We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
7 Whiteface Inn Ln, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1275
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$745
View deal
Tripadvisor$745
Hotels.com
Booking.com$745
Priceline$745
FindHotel$745
eDreams$745
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1243)
360
Panoramas (24)
Room & Suite (989)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Nestled in the woodlands surrounding Lake Placid, New York, Whiteface Lodge is located in the heart of the Adirondacks. The resort is just a few blocks from the town's namesake lake and a short drive from the celebrated ski slopes of Whiteface Mountain. Featuring a rustic timber design worthy of the majestic Adirondack landscape, the Lodge offers the idyllic setting and abundant amenities you would expect to find at "the Northeast's Best Mountain Resort"
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Game room
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Hiking
Skiing
Tennis court
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1815Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,488
  • 196
  • 66
  • 42
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Karen M wrote a review Aug 9
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Best facial ever - asked Savannah if she graduated top in her class, she humbly replied. Cannot recommend her enough, and wanted to say so and let everyone know! For preferred days/times, would suggest booking in advance. Lake Placid local resident.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Giannino, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Daydream. Thank you taking the time to write about your experience at the resort and specifically our Spa. I will certainly share your feedback with Savannah and know that she takes great pride in her work. Thank you!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Exploration796775 wrote a review Aug 8
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We haven’t travelled in 2 years for obvious reasons and decided to splurge a little on this resort. We had been to Lake Placid about 15 years ago and loved this place! When we arrived we were appalled at how worn out the carpets were throughout. When we entered our room we noticed the microwave was dirty inside and out, the table was dirty, there was garbage under the sink and the Kleenex box was empty. They did compensate us with free drinks at dinner but we are here for 4 nights and the quality is just not here. We were given a note upon arrival warning us of the lack of housekeeping service due to staff shortage. That is fine if you reflect your cost savings in the price. I am paying the equivalent of $1000 Canadian a night and am not getting the appropriate service. I work at a 5 star hotel and spa in Canada with roughly the same pricing. This Lodge does not even come close to our standards. The carpet in the dining room had chunks of food stuck on it and the wood tables were all scratched up. We went bowling in the games room and there was no sanitizing spray for the bowling shoes nor was there any hand sanitizer of any kind anywhere in The Games room. This place is in dire need of a facelift and is not worth what they are charging. We are very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Giannino, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Exploration, Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience at the resort and I am very sorry we missed so many key elements of your stay. We spoke about your visit while you were still in house and I am sorry we did not get the opportunity to meet in person. As I mentioned I do hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence in our property and our incredibly hard working team. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael wrote a review Aug 3
Amsterdam, The Netherlands6 contributions2 helpful votes
We have been coming to the Whiteface Lodge for years. A spectacular property staffed by a great crew, solid food and beverage service. Shuttle to the lake makes it easy to get to the kayaks, paddle boards and canoes. Having a captain for the pontoon and ski boats permits you to really enjoy the lake.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Giannino, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Michael, First and foremost thank you very much for trusting the team at the resort with your valuable vacation time - we are so glad we are able to continue to your expectations! I look forward to sharing your feedback with the associates and our Canoe Club staff. Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travelwithfamilyfivestars wrote a review Aug 1
Atlanta, Georgia23 contributions6 helpful votes
Came here after after visiting Vermont and was blown away by the amenities boats beach pool bowling and games very friendly and helpful staff. Thank you for a wonderful time. Stayed in a huge quite 1 bedroom suite with full kitchen and table for 6. The bedding was super comfortable and room was extremely clean. Tammy from room service delivered a great meal and was very friendly. Tasty Breakfast is included with the stay. Hotel looks great has awesome lake placid decor. Again thank you for all the wonderful service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Giannino, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Travel5Stars, What a wonderful review and thank you so much! We love hearing that we meet and exceed expectations. A visit to the Lodge has so many wonderful things to offer and our amenities and beach front are unmatched. Thank you for your comments on Tammy - she is a tireless associate who is always ready to help and please. I will certainly share your feedback. We look forward to seeing you all again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kayma24 wrote a review Jul 2022
Verona, New York4 contributions3 helpful votes
I had high hopes when booking and after reading reviews for lots of fun and activities. I stayed 4 nights with two 5 year olds. We had a nice room with a big porch that we really enjoyed. The grounds are pretty. The staff were all pleasant and tried to be helpful (less so for the concierge staff). All of my disappointments are because of managerial decisions and not staff members. Kamp Kanu for kids was an enormous waste of time and takes place in a dilapidated yurt. Had I seen the facility before talking up all the expected fun to the kids, I never would have signed them up. Of course, they were so excited for the advertised scavenger hunts, obstacle courses, science experiments, and time with other kids that I couldn't talk them out of going initially. They finally gave up waiting for the fun to start after gluing tissue paper on a paper plate for arts and crafts. They played the makeshift mini golf course (one swing at a time before waiting for their next turn), took group bathroom breaks in the clubhouse, and did coloring sheets. The 2 preschool level crafts they did were not worth the drive home. Any craft kit on Oriental Trading would have been a huge upgrade to what they actually did. I guess it's not a surprise that in each of the 3 sessions they attended, there were no more than 4 kids attending. Oh, also, Kamp Kanu does not run on the schedule literally posted on the website and no one will bother to tell you the real schedule when signing up so you end up waiting outside the sad, dirty yurt for someone to show up, getting more and more disappointed to start off the entire experience. So, don't waste your time on Kamp Kanu unless you're desperate for the free babysitting. If you're an early rising family, this is not the place for you. Everything starts later than you'd expect and ends earlier. The Canoe Club is nice but surprisingly small. We went 2 different days. The first day only had 3-4 families so everyone had space. We had fun in the sand, in the small swimming area, and with a paddle boat. The sand and swimming area are the perfect size/depth for younger kids. The second day, the chairs were full, people dragged chairs from the restaurant to the sand, and all the games were in use. The beach is only open 9-4. We still enjoyed it and the beautiful location, but it is a very small area and gets crowded fast. We did do a pontoon boat ride that was fantastic. The kids enjoyed the s'mores every night. And, they loved the popcorn boxes. A lot of the smaller activities like mini golf, bean bag toss, and the Jenga at the beach are makeshift. They aren't even as nice as what someone would have for their backyard. The bean bag toss boards aren't even painted or stained. The mini golf course is made of pressure treated 2x6 with the green carpet screwed on and a few pieces of thin wood on top for obstacles. One cup and flag is broken. There's no separation between holes. It's just one big thing with multiple holes in it and no tees. The life size Jenga is cut and sanded pieces of 2x4s. No paint or stain. They all work for the intended purpose but look a whole lot cheaper than they should for what the resort purports to be. A little stain or vinyl graphics on the bean bag toss would go a long way to looking like thought was put into it. Finished with purpose can still look rustic, as the lodge and clubhouse show. We tried the ice cream parlor. I thought it would be fun. It's just stuck in a corner in the basement level next to the spa. No atmosphere at all. No walls. And, they only serve milkshakes. No sundaes. No cones. The game room was a lot of fun. Air hockey, pool, and a hockey foosball thing were fun to play. Both lanes in the bowling alley were broken when it was our reserved bowling time. Maintenance was diligently working on it, but we gave up waiting after 45 minutes. Overall, there are some fun things to do. The rooms are nice. There are a lot of details being missed or ignored completely that add up in the overall impression. Our stay felt overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Giannino, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kayma24, Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience at the resort. I have always believed the resort has something to offer everyone but we clearly missed the mark on achieving your expectations. Though your review is very detailed I would truly benefit from the opportunity to speak with you and talk through your visit. I can be reached at j.giannino@thewhitefacelodge.com. Thank you and I do hope we have the opportunity to speak - we would love to regain your confidence in the resort and our team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brad S wrote a review Jul 2022
Dobbs Ferry, New York5 contributions3 helpful votes
Perfect stay in 3 room suite with kids ages 13 and 10. This hotel is always a home run. Top notch facilities, service, cleanliness, etc. First time there in summer and we enjoyed the private beach. Perfect distance to downtown although could come here for a weekend and don't really need to leave the premises too often.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Giannino, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Brad, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Lodge. I look forward to sharing your review with the team as they work hard each day and will be delighted to hear your feedback. You are correct that the resort has so much to offer for all age groups and summer has the added fun of Canoe Club. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Missy S wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We cannot wait to go back. Absolutely beautiful lodge with wonderful staff and accommodations. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic! Loved all of the different activities throughout the lodge. We will be back every year!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Giannino, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mamadragonish, Thank you and we cannot wait to welcome you back. I appreciate the review and very glad that you all enjoyed the resort and the array of different amenities - there are not many places like this. Thank you and we hope to see you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Irina K wrote a review Jul 2022
New York City, New York13 contributions7 helpful votes
This was great and relaxing stay. We enjoyed the amenities, spacious room and our own private balcony. The private lake and included non-motorized activities were excellent. We also really enjoyed the fact that the beach had it's own lunch area so you could relax with no need to look for lunch elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Giannino, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Irina, Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to the Lodge. We truly work each day to bring a luxury experience and so glad you were able to enjoy. Our Canoe Club is amazing space with a fun vibe and so many activities. We look forward to your returning!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bobby Dobbs wrote a review Jul 2022
Ithaca, New York4 contributions
+1
I traveled to the area for three days of cycling in the Lake Placid region. The resort is fantastic. Great room! I mean wow! Really great room! Spacious, clean, great Adirondack cabin vibe and a real joy to return to after a long day of cycling or hiking. The resort itself is large, with many activities to take advantage of. I did not enjoy any of the resort facilities as I was too tired from cycling all day......but they looked great. Their one achilles heel is their food. Don't bother with Peak47 for lunch/dinner and actively avoid Kanu for breakfast, seriously....go into town, you will fare much better.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Giannino, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Dream, Thank you for the review and glad you enjoyed the area and our accommodations - wish you were able to enjoy more of the resort amenities. I will review your feedback with our Chef - though we have been hearing very positive feedback on our menu in both Kanu and Peak 47 I know each interaction is different. Again, thank you and I will share with the team. I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ann4886 wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
My family attended a wedding at Whiteface Lodge this summer and stayed in one of their suites. The suite was very spacious and the was the one redeeming aspect of the trip. The carpeting throughout the lodge was stained and in need of replacing. In our suite the carpet was unravelling at the kitchen meets hallway area? There were burn holes in the upholstery? We found the kitchen wastebasket full of trash from the previous tenants and on the main bedroom nightstand was a glass of half drunk water. With covid still circulating this lack of cleanliness was unappreciated. We did enjoy the pool/hot tub area but like the carpeting the chaise lounge cushions and covers were sporting mold and stains! This is not at all what I expected for the price of staying at the lodge! Onto the wedding day... for the reception I signed up for a Vegetarian Meal. The meal was a soup bowl of lentils (only lentils) and a garnish of oily sauteed green stuff? That was my meal!!! The chef who prepared that meal needs to know it was the worst tasting and worst looking meal I've ever had in my entire adult life! News Flash - don't offer something you have no idea of how to make!! And the word vegetarian is derived from the word VEGETABLE? and not a vegetable was in sight!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Giannino, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Ann, Thank you for the honest feedback and we are very sorry for the challenges you encountered at the resort. I know Kelly, in our Sales Department, will be reaching out to you to discuss the wedding options and I will be sure to be involved to discuss some of the operational challenges. We know there are many beautiful places to stay when visiting Lake Placid and we want to regain you confidence in the resort and our team. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$446 - $837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the whiteface hotel lake placid, whiteface hotel lake placid, whiteface lodge, the whiteface lodge
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLake Placid
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Whiteface Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to The Whiteface Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Boots and Birdies Miniature Golf (0.1 miles), Pirate's Cove Adventure Golf (0.1 miles), and Adirondack Store (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Whiteface Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Whiteface Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Whiteface Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Whiteface Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Whiteface Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Caffe Rustica, Green Goddess' Food, and The 'Dack Shack.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Whiteface Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Whiteface Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Whiteface Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Whiteface Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, The Whiteface Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Whiteface Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Whiteface Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.