We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Inn at Erlowest

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Inn at Erlowest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 328: English reviews
Clifton Park, New York
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My boyfriend surprised me with a romantic stay at the Inn at Erlowest. We stayed in the Shepard Suite--we had an amazing view of the lake--from both the beautiful window seats and our bed. Although we arrived on a rainy day, the lake and atmosphere of the Inn was unexpectedly spectacular--the hovering fog made it mystical and when it lifted,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank romantickitten
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review

Thank you for your most recent stay at The Inn at Erlowest! Our winter weather has provided a wide range of experiences so far this year from the fog that you experienced to ice on the lake (just for a short time unfortunately!) and two or three snowfalls in-between! We are looking forward to getting some snow to make the...

Holden, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Can't say enough good things about this place, everything was perfect. My husband and I spent 3 nights in the Lake George suite.The view was very peaceful, breakfast was one of the best and what made our stay even better was the team of great and most helpeful people ever seen. Joanne, Marilyn, Buster, Christine. Thank you all for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nubia S
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review

Thank you for planning your winter vacation in Lake George and spending time at The Inn at Erlowest. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on our staff members who make Erlowest a special place! We hope to see you again sometime soon! (If not in the spring, we will be looking for you this summer! Please have a...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Husband and I recently spent 3 glorious nights at the Inn. We stayed in the Montcalm room with its spectacular panoramic view, fireplace, hot tub, lovely linens and furnishings. All of the staff were extremely professional and friendly - nothing was too much of an effort! Special mention to Marilyn, Buster and Diane who really did make us feel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeannette502015
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay and mentioning Marilyn, Buster and Diane from our talented team! We are happy having you with us for three nights and that you enjoyed our dining room for both dinner and our complementary made to order breakfast from our Chef. We hope that you will be back soon. Perhaps we could suggest February for...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We normally stay at small B&Bs but we got a good deal on it. Room wasn't up to my cleanliness standards. The view was very disappointing. In addition, like a previous reviewer said, the condos that they built that you don't see in pictures, are rented out and obscure the beautiful view of Lake George. The front desk lady tried...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sgross19
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review

We are surprised and disappointed to hear about your experience at The Inn at Erlowest. Our standards are very high starting with room cleanliness with reviews by our executive housekeeper and by our guest services team prior to guest arrival. Those standards continue to our staff and our interaction with each and every guest, so you comment about an "attitude"...

Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

A gorgeous sight as you drive up the driveway. A beautiful castle and view of Lake George. Our room was lovely and had a fireplace. Dinner at the Inn was intimate with excellent service. Breakfast is included with your stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Inn at Erlowest. Erlowest offers 10 unique suites and a complementary items such as an amenity of prosecco, turn down service including chef prepared chocolates and a made to order breakfast frame every suite. In addition, we offer a wonderful dining experience in an intimate dining room setting....

Wisconsin
Reviewed October 4, 2016

My husband and I prefer to stay at small inns and bed & breakfasts because they are usually quiet and relaxing. Unfortunately, we were a bit disappointed with the Inn at Erlowest. The inn is beautiful with great views of the lake. We thought the inn was the only thing on the property but there are villas below the inn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djtravelwi
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Inn at Erlowest. We are very sorry that your visit coincided with our first ever participation in Restaurant Week. We were overwhelmed with the response and even though we closed out bookings by Tuesday morning at noon, the response resulted in a surprising number of guests during your stay. We declined well...

djc53187
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

If you aren't sure if you wanna stay here, just do yourself a favor and book it now. The inn is beyond anything my wife or I could have imagined. I booked a surprise stay for our anniversary, and from the moment we pulled down the driveway to the stone castle my wife was amazed. When we walked in, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djc53187
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Erlowest! In particular, thank you for noticing the quality of our staff. We strive to deliver the best service for our guests and appreciate the feedback. We hope that you will make Erlowest your home away from home and will find your way back to us again....

New York
Reviewed September 21, 2016

The grounds are elegant, not just immaculate, reflecting great care and discipline. The check-in process is simple. There is an elevator for reaching the upstairs rooms. The suites are story-like with histories that may be fallacious but fun. We stayed in the Montcalm suite. We spent two nights, dining on premises the second night. We went to the Sagamore night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 255roscoe
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The Inn at Erlowest for your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your suite (with a history that we believe to be accurate!) We are sorry if we didn't have someone available to help you with your bags. At Erlowest, all one has to do is ask if we don't notice and we are...

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, excellent food & service Time was taken by staff to give a detailed history of the Inn after dinner. Thank you for a lovely evening Especially liked our very knowledgable server, MacKenzie

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marla C
Montvale, New Jersey
Reviewed September 13, 2016

This was our first stay at the Inn. The accommodations were lovely. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Joan came to our rescue and managed to secure a WONDERFUL trail ride with Bennett's Riding Stable after we learned a local stable had closed for the season. She was so helpful, and the ride was the highlight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank palaminorider54
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Erlowest for your recent stay. Joanne and the rest of our Guest Services team work to greet and help each guest with any special requests or needs that may come up. We are very happy that Joanne was able to help and we can't wait to see you again! Please consider a winter stay (sleigh rides...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

266 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (183)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake George
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Lodges at Cresthaven
Lodges at Cresthaven
#27 of 87 in Lake George
140 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on 15-acres on the shores of Lake George, The Inn at Erlowest is a stone Queen Anne revival mansion constructed as a private residence in 1898 and converted into a 10-suite bed and breakfast in 2001. The Inn offers a blend of elegant rooms, exquisite dining and everything that Lake George offers to guarantee a time remembered. A quaint bar accompanied by a fine dining restaurant provides guests a memorable dining experience. Complimentary breakfast is included and a wide range of welcome amenities are offered for an additional fee. Lounge areas are available for the quiet board game, reading or conversation time. An expansive patio and accompanying deck complete with a magnificent outdoor fireplace connect the indoor experience with the outdoor views of Lake George. Rooms includes elegant furnishings, antique furniture, king size bed, down pillows and Penhaligon’s bath amenities. Each suite offers other unique features that vary suite by suite. Rooms can include one or more of the following features; a fireplace, sitting area, spa tub and shower, and lake view. At The Inn at Erlowest there is free Wi-Fi access and reserved, free parking. A fitness center along with complementary kayaking is combined with two beach areas and an outdoor heated pool. The Inn is located between Lake George (2-miles) and Bolton Landing (8-miles). Interstate I-87 (The Northway) is a 5-minute drive connecting Erlowest to area shopping and activities. The Albany International Airport is 48 miles away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Inn at Erlowest

Address: 3178 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Price Range: $175 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Erlowest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Erlowest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Erlowest Hotel Lake George
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Inn at Erlowest staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Inn at Erlowest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Although the Shepard Room is smaller than some of the other suites, I recommend it for its intimacy and spectacular view of the Lake.”
 of 5 bubbles romantickitten, 3 days ago | Read review
“We were there off season and the Montcalm room was exquisitely quiet at that time. The panoramic view of the Lake was breathtaking!”
 of 5 bubbles jeannette502015, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The Montcalm suite has a private balcony--a pleasant detail.”
 of 5 bubbles 255roscoe, Sep 21, 2016 | Read review
“The Erlowest room has a gorgeous bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles palaminorider54, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“We were not he third floor with a water view. It was lovely ad relaxing.”
 of 5 bubbles 88elainep, Aug 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay