We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
West Bank of the River Nile, Jinja Uganda
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (254)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (37)

About

#2 of 56 Specialty lodging in Jinja
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Haven is consistently rated one of Jinja's best lodges / restaurants, with a breath-taking view of rafting at the White Nile's first waterfall. Enjoy our delicious food while watching monkeys, otters and incredible birds. Fish on the River Nile. Go bird watching. Hire our silent, solar-powered boat for a sunset river cruise. Explore the river's beautiful islands by canoe. Ride a mountain bike. Explore local life. Sit by our campfire. Free facilities: volleyball, football, badminton, table tennis, pool table, table tennis, hammock, sandpit, and Jinja's best children's play area. This peaceful river lodge has luxury bandas and bungalows, a honeymoon suite, family bungalows and suite, lazy camping tents and conference facilities. All rooms have (imported) spring-loaded mattresses, USB chargers, European and British power sockets. The Haven also has a swimming pool (residents only) and satellite TV. This eco lodge is solar-powered and has hot filtered spring and rain water.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Laundry service
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic

Location

Full view
Contact
West Bank of the River Nile, Jinja Uganda
Getting there
Entebbe Airport57 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
276Reviews4Q+A52Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 186
  • 72
  • 14
  • 4
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Aoursler wrote a review Oct 17
3 contributions
There is nothing to complain about at the Haven, and plenty of things to rave about. Food, views, staff friendliness, chill, surrounding activities, great coffee. We've stayed at a lot of places on the Nile, and in the region, and this is a favorite.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
SwatsWorld wrote a review Oct 7
Kampala, Uganda5 contributions
After 8 long months of being in lockdown, I had to take a break and get some fresh air to destress myself. Read about the good reviews in Tripadvisor, and decided to give The Haven a shot. I stayed there for 4 days and I could not be happier with my decision. It is such a peaceful, not to mention a beautiful place. Most importantly, I was traveling solo, and due to COVID there were not many guests, hence I was skeptical regarding the safety part. After staying there, I can confirm, that it is very safe. The staff(David, Rhoda, Sarah, and everyone else) were friendly and ensured that I am comfortable at all times. They customized my food options as I needed. And to top it all, David, the manager, agreed to help me with a Music video shoot, which was unplanned. It was a complete day's effort with a lot of patience required. David was very kind and did a great job with the camera. I am providing the link to the final effort. The only improvement I suggested was a little bit of beautification of the front yard, which creates the 1st impression of a guest. Other than that, everything else was A1. If you are from Uganda and need a weekend break, give it a shot. And if you are visiting Uganda, then also I would highly recommend it, since they arrange for other activities as well around Jinja.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
peek wrote a review Sep 2020
Kampala, Uganda508 contributions14 helpful votes
It was really delightful to visit the Haven again after more than a decade! I was even more delighted to find it very very well maintained and as good as new. Expanded yes, to cater for camping and families but still giving you that unique boutique experience. The sound of the rushing waters was loud as it was calming, no doubt enhanced by the swollen Lake Victoria. The breakfast was outstanding served by Charles with an enigmatic ever present smile and the very energetic Sarah. The coffee, the omellete, the pancakes and the passion fruit juice was all excellent. David the Manager is amazingly responsive and accommodating. An excellent experience all round and definitely doing this again and spending a little longer
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Melissa S wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
The lodge is overlooking the river (access for swimming) with great views on the Nile - both from the cottages and the restaurant. The staff is warm and welcoming. The food in the restaurant is tasty- although I would appreciate some vegan options (they prepare vegan food upon request but its a bit complicated). Its the perfect getaway from busy Kampala if you want your soul to rest. They also have a small "safari shop" inside the reception area, where they sell batteries and all kinds of things needed for travelling in Africa. AND its dog friendly, which is a very big plus!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rainer Holst, Owner at The Haven
Responded Sep 7, 2020
Good morning, Thanks for Your positive feedback. We are just busy to create a printed menue for vegeterians and vegans, to simplify the orders. Just got hold of some night driving 'sunglasses' and more binoculars, which we will display soon in our safari shop....to make life easier in Africa ;-) The dogs need to be on a line and shouldn't bark, otherwise we would get complains from our other clients...but our guest with dogs stick to it, therefore we can welcome dogs these days very much....another benefit is that we dont have any own dog on site which might would cause frictions with other dogs. Hope to see You soon again to escape from busy Kampala.
Read more
sisay b wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
A wonderful stay i really ❤ this place it's my favourite place including my family we all love this place sometimes when I come with my kids they don't want to leave the The Haven The view the water sound sports field it have a lot come and enjoy really everyone can love it
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rainer Holst, Owner at The Haven
Responded Sep 2, 2020
Thanks for Your very positive feedback in all directions!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$151 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the haven hotel jinja
LOCATION
UgandaEastern RegionJinja
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Haven
Which popular attractions are close to The Haven?
Nearby attractions include Itanda Falls (4.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Haven?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Haven?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Haven?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Haven?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Haven have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.