We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino Camp

Save
Traveler (167)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (13)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good16%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“on foot”(24 reviews)
AMENITIES
Breakfast Available
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Concierge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
102
19
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
102
19
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson footwilderness safarishumbling experiencehot water bottlesspotted hyenaterrific guidesafari experiencegame drivesfree roamingincredible staffblack backed jackalhuman presencemain purposebush lunchexpert handsguides trackerslasted hours
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at DRC for three nights. DRC is an alliance between Save the Rhino Trust, Wilderness Safaris and the local people. It’s a quiet camp which you can only reach by plane. The camp is only seven minutes from the airstrip. The camp was...More

Thank Vegemitelover
Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino CampResponded today

Thank you Vegemitelover for your wonderful feedback, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to share your beautiful words with Bons and all the great staff in camp. A surprising wealth of arid-adapted wildlife in...More

Reviewed March 30, 2018

We were literally out in the middle of nowhere but felt so taken care of. From the singing of the people that worked there, to the amazing people that took care of all our needs, to clicking for us and showing us a Real African...More

1  Thank lbbabb
Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino CampResponded April 4, 2018

Dear lbbabb, Thank you for your wonderful review and for sharing your great memories with us. We will be sure to share your beautiful words with all the staff in camp and hope you will come visit us again. Warm regards Wilderness Safaris

Reviewed March 15, 2018

As the title of my review suggests, I cannot ever find enough words to fully describe the wondermond of a stay in this very remote and delightful camp. During our time in Namibia we kept saying “this cannot be beaten” and in most cases it...More

3  Thank Magglington
Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino CampResponded March 19, 2018

Dear Magglington, Majority of the success at Desert Rhino is due to the community partnership. In what is known as a public-private-community partnership, Wilderness Safaris has partnered with the three communities that administer the Palmwag Concession where a percentage of turnover of Desert Rhino Camp....More

Reviewed February 13, 2018 via mobile

We had the best staff and a truly African experience every night! We had Johannes as our guide and his knowledge was just Amazing! We went Hiking and when we came back to a wonderful dinner under the stars with singing and African cuisine. Do...More

Thank EstiaanMinnaar
Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino CampResponded February 13, 2018

Dear EstiaanMinnaar, Guided nature walks are a great way to learn more about the smaller flora and fauna that live in this incredibly harsh environment. Adaptation to the desert environment is the miracle of all that survives here. Thank you for sharing this time with...More

Reviewed February 10, 2018

We have spend our first few days in Desert Rhino Camp. It was on recommendation of Africa Travel Resource (ATR) that we have done so and we do not regret it A real charm and highlight of our holiday! The rooms are simple but fantastic...More

Thank Olivier K
Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino CampResponded February 13, 2018

Dear Olivier, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us - even though you found some of the activities ran a little long. This is however due to the environment in which we find...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Damaraland
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Concierge
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (167)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (13)
Pool & Beach (2)
Business Center & Event Rooms (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
redberryphoto
May 16, 2016|
Answer
Response from WildernessSafaris | Property representative |
Dear Redberryphoto, Thank you for your question. unfortunately, no matter the type of vehicle you are driving you would need to park at the designated pick up and drop off point at Twee Palms. Due to Private concession... More
-1
Votes
Barbara H
May 12, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from WildernessSafaris | Property representative |
Thank you Barbara for your question, Malaria is present in some of the areas in which we operate in Namibia and precautions should be taken. Malaria transmission is at its highest during the warmer and wetter months of... More
0
Votes
Landri L
March 26, 2016|
Answer
Response from Ted J | Reviewed this property |
No. The camp does not have wifi, either, They do have a computer in the office that has internet that we were permitted to use to check email, etc, but the connection is super slow so I would only ask to use it in an... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"There are not many rooms and they are all totally wonderful"
Read review
"The tented lodgings are excellent and as far as I know, all roughly the same"
Read review
"Tents 1, 2 and 7 are furthest from the main dining area, so best avoided if you have mobility problems."
Read review
"All are great"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing