We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela

Save
Share
Geterge Street Kebelle 02, Lalibela 62964 Ethiopia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (88)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (7)

About

#9 of 22 hotels in Lalibela
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Lal Hotel Lalibela is a supreme establishment where culture is embodied within its grand walls providing quality hotel services to nationals and non-nationals all over the world since 1995.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
229Reviews3Q+A21Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 37
  • 68
  • 73
  • 32
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ocycleschick wrote a review Feb 2020
Weedsport, New York1112 contributions88 helpful votes
+1
Our group of 17 stayed in this hotel for two (unfortunately) nights during the Timkat festival. It appears that even though we had reservations, they were possibly overbooked for the festival and must've opened up rooms that were not even fit for habitation. Our room was "ok" the first night although our shower didn't drain AT ALL and flooded the entire bathroom with several inches of water. There was absolutely NO hot water at all. The light fixture over the sink was just a light bulb on a sketchy looking socket. There is no TV, phone or clock in the room and the lighting was horrible. Wifi only worked near the reception desk. The door frame on our room was all busted as though someone had tried to break in. The door locks were incredibly difficult to operate. On our second day, housekeeping never came to our room so we were left with dirty towels and almost out of toilet paper and overflowing garbage cans. Everything in the room was worn and/or broken too. The dinner and breakfast buffets had very minimal selections and the food was just barely warm. One single woman in our group was put in a room with NO working electrical outlets, a sink whose drain emptied onto the floor and a continuously overflowing toilet. It was not fit to stay in but the hotel just shrugged their shoulders and didn't care. She somehow survived one night in the room and the next day when she talked to management again, after several minutes they agreed to find another room for her and she was told "not to tell anyone about it". Everyone else had bad rooms too with no hot water, strong sewage smell, etc. and no one like the food. I can't say anything good about this hotel or its staff and would avoid it like the plague. I just wish I would've documented more of these things in photos but I was so disgusted with the room I didn't even feel like it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: The best room would be one in another hotel!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lalhotell, Director of Sales at Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
Responded Feb 16, 2020
Dear Valued Guest We apologize for the disappointing service you received. Unfortunately due to the Ethiopian Epiphany holiday we were overbooked and weren't able to provide your group with our standard rooms. However, as requested by your group leader we were compelled to give you rooms for the night that were out of order and under renovation as your group couldn't find accommodation elsewhere. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receiving our best service so please be informed all the issues you mentioned are being communicated to the respective departments and we are working to avoid such things from happening again. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Best Regards
Read more
wolf3728 wrote a review Jan 2020
Las Vegas, Nevada1433 contributions250 helpful votes
I very rarely give a terrible rating in all my posts. This hotel deserves the rating. The tour put 18 of us at the hotel for 2 nights. There was no hot water in any of the rooms. 4 of the rooms had a strong sewage smell. 3 of the rooms had leaking toilets and sinks. All of the rooms had very poor water pressure. Only had a small trickle out of the shower. Breakfast buffet was not good, everything was very oily and cold.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lalhotell, Director of Sales at Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
Responded Feb 16, 2020
Dear Valued Guest We apologize for the disappointing service you received. Unfortunately due to the Ethiopian Epiphany holiday we were overbooked and weren't able to provide your group with our standard rooms. However, as requested by your group leader we were compelled to give you rooms for the night that were out of order and under renovation as your group couldn't find accommodation elsewhere. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receiving our best service so please be informed all the issues you mentioned are being communicated to the respective departments and we are working to avoid such things from happening again. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Best Regards
Read more
Geleta Kedir wrote a review Dec 2019
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia5 contributions
The maintenance of rooms conducted but many are stinky. The management of the hotel is not fit to deliver convenient service. The hotel has poor meeting facility and no green area in the compound. The stem and sauna is not separate for men and women.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Haytham Abu Firas wrote a review Nov 2019
Doha, Qatar13249 contributions1527 helpful votes
+1
I stayed one night in this hotel. It’s like a hut shape or resorts, walk between the garden to the room. Friendly staff but bad service. WiFi is average in the lobby but disaster in the room. The location is wonderful, swimming pool is dirty and seems nobody used it for a long time. Room is spacious, no TV. Bathroom is spacious as well but no hot water. I tried Fish ghoulash for lunch in the restaurant and it was horrible. Breakfast is average. Massage upon request but charge 500 birr which is considered pricey compared to other better hotel in Ethiopia. At 8 pm, I asked for coffee but receptionist said: No coffee now.. Machine off, so had to get soft drink, and again it was handed to me with no table, so I had to put it on the floor.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
JamesCantrell wrote a review Nov 2019
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania65 contributions29 helpful votes
Look it’s 45 dollars a room a night so I understand you get what you pay for and the room is comfortable and cleanish. Rooms - clean but bathroom wasn’t, no storage space (lockable it didn’t work) beds ok. Restaurant - we didn’t eat apart from a little breakfast, which was average. Bar - very very very dirty behind it! Wouldn’t use a glass here! Toilets - they weren’t good! Staff - very accommodating and honestly I feel very sorry for them! The management should pull up their socks and restore this place, it wouldn’t take much and would be a reasonable place to stay, it’s located well and could “could” be nice!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$10 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
EthiopiaAmhara RegionLalibela
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
Which popular attractions are close to Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela?
Nearby attractions include Church of St. George (1.0 miles), Rock-Hewn Churches of Lalibela (0.3 miles), and Asheton Maryam Monastery (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela?
Conveniently located restaurants include Unique Restaurant, Ben Abeba, and Ma'ed Lalibela Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Lalibela.
Are there any historical sites close to Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Church of St. George (1.0 miles).