We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Mirror Lake Dr, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3802
Lowest prices for your stay
$149
View Deal
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
Hotels.com
FindHotel
$149
View Deal
Expedia.com$149
Travelocity$149
Orbitz.com$149
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (152)
360
Panoramas (18)
Videos (2)

About

#8 of 33 hotels in Lake Placid
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Since 1961, Lake House has been part of the Lake Placid community, with its rich Olympic history and beautiful, natural surroundings. We welcome you to share our home – as well as our trails, lakes and slopes – whether this is your first trip to Lake Placid or an annual tradition.
Read more
Room & Suite (52)52
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Badminton
Water sport equipment rentals
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Vending machine
Walking tours
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
339Reviews11Q+A88Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 192
  • 101
  • 32
  • 10
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chris Letchford wrote a review Nov 2020
20 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a marvelous 3 days mid week in Lake Placid at the Lake House. More or less having the place to ourselves the spa was excellent after walks around mirror lake and a scramble up cobble hill! Ideally positioned for delicious Jim’s coffee at the New Leaf and superb dinners at Jimmy’s!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Dmd1231 wrote a review Sep 2020
Carmel, New York5 contributions1 helpful vote
We decided on lake placid because we wanted to stay in state. Loved the Lake House! We are a family of 4, traveled with our 2 15 yo daughters. We didn’t spend a ton of time in our room but the size worked for what we needed. We understand we didn’t get to experience all the hotel had to offer because of COVID-19. Many things were not offered or abbreviated due to guidelines and social distancing. That being said we felt comfortable with the measures taken. We did enjoy the beach and complimentary water sports. Really loved the close proximity to the town. We walked everywhere! Hope to get back to experience the Lake House resort and town to its fullest in the Virus free future!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services High Peaks Resort, General Manager at Lake House
Responded Sep 30, 2020
Dear Dmd1231, Thank you for sharing your experience and kind words. It was such a pleasure to welcome you and your family. While COVID has definitely changed the experience at High Peaks Resort and in Lake Placid, we are pleased we are still able to offer our guests such a comprehensive experience, even with limitations. We are looking forward to offering our guests even more when things can go back to normal! We hope you'll join us again for the full experience! Warm Regards, Your Friends at Lake House
Read more
Jet196911 wrote a review Sep 2020
5 contributions3 helpful votes
First impression of the Lake House in Lake Placid, NY when entering the lobby was that it was rustically charming. That quickly turned to generally grossed out. Paint bubbling from the cement painted walls in the room, Coffee maker with no coffee or cups (when we asked they were supplied but nothing was said on check-in). The pool/hot tub area is disgusting. Tile floors chipping, walls looked like painted over mold. More paint peeling. The view was nice from the room. There is free kayak and boat availability and the staff at the dock is helpful. Now the fun part. Second night (Friday night) around 10pm the neighboring room starts to get LOUD. Ok. it's Friday night. it's only 10pm, I get it. Group singing, loud music, laughing...continues to 11pm, then 12pm. At some point I hear, who I assume is, the neighbor opposite knock on their door and nicely ask them for quiet. Things quiet down for about 10 minutes then kick into high gear again...banging on furniture to provide percussion for the group sing-a-long etc. I should also note that at some point I got it in my head that they were employees. I don't know why I thought this, it was nothing overt. Around 1am(ish), I call the front desk (which at this hour is across the road at a neighboring hotel which will become important later). I tell the person at the front desk (Scott) about the situation. He seems on top of it, says sorry they are being disrespectful and that he is on his way. I wait. And wait. And wait. And wait. And no Scott. By now it's about 2:30 or so. They are not letting up. No Scott. I call the front desk again and someone else answers. I explain the situation again. I am immediately put on hold. No explanation just, "Can you hold on a second?" I didn't even realize I was on hold at first. I was angry before but now my blood is boiling. I get dressed and walk across the street to the lobby/front desk. There's a guy sitting behind the desk in a hoody (no name tag or anything identifying him as a hotel employee) playing with an ipad. I ask if I can speak to a manager. He says there is no manager. I tell him the situation. I tell him I spoke to two people already...at this point I had forgotten Scott's name and told him I thought the person I spoke to was named Paul. He says there's nobody named Paul there (as if that has anything to do with anything). I ask him his name. He looks away from me and doesn't say a word, won't even look at me. Another woman comes behind the desk and I ask her if she's the one I just spoke to and tell her who I am. I tell her that I don't appreciate being put on hold and that "Paul or whoever" had said he was going to go over there and never did. She tells me that she had put me on hold to call the room. I. Am. Pissed. I tell her that if she's going to do that she should let the guest know that they are being put on hold so she can call the neighboring room. In any case whatever she told them on the phone had absolutely no impact (I'm still harboring the suspicion that the people in the room are employees...this will become important as my saga continues.) She tells me she'll walk over with me and talk to them. As we're walking out, Hoody, who had been playing dumb says, "I'm sorry they are being so disrespectful." Now I know that Hoody is the one I spoke to on the phone and I tell him so and that when I asked him his name he should have told me and not tried playing stupid. I'm not very nice about it. On the walk over she confirms that Hoody is Scott who I talked to on the phone and tells me that Scott had told her that he had gone over but that apparently he never had. Great job Scott! We get back to the Lake House and I open my room and go inside when I hear her knock. I listen at my door and can't make out specifics but hear laughter between her and whoever she is talking to. By now it's 3:30 or so. The noise finally stops. I lay in bed absolutely fuming. We are....not done... The next morning I walk back over to the front desk that's across the road in a different building and again ask to speak to a manager. I get a manager. I'm happy I got a manager. I tell the manager that I'm about to make my problem her problem and I explain the situation from the night before including with her front desk staff. I tell her that I expect the room to be comped for at least the night and that my wife is back in the room looking for an available room at another hotel and that when we check out early I do not expect to be charged. She tells me that the room will be comped for the night and seems to balk at me checking out early. During this conversation I slip in the question I've been dying to ask and as soon as I ask, before she can speak I know the answer, "Do you have staff staying in rooms at The Lake House?" Yes. Yes they do. "Were the people in the room next to mine on staff?" "I'd have to check that..." which tells me they were. Moving on. She also tells me that the people next to me are going to be there for awhile and offers to show me another room and that if we want to pack our stuff up and lug it across the street they can put us in the hotel where the front desk is. She shows me a lovely room overlooking the roof of a neighboring building complete with air conditioning units and a partial view of a parking lot. I tell her I'll think about it and get back to her. I go back to my room. I give my wife a status report. She asks if we can just move within the Lake House rather than lugging all our stuff across the street to this other hotel. Great freaking question but I have a better one that someone else in the story FINALLY asks a little bit later... I call the front desk and ask if, rather than moving across the road we can move within the Lake House to another room (nice view remember). The woman I speak to says she'll check with the manager but thinks that would be ok etc etc, My family and I go to breakfast. Coming back I stop by the front desk by now it's about noon and I've been dealing with this for too long. If I want to jump through a bunch of hoops I'll stay at work instead of taking vacation. Anyway. There are two new women at the front desk and I ask to speak to the manager. One calls the manager then asks me if I'm the one from Room xx in The Lake House. I say yes. Yes I am. I tell her that the manager offered to move us and I'm here to talk to her about it. She asks... "Why should you be the one to move?" B.I.N.G.O!!! Then, and this is maybe my favorite part, the other woman asks, "How did you know they were staff?" I tell her, "I didn't know for sure but you just confirmed it for me." But this tells me that the conversations have included the bit about a guest knowing that they are housing employees at the Lake House and how could I have known? Let me emphasize...the people in the neighboring room who were up until almost 4 am making a huge racket were EMPLOYEES OF THE LAKE HOUSE!!! I finally track down the manager from earlier and she says she's waiting to hear something from the GM of the hotel. I tell her I'll wait so I stand next to her until the phone rings and the GM tells her (I'm assuming) that the employees in that room are no longer an issue. I don't know if that means they got fired and honestly, as bad as it sounds, I'm still so mad that I don't care. I tell the manager I'll stay put. Ultimately I am not satisfied with any of this. Having worked in service, here is what the proper response should have been when a guest has this experience... The first words out of this manager's mouth when I talked to her the first time should have been, "We are comping your entire stay (not just one night)." Her first words of any substance were, "Hasn't anything been nice?" (Oh, I also, not so politely) filled her in on how disgusting the pool area was and the general state of the rooms. The manager's suggestion should not have been that I change rooms. The manager, after saying that the room was comped for the entirety of my stay should have said, "We are handling the situation with the neighboring room. They will no longer be in that room and I apologize for this situation and how it was handled by my staff. We will be meeting to discuss this today and will provide additional training in the areas they are lacking. Here is a cell number where I can be reached and here is...I don't know...a voucher for a meal in our hotel restaurant or a bottle of wine etc...Scott will no longer be at the front desk and no employee will be at the front desk who is not wearing a name tag identifying them as hotel staff. Scott will no longer be answering phones. Scott will be kept in the back room where he can play with his ipad undisturbed. Lastly, I really don't understand the 4 and 5 star ratings. If I could give this zero I would.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services High Peaks Resort, General Manager at Lake House
Responded Sep 30, 2020
Dear Jet196911, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. First, please allow me to apologize for the less than perfect stay with us. Our goal is to make sure every guest walks away with an exceptional experience. What you describe is appalling. Please know that our management team takes this very seriously. If you wouldn't oppose, I would like to apologize personally. Please contact me at your earliest convenience either via email or phone. Best Wishes, Melissa Snow Director of Guest Services 518-523-4411 msnow@highpeaksresort.com
Read more
KMarie wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution4 helpful votes
Currently staying here and there as leftover food in the fridge in the room when I checked in. Usually wouldn’t be a big deal but with the pandemic I figured they would be more careful to make sure everything is clean. Now I will make sure to clean the room myself the rest of my stay. Disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services High Peaks Resort, General Manager at Lake House
Responded Sep 4, 2020
Dear 507kristag, Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We set high standards for our team and from your report, your experience did not meet these standards. I would like the opportunity to apologize in person. If you could contact me at 518-523-4411, I would truly appreciate it. Thank you again for sharing your experience. Warm Regards, Melissa Snow Director of Guest Services
Read more
funnywriter wrote a review Aug 2020
New York188 contributions30 helpful votes
This hotel features excellent views of Mirror Lake and the surrounding mountains. It is located just on the edge of Main Street, so you will have easy access to the restaurants of the town but will also be able to relax in quiet rustic luxury. The rooms are spacious, except for the bathroom. The staff is friendly. And the resort facilities are quite good. There is a swimming pool on a deck alongside the lake and there are free rentals of paddle boats and kayaks. Unfortunately, the lounge is closed due to COVID-19 but this reflects how the hotel feels both clean and safe during the pandemic. I recommend the Lake House for anyone looking to enjoy some time in the heart of the Adirondacks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor offer privacy and excellent views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services High Peaks Resort, General Manager at Lake House
Responded Sep 4, 2020
Dear funnywriter, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience! We are thrilled you enjoyed so much of our property, High Peaks Resort, and Lake Placid. It was our pleasure to welcome you. We hope you'll join us again, soon! Warm Regards, Your Friends at Lake House
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$150 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lakeview motor hotel lake placid
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Lakeview Motor Inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLake Placid
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lake House
Which popular attractions are close to Lake House?
Nearby attractions include Mirror Lake (0.2 miles), Saratoga Olive Oil Company (0.1 miles), and St. Eustace Episcopal Church (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lake House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Lake House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Lake House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lake House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lake House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The View Restaurant, Emma's Lake Placid Creamery, and Smoke Signals.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lake House?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Lake House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Lake Placid.
Are pets allowed at Lake House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Lake House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lake House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.