We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Save
Share
Road D3214 Kunene Region, 9000 Namibia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (754)
Room & Suite (176)
Dining (45)

About

#10 of 13 Specialty lodging in Damaraland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is an activity based lodge lying in the core area of Namibia's only World Heritage Site. Only 3km's away from the largest collection of Bushman engravings in Southern Africa, we offer a unique experience in the picturesque, versatile nature of Damaraland. From tracking desert adapted elephants to exploring the geological formations of millions of years, trying to decipher the meaning of bushman folklore from their engravings and paintings, you can experience it all in this beautiful part of Namibia.With 56 rooms and one of the greatest buffets in the country, there is ample space and place to relax, let your hair down and experience this great part of the world with us.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
840Reviews11Q+A79Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 167
  • 325
  • 245
  • 67
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Erwin wrote a review Nov 2020
Antwerp, Belgium2,833 contributions230 helpful votes
+1
Warm welcome and good help with transport of luggage to the room Rooms very clean, cosy but very small. The view from the terrace was not top, a big red stone hill. The setting of this lodge is beautiful We had a few drinks in the lovely bar before going to the dining area. Good food (buffet style) WIFI only available in the main building Checkout took a while, but all correct.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Amy T wrote a review Jul 2020
5 contributions
The location, nestled among the red sandstone, is stunning, and the lodge itself is gorgeous. The dining area and the various lounge areas around the pool are beautiful and quite comfortable. I ate two dinners at the lodge, and they are truly the best I had in Namibia. Chef is passionate and creative. All of the staff here were friendly and eager to make my stay most enjoyable. There is plenty to explore and do in the area, including game drives (desert elephant and giraffe) and viewing the petroglyphs and geological wonders.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
lucasn4212020 wrote a review Jun 2020
Hentiesbaai, Namibia1 contribution
What nice break away for the family to spent some quality time together. And at the Twyfelfontein lodge with all the nice and competent staff eager to serve us. Excellent stay and we will come again and again. And on top of everything we found the desert elephants very close to the lodge, what a sighting.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from William Stegmann, Owner at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Responded Jul 14, 2020
Dear lucasn4212020, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to see the desert elephants. Thank you for your amazing feedback on our service and the 5-star rating. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Read more
Joan C K wrote a review Apr 2020
319 contributions90 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a group the staff especially the man who had the keys to the safe was particularly helpful Wifi was hopeless rooms were fine and the air conditioning was good Buffett for all meals which was excellent plenty of variety
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from WilliamSteg, Guest Relations Manager at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Responded Apr 15, 2020
Dear Joan C K, Thank you for leaving us a 4-star rating. We are so excited to hear that you had a great time at our lodge and that you really enjoyed the meals we have to offer. Unfortunately, the free WiFi does get overloaded and the internet options are extremely limited due to the remote location of the lodge. We do sell vouchers for the paid WiFi Network, should this not be sufficient. We do apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused. Next time you visit our Lodge, we would like for you to join us on some of the amazing activities we have to offer. Kind Regards Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Read more
Jolly sailor wrote a review Nov 2019
Surrey30 contributions26 helpful votes
Room wasn't that welcoming and we faced a large rock - presume you pay more for a decent view. History is interesting with the rock drawings. No hair dryer or kettle and neither of these are loaned out by reception. No water in room which to us was unbelievable considering you are in the desert - all you need is a couple of flasks for when you first arrive. Bit of a trek to restaurant and reception from our room (sorry but can't remember the number) so don't forget anything when heading to the restaurant. We arrived late and left after breakfast so that was ok but probably wouldn't recommend. Food acceptable but certainly not as good as all the other hotels/lodges we stayed in.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from WilliamSteg, Guest Relations Manager at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Responded Dec 10, 2019
Dear Happytravellers75, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and for your valuable feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us was less than satisfactory. The fact that there was no water in your room upon arrival and that you were unable to loan one of our hairdryers, at the reception, will be reported to our General Manager. Unfortunately, we do not at this point in time have kettles in the rooms due to some current power restrictions. We hope you do consider visiting us again in the future. Kind Regards Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$238 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
twyfelfontein country hotel damaraland
LOCATION
NamibiaDamaraland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Twyfelfontein Country Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Damara Living Museum (3.4 miles), Twyfelfontein (1.2 miles), and Organ Pipes (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Twyfelfontein Country Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Twyfelfontein Country Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Twyfelfontein (1.2 miles).
Does Twyfelfontein Country Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.