We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN University Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN University Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 451: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN University Inn
 Click to rate
Rochester, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Over and above the generous and comfortable accommodations, and the wonderful convenience to restaurants, groceries and Cornell University, is the amazing staff at this local hotel. Ithaca, NY was hit with a major snowstorm this week, while I was working at Cornell. The manager and staff looked out for my well being while I was stranded for several days at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ringlady11
Hoosick Falls, New York
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed July 21, 2016

nice hotel, small pool and breakfast area but very comfortable beds, staff is very nice was on college visits and is close to two big colleges Ithaca and Cornell plus close to downtown Ithaca I was say a bit dated but overall a nice place to stay

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
About Hotel's Favorite Review
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Joyce, We are glad you enjoyed your stay while touring the colleges in Ithaca and like that you liked the quality of the beds. We hope that you will consider our hotel should either of the colleges becomes your destination in the future. Best, Jim McMann

Ballston Spa, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Convenient to Cornell U. at 4- 6 minutes away by car or shuttle. Also walkable Rite Aid and food store. Rooms comfortable both trips. Easy access from parking to rooms short distance away. Quiet on first trip. 2nd trip had some hallway and adjoining room noise due to more rooms occupied - but quiet by 9pm. Unpleasant for me because...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen953
N. Potomac, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Probably best location for visiting Cornell university. One of the best considering price and facility. A comfortable room and a nice self-servicing breakfast. I would absolutely recommend if you are looking for a budget hotel with convenient access into Cornell university.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sangwoo C
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sangwoo, Thanks so much for your kind words about your recent stay with us! Yes, our location is a definite plus to our guests, especially to the two colleges. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Kind regards, Jim McMann

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were very satisfied with the helpful staff and the clean and comfortable room. The hotel is a 4-5 minute drive to the Cornell campus and 8-10 minutes to downtown Ithaca. There is ample parking space. The hotel is located in a quiet area with a nearby grocery store and sandwich shop. The only concern we had, perhaps unwarranted, is...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al D
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Al, Thank you for your review and your satisfaction with the staff and room. Our proximity to Cornell and downtown Ithaca makes our hotel stand out with our location. We are located on Cornell property and a safe and quiet destination. We hope to see you again in the future. Best, Jim McMann

East Lyme
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were visiting Ithaca College for our son's audition. This hotel was close by and easy to get to/from. Average food, didn't use the amenities because we didn't have time. Friendly staff. NY taxes are crazy high, but otherwise it was decent for the price.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kellie G
Cortland, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Find another place to stay. Our room was either too hot or too cold. The mattresses were horrible and my husband and I had to sleep separately because I kept rolling into him. Nice location of hotel but that was it

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Pam, We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I wished we had the chance to rectify the situation before you checked out, Sincerely, Jim McMann

patchogue, United States
Reviewed February 6, 2017

I had to quick find a place to stay before we left home and head upstate to college. I went online the night before and found exactly what I needed at a price that fit the budget (always). Upon arrival I was greeted by a lovely woman who just went above and beyond for us so that we would have...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 809paulinej
Columbus, United States
Reviewed January 9, 2017

I like the location, and have always had a nice room at this hotel, but for me the difference is the Team of people that work here....they offer a degree of personal attention that you rarely see at any hotel today. They get to know their guests by name and all of their preferences and they make the effort to...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
Ithaca, New York, United States
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

The last time I stayed here the room was super clean. This time it was awful & the mirrors and furniture looked like it had not been cleaned in years. Bathroom sink drain had bad odor and needed to be cleaned. Don't know if we would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Retiredcrab
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Retiredcrab, I am sorry to hear about your last stay with us. We are very surprised as our Executive Housekeeper inspects the rooms daily. I have printed your comments and will forward to that department. Please don't hesitate to e-mail me at jmcmann@twintierhospitality.com if you have further comments. Sincerely, Jim McMann

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
619 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
209 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located only 1/2 mile from Cornell University and 12 minutes from Ithaca College, the hotel is located in the East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. Hotel is approximately 1 mile from downtown Ithaca. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Price Range: $122 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN University Inn staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“a good room is far, far away”
 of 5 bubbles RobertD161, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“Hotel promises pet-free rooms, but broke that promise!”
 of 5 bubbles CNYTravelView, Nov 21, 2016 | Read review
“"All rooms are the same" per the receptionist, which would mean that all rooms have old mattresses and slightly worn rugs.”
 of 5 bubbles jeremysmom, Sep 2, 2016 | Read review
“Go to Collegetown Coffee just a few steps away in the plaza. Much better fare for breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles Fotogrrl247, Jun 27, 2016 | Read review
“I think there's an extra charge to accommodate pets; they also have a slightly discounted "hospital" rate.”
 of 5 bubbles 544pk, May 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question