We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
On a bend in the Kapamba River, South Luangwa National Park Zambia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (76)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (6)

About

#14 of 45 Specialty lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Peace reigns supreme at The Bushcamp Company's Zungulila, a charming tented camp that embodies the essence of old Africa and a bygone era. Set on the side of a raised knoll, the beautiful thatched tents look out over the sparkling Kapamba River and an expansive plain where natural springs attract huge herds of game. Camp can accommodate up to eight guests in four Meru-style thatched tents and offers guided walking safaris, plus day and night game drives (open from May to January).
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Laundry service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming

Location

Contact
On a bend in the Kapamba River, South Luangwa National Park Zambia
99Reviews1Q+A13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 95
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Marie S wrote a review Jan 2020
Prague, Czech Republic19 contributions19 helpful votes
Great place to relax. Stunning view from the lodges and the common area. Amazing staff who are very welcoming and attentive. Food was wonderful, we looked forward to it every evening. Lodges are perfectly equipped and have an outdoor shower +bath with landscape view. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
George J wrote a review Nov 2019
3 contributions
We enjoyed our visit to Zungulila, with excellent game-viewing, beautiful birds, pleasant company and impressive meals. The staff and guides are all top-notch, and we felt welcome and well-cared-for from start to finish. The accomidations are beautiful and very comfortable. October and November are fairly warm to hot in Zambia; if you prefer cooler temperatures visit earlier in the year and dress in layers.. Gj
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: All three chalets are proximate to the common (lounge) area, the dining area and car-park.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Jon & Claire wrote a review Nov 2019
London, United Kingdom27 contributions26 helpful votes
Stayed late October. Scorchingly hot - so recommend sleeping under a damp kikoi / sarong. Great game viewing on walking safari and drives - leopard, lions, buffalo, elephants (including viewing from the bath tub!) giraffe, massive crocodiles...etc. All staff hugely friendly and committed. The resident elephant Franco and the two retired buffalo do mean that you should look out around camp, and the staff take great care of you too. Meshak is a great guide and camp manager. One point to note - the camp is a 3 hour drive from Mfuwe lodge - if we’d had our time again we would have stayed at Mfuwe the first night as we didn’t get to the camp until 10:30pm. However we recommend to stay at the camp for 3 nights to be sure that you also experience all that they offer
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
jlwellbo wrote a review Nov 2019
Chicago, Illinois14 contributions9 helpful votes
I stayed at this camp in late June for three nights. My experience is vastly different from many of the others who have reviewed this camp, so bear in mind I might have just had a bad experience. The camp itself, the tents, and layout were fine. It is nice that the tents were so well spaced out. You certainly feel alone in nature. As for the food, at this price point I would have appreciated some choice in my evening meals. There was always choice at lunch, but dinner was set. With only one other party staying at the camp, I think that accommodation should be provided. My real reason for a not glowing review was the DEARTH of animals that we encountered either at the camp itself (maybe two or three grazers at a distance, one time only), or within an hour of the camp. No exaggeration, but we had to drive for 45-1 hour before we came in contact with animals on most drives. It was very frustrating and for that reason I would not recommend this camp. Just a heads up to anyone visiting there in late June, you might be disappointed. Maybe the animal viewing is better at other times of the year.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from TheBushcampCo, Manager at Zungulila Bushcamp
Responded Nov 11, 2019
Thank you for your candid review! We pride ourselves on the overall guest experience, and we are sorry that your stay didn’t live up to your hopes and expectations. The game-viewing is usually very good in the area, as evidenced by the other reviews. We do keep sightings lists, and we understand that you were able to see leopards on two of the three nights that you were in camp.
Read more
Mr. T wrote a review Nov 2019
United States, US19 contributions10 helpful votes
Zungulila was our second stop at The Bushcamp Company in South Luangwa. We didn't think our first few nights could be topped but Mishek and the staff at Zungulila wow'd us with top notch service and experiences that I'll never forget. I can't emphasize enough how amazing the wildlife are and the knowledge of the guides is amazing. Not to mention the food and service. This is a must if you come to South Luangwa. Please note this is the furtherest camp from the Mfuwe Lodge (~3 hours) so plan your travel accordingly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
ZambiaSouth Luangwa National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Zungulila Bushcamp
What are some of the property amenities at Zungulila Bushcamp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Zungulila Bushcamp?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Does Zungulila Bushcamp have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Zungulila Bushcamp offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.