We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Lalibela
Post
Inbox
Search

Zan-Seyoum Hotel

Save
Lalibela Ethiopia
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity$48
Expedia.com$48
Hotels.com$48
Hotwire.com$48
ZenHotels.com$56
TripAdvisor$48
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (38)
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Concierge
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Seating area
Clothes rack
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
52Reviews0Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 32
  • 13
  • 3
  • 4
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This was the best hotel of our stay in Ethiopia - the hotel was clean and everything functioned properly, and in particular I would highlight how good the bathrooms are compared to other hotels. The staff are friendly and considerate, and went the extra mile to ensure we were comfortable. I would advise any guests to use the hotel's guide, Temesgen - he showed us round the churches of Lalibela and took us on a hike. He was always positive and fun, and had excellent knowledge of the historic details.
Read more
Response from Yohannes A, Owner at Zan-Seyoum Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sarah & Tim, Thank you very much for giving us a wonderful rating and for recommending our Hotel to other travelers. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure that the entire staff enjoyed attending to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to having you soon again in the near future. Best Regards, Yohannes Abebe
Read more
Hello we stayed at San Seyoum when we visited Lalibela this summer. Stop in Lalibela was part of a larger trip to 5 African countries. This place is a hidden gem. The best part is the service that you get. The onsite restaurant serves the yummiest of the food and Yohannes (the owner) is a great guy. It is a safe and clean place to stay. They will arrange the rest of the adventure for you.
Read more
Response from Yohannes A, Owner at Zan-Seyoum Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Amirjee, Thanks for your awesome review and recommending our Hotel for other travelers. I and all the staff are very pleased to hear that you liked everything in our Hotel and you enjoyed your stay very much. We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we're happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Please comeback and see us soon again. Best Regards, Yohannes
Read more
+1
Spent 2 nights here as part of a tour in Lalibela. Upon check in noticed immediately how bare the room is - No closet, luggage rack or wardrobe. There is a small nightstand, table and one chair. That’s it. There are 3 hangers only, with one being broken. The bed is only full size, not queen. All of these supposedly a double room for 2 people. While there is an individual hot water heater in the bathroom, it only came out lukewarm with very little pressure. But the biggest issue was the bugs, and plenty of them. Between the two of us we had killed at least 20 mosquitos by swatting, but still we couldn’t get them all. Throughout the nights they came buzzing and of course biting. Needless to say it was difficult to sleep and we both woke up with lots of itchy bites. Then there were many loud barking dogs from the neighborhood. Plus “call to prayer” from nearby mosque in the middle of the night. In addition there are large construction sites right next doors which started their work around 6 am. I know there’s not too much our hotel can do about these other issues. But at minimum they should fit the bed with mosquito net, and conduct periodically bug spray to get rid of some mosquitoes. Bed sheets were quite dirty, with many signs of dead bugs. Definitely won’t recommend to this place.
Read more
Response from Yohannes A, Owner at Zan-Seyoum Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We thank you for having taken the time to give us an evaluation of your stay. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please know that your situation was an exception .As you can see on other reviews ,we are known for taking ownership and carying deeply about our customers. Regarding to you mentioned that you found mosquitoes in your room and were bitten ,honestly speaking, there is no mosquitos not only in the Hotel but also in Lalibela because Lalibela is situated 2600 meters above sea level and mosquitoes can not live in this altitude. I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly with your room number so that I can investigate this immediately .We have not had any record of such an event for years . Kind Regards, Yohannes
Read more
I stayed three nights and this hotel would be my first choice were I to return to Lalibela. The hotel is in a garden-like setting, and very quiet and peaceful in the evening. The customer service is exceptionally good. Breakfast is free and staff will cook it to your specifications and serve it when you wish to be served. My room and bathroom were sparklingly clean.
Read more
Response from Yohannes A, Owner at Zan-Seyoum Hotel
Responded Jun 7, 2019
Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. I and my staff appreciate your kind words and we are very happy to hear your stay has been comfortable. We endeavor to offer a positive experience for all of our guests. It is gratifying to know when this happens. We are looking forward to having you again in the near future. Kind Regards,
Read more
A clean,well maintained hotel with good showers and comfortable beds. Restaurant staff were very helpful, able to provide 'non' menu breakfast requests. Rooms were clean and spacious. Location on the edge of the city provided a quiet, relaxing atmosphere but in easy reach of amenities and sites.
Read more
Previous
1234569
PRICE RANGE
$51 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
EthiopiaAmhara RegionLalibela
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Zan-Seyoum Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Zan-Seyoum Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Church of St. George (0.8 miles), Rock-Hewn Churches of Lalibela (0.2 miles), and Asheton Maryam Monastery (2.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Zan-Seyoum Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Zan-Seyoum Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Zan-Seyoum Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Zan-Seyoum Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Zan-Seyoum Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Unique Restaurant, Ben Abeba, and Ma'ed Lalibela Restaurant.
Does Zan-Seyoum Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Zan-Seyoum Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Zan-Seyoum Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Lalibela.
Are any cleaning services offered at Zan-Seyoum Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Zan-Seyoum Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Zan-Seyoum Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Italian.