We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
220 North Rd, Milton, NY 12547-5506
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (508)
Room & Suite (105)
Dining (28)

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Milton
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
Located on 75 acres overlooking the Hudson River. Cascading waterfalls, swan ponds, organic gardens, fresh gourmet breakfasts, and an eco-friendly spa. Rooms with private fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and balconies.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Hammam
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Safe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
610Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 363
  • 140
  • 53
  • 34
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mam wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Do not visit buttermilk falls!!!!!! We booked a weekend, bunch of friends. Unfortunately one friend got Covid two days before arrival. We immediately cancelled however it wasn’t within cancellation policy. We didn’t think it was right for the rest of us to go as we had all Been exposed to our sick friend days before. Buttermilk didn’t respond to our request to cancel. After dozens of phone calls and emails, they finally responded saying they’d issue a credit to use at a later day. They never issued that. When we followed up, they lied and said they never offered that. The manager and GM were terrible at returning phone calls. They were also incredibly rude and deceptive. It’s truly the worst customer service I’ve ever received. They stole $4000 from us.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Grace Licalsi, Marketing at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi, we will be sure to take your review into careful consideration moving forward to avoid similar occurrences. At Buttermilk Falls, our cancellation policy is strictly enforced. Unfortunately at the time you reached out to us, the window to receive a refunded cancellation had passed. Great customer service and hospitality towards our guests are a top priority. I apologize that your experience didn't meet your expectations. We hope that you book with us in the future, and allow us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Read more
Esqbaby wrote a review Feb 2021
New Vernon, New Jersey188 contributions98 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
We rented the north cottage with our dog for a long weekend. It was about 1000 square feet with a full kitchen, open concept dining room and living room with a beautiful fully working fireplace, two bedrooms, and one bath. We were next to the aviary house but never heard the peacocks or hens/roosters. Everybody who worked there was so friendly, from the front desk, to the breakfast staff, to Henry's restaurants, to the spa, to the gentleman in charge of the grounds. We walked around the grounds with and without the dog all day, enjoyed the beautiful Hudson river and all the animals. My only criticism is the master bedroom bed. Its WAY too small and too uncomfortable. A nice Queen or California King would be awesome! Otherwise, I highly recommend the Inn and Spa.....
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The North Cottage was away from everybody and everything. Nice privacy
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
brooklynativegirl wrote a review Jun 2022
Westfield, New Jersey4 contributions
We spent 3 nights there in 2021 and had a wonderful time; I gave a 5 star review. However, these past few months have made me do a total 180 about the property. I started calling in March to see about booking a 3 night long weekend for the family in one of the two houses they have (one 4BR, one 5BR); it is very expensive but we had such a good time last year, were willing to pay the premium. I was told that they "hold" the rooms for weddings, so could not release until 30 days prior. After numerous (at least 15) calls and being told different things at different times, I was finally told that it was 90% that we could do 7/8-7/11; keep in mind that we all had to put in for days off from work Friday & Monday). I called today, 6/2, since it is now about 30 days out and was told, oh, I am sorry, but it was booked by the wedding. I was furious; keep in mind that I had to call them, they did not even have the courtesy to call me, despite the fact that my name was at the front desk. They should just say they are a wedding venue and that is it. I had to practically beg them to take my money, which by the way, would have come to over $5K. I will never go there again nor will I recommend, just the opposite. Very poorly run and no respect for customers, let alone returning ones, which should be valued rather than treated so poorly.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Service
Room Tip: Don't go here; they do not value their guests. Only weddings.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Melanie C wrote a review Feb 2022
Boston, Massachusetts4 contributions8 helpful votes
I would not recommend this inn as there is a lack of management experience and engagement and a cost/quality mismatch. Great: • Spectacular grounds, landscaping, and natural setting • Pleasant but unseasoned hospitality staff Off the mark: • Management: The innkeeper and GM were either absent (GM) or avoided engaging with guests in a customer-friendly way (innkeeper). So good luck w/ a request (or, more seriously, an emergency) that requires management input. • Deceptive practices: There is a 10% "resort fee" added although there is NO mention of this fee during the booking process. Their fee is based on the cost of your room, so, those in more expensive rooms pay more for the exact same services for which others pay much less. • Spa: The spa has been under "renovation" for over a year even though there was no sign of any renovations happening. Typical spa amenities were not available, time allotted for spa services was cut by 10 minutes (for sanitation) but fees were not. It is a scaled-down spa experience with full pricing. Not to mention that our spa appts were canceled as the temporary location had no heat. • General maintenance: both of our accommodations required updating and significant maintenance. Pulls for curtains didn't work, shower curtain rods weren't secure, water pressure in showers was weak, etc. • Technology: the technology in the rooms (tv, sound systems, etc.) is woefully out of date. TVs are not "smart" and after hours of trying to connect to the WIFI to use the Roku, we simply gave up. Throughout the stay, there was constant frustration due to invisible service and maintenance of this facility. The rates are WAY too high for the level of service and accommodations.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
MJ3333 wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
All - Buttermilk literally kept our money when we had to cancel due to COVID-19. Not a refund or reschedule! Any company that doesn't care about the health of their guests is no longer an option for me, my friends and community. I will do my best to spread the word so all can avoid this place. I suppose we could have ignored COVID-19 and come Buttermilk but that wouldn't have been fair to all the other guests - right?! Avoid at all costs!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
athinalev wrote a review Nov 2021
Fishkill, New York10 contributions10 helpful votes
My reviews are a bit mixed....some good; some not so good. Front desk was very helpful, professional; and accommodating. They allowed us a slightly early check in. The grounds, to me, are beautiful. Even in November; beautiful trees, plantings, pathways, and of course; the ponds, river views and animals. Our room was nice, but quite small-not a big deal. No fridge or coffee maker-they did have robes. Bed was not particularly comfortable and the pillows were way too thick and firm. I woke up with a really sore neck both mornings. We ate at Henry's both nights. Some things were good; others were not. I would rate it a 3/5. Breakfasts at the inn arrived cold and incomplete. I found none of the specials to be appetizing so ordered a standard egg breakfast both mornings. Our server at breakfast was young and unseasoned, but pleasant. They recognized my boyfriend's birthday by leaving us a chilled mini champagne bottle with 2 glasses in our room when we arrived. We really appreciated the effort and special touch. My massage at the spa was non-existent. My boyfriend said his was amazing. My massage therapist basically rubbed lotion on my body-there was no actual massage. I can't believe I spent the money that I did; only to receive the most uninspiring massage ever. Not sure what happened there. She also seemed to scold me for being tense...which was very odd.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Pebregman wrote a review Nov 2021
5 contributions6 helpful votes
The photos look inviting; the grounds are gorgeous, and I can see why you would want to get married there. My husband and I wanted a few quiet days away in a lovely, comfortable environment. We did not get it. This was 2-star. And not 4. The rooms were dark, we changed and upgraded, and little changed, nothing that needed repair was repaired. It took forever for the rooms to get warm, the breakfast was less satisfying than a middling diner. And with all that and more, we paid, with taxes, $400+/night. Such a ripoff. We will never return nor recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
roy h wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The room price, with taxes and "resort fee", was $483.20/night for two nights. A resort, this is NOT. I'd say the room was worth, best case, $83.20/night. This was nothing short of highway robbery, and for the value, was the worst hotel/inn I've ever stayed in. The room was generally unclean, the windows were filthy, the shower was barely a trickle, the lighting in the room was awful (not to mention several burnt out bulbs), the fuse for the hair dryer blew literally every 10 seconds, the bathroom was in a state of disrepair, the service was non-existent, the room was on a second floor which meant we had to carry our suitcases up about 15 steps, the bed was creaky, and the promised breakfast was delayed (because of horrible service) by more than an hour. I cannot say a single positive thing about this place. Save your money and stay anywhere else. ANYwhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Grace Licalsi, Marketing at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Responded Dec 13, 2021
Hi Roy, Thank you for the feedback. I'd like to apologize on behalf of our whole team for the experience you had while staying with us. We are truly disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered during your stay. We will keep these comments in mind as we do all that we can to make certain that issues of this nature do not occur in the future. Your opinion is very important to us and we do hope that we can make it up to you in the future!
Read more
Sarah C wrote a review Oct 2021
65 contributions17 helpful votes
The room is charmingly decorated and the bed is so very comfortable. The bathroom is a good size, the showerhead should be a bit larger, but there was instant hot water, which was greatly appreciated after being soaked by rain. There is a fireplace in the room and after 15 minutes the fireplace shut off automatically, it would have been nice to be able to have it on for a longer period of time. The staff is friendly and helpful. Please note laundry service is limited, as staff goes home at 5pm. My room was on the first floor and since this is a BB and there was a bit of noise from above, so if sensitive to noise maybe ask for a second floor room. My friend's room had a very small TV, whereas my room had a more normal size TV.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
SharonEstero wrote a review Sep 2021
Estero11 contributions5 helpful votes
What an awesome destination wedding! Our families and friends gathered for our niece's wedding at this wooded, scenic, beautifully landscaped Inn on a perfect fall weekend. Though very old, our room at the Main House was charming & quite comfortable. The rustic-looking Barn served as the venue for the Rehearsal cocktail party, after wedding party and Sunday Brunch. The wedding ceremony took place on the lawn overlooking a treed pond with ducks & swans. A tented patio, down the hill from the Inn, provided a scenic view of the Hudson River. A picture-perfect sight for the wedding dinner! Can't say enough about the Inn's staff in lodging and especially in the wait staff: professional, thoughtful, welcoming, attentive, efficient and honestly friendly. Kudos all around for exceptional customer service!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Grace Licalsi, Marketing at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Responded Sep 30, 2021
Hi Sharon, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're so glad you had such a lovely experience while staying with us. We're glad we were able to make this special occasion so wonderful for you and hope you return in the future!
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
buttermilk falls hotel milton, buttermilk falls inn and spa
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkCatskill RegionMilton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Walkway Over the Hudson State Historic Park (3.5 miles), Walkway State Historic Park (3.0 miles), and Locust Grove Estate (1.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lola's Catering and Cafe, Rosticceria Rossi and Sons, and Crew.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Milton.
Are pets allowed at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Poughkeepsie Post Office (3.2 miles).