We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Placid Lodge

Save
Share
144 Lodge Way, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1273
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (416)
360
Panoramas (53)
Room & Suite (305)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#6 of 33 hotels in Lake Placid
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Lake Placid Lodge is a beautifully handcrafted Lodge nestled in the Adirondack mountains, situated on the shores of Lake Placid. The Lodge offers among the finest accommodations and dining in a truly comfortable, rustic, yet refined setting. Pamper yourself in the new Main Lodge, the private cabins or in the newly remodelled Lakeside suites, all offering gorgeous views of Lake Placid and Whiteface Mountain. Artisans restaurant offers wonderful dining on the deck overlooking Lake Placid. Maggie's pub offers a relaxed setting serving both lunch and dinner.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Billiards
Fishing
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
543Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 401
  • 65
  • 42
  • 23
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Karen K wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
This is the second time that we have stayed at Lake Placid Lodge. The first time was in the Owl's Nest and this time in Kiwassa. The resort is peaceful with so much to do on the property. The staff is friendly and welcoming. Our 2 bedroom cabin was wonderful...beautiful decor, comfortable living room furniture, comfortable beds and well appointed bathroom. We had an issue with one of the AC units. They were not able to correct the situation to my husband's satisfaction while we were staying in the room so they reduced our final payment for the room. He felt like they took care of the situation. I plan to make this an annual visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Dott, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge
Responded Jul 18, 2021
We appreciate the positive feedback on your recent stay at the Lake Placid Lodge and your patience regarding our air conditioning issue. Thank you for being a repeat guest and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Read more
Emily wrote a review Jul 2021
New York City, New York35 contributions31 helpful votes
We stayed at the Lodge for one night and enjoyed our experience. We stayed in one of the Cabins, which we liked very much — very spacious and with exceptional views of the lake. Service was very good, and we enjoyed experiencing the hikes around the property. It is a bit of a trek to get up to the main house, and the restaurant food was unimpressive, but the siting is still quite special. If you have plans to be in the area, the lodge is a nice choice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Dott, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge
Responded Jul 18, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your visit to Lake Placid Lodge. It is our goal that all guests enjoy the quality and services of our Lodge and I apologize the restaurant food was not satisfactory. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the local hiking trails and we look forward to your next visit to the Lodge.
Read more
Lee01 wrote a review Jul 2021
San Francisco, California35 contributions40 helpful votes
This was a 3rd trip to Lake Placid Lodge, I understand that its very difficult to find good help in the post - COVID world but was very disappointed with the cleaning of the room. We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights and the cleaning service was so poor. We returned to our room in the afternoon and I commented to my husband that it looked like a 5 year old made the bed and the towels were hang very messy. I would have just been annoyed by that but when I felt the bath tub and it wasn't cleaned, I called the front desk. Within a few minutes of the call to the front desk one of the house cleaning supervisors knocked at the door and cleaned the entire room again. Glad the staff was so responsive but definitely some disconnect in the training.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Dott, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge
Responded Jul 8, 2021
Thank you for your continued patronage at the Lake Placid Lodge. We apologize for the housekeeping issues you mentioned and have shared your comments with our team to improve the services. We are working diligently to correct these issues and hope to regain your loyalty in the future.
Read more
Dcpanda wrote a review Jun 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia75 contributions61 helpful votes
Really disappointed by the quality of the room. In need of serious updating. The view from our deck was beautiful though. Maybe the rooms in the main building are nicer. Food in the restaurant was nothing special. Service was well intentioned. Highlight was a private boat tour of the lake.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Dott, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge
Responded Jun 18, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent visit to our property. It is our goal that all guests enjoy the quality and services of our Lodge and I apologize the room quality was not satisfactory. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your view and the private boat tour of the lake. We are always working on ways to improve and will pass along your review to ensure we are addressing the room quality accordingly. We hope that we will have the opportunity to have you join us again in the near future.
Read more
ValleyFor wrote a review Jun 2021
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania462 contributions77 helpful votes
This is our second stay, separated by 5 years. Our first was in Hearthside, this time in Ampersand cabin. The furnishings (case goods) are a 10++. Our housekeeping and waitstaff experience was excellent. Great amenities. The dining is excellent. My exceeds-all-expectations moment was the mahogany boat trip around the lake. This is a special lake and a superb property. Just for perspective (having stayed here once before and LOVING it) before we came this time I read all the recent 1 star reviews. They all have one finger pointing at the lodge and 4 fingers right back at themselves.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: During the pandemic only resort guests get dining. That will change as things open back up, so...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Dott, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge
Responded Jun 7, 2021
Thank you for your loyalty in returning to the Lodge after 5 years! We appreciate your positive comments regarding the accommodations, housekeeping, and waitstaff and will share this review with them. I am pleased you were able to experience our Hacker Craft tour of one of the most pristine lakes in the region, we are honored and proud to have such a wonderful location. We hope to make our special place in the Adirondacks a more frequent repeat experience for you!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$409 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lake placid hotel lake placid, lake placid lodge
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLake Placid
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lake Placid Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Lake Placid Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Mirror Lake (1.4 miles), Lake Placid (2.3 miles), and Herb Brooks Arena (2.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lake Placid Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Lake Placid Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lake Placid Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lake Placid Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Salt of the Earth Bistro, The View Restaurant, and Redneck Bistro, BBQ & Grill.
Are pets allowed at Lake Placid Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Lake Placid Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Lake Placid Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting John Brown Farm State Historic Site (3.7 miles).
Does Lake Placid Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Lake Placid Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.