We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Haus

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Haus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 94: English reviews
Jackson Heights, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Haus is great! it’s what I miss about traveling abroad: European-style guesthouse lodgings, a base for your adventures. And it’s right in right in the center of Lake Placid. Truly friendly people, always on call, with a sincere goal of making your stay relaxing, and sharing with you the best tips on what to do locally. The decor and... More 

Helpful?
Thank JKFromNYC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed (family with 2 children) in The Haus for five days, and it was a wonderful experience! The beds were comfortable, the kitchen was very well-stocked with everything we needed to cook, and the living room had a nice large couch where we could all relax. The location is perfect -- right on Main Street, and a five-second walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank jitzenson
Clinton, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had to cancel reservation unexpectedly one week prior to stay, I was charged full amount, tax, resort fee due to not cancelling 30 days prior! I find this offensive since in July I'm sure the room was booked, I'm also not sure if legal to charge tax and resort fee for services not rendered.

Helpful?
Thank annejulia650
Anthony D, Owner at The Haus, responded to this review

Dear Anne, Thank you, your review brings to light an important point. You are correct, guests should not book with us unless they are sure of their plans. We are simply too small and remote to operate otherwise, some guests buy travel insurance. I am aware that Booking.com told you the same when you complained to them as did the... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's Ontario's February long weekend. We were bored of our small home hills so we wanted to take a last minute trip somewhere with longer ski slopes. Our daughter wanted to find a place with a skating rink to practice her figure skating tricks. Our little boy didn't require much as long as we would not drive much from place... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank legallyblunt
Anthony D, Owner at The Haus, responded to this review

Wow, this is fantastic to read -- we're just so glad that you and your family had a wonderful time and that we can look forward to welcoming you back in again soon. Give us a call anytime you're in the area! Thanks again, Anthony and Andrea, Owners More 

k.c., ks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

We were visiting our son and decided to spend a day at Lake Placid. Our room at The Haus was very spacious and clean. It was fully stocked with all the tools needed to cook a full meal if you chose to do that. With all the choices of restaurants within a block of the hotel though there was no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rickt000
Anthony D, Owner at The Haus, responded to this review

Thank you so much! It was a pleasure to have you -- so glad you decided to check out Lake Placid while visiting your son. Hope we'll get to welcome you and your wife back in soon to explore even more of our nearby restaurants! See you then, Anthony and Andrea, Owners More 

Opelika, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

So glad I stumbled upon The Haus! Was getting ready to book Whiteface Lodge and this place was just perfectly charming and the location could not be better. We stayed in unit 8 which is a one bedroom suite with the balcony. It was a bit chilly to have spent much time on the balcony but the view was amazing.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Megbri
Anthony D, Owner at The Haus, responded to this review

Hey, Meg! We loved having you and we're so glad you enjoyed unit 8! Can't wait to welcome you back next time around. See you then, Anthony and Andrea, Owners More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
248 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

Hotel is on main street next to restaurants, bars and shops. It's about a 15-minute drive to Whiteface. Very nice rooms, modern décor. Rooms have fully equipped kitchen, iron and free wi-fi (no safe). You don't have all the amenities of a regular hotel but it is a good self-catering option. The supermarket is a 5-minute drive from the hotel.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie D
Anthony D, Owner at The Haus, responded to this review

Hey, Nathalie! So glad to hear you enjoyed your room and our central location! Looking forward to having you back in soon. Thanks, Anthony and Andrea, Owners More 

Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

Modern, cozy and comfortable. Amazing location - probably the best deck this side of Mirror Lake. Easy access to everything, and owners are responsive but leave you to your business. Full kitchen stocked with wine glasses, bowls, even ceramic knives. I would travel to Lake Placid just to stay here and relax- this is the most comfortable I've ever been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ascegan
Anthony D, Owner at The Haus, responded to this review

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed staying here, and that the kitchen left such an impression! Can't wait to have you back. See you then, Anthony and Andrea, Owners More 

Albany, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2016

The location is directly on Main Street. Close to everything. The room was very clean and updated. We have stayed at every place in Lake Placid and this by far is the best value. Management was wonderful when I checked.

Helpful?
Thank Albany_NYFunNSun
Anthony D, Owner at The Haus, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We're so happy to read that you loved your room and location. Can't wait to welcome you back next time you're in Lake Placid! See you then, Anthony and Andrea, Owners More 

Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2016

We stayed in Suite Two during Christmas holidays five years ago and we've been coming back to the same room ever since. The decoration is simple but elegant. One bedroom and a sleeper in the living room. Comfortably suits a young family. The location is convenient - a lovely little cinema right across the street and our favorite restaurants within... More 

Helpful?
Thank KISS0792000
Anthony D, Owner at The Haus, responded to this review

Always such a pleasure when you guys come to stay with us, and it's fantastic to hear that Suite 2 has been your home away from home all these years! Looking forward to your next trip. See you then, Anthony and Andrea, Owners More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 17 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Haus in Lake Placid is an eco-chic boutique hotel with a unique style. We mix up rustic and modern design in apartment-style suites, ensuring a luxurious yet cozy stay for each guest. Each unit is unique and has great modern-rustic design elements, creating a comfortable and stylish stay while showcasing the outdoors. Most suites have bounding views of the High-Peaks Sentinel range and beautiful Mirror Lake. (Be sure to inquire about Suite 10 with private lake access for complete Adirondack enjoyment!) With a full size kitchen, luxury linens, free wifi, and stunning views available with each suite, you’re sure to feel at home at The Haus. Located on Main Street, we are just a short walk from all the dining, shopping and activities that Lake Placid has to offer. Family owned and operated, our small staff is ready to serve. So give us a bell, and let us help you plan your next home-away-from-home getaway to Lake Placid. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Haus

Address: 2439 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3366
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Price Range: $229 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haus 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haus Hotel Lake Placid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay