We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fundu Lagoon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Fundu Lagoon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fundu Lagoon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 258: English reviews
Stockton-on-Tees, England
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We arrived at Fundu after a fantastic Safari in Selous and were looking for a nice relaxing time. Fundu delivered – the rooms are great either on the beach or on the hillside – we had a beach room with a large decking area (where we had visits from the local monkeys and bush babies, which was really sweet). We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChillaDaddy
FunduLagoon, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of Fundu Lagoon. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed the gentle and relaxed atmosphere of the resort, and I love the fact that we are such a contrast to formal 5 star hotels! The weather, as with anywhere in the world these days, can throw some unexpected rainy days into...

Qatif
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We started our honeymoon with Fundu. And boy, it was a hell of a start. We loved the place, heart and soul. The resort is totally seamless from afar; intertwined with the surrounding beauty. Not a single piece of brick. We stayed 7 nights, and wanted to stay more. It was a true get-away from it all, a great time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hassan M
FunduLagoon, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

What a fantastic review of Fundu Lagoon – thank you so much! I am so pleased that May and yourself enjoyed your stay with us. As I mentioned to you at the time, I particularly look forward to meeting our guests during my visits to the resort throughout the year; it is also a very good opportunity to escape from...

Mongolia
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A luxurious and stylish Robinson Crusoe hotel in a stunning setting complimented by a fun and professional staff that is overseen by an excellent management team. Their understated village project is an inspiration. Impossible to fault. We have travelled extensively and have never been so determined to return

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drafiki
FunduLagoon, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review of Fundu Lagoon. I must say that I am somewhat tempted to use your wonderful words of praise for the resort and our management team in our next marketing campaign! Your comments are truly appreciated. I was most touched to read your remark about the village project. It is a going...

Wolverhampton
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a somewhat late review as our stay was coming up to a year ago, but what a fabulous place to spend part of your honeymoon. We had one of the luxury suites on the beach front and it was glorious waking up to the sound of the sea lapping at the shore. The food was very good and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Astontrader
FunduLagoon, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Fundu Lagoon – I am always happy to read comments from guests who have enjoyed their stay at the resort, albeit late or otherwise! Congratulations to you both on completing your PADI diving course during your holiday at Fundu. We would be delighted to welcome you both back again, and don’t...

Buckinghamshire
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We arrived at Pemba after a very tiring 7 day safari travelling around Tanzania. We were met at the airport and told there was about an hour's drive to reach the docks before a short boat trip which would take us to Fundu Lagoon. On route we had a problem with the vehicle, however very quickly a second car arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nette08
FunduLagoon, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review of Fundu Lagoon. Our Makuti thatched tented rooms do surprise quite a lot of our guests, but favourably so, I am pleased to say. To ensure suitable levels of privacy for our guests, it is not really possible to add in extra windows in the bathrooms, but we are always looking at...

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We spent the last part of our honeymoon here after safari in Kenya, it is the most peaceful/tranquil holiday I have ever enjoyed, what a place...we had a suite on the beach with a magnificent view and great facilities. The food was excellent and the staff super friendly. Our tour operator www.toescapeto.com highly recommended this place for the diving/snorkelling, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
FunduLagoon, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review of Fundu Lagoon. I am delighted that you enjoyed our ‘excellent’ food and found our staff ‘super friendly’. I will make sure that your comments are passed on to all of our staff, as they are always so pleased to hear that their performance has greatly contributed to guests having had a wonderful...

Reviewed July 3, 2012

i dont want to say anything good about this place as i would love to keep it as my little secret haven and by letting everyone know how truly idylic it is would worry me that it would be spoiled in tbe future - please never expand it would spoilt it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maldeb1962
FunduLagoon, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your secret about Fundu Lagoon with everyone! Your comments are very much appreciated and please don’t worry, we will never turn the hotel into a sprawling high rise concrete creation, you have my word on that. Ellis Flyte (Creator and owner of Fundu Lagoon) c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)

Newquay
Reviewed June 10, 2012

These are the only words I've found to describe this truly unique hotel! We were stunned at how lush, quirky, beautiful and luxurious but barefoot basic this wonderful place was. We came here on day 6 of our honeymoon after time at another beach resort and a 4-day Selous safari. Both those places were lovely too but nothing could have...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MrsJH2011
Management response:

How very kind of you to write such a lovely review of Fundu Lagoon. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent honeymoon. We do try to upgrade our guests whenever possible and, private pool leaks aside (these things do unfortunately happen occasionally), how wonderful that you got to experience two suites...

Liege, Belgium
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The tented rooms are very nice with a private small pool over looking the sea. The hotel is integrated in the vegetation. Skin diving is organized by the hotel, after having ben diving the world, I have been very pleased with what I saw, surprising! Food is not very good, they have to make a big effort to improve level,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SergeLiege_Belgium
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review of Fundu Lagoon. I am pleased to hear that all of the transportation arrangements to our location fell into place for you, and that you were well looked after by our transport staff. I was particularly glad to read your comments on the hotel’s design, and that you appreciated the concept of the resort...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We had originally planned our honeymoon in Sri Lanka but couldn't get the hotels we wanted so choosing Pemba Island was a second choice. On reflection I think the Gods must have been looking down on us as this was a second heaven and, for the week that we stayed there, on the five for seven night option, we had...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nodrog_911
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

422 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (399)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (133)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemba Island
12.4 mi away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 17 in Nungwi
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 10 in Pemba Island
99 reviews
9.9 mi away
Emerald Bay Resort
Emerald Bay Resort
#2 of 10 in Pemba Island
48 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hifadhi Hotel
Hifadhi Hotel
#3 of 10 in Pemba Island
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Fundu Lagoon

Address: Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Hotel Class:5 star — Fundu Lagoon 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Fundu Lagoon staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Fundu Lagoon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All the bungalows have superb views”
 of 5 bubbles rosie_zeitner, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
“ALl rooms are great but go for the seafront of you can”
  • One of the beach front rooms
  • Sea front room
 of 5 bubbles Studd2710, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“beach front!”
  • view from room 13 at sunset
 of 5 bubbles rbraamcamp, Dec 4, 2016 | Read review
“The Beach suite and Superior suite 16 are TOPS!”
 of 5 bubbles DevilliersPA, Nov 21, 2016 | Read review
“Beachfront rooms have instant access to the beach via a few steps and have amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles C9026KIjohnc, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question