We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Save
Share
2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3305
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
10 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams$109
Agoda.com$109
Expedia.com$109
Priceline$109
Hotels.com$109
Orbitz.com$109
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (749)
360
Panoramas (17)
Videos (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 33 hotels in Lake Placid
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door.
Read more
Room & Suite (470)470
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Paid public parking nearby
Parking garage
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Hiking
Raquetball
Skiing
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1,660Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 926
  • 506
  • 137
  • 56
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jane wrote a review Sep 17
1 contribution
We were so impressed with this resort. The rooms were well appointed with updated decor and attractive bathrooms, clean (especially important b/c COVID) and comfortable. It's hard to pick the best thing, but I think it would be the location right on the lake. It also was very convenient to the shops, but away from the crowds. The only negative was there were only 2 damaged kayaks available for guest use. We were very disappointed as this was one of the reasons we came to Lake Placid. Mirror lake is beautiful and perfect to explore by kayak.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Make sure you get a lakefront room. Parking was convenient to our room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Joell Stetson, Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for the 5-star review Lovestokayak! We're so glad you enjoyed your room and our private beach. We're sorry there were only a few kayaks available when you were here. We had to put fewer water toys out this summer due to COVID, so they took a beating with all the use. We hope you can join us again to better experience this amenity!
Read more
EatTravelRepeat wrote a review Sep 14
New York City, New York291 contributions115 helpful votes
This is a family run hotel that is located on the main street - walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Also, it has a little 'beach' along the lake with sun loungers, kayaks, canoes & stand up paddles boards. Unlike other reviewers, we are here during a colder period so there are plenty of these resources available. Unfortunately, a bit too cold to swim, but the lake is gorgeous and waking up to the morning view is lovely. The rooms are outdated, but functional and large. We have a king size lake view room with has cable with a decent number of channels, microwave, mini fridge and keurig. Our balcony has two seats and a small table and the room has a individual AC/heating unit. Restroom has a blow dryer, and a couple of mini bar soaps plus an individual packaged shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Highly recommend bringing your own toiletries to avoid calling in for refills and maintaining a contactless stay. All the folks that work here seem nice & friendly. It was honestly a bit disconcerting to see that they don't always enforce the mask rule - I've seen on a few occasions people chatting without masks as they sat on the sofa in the main entrance way. To future guests - I'm sympathetic to the staff b/c it's kind of awkward to enforce the rule which I think is hard for the staff, and let's not make their job harder. Folks, stick with the rules and don't be a maskhole! On a different disappointing note, I did witness on multiple occasions (too many imo) where the receptionist(s) wear it under the nose, as a chin strap and when I was checked in, it was pulled down to talk to me & the guests ahead of me checking in. Not easy to wear a mask all day...but it truly is for everyone's safety so I hope the hotel management sees to it that the staff is trained and held to this standard. However, the majority of guests and staff did wear a mask which is great. For me, the location makes this a 5. The rooms are outdated but large & clean. Downside is that walls are really thin so I could hear my neighbors tv. Thank goodness for ear plugs! -3. The masks enforcement is tough but I think really important and non negotiable 1. So this all averaged out to a 3. Show less By the way, avoid the breakfast voucher. Better just to pay as you go for overall value. Most items are roughly $10 so doesn't make sense to pay $20 pp in advance.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Joell Stetson, Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the very detailed review weehawks. To address some of your concerns, we cannot force people to wear a mask. Unlike restaurants that can tell guests they have to wear a mask or leave, we can only STRONGLY encourage guests to wear them, and then we have to hope they are considerate of others and do it. We have signs all over the hotel asking guests to wear a mask and our front desk staff politely asks guests to wear them when around others in public areas. They even offer a mask if someone doesn't have one! Most people are wearing them when around others, so we're sorry if you passed guests not wearing a mask. Our front desk staff is very diligent about wearing their masks when interacting with guests, so we're sorry if someone didn't have their mask on when talking with you. My only assumption is that it was pulled down because someone could not hear them properly. We do hope they were still behind the Plexi screen when this happened. In terms of our rooms, we have over 20 different room types and our team works very hard updating them. Unfortunately, with the large number of rooms we have, not all can be updated at the same time. We hope if you visit us again, you get to experience a different room that has been more recently updated. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the lake and beach, even if it was too chilly to swim. We hope you can visit during the warmer months next time and fully experience all the beach has to offer.
Read more
gibsonConnecticut wrote a review Sep 13
Woodbury, Connecticut34 contributions13 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed on the fourth floor in a lake view room for four nights and were blown away by the gorgeous views and access to Mirror Lake. The balcony was private, and provided a great spot to relax and enjoy our morning coffee or a pre dinner cocktail . Our room had a very comfortable king size bed and a leather sofa that each had access to the lake view. The room and bathroom were clean and quiet. We enjoyed the easy access to the nearby restaurants and shops. We brought our own beach chairs and sat on the grassy area facing the lake. We were able to use the canoes and paddle boards - early morning and evening seemed to be the best times. You could also bring your own water gear and enjoy the lake at your own convenience. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Joell Stetson, Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the 5-star review gibsonConnecticut! We're so glad you and your husband were able to enjoy a great getaway with us! We're happy to hear how much you liked your lake view room with private balcony, as well as our private beach. We hope you can join us again soon for another great stay!
Read more
rindiesel wrote a review Sep 12
New York41 contributions14 helpful votes
Spent three nights here in a Lakeview King and didn’t want to leave. The resort is perfectly situated on Mirror Lake with a picture perfect view. Our room was steps away from the small private beach. Room was large, spacious, clean and very comfortable. The resort itself offers free use of their water toys (SUPs, kayaks, canoes and a rowboat). We used the SUPs and since Mirror Lake doesn’t allow motorized watercraft, it’s perfect for swimming and using the water toys. We had lunch and dinner at Generations restaurant which is right next door and the food was very good. Even though there is no daily housekeeping due to COVID, if you ever needed any extra toiletries or coffee, they provided it with a simple call to the front desk. Eco friendly resort as they encourage you to use towels more than once and there are recycling bins all over the resort. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Resort was always being cleaned by the hardworking staff. Life jackets and paddles/oars were sanitized after every use. We enjoyed our stay here so much we booked the same room for next year and can’t wait to go back. I highly recommend this resort when visiting Lake Placid area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Joell Stetson, Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the 5-star review rindiesel! We're so glad you enjoyed your room and the perfect views, and that you were able to enjoy our private beach and water toys. Thank you for noticing all the hard work of our staff! We can't wait for your next visit!
Read more
FD86 wrote a review Sep 9
Nutley, New Jersey53 contributions9 helpful votes
Great hotel, friendly people, good service, but the price doesn't match the room. We got a room that should really be an office, no privacy at all, the window is wide open to the restaurant and the curtains have to be pinned with a chair to the wall to block the view. They know this so for the last night they moved us to a "family suite" with whirlpool tub, fireplace and a balcony... still not worth what they charge. None of the rooms had a desk nor a safe, disappointing. Do not buy the "breakfast " voucher all plates are between 10 and 12 dollars voucher includes a plate and one drink, if you want coffee and OJ they will charge you extra. Great location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: avoid the 3rd floor, a room on the 5th floor will cost you a lot and is not luxurious, small,...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Joell Stetson, Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the extra star review FD86! As your review is the same as you left on Google, we are simply going to leave the same response. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay more. Just to be clear, you were put in a village side room because that is what you booked. Our front desk staff was trying to be helpful by finding a room with a better view for you, which is why they offered to move you to one of our specialty rooms with additional features and a lake view. We have over 20 different room types that all have slightly different features, so some do have desks. If you join us again, we hope you can find a room that better fits your needs.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$121 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden arrow lakeside hotel lake placid, hotel golden arrow lakeside, golden arrow lake placid
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Golden Arrow Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLake Placid
NUMBER OF ROOMS
165
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort?
Nearby attractions include Herb Brooks Arena (0.2 miles), Saratoga Olive Oil Company (0.3 miles), and Lake Placid Olympic Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Smoke Signals, Emma's Lake Placid Creamery, and Wyatt's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Lake Placid.
Are any cleaning services offered at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.