We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Portage House Motel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Portage House Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a nightmare this place has turned into!!We have been staying there for our visits back home for many years but NEVER again! NEW OWNERS/NEW MANAGEMENT and it has been a horrible and at times dangerous experience. Now we had to move to a "NEW" room and the smoke detector doesn't work,the refrigerator (which is old,dented and rusted) doesn't work... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda L
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016 via mobile

Awful place. Being renovated but should be torn down and rebuilt. Trying to fix while people are staying there is a big mistake. Tried to get our money back but couldn't. Zero amenities. No coffee. You'd be better off just making up your car and sleeping in it. There is a Sunoco gas station just up the road for coffee.

Helpful?
1 Thank dp3326
Cincinnati
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

Over many years I have been very impressed and pleased by the service and courtesy we have received at Portage House. This motel has always been and continues to be excellent; over the years I have heard nothing but compliments by all of 350 or so students I have brought to stay at Portage House (and believe me I have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carlton B
Avon, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

Let me start by telling you that I have traveled all around the country attending concerts and staying in many different motels/hotels and have never had a negative experience with any of them. Me and some friends were seeing a concert at the art park and everything was all good until we got back to the motel. As soon as... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ralphheldorfer
Sue T, Owner at Portage House Motel, responded to this review

As you reviewed you were drinking. You failed to say people were removed by the police and taken to jail and you had more people registered to your room than authorized When you drink and bring back extra people to your room that were not authorized of course you will give a bad review Normal people will see between your... More 

Pennsboro, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile

Really nice family who in which case are also the staff. They are very sweet people who were always there never went without anything. The room smelled very refreshing and new like no ones even slept in it before. Bed was really comfortable and the surrounding area, the lobby, and outside were very well kept. I would definitely recommend staying... More 

Helpful?
Thank JT317
Lewiston, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

We booked this place for 2 nights & first sight decided no way!!!!!!!!!!! The office had shoes laying around & a very unkempt appearance. Upon opening our door ,which was around the back & we had to park in the front. the smell was not welcoming. The bed sheets & pillows smelled AWFUL It was a terrible night. No in... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Michele C
Sue T, Owner at Portage House Motel, responded to this review

I could tell by your attitude when you checked in there was a problem. If the room was so bad why did you wait four days to call. You never let my daughter let one word in you kept saying this wad unacceptable over no toilet paper. She knew you would give a bad review because of the attitude upon... More 

Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

We were very pleased with the service. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. The owners daughter voluntered her own time to assist us with wedding arrangements. Their hard work made our event a success.

Helpful?
Thank Bob B
Hamburg, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

This is THE place to stay in Lewiston. The folks are friendly and kind. The rooms are so cool! with a cold fridge....Whether you are a star in the show or a concert goer...This is where you should stay for artpark concerts...They have super cool vending machines and picnic tables... Th beds are super comfortable...ENJOY

Helpful?
Thank BILL B
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 via mobile

Stayed during a Tuesday in the park concert the motel was decently priced, room smelled good, owners and staff gave me directions anywhere I went, someone was always available if you ever needed help, all rooms smoke free, gazebo in back with hangout area too overall good motel would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank RTulip123
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

This motel is very at home like. I came in never staying here but would again EASILY. The room was awesome very nice in size and the bed + the sheets were really nice looking and comfy too! The staff was excellent if you ever needed anything you could easily ring the doorbell and someone would be right there to... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrClark120
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewiston
0.8 mi away
Barton Hill Hotel & Spa
Barton Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Lewiston
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
#62 of 135 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Niagara Falls-North Of The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
#5 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Portage House Motel

Address: 280 Portage Rd, Lewiston, NY 14092
Location: United States > New York > Lewiston
Price Range: $128 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portage House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Portage House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay