We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bluesun Hotel Maestral

Trg Gospe od Karmela 1, Brela 21322, Croatia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bluesun Hotel Maestral
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 11: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

This hotel would have been amazing about 30years ago, it's tired dated and not cool enough to be retro. On the plus side it was cheap, clean with decent size room and the lady on reception was lovely. Our room had a side view to the sea which was nice and you could wonder down to the beach which was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Seviloranges
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Maestral, responded to this review

Dear Seviloranges, thank you for your review. We are sorry our hotel didn't quite meet your expectations and taste and left you somehow disappointed. On the other hand, thank you for complimenting our reception staff and location. The official currency in Croatia is HRK (Croatian Kuna) and it is the only allowed currency, although we do understand that some of... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

Perfect roo with a view over the see from the balcony. A very good breakfast with a lot of choices. Good dinners. Execlent service in the restaurant an the hotel as a whole. Close to the beach, evern if the stairs can be tiresome in the afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank peroerik
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Maestral, responded to this review

Dear peroerik, thank you so much for your warm review and highest rate you gave us. We are happy you found our Bluesun hotel Maestral to be a perfect starting point of your vacation. We appreciate your compliments on our food, it is motivational for us. We wish to be able to host you again, Brela is waiting for you.... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

Perfect place with the ideal sandy beach. This season is not a beach well prepared, and the entrance into the sea a little problematic. The coffee and food at a decent level. In general there is space for improvement.

Helpful?
Thank Ante P
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Maestral, responded to this review

Dear Ante, thank you for such a positive, yet constructive feedback. We are happy to announce that there will be improvements in the future, so we are looking forward to host you again. Thank you for the highest rate and for giving us your trust. Best regards, Petar Krvaric Guest Relationship Manager More 

Copford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

There is only one way to describe our stay at this charming hotel set in beautiful surroundings, fantastic !!! My wife and I returned to this hotel to celebrate my wife's 50th Birthday having spent our Honeymoon there in August 1987. It was a very special occasion for us and one that, thanks to the outstanding service provided by all... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Maestral, responded to this review

Dear Alan, it has been our pleasure reading your admirable review of our hotel. There are no words to express how happy we felt reading it. It is highly motivational for us to see how our staff and its outstanding service affected your overall vacation experience. We are more than glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will... More 

Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015 via mobile

Good location of the hotel, great nature around. However, the hotel has some problems: weak WiFi and smokers in nearby rooms. If you don't smoke, you couldn't avoid smoke in your room because smokers on a balcony of nearest room. It looks like this hotel is smokers friendly, unfortunately for me.

Helpful?
Thank vbalakirev
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Maestral, responded to this review

Dear vbalakirev, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are sorry to hear you haven't felt comfortable in your room and we regret you haven't informed the reception about it. We would have provide you a different room. Still, we hope it hasn't ruined your overall vacation experience and that you will consider visiting us again. Kind regards,... More 

Horsham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed in the superior seaview room last week for 5 nights. We chose the hotel because of it's location (right on the beach) and also because it was the cheapest of all Bluesun Hotels in Brela and we wanted to stay in a hotel on a HB basis as opposed to self catering apartment. Having read previous reviews I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Polish_Girl_in_UK
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Maestral, responded to this review

Dear Polish_Girl_in_UK, thank you for sharing your pleasant holiday experience with us. As we can see, you left our hotel satisfied, which is both flattering and motivational to us. We highly value your compliments on our food and location. Regarding our staff and service, we tend to dedicate ourselves to each individual as much as possible, and we're glad you... More 

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

I can hardly add something new to the previous reviewers... unfortunately. The hotel itself is from the socialist past and was renowated long ago. During our stay it was several electricity breaks but it may be caused by thunderstorms and showers... Opening balcony door was not this simple as we used to and became good training for both of us.... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Nadezhda L
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Maestral, responded to this review

Dear Nadezhda L, thank you for sharing your experience and impressions with us. We are aware that hotel isn't in everyone's taste, but we are very proud of its rich history and Croatian master pieces of art that make it special. Despite being a true retro hotel, we believe that the intensive renovation will take place within the next few... More 

Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel and especially the rooms are in desperate need pf refurbishment. There are holes on carpets, paint coming off walls, mould on the ceiling. The view from our room was excellent though. The food was very average. Unfortunately I cannot recommend it to anyone.

Helpful?
2 Thank Olaf S
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Maestral, responded to this review

Dear Olaf S, thank you for your review. We are sorry that hotel didn't meet your expectations. This is a retro hotel, where some of the most loyal guests come for over 30 years, and it has been a status symbol of the 1960s and 1970s. Hotel is famous for having murals and paintings of some of the most famous... More 

Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Staff are very friendly and helpful. ..Excellent location ... but needs renovations...Not worth the price...220 $ Daily....:( What else to say .... Too bad the new owner is nothing investet..Good location, it could be one of the best hotels on the Adriatic sea..........

Helpful?
2 Thank Mirsad M
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Maestral, responded to this review

Dear Mirsad M, Thank you for your review. In some ways you have a valid point, as Bluesun Hotel Maestral is a retro hotel, yet in an architectural sense it is valuable and recognized as a status symbol of the 60s and 70s. The hotel group Bluesun hotels & resorts had bought Hotel Maestral some 10 years ago along with... More 

Zenica, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I spent my seaside summer holidays with my husband at this hotel. We stayed for 10 days in July. I recommend this hotel for many different reasons. First, it’s cosy, it has some 60 rooms and it is never crowded for breakfast and dinner. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is very tasty and there are plenty of varieties... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamy H
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Maestral, responded to this review

Dear Dreamy H, thank you for posting your review. We are happy to see how satisfied you are with our hotel and staff. Also, thank you for being open with us, we appreciate your observations. We value your opinion because it helps us to improve our service. It would be our pleasure to have the opportunity to host you again.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brela
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Soline
0.1 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Marina
0.7 mi away
Bluesun Berulia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunceva Postelja
Sunceva Postelja
#6 of 9 in Brela
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Horizont
Hotel Horizont
#3 of 12 in Baska Voda
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Bacchus
Hotel Villa Bacchus
#2 of 12 in Baska Voda
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located next to the sea in the most beautiful part of Makarska Riviera, Bluesun Hotel Maestral offers peace and privacy in the shade of a lush pine forest.Special asset of this hotel is its architectural heritage. A series of art masterpieces by renowned Croatian painters Edo Murtić and Vasko Lipovac are displayed in the hotel. Architecture and art enthusiasts frequently visit Maestral and envision the early days of hotel’s history. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bluesun Hotel Maestral

Address: Trg Gospe od Karmela 1, Brela 21322, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brela
Price Range: $84 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluesun Hotel Maestral 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bluesun Hotel Maestral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay