We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Hotel website
290 Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gurney\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Pretty rooms, very very friendly staff (Ginny is the sweetest woman Ive ever met). Not cheap at all, but it is the place to be in the summer If you can afford it, go for a room with a balcony on the beach. Hard to get a room in the summer but worth a visit! Also great spa

Helpful?
Thank Sophie T
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sophie T: Thank you for the wonderful comments and you're correct about Ginny, she is a gem!!! We do hope to see you again soon and maybe during the summer. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Advertised as ice skating is actually on plastic with grease!!! Messy and impossible to skate on. Our skates were ruined! Restaurant had limited brunch menu and service lacked warmth...and slow. They were not allowed to serve mimosa at 11:30 brunch. Our food was ready, sat in the aisle for awhile. At another table, a customer got up to get coffee... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Josie A
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Josie A, My apologies for the issues you experienced during your day of skating at Gurney's. The synthetic rink we have is used by the NHL for practice rinks and I will follow up with the company regarding the issues you experienced. As far as the brunch, please contact me to discuss your experience further. Thank you for the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montauk hotels

Long Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As first time guests, we were blown away with the kindness of the staff...from booking, to dining to spa personnel, everyone went overboard to make our anniversary special! (including a nice surprise treat waiting for us in our oceanfront guestroom!) The resort feels brand new...recently remodeled with fascinating décor. The view of the Atlantic is spectacular and their "ice skating... More 

Helpful?
Thank SouthShoreTravelers
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear SouthShore Travelers: Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your Anniversary stay. We appreciate the feedback and it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our room and amenities. We do hope to see you again for your next anniversary. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went for a short two night winter break as we were looking for something close to New York City. Gurneys was ideal as everything was available in the resort. Our room was very comfortable and had a great sea view (advertised as partial view). The restaurant was very good and the staff throughout the resort were extremely friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty H
Robin T, Guest Relations Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty H, Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay and we are so pleased you had a "Great Winter Break". I'm sorry that you didn't find the facial upgrade worth your while. I will be sure to share with the Spa team and I appreciate your comments. Please feel free to contact me when you are able to... More 

New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friends and I (5 in total) were so excited for our 90 min massages at the Seawater Spa after having a beautiful day at the beach. Unfortunately the experience at the spa was subpar at best. At first I thought I was the unlucky one stuck with a bad massage therapist, but after discussing it will the other girls... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RR920
Robin T, Guest Relations Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear RR920, We are very pleased to know you enjoyed the resort and liked the renovations however I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your Spa treatments. Your feedback is very important to us and we always look to improve. Please contact me so we may further discuss and we look forward to accommodating your stay again soon.... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The view was spectacular even in the snow! My husband and I enjoyed a day in the spa. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Food, and atmosphere wonderful. So nice to swim in a seawater pool in the winter, Will definitely return for another recharge! Betty and John Fanneron

Helpful?
1 Thank Fanneron
Robin T, Guest Relations Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Fanneron, We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! The snow was so pretty over the ocean and was a treat to see. We look forward to seeing you again real soon. Please contact me if I may assist. Kind regards, Robin Torr Guest Relations Manager More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great getaway a couple of hours drive east of NYC. We've been here several times over the years, but they have been renovating with a flair for modern chic. Even in the offseason they are busy. We enjoyed the spa and resturants during our stay. The restaurnt hosts & hostess were very nice. Angel, our server was great! The... More 

Helpful?
Thank TimeTraveler0123_10
Robin T, Guest Relations Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear TimeTraveler0123_10, Thank you for your comments on the restaurants, spa and our great staff. We are delighted to know your truly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon and please contact me if I may assist you! Kind regards, Robin Torr Guest Relations Manager More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have gone to their big New Year's Eve party with a polar bear plunge the next morning twice. The party usually has a theme such as James Bond which adds to the festivities. So it is really cold in Montauk in the winter so doing a polar bear the Gurney's way is the only way! You spend about 40... More 

Helpful?
Thank jjtravelagain
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jjtravelagain, Thank you for the comments regarding your NYE stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us more than last year and that you'll join us again before next year to enjoy the resort. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After many years of being "run down" a new renovation is restoring Gurney's back to what it should be, beautiful. Sitting above the Atlantic ocean, you get a magnificent view of the beach below. Sunsets explode against the sky here. The staff is friendly and helpful. Scarpetta, the main restaurant is delicious. Tilly's for brunch on weekends is great for... More 

Helpful?
Thank NMT2015
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear NMT2015, Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate the feedback regarding your stay with us! We do hope that you'll join us again soon and please contact me for assistance if necessary. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager More 

Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at Gurneys many times and love it! We don't like the newly renovated king ocean front. They are a little cold and not very private. The only privacy on the terraces are a Bush. This month we rented a 2 bedroom cottage with another couple. . The bridge room 529.. right on the water. We didn't know... More 

Helpful?
Thank metsma62
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear metsma62, Thank you for staying with us again and thank you for the feedback regarding the renovated rooms. We do hope that you'll return to stay with again this year and please contact me for assistance in making reservations. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

330 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (264)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Beach (31)
Viewed
Junior Suite (26)
Viewed
King Oceanfront Room (23)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
4.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 42 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 42 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
2.1 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#9 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#11 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Ocean Resort Inn
The Ocean Resort Inn
#1 of 42 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oceanside Beach Resort
Oceanside Beach Resort
#14 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay