We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Fundu Lagoon

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Fundu Lagoon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 240: English reviews
Steyning, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Food poor and unimaginative, unclean, had to pay extra for everything e.g. fruit cocktail which I've never heard of in all-inclusive before! Eaten alive by insects especially when having bbq on beach all in all a very disappointing experience !!

Helpful?
2 Thank Leo A
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best place i have ever been. Everything was 5 stars+. Best value for money possible. Private swimming pool in the room backyard, just priceless. Room service simply perfect and personnel in general very proactive and efficient. Manager nice and always caring. I just wanna go back!

Helpful?
Thank Fabio S
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your 5 star + review - I'm truly delighted that you both enjoyed your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon so much, and that everything was to your liking. Ramon and all of our staff will be so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time, and that you want to come back and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Fundu Lagoon for a week in late June/early July 2016, as part of a two site honeymoon. I’m sad to say that we were quite disappointed. It might be a reflection of having an amazing time on safari, but Fundu didn’t really live up to our hopes. Accommodation The tents are very well kitted out, beds comfortable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisQ198
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Fundu Lagoon. We do say on our website that we have tented accommodation, but I'm glad that you nonetheless found it comfortable, stylish and that you enjoyed the view from your room. Those mosquitoes can be a bit of a nuisance, and we do our best to make... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

what a pleasure - we loved the place so much - we decided to prolong our stay a day more - didn't want to leave at all Marty and Ramon were super helpful in organising everything- the huts were stunning with every attention to details, stunning showers, amazing view from the huts, lunch and dinner were served in different parts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sherlockbe
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review of your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon, and what a terrific compliment to us that you decided to extend your holiday with us by an extra day. Marty and Ramon will be thrilled to read your wonderful (and very true) comments about them, and I am so glad that you both... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here for 7 nights after our safari and it was excellent from the moment we stepped off the boat and were met by Ramon, the manager. All the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and really made our stay. The location is very secluded and peaceful, and a great place to unwind. The dive centre was extremely well run... More 

Helpful?
Thank mikecarter36
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

How very kind of you to write such a lovely review of your recent stay with us at Fundu Lagoon. Ramon and all of our staff will be really delighted to read your very kind comments about them, and I am so pleased that you felt that Fundu enabled you both to kickback and unwind after your safari. Feedback from... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

Fundu Lagoon is the most beautiful, relaxing, luxurious and stunning place on earth. Perfect end to our honeymoon. After spending 5 days on Safari in the Masai Mara, we were looking forward to relaxing for 7 days, and that we did! Our welcome from Ramon and the rest of the staff was second to none. It felt surreal that we... More 

Helpful?
Thank x10rns
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

I agree with you - Fundu Lagoon is 'the most beautiful, relaxing, luxurious and stunning place on earth'! Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent honeymoon with us - I am delighted that you enjoyed staying in your beach suite, and that Ramon and the rest of our team made you feel so welcome. I am... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

Four days and nights of relaxing, relaxing, and more relaxing. Great Balinese masseurs, and wondefull sunsets by the Jetty. I wouldn't miss eating freshly caught fish and sea food for every meal. Can't wait for the next time I can come back!

Helpful?
Thank Tristán R
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

How very kind of you to write such a lovely review of your recent 4 day holiday with us. I am so pleased that you were able to kick back and relax at Fundu, and that our Balinese masseurs enabled you to relax even further! Our chefs will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the freshly caught sea... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

We have just had four nights at Fundu lagoon as part of our honeymoon. We loved it, staff really friendly and go out their way to make sure you are looked after and enjoying yourself. We loved the food and the fact that each night you would eat somewhere different eg BBQ on the beach, meal by the lovely jetty... More 

Helpful?
Thank mattgibson1975
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your superb review of your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of the resort, that our staff were exemplary in their care and attention to you both. Our chefs will be thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the food that they prepared and cooked, and... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

It is hard to find the words to describe this AMAZING place. Fundu Lagoon is the authentic paradise on earth. I was there for my honeymoon and it is incredible how welcomed and at home we felt. EVERYONE from Fundu Lagoon with no exceptions is extremely nice, always with a smile on their face and doing everything to make your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ana R
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

What a fabulous review to find in my Inbox this morning! Thank you so much for your kind words. I was thrilled to read that you both felt that you were 'at home' at Fundu. That is exactly the kind of response that I hoped for from guests when the hotel plans were still on the drawing board on my... More 

England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

My husband and I travelled to Fundu Lagoon on our honeymoon for some very welcome beach time after gorilla trekking and safari, and just reluctantly returned last week. It was the most incredible place I've ever stayed. We were upgraded to a superior suite room which was just paradise - if you can stretch to one of these rooms by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ava M
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Your review is our first one on Trip Advisor for our 2016 season, and what an amazing review it is too! Thank you so much. How incredible that you went gorilla trekking - that's still very much on my 'to do' list for one of these days. I'm so pleased that you both chose to spend the remainder of your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

385 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (362)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemba Island hotels
12.4 mi away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
3.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
27.9 mi away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 9 in Pemba Island
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Kervan Saray Beach Lodge
Kervan Saray Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pemba Island
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharook Riviera Grand Lodge
9.9 mi away
Emerald Bay Resort
Emerald Bay Resort
#2 of 9 in Pemba Island
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Fundu Lagoon

Address: Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Hotel Class:5 star — Fundu Lagoon 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing