We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fundu Lagoon

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Fundu Lagoon
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fundu Lagoon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 260: English reviews
Steyning, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Food poor and unimaginative, unclean, had to pay extra for everything e.g. fruit cocktail which I've never heard of in all-inclusive before! Eaten alive by insects especially when having bbq on beach all in all a very disappointing experience !!

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Leo A
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Fundu Lagoon. I was very disappointed to read your comments, and a little baffled by them - for example, when we met in person and enjoyed a conversation in the restaurant, you gave me no indication at all that you were having a problem with the food choices...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Best place i have ever been. Everything was 5 stars+. Best value for money possible. Private swimming pool in the room backyard, just priceless. Room service simply perfect and personnel in general very proactive and efficient. Manager nice and always caring. I just wanna go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabio S
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your 5 star + review - I'm truly delighted that you both enjoyed your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon so much, and that everything was to your liking. Ramon and all of our staff will be so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time, and that you want to come back and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 3, 2016

We stayed at Fundu Lagoon for a week in late June/early July 2016, as part of a two site honeymoon. I’m sad to say that we were quite disappointed. It might be a reflection of having an amazing time on safari, but Fundu didn’t really live up to our hopes. Accommodation The tents are very well kitted out, beds comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ChrisQ198
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Fundu Lagoon. We do say on our website that we have tented accommodation, but I'm glad that you nonetheless found it comfortable, stylish and that you enjoyed the view from your room. Those mosquitoes can be a bit of a nuisance, and we do our best to make...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed August 22, 2016

what a pleasure - we loved the place so much - we decided to prolong our stay a day more - didn't want to leave at all Marty and Ramon were super helpful in organising everything- the huts were stunning with every attention to details, stunning showers, amazing view from the huts, lunch and dinner were served in different parts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherlockbe
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review of your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon, and what a terrific compliment to us that you decided to extend your holiday with us by an extra day. Marty and Ramon will be thrilled to read your wonderful (and very true) comments about them, and I am so glad that you both...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 22, 2016

We stayed here for 7 nights after our safari and it was excellent from the moment we stepped off the boat and were met by Ramon, the manager. All the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and really made our stay. The location is very secluded and peaceful, and a great place to unwind. The dive centre was extremely well run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikecarter36
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

How very kind of you to write such a lovely review of your recent stay with us at Fundu Lagoon. Ramon and all of our staff will be really delighted to read your very kind comments about them, and I am so pleased that you felt that Fundu enabled you both to kickback and unwind after your safari. Feedback from...

Reviewed August 16, 2016

Fundu Lagoon is the most beautiful, relaxing, luxurious and stunning place on earth. Perfect end to our honeymoon. After spending 5 days on Safari in the Masai Mara, we were looking forward to relaxing for 7 days, and that we did! Our welcome from Ramon and the rest of the staff was second to none. It felt surreal that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank x10rns
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

I agree with you - Fundu Lagoon is 'the most beautiful, relaxing, luxurious and stunning place on earth'! Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent honeymoon with us - I am delighted that you enjoyed staying in your beach suite, and that Ramon and the rest of our team made you feel so welcome. I am...

Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

Four days and nights of relaxing, relaxing, and more relaxing. Great Balinese masseurs, and wondefull sunsets by the Jetty. I wouldn't miss eating freshly caught fish and sea food for every meal. Can't wait for the next time I can come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tristán R
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

How very kind of you to write such a lovely review of your recent 4 day holiday with us. I am so pleased that you were able to kick back and relax at Fundu, and that our Balinese masseurs enabled you to relax even further! Our chefs will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the freshly caught sea...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

We have just had four nights at Fundu lagoon as part of our honeymoon. We loved it, staff really friendly and go out their way to make sure you are looked after and enjoying yourself. We loved the food and the fact that each night you would eat somewhere different eg BBQ on the beach, meal by the lovely jetty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattgibson1975
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your superb review of your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of the resort, that our staff were exemplary in their care and attention to you both. Our chefs will be thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the food that they prepared and cooked, and...

Reviewed July 17, 2016

It is hard to find the words to describe this AMAZING place. Fundu Lagoon is the authentic paradise on earth. I was there for my honeymoon and it is incredible how welcomed and at home we felt. EVERYONE from Fundu Lagoon with no exceptions is extremely nice, always with a smile on their face and doing everything to make your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana R
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

What a fabulous review to find in my Inbox this morning! Thank you so much for your kind words. I was thrilled to read that you both felt that you were 'at home' at Fundu. That is exactly the kind of response that I hoped for from guests when the hotel plans were still on the drawing board on my...

England
Reviewed July 2, 2016

My husband and I travelled to Fundu Lagoon on our honeymoon for some very welcome beach time after gorilla trekking and safari, and just reluctantly returned last week. It was the most incredible place I've ever stayed. We were upgraded to a superior suite room which was just paradise - if you can stretch to one of these rooms by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ava M
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Your review is our first one on Trip Advisor for our 2016 season, and what an amazing review it is too! Thank you so much. How incredible that you went gorilla trekking - that's still very much on my 'to do' list for one of these days. I'm so pleased that you both chose to spend the remainder of your...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

422 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (399)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (70)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (133)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemba Island
12.6 mi away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 mi away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 8 in Pemba Island
103 reviews
9.9 mi away
Emerald Bay Resort
Emerald Bay Resort
#2 of 8 in Pemba Island
48 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hifadhi Hotel
Hifadhi Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pemba Island
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Fundu Lagoon

Address: Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Hotel Class:5 star — Fundu Lagoon 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Fundu Lagoon staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Fundu Lagoon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All the bungalows have superb views”
rosie_zeitner, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
“ALl rooms are great but go for the seafront of you can”
  • One of the beach front rooms
  • Sea front room
Studd2710, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“beach front!”
  • view from room 13 at sunset
rbraamcamp, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
“The Beach suite and Superior suite 16 are TOPS!”
DevilliersPA, Nov 21, 2016 | Read review
“Beachfront rooms have instant access to the beach via a few steps and have amazing views”
C9026KIjohnc, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question