty. The fire pit area is equally dirty with bird poop all over the furniture. I saw a dog relive himself near the place where people eat! I saw someone change a diaper on the lounge chair. I saw someone throw up in the pool. The staff could care less. You don’t even see people cleaning in the pool area. The pool staff is cold and don’t even try . Love the location but they have to get everyone on the same page.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Oct 24, 2021
Glad you love the location and have been a guest in previous years. We take note of all your listed concerns but we genuinely disagree with your description of the staff. Our staff is known to be extremely friendly and attentive to detail despite being through 2 summer seasons in the middle of a global pandemic. That being said we are constantly striving to improve the property and we hope if you decide to return that you will find an experience more to your liking.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sabrina I wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
I have never experienced worst service In my life. Pool waitress literally nonexistent. When she did prince the pool and delight you with her presence she was dismissive and walked away in the middle of your sentence. Woman at front desk no better. Barely greeted or made eye contact. Don’t bother.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Aug 12, 2021
We take every guest review seriously and try not to question the motivation or mental health of any reviewer. But from time to time we encounter a review where our faith in our fellow human beings is really tested which is the case here. As readers of our reviews the overwhelming majority are positive and attest to both the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff from the front desk to the service staff. We understand that from time to time we can all have a moment when our emotions get the better of us. But when a guest goes as far as to write disparaging scribblings on a check about our staff I think we have to draw the line. Our Director of Operations did politely meet with 3 of the 4 guests in this group to address their concerns which seemed to be a satisfactory resolution of those concerns at the time. But apparently the 4th member who was not present when we addressed their concerns decided that no matter how we addressed them it wasn't sufficient to avoid the threatened bad review. All that being said we hope that someday in the future to welcome this guest back when perhaps they are at a happier more emotionally controlled point in their life.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terri B wrote a review Jun 2021
Cary, North Carolina54 contributions59 helpful votes
The MBH provided the perfect getaway for us. We needed a few days to unwind and we couldn’t have picked a better spot. The decor was comfortable and fresh, inside and out. Our room (Whitewater Loft) was a nice size with a balcony. It was nicely appointed with nice quality linens, fixtures and toiletries. (There was no service in compliance with Covid restrictions) Nice cruiser style bikes were complimentary and we definitely enjoyed them for a few hours of exploring Montauk. We spent hours enjoying the outdoor area including the 2 pools, numerous fire tables, restaurant and bar. Everyone was so friendly and treated us so well! They made us feel special. Can’t ask for more than that!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Jun 17, 2021
Thank you so much for the amazing review. Glad you liked the decor and enjoyed our White Water Loft Room and that you were able to explore Montauk with our complimentary bikes. Sounds like you enjoyed all the outdoor spaces in our hidden oasis here in Montauk. Our staff makes tremendous efforts to ensure that every guest has an amazing experience and sounds like they succeeded for you. Again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michbno wrote a review May 2021
Huntersville, North Carolina2 contributions
I have been coming out to Montauk almost every year for the past 30 years. This place is better than it has ever been. The renovation is very well done, the addition of chairs, umbrellas and beach towels is really nice. The staff is fabulous. I can’t wait to come back
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded May 25, 2021
Thanks so much for your rave review as our staff goes to great efforts to deliver an amazing experience for every guest. Sounds like we succeeded for you. Montauk has indeed changed over the years and we hope to be welcoming you back for the next 30 years.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott wrote a review Jan 2021
New York City, New York12 contributions32 helpful votes
Spent Fourth of July here with another couple. Good COVID protocols in terms of spacing at the pool and limiting of outside guests. The rooms are a bit rustic but very accurately described on the website. Our initial king room on a bottom floor near the pool was very loud due to a party upstairs. The hotel graciously moved us the following day and did as best as they could keeping other guests quiet at night. The hotel itself is an older building and sound travels. Coffee bar in the lobby served good coffee. Food in the garden was generic but totally fine. Suspect during non COVID travel the pool is much more of a scene than it was during our trip. If you’re looking for a short stay in Montauk near the beach could certainly do worse.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded May 25, 2021
Thanks so much for the great review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad we were able to accommodate your requests and yes sound does travel bit more than some may prefer in an iconic restored beach community hotel. But we hope the amenities and vibes offset the inconvenience of the sound from your noisy neighbors. That being said we're glad you stayed with us and that you were able to enjoy Montauk in the middle of this global pandemic.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
STAR24 wrote a review Oct 2020
Long Island, New York16 contributions9 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here for three nights in September and we had a really nice time. Since it was after Labor Day, the hotel was pretty quiet and we were so happy to get away. The pool is great!!! We actually ended up sitting out there each day instead of going to the beach. The beach is only a couple of minutes walk and so is town so it's really a great location. I have a gluten allergy so each morning we walked across the street to the Montauk Bake Shoppe for gluten free muffins and coffee. The hotel also has gluten free pizza and they also made me this delicious spaghetti squash dish. We ate there twice for dinner, the food was great and it's really pretty at night. The hotel staff were all terrific, very nice people and great service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Oct 22, 2020
Thank you so much for the great review and we're glad you really enjoyed your September stay with us. You've discovered the secret of September in Montauk where we still have amazing summer weather but with less of a crowd. The entire staff appreciates your comments as they work extremely hard to deliver amazing experiences for every guest. This pandemic has been an extremely challenging for both guests and hotel staff as we changed our entire operating protocols to deliver an extremely safe experience. We can honestly say that while it was definitely different it was a great season with so many guests like yourselves managing to get some real enjoyment from the stress of this pandemic. Again thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you back in what we all hope are more normal circumstances.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claudi wrote a review Aug 2020
Englewood, New Jersey3 contributions6 helpful votes
This was our first getaway after having a baby. We were excited to finally enjoy some time together in our favorite town! As always we tend to arrive prior to check in and are able to use the facility. Upon check in we were greeted by what it felt like an annoyed front desk employee who was glued to her cellphone. She never showed or extended the grounds to us. I totally understand it’s a stressful time to work during covid, I myself will be the first to say as a health care employee, but try to at least be somewhat pleasant and attentive. The parking is horrendous! It’s first come first and there are no identifiers visible to let the hotel know who is exactly parking on the property. We had to wait for a spot which was taken by a costumer shopping next door. Later on we get a text stating our room is ready and to check in. Once we get to the room it was still dirty, I wiped down the end tables which had what looked like rings from a beverage. The toilet seat was soiled, and outside the shower had rotted wood which contained mold. I wiped everything down anyway, because we have a infant at home. I highly doubt they use any state of the art cleaning as specified on a letter which was placed on the bed. That evening we received a text stating they will have breakfast so we don’t have to go into town, and beat the crowds. The following morning we went to the lobby and no one knew what I was talking about. Apparently the delivery never came she said. We decided to head to the pool area and was asked to leave because they had morning yoga. The man who approached us was rude and should of offered us another area to relax in, but that was not the case. That evening we came downstairs to enjoy the fire pit around 930p and by the time we got someone’s attention he stated they stop serving at 10. We were perplexed because the table next to us ordered cocktails from a different server and that was not the case for us. Lastly, after checking out early, we received a text around 12 stating if we do not check out we will be charged an extra fee. I had to phone the front desk and make them aware a second time that we checked out. This was beyond an awful, unwelcoming, disorganized and a disappointing stay! I do not recommend this hotel, they need some education on costumer service and cleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TMBH Management, Owner at The Montauk Beach House
Responded Aug 31, 2020
We're indeed sorry that you had such a disappointing stay with us and we're disappointed it seems on several levels we did not live up to the type of customer service we strive to deliver. Parking has always been a challenge in downtown Montauk especially near the beaches where we are located. Since most visitors this season are driving here rather than taking the Jitney bus or LIRR trains (due to pandemic concerns) the situation this summer is particularly less than optimal. With regard to your end table having beverage stains we did check and we agree that some of these metal top appear to be permanently marked with beverage can shaped rings. We do want to assure you that indeed the rooms are extensively sanitized and despite those rings that surface was in fact wiped down with CDC recommended disinfectant prior to you arrival. And we're extremely disappointed in some of the other issues you encountered as they clearly do not reflect the service that we deliver on a regular basis. We invite you to contact the hotel directly and speak with either the Rooms Director or Director of Operations to share your experiences so that we can demonstrate that we are indeed professionals who want to do the right thing by all guests. That being said we hope that at some point in the future you will give us another opportunity to deliver the kind of great experiences that most reviewers have had.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$355 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLong IslandHamptonsMontauk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Montauk Beach House
Which popular attractions are close to The Montauk Beach House?
Nearby attractions include Ditch Plains (0.2 miles), Camp Hero State Park (0.2 miles), and Deep Hollow Ranch (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Montauk Beach House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Montauk Beach House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Montauk Beach House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Montauk Beach House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harvest on Fort Pond, Montauk Bake Shoppe Limited, and 668 The Gig Shack.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Montauk Beach House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Montauk Beach House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Montauk.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Montauk Beach House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, and Serbian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Montauk Beach House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Camp Hero State Park (0.2 miles).