We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
144 Lodge Way, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1273
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Lol.travel
Prestigia.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (435)
360
Panoramas (53)
Room & Suite (274)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#7 of 32 hotels in Lake Placid
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Since it emerged as a playground for the prominent families of the Gilded Age, Lake Placid's timber and stone Great Camps have housed generations of vacationers. Designed in the style of the Great Camps, Lake Placid Lodge's arts and crafts-style lodge blends seamlessly into the forest, while expansive stone porches offer sweeping lake views.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Boating
Canoeing
Game room
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Skiing
Water sport equipment rentals
Billiards
Fishing
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Sofa
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
561Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 411
  • 66
  • 46
  • 24
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Margaret D wrote a review Jan 2023
We will be returning often! The staff is very friendly and intently works to be accommodating. For example, 1 ) I wanted a small plate dish while in the Pub and so I requested to split the Artisans Restaurant Surf and Turf dish with my husband and the pub staff and chef were 💯 accommodating, The steak was cooked exactly as my husband requested and the lobster tail was also cooked superbly for me! 2) We also 💯enjoy the gorgeous wood burning fireplaces, because their staff immediately replenishes the wood when requested. 3) We highly enjoy the decor of this resort, it is art created by Local Talented Artists. 4) The views of nature are stellar from this location. 5) I find the complimentary details in the rooms very welcoming, and fun.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MBfromtheDMV wrote a review Jan 2023
Bethesda, Maryland1 contribution2 helpful votes
The Lake Placid Lodge is beautiful! But that doesn't make up for the poor service that is simply unacceptable at this price point. Almost everyone we encountered was "new" and clearly needed training and a better understanding of hospitality. Definitely skip the restaurant.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
crussell wrote a review Dec 2022
Rockport, ME8 contributions3 helpful votes
My family of four chose to return to the Lodge for the Christmas holiday. It was well worth the 5 hour drive from Boston, just missing the winter storm. We were delighted when being offered a glass of champagne while checking in to White Face (1,300 sf) and Tree Top on the third floor of the main lodge. The accommodations were ideal for us, as the rooms connect for the ultimate in family gatherings. Views of the lake from our rooms were magical. Maggie’s is a fun warm pub featuring a delicious menu and a pool table next to the bar. We enjoyed in room dining for breakfast all 3 mornings, delivered hot and tasty. Besides lunch and dinner in Maggie’s, we had an incredible dining experience in the wine cellar featuring Arltisans menu. This was the family opportunity of a lifetime. We enjoyed walks in the fresh snow around the property and lake. Christmas Eve was memorable sitting around the fireplace opening gifts. Shout out to Matthew in Maggie’s who was a Star server and bartender along with the front desk team who were all pleasant and service oriented. We could not be more pleased with our second visit to Lake Placid Lodge and look forward to returning for another memorable family holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The Olympic Museum was just recreated and is worth a visit, along with the two hockey rinks. ...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
travelfanatic2017 wrote a review Dec 2022
Chicago, Illinois141 contributions114 helpful votes
+1
One of the only boutique hotels on the world with real fire places in all rooms and cabins! To summarize: A Relais & Chateaux experience. Fine food, great service, superb location. A real white Christmas… While cabins by the lake are outstanding you may consider main building in winter to avoid the drive for dinner
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John S wrote a review Oct 2022
New Canaan, Connecticut5 contributions4 helpful votes
We made a reservation a month ago and put down a non-refundable deposit. Received a call today, 5 days before we were supposed to arrive, to hear that they were over booked and that they cancelled our reservation. Totally unacceptable. We are now scrambling to find an alternative.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Service
Room Tip: Don’t count on them
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
anon8882014 wrote a review Sep 2022
Berkeley, California136 contributions86 helpful votes
We stayed in a lake view room and found it very comfortable. Of course the setting is stunning. But, as others have said, the service is not up to par. The service staff are nice and friendly, but are inconsistent in replenishing the complementary snacks and other amenities. Front desk could have been more helpful, too. I asked for a foot stool twice to help with getting into the bed and never received one. I was also never informed that breakfast was complementary - though I recall hearing that when I first reserved, our confirmation posted a 20% discount. Given the high prices on mediocre food, we hassled through even more mediocre food in town for breakfast, only to discover at the end that breakfast DID come with the room. Artisans restaurant tries, but how can they have more fresh food when few people eat there. Wait staff was friendly but knew nothing about wine. Not okay for dinners of that price. Clearly there is a shortage of well trained servers in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
AOneWorldTraveler wrote a review Aug 2022
United States296 contributions169 helpful votes
It's hard to believe I'm writing about a poor experience at an expensive, high-profile and Relais & Chateaux-rated property in New York State! But I am. The food and service was at an astonishing and embarrassing low-level. While our room was stunning and nearly perfectly appointed on arrival, that's where it ended. We were underwhelmed with the 'amenities'. The bellman told us the split of wines (red & white) left for us was to be a 'choice of one' for the guest to be considered as complimentary. If we chose both we'd be charged. Let me say the choice was maybe a $10 retail cost (and this is generous). There is no cider, microbrews, seltzer, spirits, etc. None. But if you are into "juice" (filled with a laundry list of nasty ingredients) that you can find in most vending machines, then you are in luck at the Lake Placid Lodge. These nasty libations are sitting above Tootsie Roll minis, jelly beans and a sample of 'sesame stix mix'. Mind you all three of these clearly came in a bulk package that was poured into smaller cellophane bags and labeled Lake Placid Lodge. Not an ingredient list on any package to be seen. Each one was about a one ounce offering. And I'm sure that whomever made these packages up for guests used gloves when re-packaging all. How about curating snacks from the local businesses? And if you imbibe in what is left in the room, don't expect them to be replenished because they won't. Hungry on your arrival? All of the offerings are not from the menu online. But why isn't the current menu posted? We found the quality of the chicken, shrimp and fish to be from highly cost-conscious purveyors. It seemed obvious by the first couple plates that the kitchen staff was lacking in a variety of skills. I since learned that the GM is a former sales employee of a Marriott property. This tells me a lot. Breakfast was interesting to say the least. No host/hostess, a complete misguided bunch of servers literally rushing around in chaos. Almost everything was either undercooked or over-baked. One morning we received a plate of pancakes that obviously were cooked at different times because all three look noticeably different, We noticed some guests received a breakfast treat that not all received. Again, no host and no management on site any of the multiple mornings we suffered through. Want a snack or beverage while outside enjoying the view? Great, walk up the three flights to the restaurant to order something because there is no service on the grounds! Housekeeping? Yes, we had to sign a contract upon arrival (among two other contracts presented in low-light at check-in, jeez) yet it was less-than consistent every day. Imagine 1 shampoo for two people (you know the size) or mouthwash...one tiny travel bottle size for two adults! At 1K a night!!! I won't go into every item not replenished but let's say it's a list. And don't expect turn-down service here either, because there is none. Is this because of COVID still? No excuse at a Relais & Chateaux property. And, to add insult to injury, the afternoon before we checked out some woman tried entering our room while I was inside changing clothes. No knock on the door, just an attempt with keys to enter! How scary and bizarre and distasteful. I had to yell to the woman and ask what was going on. All the person said was, "Oh!" and left. No one at the desk would admit they saw this behavior. Mind you this is long after housekeeping and we hadn't asked for anything to be brought to our room. If we had to guess, I think someone was showing the room to a guest. Whatever it was, bad form! We saw the concierge once on the first day. Never again for the remaining stay. We didn't even know that there was an assistant manager at the property (because there certainly was no sign of the GM) on two of the days until we check out of the property and heard it from another guest. Perhaps your staff should wear name tags and have a distinction in clothing so we know who is who. Better yet, since it's a 30-room property, how about the manager walk around the property and introduce themselves to the guests? We don't expect you to follow us around but make yourself known so we can share what's going on. No one asked how the day was, ever. Nothing distinctive no special for the guest. Coffee left in tiny carafes in a hallway was nearly always empty! How is this possible in a Relais & Chateaux property at 9 or 10 am? No mid-afternoon snack...not even an apple or banana anywhere either. Seriously! Even at a 2-star Hilton property guests are left fresh fruit in the common area. At a recent stay in Maine a hotel left cookies and pastries out for the guests. We were not given a tour of the property - apparently the Lodge was busy prior to our arrival (can't even believe the staff said this to us!) and staff were tired. Ugh. For some reason though outlining the fact that they offer s'mores in the evening was a highlight they just had to mention. Imagine, s'mores to adults at a Relais & Chateaux property! I'm sure kids love it. These two adults don't. We can do this at home, and don't. But mind you, if you wanted to partake....walk up the three flights of stairs to get the supplies because there isn't a staff member outside to offer the experience. The remainder of our dining was spent in town at magnificent restaurants and with many different levels of service. Lucky this is an option at Lake Placid. If you're looking for a beautiful room and lovely grounds the Lake Placid Lodge will not disappoint. If you think the Relais & Chateaux status that you enjoy from other properties is going to be repeated here you will be sadly disappointed as we were.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
David wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions8 helpful votes
My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Lake Placid Lodge in a lake front cabin at a rate of over $1000USD a night. Having stayed at other expensive, never this expensive, places, and at Relais and Chateau properties in the US and Europe, we were expecting another level of service and attention to detail than was provided at a 5 star resort at this price point. The good! The cabin was spectacular: it was spacious, well appointed and right on the lake with a view of whiteface mountain. It was joyful to sit with morning coffee and watch the light change over the landscape. The not so good, the service and attention to detail. This is going to be very picky and many are going to say, "you are one spoiled individual." If I was spending 350-500 a night on this cabin I would agree, but at $1000+ you should have expectations. Check in: There was really no greeting, no orientation to the property and where we could find the different amenities. Simply take the credit card, check in and as we were walking back to the car, "oh can we get you something to drink." As I said the cabin was spectacular, but the mini bar was lacking. There was wine, but no beer or other alcohol, basic juice, soda water, and pretty lame snacks, Small bag of honey peanuts, and tootsie rolls. Snacks were not replenished everyday. General attention to customer service was lacking. We left the do not disturb sign on the door one day to go out for a morning walk and breakfast. We came back and the cleaning people were in the room. Strike one. When we entered and they saw us, instead of saying oh sorry, we can come back later, which should have been the correct thing, the cleaning person said I have to keep cleaning. Strike 2. Never should staff enter a room when the do not disturb sign is on the door. What if I / we were in the shower? A couple of other times the cleaning service knocked on the door to see if we were home, with the sign on the door. This is simply poor training. The hotel has a lovely fire pit and nightly smores. You arrive at an unattended fire pit, which was fine as I like to build a good bonfire, but there are no smores fixings, No directions where to find them, Turns out you have to head up the three flights of stairs to reception. Again I am being very picky, but sitting by that fire I would have loved a cup of coffee, a bourbon, and having service out there would have been a nice touch. Room service, nothing special. Efficient, but you can bring salt and pepper, and maybe do better than condiments in little take out plastic containers I get from my local Deli, again this is supposed to be a five star luxury resort, for $1000+ dollars a night. I would highly suggest that the people at the Lake Placid Lodge take a trip to the Castle Hill Inn, Newport and see what true 5 star service is all about. They can show you how to attend to the small details that enhance a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Chris Q wrote a review Jul 2022
New Jersey5 contributions19 helpful votes
Stay away! I cancelled my reservation on July 18th for a reservation in October. My confirmation states a full refund less a $100 fee. My cancellation is due to medical reasons. The GM I spoke with was very nice but never indicated they would keep the full $1770. When I called back a few days later, a very nasty employee, Rachael said I would not receive my refund. Now they will re-book the room for October and have the room paid for 2X. Not a classy way for a four star resort to handle an issue
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Farmer, Other at Lake Placid Lodge
Responded Jul 23, 2022
Dear ChrisQ342, I am so sorry you feel this way. When you reached out to the Lodge 3 days before your arrival to cancel your May reservation we gladly did a courtesy date change for you to new dates that worked in October. Doing this date change does not allow guests to cancel 30 days before the new date for a refund of the deposit. As an intimate Lodge with only 30 rooms we have a strict cancelation policy and when we make this courtesy to our guests and move dates it does not allow them to now request a refund. Have a lovely day! Rachel Farmer, Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol B wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions5 helpful votes
The pros: room is cozy and charming with 2 fireplaces and spacious bathroom. Artisans restaurant and service were great. The view of the lake and mountains from our suite were magnificent. The cons: signage to the hotel is almost none existent, you pull up to the main entrance and there is no one there to greet you, after a 4+ hours of driving we arrived at 3pm to find our room was not ready. I asked if there were other check ins and was told we were the only ones checking in on that day ( then why if checkout is 11am would our room not be ready at 3pm). I understand check in is at 4pm but do you really have to stretch it the last minute. Here’s the big negative……. Dinner at the lodge restaurants can only accommodate 5 tables at a time even though there are at least 30 tables between inside and outside. We were not told about this little detail when we called ahead of time for a dinner reservation. We were told that they only had availability at 8:30pm so guess what, by 9pm we were the only table in the entire restaurant. In room breakfast dining is delivered via a hot/cold thermal bag which obviously didn’t work because my hot food was cold. The essence of the issue lies with poor management and inadequate staffing and training. Covid can no longer be your excuse.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Farmer, Other at Lake Placid Lodge
Responded Jul 22, 2022
Dear P1701EPcarolb, Thank you for the kind comments about Artisans restaurant and the service that was provided to you and also of course the beautiful views that the Lodge has to offer. You cannot beat them! I apologize about the points that we missed during your time here. We always try our hardest to check guests into their rooms early if possible, as we want nothing more than our guests to enjoy themselves when they arrive! Also, we apologize about your issues with dinning as we do try to accommodate all of our guests here in the restaurants on property. Thank you again for your positive comments and we will work toward bettering the ones that we missed. Rachel Farmer
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
lake placid hotel lake placid, lake placid lodge
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLake Placid
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAKE PLACID LODGE - Updated 2023 Prices & Hotel Reviews (NY)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lake Placid Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Lake Placid Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Mirror Lake (1.4 miles), Lake Placid (2.3 miles), and Olympic Ski Jump Complex (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lake Placid Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Lake Placid Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at Lake Placid Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lake Placid Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lake Placid Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Salt of the Earth Bistro, The View Restaurant, and Top of the Park.
Are pets allowed at Lake Placid Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Lake Placid Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lake Placid Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Lake Placid Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting John Brown Farm State Historic Site (3.7 miles).
Does Lake Placid Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.