We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (11)
Room & Suite (8)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The only locally owned and operated boutique hotel The Barlow is located in the heart of Hudson's historic business district and offers 16 fully appointed guest rooms and suites all with en-suite spa bathrooms. Guest room amenities include Keurig coffee brewers, personal safes, refrigerators, 32" flat screen televisions with DirecTV, and electric fireplaces. The renovation of the 1920's building has retained much of the historic charm while providing modern amenities today's traveler expects. The hotel's central location makes it a perfect base from which to explore all that Hudson has to offer. Our Privileges Partner program offers guests of the hotel discounts at most shops, restaurants, galleries and entertainment venues, making a stay at The Barlow and even better value.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
HOTEL CLASS
108Reviews
21Photos
4Q+A
28Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 36
  • 35
  • 16
  • 11
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I wrote the Barlow following our recent stay asking for a manager's contact info to provide feedback. I never heard back. Below is what I wanted to share: Hello, I am reaching out regarding my stay this past weekend at your hotel. I would’ve welcomed the opportunity to discuss
Read more
Response from RussGHudson, Owner at The Barlow
Responded yesterday
Unfortunately we cannot find a guest with the name you have provided in our records for the weekend in question. You comments provide both inaccurate and fraudulent information. As such we do not feel that this review is valid and will not be providing a response.
Read more
Room 305. First, upon arriving, we were buzzing for entry and waited several minutes, even though the clerk was sitting in view of the door. Not the most welcoming. The place has a musty smell. On the way to the room, our first impression was of the elevator with a nasty and
Read more
Response from Russell G, Owner at The Barlow
Responded Sep 30, 2018
I'm sorry if you feel my responses were making excuses for any issues a guest may have had during their stay. That was not my intention at all. As certainly as a guest, such as yourself, is entitled to write a review the property owner/manager has the ability to respond. Unfortunately some people (not you) use these online platforms to vent frustration for not getting something they wanted or felt entitled to, using harsh language and unconstructive comments and often times damaging a business's reputation. To your comments: we will look into either having the carpet in the elevator shampooed or replaced. Easy fix. Repairing the carpeting in the rooms is not so easy as the entire section would need to be replaced, which is rather costly especially for such a small "tear". We've opted to leave it as is which most people overlook as very minor. Two floor lamps, an overhead light and four bedside lights should have been enough lighting, but if something didn't work you should have let us know and we could have addressed it. Thanks for letting us know. As for the staff, we take pride in each member of The Barlow team and they all work together to create a great experience for each guest. Did you see if the Front Desk person was on the telephone when you rang the buzzer (which may have explained the delay)? It's hard to see because they are sitting behind a computer screen and all you can see is the top of their head. Quite frankly we have received many compliments on the friendliness of the staff, but I am sorry to hear you didn't have the same experience. There are 3 other hotels and numerous B&B's in Hudson; some are older, some are newer, but each with its own unique character. Which lodging a guest chooses is based on their needs and tastes. Is The Barlow for everyone? No. But most (not all) guests who book with us enjoy their stay. Clearly you didn't, which - naturally - I am sorry to hear. Again, thanks for the feedback.
Read more
Don't stay here. Rooms are not as advertised and terrible customer service. Much nicer places in the area. Upon arriving in our room, we discovered that the individually controlled wall thermostat was not working and that a swamp cooler had been installed in the sitting area
Read more
Response from Russell G, Owner at The Barlow
Responded Jul 26, 2018
Here's the deal: this guest wanted a discount and didn't get one. Thus the one star review. Read on. Due to the exceptionally hot weather (Hudson was in the middle of a heat wave with highs in the low to mid-90's), we added supplemental a/c units to 4 of our rooms on the 3rd Floor. Despite what this individual says the central a/c system was working although with the high heat it was having a hard time "keeping up", so for our guests' comfort we added free standing units (the kind you see at Lowes or Home Depot that are specifically designed to fit in small spaces) to use at their discretion. When the guest complained that the unit was "taking up too much space" we offered to remove it. They declined. [N.B. - none of the other guests in rooms where the units were installed made any complaints - in fact one actually thanked the Front Desk staff for the additional a/c). Several times more during their stay they asked about a discount. Again none was offered. Yesterday we received an email from this guest once again asking for a discount. This time, however, she explained that she and her husband are teachers and that staying at the Hotel was a "splurge" for them (suggesting that the money they spent on the room was a stretch) and that the discount would really mean a lot. I did write her a succinctly worded email (which she described in a reply as "rude" and "aggressive") explaining the facts and the hotel's position. I reiterated for one final time that they would not be offered any discount. [N.B.: We offer discounts when we feel the situation is merited. Most people would agree that, in this case, it was not.] So to get back at the hotel she wrote this review bad mouthing The Barlow and our staff. All for a 10% discount....
Read more
Stayed the weekend at the Barlow. Awesome location - step right onto Warren St and enjoy the day without getting in the car. Love Hudson and return annually. The rooms are small but cozy, bed linens perfection, best shower ever. I mistakenly left jewelry behind - didn't notice
Read more
Response from Russell G, Owner at The Barlow
Responded Jul 19, 2018
Kristine - great having you back and thanks for the great comments. You hit the nail on the head; The Barlow's location is ideal for getting to all there is to do, see, listen to and eat in Hudson without the need for either a car or a shuttle bus. So glad to hear you found your room to be comfortable (and cozy!) including our bed and bath linens and our spa showers. We are very proud of the service of all of the Hotel's staff and are thrilled to hear they were able to reunite you with your belongings. So until we see you again (hopefully not a whole year!) on behalf of the management and staff of The Barlow please accept our thanks for your comments. We recognize you have your choice of lodging options in Hudson, sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
We spent a night here after a long drive. The location is good and the front desk was perfectly welcoming, but the hotel needs a little push over the edge to go from OK to great. Walking up the stairs to our room, the first thing you notice is the smell -- like grandma's
Read more
Response from Russell G, Owner at The Barlow
Responded Jul 19, 2018
Michael - thanks for your comments. Sorry for the delay in responding but I wanted to research the problems you found with the hotel to be able to address each of your issues. First, though, let's start with the positive: glad you enjoyed our central location. The hotel is ideally located right in the center of Hudson; no need for a long walk or having to wait for a shuttle bus to get to everything in town. We appreciate your comments about our welcoming staff as well. You're correct that the Front Desk is, like most European style boutique hotels, not staffed around the clock. However, there is a 24-Hour emergency number for guests use should they need it. If you weren't made aware of this at check-in please accept my apologies. Now, as for "the smell": that's new to all of us. Quite frankly we have had guests comment on how nice the hotel smells, thanks in part to a diffuser in the Lobby provided by Source Adage filled with their signature "Hudson" fragrance. Guests I spoke with didn't notice anything other than a pleasant light fragrance. Regarding "the wood": while we did, and continue to, use wood oil and Murphy's Oil Soap to clean and maintain the almost 100 year-old hallways and staircase, we did not "re-do" the woodwork, as you suggest, not due to a lack of funds but to maintain as much of the historic charm of the building as possible. The exhaust fans in the bathroom were installed to building code specifications provided by the City of Hudson and the Department of Health and are inspected annually. While I don't doubt you, it would have been helpful to our Housekeeping staff if you had pointed out the "slime" on the walls while you were here as none of us could find any (after two weeks of searching each room, including the room in which you stayed). Sorry, but we all gave it our best effort. There is a newly built chain hotel in town that did spend millions of dollars in renovation. It is still (at the end of the day) a chain hotel, but maybe that might be a better choice for your next visit. The Barlow is, instead, an independently owned and locally operated hotel with a character that very much reflects Hudson's unique charm. Again, thanks for the comments.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & Suite
Photo provided by managementThe Barlow
Queen Deluxe guest room
Room
Great shower
Photo provided by managementThe Barlow
All rooms come complete with DirecTV, fireplaces and comfortable seating.
Photo provided by managementThe Barlow
We are pleased to offer the Aromatherapy Collection of bath amenities from Lather
PreviousNext
12
No problem as you have a key to access the front door and an emergency phone number . Bu t I' d suggest always think ahead to what you need . The front desk is very helpful .
0 votes
Show all answers
There is Olana, the home of Frederick Church; Farm to Glass Tours (guided tour of local wineries/distilleries/breweries); OMI International Arts Center; Hyde Park (home to the FDR Home/Library, Valkill (Eleanor's cottage), and the Vanderbilt mansion), and of course all the great things to do in Hudson! Just understand that Tues/Wed some shopsgalleries will be closed. Hope that helps.
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you allow small dogs?
Yes, but only in 1 specific room. You can't leave the dig alone in the room.
0 votes
Hi Bruce, We do not have any availability for this Saturday. We also require a 2 night minimum for all weekends (3 night minimum for all holiday weekends). Thank you for the inquiry and we look forward to you staying with us at another time!
0 votes
"Get an engineering degree before you go."
"The Inn at Hudson is much much more elegant!"
"there aren't any views in any of he rooms and I would stay off of the first floor..."
"Ask for a room not on the bottom floor"
"We were on the second floor right next to steps to lobby . If you want the elevator , ask for a room near the back ."
PreviousNext
123456
PRICE RANGE
$210 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkHudson
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing