We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveler (447)
Room & Suite (134)
Pool & Beach (80)
Overview
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good11%
  • Average2%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“plunge pool”(37 reviews)
“jetty bar”(39 reviews)
“superior suite”(24 reviews)
AMENITIES
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Suites
Poolside Bar
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
242
33
7
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
242
33
7
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge pooljetty barsuperior suitemisali islanddolphin safariour honeymoonsunset cruisebeach suitebeach frontmain restaurantdeep sea fishingsun loungersprivate dinner on the beachbush babiessand fliesdirect access to the beachbbq on the beach
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want to chill and do nothing, this is a great place. Spent many hours reading next to the pool and taking long walks on the beach. Took a dive trip to one of the nearby islands, the DM was fantastic, so calm and...More

1  Thank robynjwood
Response from ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu LagoonResponded yesterday

‘To chill and do nothing’, yes, Fundu Lagoon definitely ticks the box for that! Long walks on the beach and sitting next to the pool reading are so good for the soul, given the frantic pace of life that most of our guests lead when...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I am not sure how to start and what to say about this place as I had the best travel experience of my life for 5 days staying in the hotel and it will stay with me forever (before going back next year). First of...More

1  Thank giamaloglou
Response from ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu LagoonResponded yesterday

Thank you for your truly outstanding review of your recent stay with us at Fundu Lagoon. I am delighted that all of our transportation arrangements worked out well, and that you enjoyed your speed boat trip to our arrival point on the jetty. Both Maria...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from our second wonderful stay at Fundu. Accommodation, location, food, ambiance, management, staff, snorkeling, dolphins all combine to make this a unique holiday haven where even before you leave you are planning when you can return. From the moment you arrive in Pemba...More

1  Thank Rachel R
Response from ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu LagoonResponded yesterday

What a lovely review to start off our new season for 2018. Thank you so much for your kind words, and also for coming back for a second stay at Fundu Lagoon. I am delighted that you both enjoyed yourselves this time as much, and...More

Reviewed May 15, 2018

Just don't go, please. Zanzibar has plenty of glamorous choice. Pemba, it is heaven on Earth, a natural, raw and warm heaven. It is nature, fully integrated in the highest comfort. It is my Paradise and I can't realistically share it.More

Thank Bibendum_M
Response from ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu LagoonResponded yesterday

My apologies for not having replied to your wonderful review before now. May is frantic for us as we refurbish the hotel ready for the new season, and I’m still playing catch up. I love the title of your review, and your sentiments about not...More

Reviewed April 30, 2018

We have been in Fundu many times now and love the remoteness and virgin islands mixed with village experience and best of services. Diving , snorkelling and seeing dolphins in the wild had been amazing! Being in touch with nature and at the same time...More

1  Thank vitoayesta
Response from ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu LagoonResponded May 14, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review of your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon. I am so pleased that you had another wonderful holiday with us, and that you were made to feel so special by Ramon and our staff. We look forward to...More

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
18
Price range
$572 - $1,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
,
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island
Location
Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Restaurant
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Minibar
Outdoor pool
Refrigerator in room
Room Service
Free Parking
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
18
Price range
$572 - $1,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
,
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island
Location
Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
18
Price range
$572 - $1,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
,
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island
Location
Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (447)
Room & Suite (134)
Pool & Beach (80)
Dining (41)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
StockMeg22
February 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ellis f | Property representative |
Thank you so much for your enquiry. Currently only 3 of our accommodation suites have air conditioning units, but we provide overhead fans in all the other bungalows. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you both to... More
0
Votes
stushy2016
July 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ellis f | Property representative |
Hello, first of all my apologies for not getting back to you before now, and thank you for you enquiry. Fundu is very much a tidal area, so there is not really any great snorkelling directly off the beach, except from... More
0
Votes
Skifan68
August 29, 2016|
Answer
Response from ellis f | Property representative |
Hello, and thank you for your enquiry. During the evenings at Fundu people do tend to dress up a bit more - but we're not talking full length evening gowns and stilettos here! Our guests are more inclined to wear trousers... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"go by the beach to listen to the sea or up high to have views"
Read review
"Room 17 is the best"
Read review
"We stayed in room 11 (beach suite) and it was absolutely gorgeous."
Read review
"Try and splurge on a super suite, they are wonderful"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing