Boro Hotel

Boro Hotel

Traveler (771)
Room & Suite (206)
Dining (37)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
$188
Get rewarded with One Key
$188
Multiple ways to pay
Only 1 left at
$180
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 36 hotels in Long Island City
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.4
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

See why so many travelers make Boro Hotel their hotel of choice when visiting Long Island City. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Fisher Landau Center for Art (0.2 mi) and Sculpture Center (0.6 mi), guests of Boro Hotel can easily experience some of Long Island City's most well known attractions.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Boro Hotel features a 24 hour front desk, a rooftop terrace, and a concierge. In addition, as a valued Boro Hotel guest, you can enjoy a lounge that is available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to paid private parking available on-site.

While visiting Long Island City, you may want to try some dumplings at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Shi or Mu Ramen.

If you’re looking for something to do, MoMA PS1 (0.9 mi), Pepsi Cola Sign (0.9 mi), and Socrates Sculpture Park (0.9 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Boro Hotel.

At Boro Hotel, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Long Island City.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Greek and 3 more

Location

38-28 27th St, Long Island City, NY 11101-2702
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 79 out of 100
79
LaGuardia Airport
Teterboro Airport
39th Ave
5 minNew York City Subway
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,231 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Boro Hotel stands out for its modern, industrial charm and cleanliness, with guests consistently commending the well-maintained rooms that offer comfort, spaciousness, and impressive views. Although travelers appreciate the hotel's easy access to Manhattan and public transit, opinions on value are mixed; some find the price steep considering the amenities and dining options. The friendly staff receives high marks for their service, though there are occasional mentions of room service shortcomings. Suggestions for improvement include more in-room conveniences and a broader menu selection.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Chic
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,231Review45Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 783
  • 292
  • 79
  • 50
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Brianne O wrote a review Oct 2020
Toms River, New Jersey11 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arriving the one and only issue I had with the hotel was there was no valet parking. However, during thr time of the rona I should not have been suprised and this is partially my fault for not calling ahead and asking although it is not stated on the website. But the neighborhood was not bad, the locals are welcoming, friendly and parking was found on the same street of the hotel for free in the middle of the weekend. I felt safe leaving my brand new car parked here.

The room we stayed in was the balcony room with a bathtub. It was clean, minimalist and had everything you could need. I could see how some people walking into their room would be shocked as the hotel has a industrial feel. There is exposed concrete walls, rustic flooring and had a very urban feeling. However, it still felt maintained very well and thst was the most important part.

We did not leave the hotel once during the stay, room service was ordered for breakfast lunch and dinner. The food was great. For drinks we visited the rooftop bar and WOW. beautiful sunset views of the city, not crowded, just be aware you need to order food while youre up there to accompany your drinks.

Will be staying again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services Team Member, Guest Services / Front Office at Boro Hotel
Responded Oct 14, 2020
Thank you for choosing The Boro and sharing your experience. Our Studios with deep soaking tub are amazing but the Manhattan View rooms are also spectacular. Thrilled you also enjoyed Beebe's whose pizza and other casual fare have garnered cult status for the most discerning. Glad the parking situation worked out, as our valet is limited due to covid. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Boro Welcome Desk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gina D wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I loved staying at the Boro Hotel! I checked into the King Studio / Tub/ Balcony room for 5 nights and had a luxurious time. The room was very large, with floor to ceiling windows, high airy ceilings and i very much appreciated the minimalist look of the room. The bathroom shower and tub and really entire room felt very clean and fresh when i checked in. The staff at the front desk were super friendly and helpful during my entire stay. A quick call downstairs was always met with someone running whatever i needed to my room within the next 10-15 minutes. The balcony for the studio room was amazingly big and was a welcome surprise for me! If you are looking for a weekend getaway - the studio king room is the place to be. The hotel is connected to the cafe/restaurant Beebe's. Every meal that was delivered to me was delicious. Highly recommend the Hot Italian Pizza, Burger and the Bread pudding dessert. Gloria who works as the Barista in the cafe during the week was such a delight to see every morning. She was always smiling & friendly, and ready to help all her clients and guests. Gloria and all of the staff in the hotel are always working hard, cleaning surfaces and greeting guests. Staying at the Boro Hotel made me feel like I was very safe ! I actually extended my stay for another 8 days and basically been living here for a couple of weeks. LOL. So thank you Boro for having me! I'll be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services Team Member, Guest Services / Front Office at Boro Hotel
Responded Jan 26, 2021
Many thanks for your recent review. It brings me great pride to hear that you had a memorable stay at Boro Hotel and you felt such a warm welcome from the team through out your stay. It invigorates them to know that their hard work and hospitality has not gone unnoticed. Our rooms are certainly unique; we take great pride in the bespoke and layered interior design. I'm glad you enjoyed! We look forward to be you home away from home when you visit New York. Warmest Regards Mary
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
LucyRam wrote a review Jan 2020
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom17 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The great experience started from the welcome we received on arriving at the hotel. The two rooms we had worried me to start with as they were either side of the lifts, but we didn't experience any noise from it so all fine.
The bedrooms were a little too minimalist for me in terms of where to store clothing etc, however we could have a luggage rack, fridge etc delivered at our request at no additional cost. I would have been happier with a chest of drawers in the corner so I didn't feel like I was living out of a suitcase.
The views from our rooms were absolutely wonderful - spectacular views of Manhattan
We ate in the restaurant on the first night (snack) and enjoyed the glass of complimentary wine and then dined in on the third night as we were so tired we just wanted to come back and chill. The pizzas were amazing, rigatoni and meatballs was a huge hit with my two boys and the chicken wings......food of the gods!
Easy access to subway stations and a nice selection of eateries nearby.
All in all, we would definitely stay here again if we were visiting New York.
Thank you Boro Hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Queen room with balcony Manhattan view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BoroHotelMGMT, Manager at Boro Hotel
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Dear LucyRam, Thank you kindly for your detailed review. We are so happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay as well as our restaurant - Beebe's. We will definitely take your feedback into consideration regarding a chest of drawers so hopefully we will have one for your next stay! Please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly should we be able to of any assistance in the future. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jane GM Boro Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
STrumbull83 wrote a review Jan 2020
Brooklyn, New York12 contributions18 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I think this hotel can be amazing or disappointing depending on your purpose for being there. As an affordable place to stay with stunning midtown Manhattan views and a great kitchen, it fully delivers. For a working staycation, which was my purpose, it was a big let down.

When I walked in I was informed that the Boro Hotel was a "minimalist" hotel and that a lot of things would not be provided unless I requested them. I found this immediately off putting, as was the sign in the room that said to "help us save the world" by not washing the towels every day. Now, I'm all for reusing my towels and minimizing clutter that needs to be cleaned every day. If I had been encouraged at check-in to let them know everything I needed, that would've countered the feeling. But instead I walked away from my check-in feeling like I was the one in error if I needed something. And I did. I had to request ice, as there was no fridge or ice machine, which was brought to me by a smiling staff member. But again, I felt like a burden by asking for it in the first place! I resigned myself to warm bottled water the rest of the visit.

I live a neighborhood away, and my reason for staying at the Boro Hotel was to complete a writing project that was nearing a deadline. It had been marketed to me as a "staycation" so I was on board with that. Unfortunately, the desk chair was literally the most uncomfortable thing I've ever sat on. It looked good, but I had to put a bed pillow on it to do the hours and hours of work that I needed to do. I suppose I could've gone down to their cafe area which had more comfortable seating, but I might as well have gone to Starbucks for a $5 latte if that's what I wanted instead of paying for a private room.

The room is designed without any floor or ceiling treatment, giving it that urban raw look. Aesthetically, it's lovely. Unfortunately it meant that I could hear my upstairs neighbors every step they took.

Part of the "staycation" aspect that appealed to me is that I'm a new mom, and I was SO EXCITED to sleep alone in a bed and not be interrupted by a crying baby. It was immensely frustrating to listen to upstairs guests walk around, their voices filtering down through the balcony, and making it very hard to go to sleep.

I used my phone as a white noise machine, but it didn't cover the sounds of the balcony itself. There was a harsh, metallic grating sound whenever weight transferred on and off it, and nothing could drown that out. Except maybe ear plugs! But when I called downstairs, the minimalist hotel had run out of them. Probably because every person in that hotel needs them if they don't want to hear everything happening above them. Again, I could've gotten that kind of disturbance for free in my own apartment.

So, all in all, it was not what I wanted. I think the hotel was designed with form rather than function in mind, and if you intend to stay inside, it becomes problematic. If it's just a jumping off point for your NYC adventures, I'm sure it's fantastic.

Oh, and the food really was great. And every interaction with guest services or housekeeping was pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The Manhattan view is really great
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BoroHotelMGMT, Manager at Boro Hotel
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Dear STrumbull83, Thank you kindly for your detailed review. I was disappointed to read that your stay was sub par. We are a modern minimalist property and offer a multitude of amenities that are available upon request. We always encourage our guests to let us know what they would like as it is never a burden for our team. We are here to provide you with a bucket of ice or to replenish your room with cold bottles of water upon request.We sincerely apologize for being out of ear plugs . As for your desk chair, we would have been happy to provide an alternative for you. We also have a white noise machine available as well. If you decide to try us again in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly so I can personally look after your stay. My email is Jane@borohotel.com. Kind Regards, Jane GM Boro Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
m3466 wrote a review Jan 2020
Seattle5 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
So in total we like this hotel very much. But it’s very bad that we don’t get our daily towels if we don’t let tips for the cleaning staff. We don’t mind at all to give tips but we have stayed in other hotel brands like Mariott or Hilton, and none of them required tips for getting new towels. This is our 4th time in this Hotel and this experience happened every visit. We told the checkin staff, they apologized but nothing happened. That is why I’m writing this review. As guests we pay high price for the room per night so we should get clean towels independent of tip as we hope you pay your cleaning staff well what they deserve to get!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BoroHotelMGMT, Manager at Boro Hotel
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Dear m3466, I have reached out to you directly via private message in hopes of connecting with you directly. We absolutely do not require tips or gratuity for any request and have never received this type of feedback. I look forward to hearing from you and looking into this further. If you have not received my message, please feel free to email me directly with the first and last name on your reservation. My email is Jane@Borohotel.com. Best, Jane GM Boro Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennaysung wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My experience at the Boro Hotel was disappointing because the website really blows the amenities they have out of proportion to what they actually have. They do not have a business room that guests can work in if they need to (website references to a conference room but the curt lady at the front desk said they don't have one), the "library" they describe on the website is a tiny wall in the middle of the lobby with two chairs in front of it. The rooftop was closed off and the gym was basically a concrete-walled basement with a couple of gym equipment stashed inside.

We stayed in a king bedroom with a balcony with a manhattan view and the room was so much smaller than I thought it was going to be. The feeling I got was that they must have renovated a factory or something. I understand that they were going for a modern look, but what is with the shower with no door? Taking a shower was so cold and the water dripped all over the bathroom floor because the shower had no door.
On top of all of this, the whole floor smelled like weed, which seeped into our room.

When we ordered room service, the male staff who took our order said it would take 20 minutes. The order arrived 50 minutes later and cold. One of the dishes we ordered was pasta and it was inedible because it was all stuck together into a solid block.

Overall, I was pretty disappointed with my stay. I will not be returning here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BoroHotelMGMT, Manager at Boro Hotel
Responded Apr 2, 2020
Dear Jennaysung, We are saddened so read that the stay did not meet your expectations. We have a conference room available for private events. Our agent informed us you asked for a business center which we do not have. We do have a computer available for guest use as well as printing services at the front desk. We apologize for any miscommunication. We ask that guests call us in real time when there any issues or disturbances such as delayed room service or smell so we can rectify immediately. We appreciate the time you've taken to share your feedback and hope that you might change your mind and give us another try in the future. We also hope that you and your loved ones are staying safe and healthy during this time. Sincerely, Jane GM Boro Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Staywithshelly wrote a review May 2021
New York City, New York8 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my second staycation at Boro Hotel. My first staycation I booked the room with the tub. I must say it’s such a beautiful aesthetically pleasing room and the tub to die for. My second stay I have booked a King or Queen with a surprised upgrade (extra $25 and as told by the receptionists all king rooms were booked so I landed a queen). The first room I landed (11th floor) TV was not working and the main door lock was jammed so I headed downstairs and asked for another room and they moved me to the (10th floor). The room once again aesthetically pleasing with a amazing view of Manhattan. Room service is amazing and quick! Unfortunately, the room was not as clean as my first stay (room with tub) was. There was food still under the bed, the small light night on the table was not clean looks like someone decided to touch it with their dirty hands while eating and left food residue on it. Beds are okay when it comes to comfort but they are not sturdy and also they creek all night with every movement you make. Overall it was a pleasant stay to get away for a night.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Walgreens is a 8 min walk, Dunkin’ Donuts is right off the train, small bodega on the corner a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services Team Member, Guest Services / Front Office at Boro Hotel
Responded Jun 5, 2021
Thank you for choosing Boro for your return trip. Your feedback is informative and will help us provide better stays in the future, We are aware that it is the small details that lead to a great trip and we are disappointed to know that we missed the mark in relation to our room accommodations. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back, where I am certain that you will have a more memorable stay for the right reasons. Sincerely Boro Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jina M wrote a review Jan 2020
Uniondale, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Although the rooms were a bit small the view was simply amazing. I got a room on the 12th floor, and could see the Manhattan skyline while laying in the bed. The staff was very accommodating the first room I was give was next to a crying baby, within 5 mins had a new room and a complementary glass of wine.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BoroHotelMGMT, Manager at Boro Hotel
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear Jay4nite, Thank you kindly for your review! We are happy to have turned your stay around so that you could enjoy the view with a nice glass of wine! We hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon. Kind Regards, Jane GM Boro Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lura Bobbitt wrote a review Aug 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was really looking forward to staying here because of the views/balcony but they don't quality check the rooms or have decent beds, the room we had had a broken bed frame & the shower temperature knob would not stay on the temp you set it too. We called about it & they gave us a new room but this one had a bed frame that made noise every time you move on it, the shower knob was the same, there wasn't any furniture for the balcony so we had to call about that & no trash can in the bathroom (there was a trash can & balcony furniture in the room we had before & it was the same room type). Oh and they only have one luggage trolley so good luck finding it when you need it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services Team Member, Guest Services / Front Office at Boro Hotel
Responded Sep 26, 2020
Dear lurab2018, Thank you for choosing The Boro and sharing your experience. We regret your stay wasn't perfect and our effort to rectify the issue with your faucet and bed frame fell short. Our guests rave about our comfy beds! We do review comments and work to continuously and consistently offer the most pleasant stay and will do so with yours. We hope to welcome you back and should you decide to give us another chance, please ring the desk and let us know you are a returning guest. Boro Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Manny S. wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfortable bed, comfortable sleep, black out curtains let in minimal light.. very minimal sound could be heard from outside the room, mostly just from the street which was also quiet. Very clean room, personally adds to the level of comfort. The room itself is minimalistic in interior design and a large space. The Long Island City area is pretty chill, not a lot happening, not many people outside (stayed during the weekend). The location is super close to Manhattan, only two stops away from the city. I would definitely stay again. They also have an awesome restaurant on the first level and a small cafe shop which was nice. Both had excellent levels of service and great food. Overall, high quality of service for a good price.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services Team Member, Guest Services / Front Office at Boro Hotel
Responded Nov 16, 2021
On behalf of the Boro team, we wish to thank you for choosing Boro for your trip to New York. Our first priority is our guest’s satisfaction and we are thrilled that you had a enjoyable and unforgettable stay. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of our convenient location as we are centrally located. We are looking forward to being your home away from home when you visit New York. Regards Boro Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Michael P
Tucson, Arizona505 contributions102 helpful votes
Pretty short walk to the N/W station at 39th St (5 -6 minutes tops) to get you into a lot of Manhattan destinations with no transfer or minimal transfers needed. Second closest station is Queensboro Plaza, maybe 8-10 minutes walking, where you get the N/W again but add the 7 train, which is important if you want the east side (lower or upper) since you get Grand Central station that way and the transfer to the 4/5/6, but you can also get Penn Station on the 7. And in the other direction, the rest of Queens, same deal. N/W to Astoria or 7 to Flushing. There’s also the E/M/R Queens Plaza or 36th St stations but those are a bit far for me, but people who walk more than I do can probably handle that one too. Longest walk is the F train at 21st/Queensbridge station, but sometimes you really need the F train for easier access to upper West Side or if you want Lower East Side, or the village (Greenwich Village) without having to transfer. Transfers aren’t that big a deal during the week because of such frequent service but on the weekend there can be longer waits for transfers. It’s not that heavily populated a neighborhood but it’s not unsafe. The only time I’ve gotten even remotely concerned is the walk to the F train station, just a lot of industrial and not as much residential.
Answer from BethieNoodles
Astoria, New York17 contributions12 helpful votes
The Boro is in Long Island City which is where there used to be a lot of warehouses and was very industrial. However it is perfectly safe to walk about and explore (even in the evening). My parents visited back in March and stayed at his hotel. My mother has MS and needs a wheelchair. They had no issues. The other advantages at staying at the Boro (or just in LIC in general) is that they are a few minutes walk 39th Ave, Queens Plaza, 21st Queensbridge and Queensboro Plaza Stations. This gives you a vast range of subway trains right on the doorstep. Not only connecting you to the rest of Queens. Such as Astoria. But also gives you quick access into Manhattan. Which is only one stop on the N/W from Queensboro Plaza. Therefore if you want to do a lot of exploring this location is ideal as it gives you all the means to easily do so.
Dionne B asked a question Jun 2018
Indianapolis, Indiana163 contributions76 helpful votes
Is there somewhere nearby to get a quick breakfast? Also, how far is it to walk to the subway station?
Answer from Lina K
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Boro Hotel for your upcoming stay in NYC. We have a new restaurant Beebe's located in the lobby of the hotel, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Subway station is a 3 minute walk from the hotel and takes you to Manhattan in 10 minutes. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We look forward to your arrival. Best regards, The Boro Team
Ron Young wrote a tip May 7
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No smoking, make sure to notate anything wrong with the room to ensure to get your deposit back."
Read full review
ajpred68 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Midleton, Ireland15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the coffee and the pizza!"
Read full review
Sarahwootten wrote a tip Apr 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom55 contributions63 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wine hour is only one glass of wine!!"
Read full review
Mary J wrote a tip Apr 2024
85 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very easy to get into manhattan. Used F train several times."
Read full review
Manuel Marrufo wrote a tip Apr 2024
Tizimin, Mexico4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Really close to different metro stations. Nice and quiet neighborhood."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Long Island City area.
PRICE RANGE
$217 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkQueensLong Island City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
108
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BORO HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Boro Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Boro Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Vista Sky Lounge (0.02 miles), Doha Bar Lounge (0.2 miles), and Brooklyn Boulders (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Boro Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Boro Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Boro Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Boro Hotel?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Boro Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include House of Thai, Beija Flor, and Beebe's.
Is Boro Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Long Island City.
Are any cleaning services offered at Boro Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Boro Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Boro Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Polish, Greek, and Swedish.
Are there any historical sites close to Boro Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hamilton Park (4.4 miles), Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site (3.0 miles), and United Nations Headquarters (1.8 miles).
All Long Island City HotelsLong Island City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Long Island CityHotels near Boro Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars