We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bairro 19, Rua De Outubro, Vilanculos 1304 Mozambique
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Priceline
Destinia.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (452)
Pool & Beach (92)
Room & Suite (69)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 9 hotels in Vilanculos
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.7
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
The Bahia Mar Club boutique hotel is located where the azure waters of the Indian Ocean touch the palm fringed beaches of Vilanculos on mainland Mozambique. It is the ultimate destination for visitors wanting to experience colourful local culture as well as the fabulous beauty of the Bazaruto Archipelago.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Portuguese
400Reviews17Q+A77Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 333
  • 53
  • 7
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
valerieloisy1 wrote a review Aug 18
1 contribution
A perfect moment with Nice people in a wonderful place we will remember this moment for ever Good Food and a fantastique expérience at the SPA we will try to make another stay in the future to enjoy again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LMoodley wrote a review Jul 2022
The Hague, The Netherlands51 contributions6 helpful votes
Best place to stay in Vilanculos. The staff go above and beyond to keep guests happy. The location is 15 minutes from the airport and feels luxurious in every way. The hotel arranges tours, taxis and whatever else you need. They are reliable and trustworthy. We stayed in a garden view suite for 4 nights and 1 night in an ocean view suite. Both were excellent. I have a soft spot for the garden suite because of the outdoor shower and practical design as well as the extra spacious bathroom. The ocean view suite gives you a balcony to enjoy the view but isn't as spacious as the garden unit and fewer plug points. I recommend the lobster pasta. But ask for the tiny jar of piri-piri if you want a kick in any of your meals. The chicken burger was also lovely. The prawns were good too but again ask for the piri-piri! I also suggest the breakfast wrap with chorizo and scrambled eggs with a lovely foamy cappuccino. For dessert the chocolate volcano was a winner. There is a spa and a gym on site which we unfortunately didn't have the time to try out. The WiFi can be a bit temperamental but you can ask for a dongle at reception. Just note that the luxury within the walls of the hotel is in stark contrast to the community and surrounding area of the hotel. It's about an hour walk to the Mercado Municipal which is the main local market. It's not for the faint hearted. You can reach this by tuktuk but then make sure you have cash on you. Its cheaper than taking a cab/taxi and takes about 10 to 15 minutes by tuktuk. The hotel is in a good location - close enough to the airport, right on the beach, a short tuk tuk from the supermarket and Mercado Municipal, other beach restaurants and the ocean horse safari if you're keen on that. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Vilanculos. Stick to this place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: 1. All restaurants in Vilanculos that we visited take forever to prepare meals. Place your order...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel, General Manager at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear LMoodley, many thanks for your visit and for your comments which are much appreciated. Whilst our doors never closed during the Covid years, we are so happy to be able to welcome our valued guests from Europe and the rest of the world once again. We missed you all! Susana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sfguy24 wrote a review Jul 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia60 contributions122 helpful votes
Just got back from a three-day stay at Bahia Mar. The good news is that the property is physically nice -- the common areas look good, with great views over the ocean. The room itself was good -- we had the sea view room, which had a big deck and even better ocean views. A/C worked really well and the room was in good condition overall (except that the bedding could use an upgrade, and needs to be larger -- the fitted sheet was too small and kept detaching from the mattress, which is kind of gross when wake up in the middle of the night to find your legs resting on bare mattress). The bad news is that everything else is a bit of a mess. It started with the airport pickup, which is included with the booking. What a disaster! We walked out into the airport terminal and there were a bunch of people standing there holding up name cards, but none of them were for us. We searched the terminal for 15 minutes and finally found the Bahia Mar representative talking on his cell phone and holding a wooden sign that said "Bahia Mar" under his arm so you really couldn't see it. Once we located him, he then escorted us outside and then left without saying anything. After another 45 minutes of waiting, and occasionally seeing him re-appear but constantly talking on his cell phone, a car showed up and took us to the resort. But it was a beat up old minivan that they crammed 6 adults (and all of their luggage into). Thankfully it's only 15 mins to the resort, but the whole experience just felt very chaotic, disorganized, and stressful. Certainly not what I expect when I'm paying $340USD a night for the lowest level room. It was similar on the return to the airport three days later. I won't go into all the details, but it was similarly disorganized and we ended up leaving almost 25 minutes late -- which, of course, causes a lot of stress when you have a flight to catch. It also just generally felt like nobody was really in charge anywhere at the resort. For a small, boutique property, it was surprising that we never saw or met anyone like a general manager. Nobody ever asked us how our stay was going. When you go to the front desk, someone will eventually appear and assist you, but that leads to the other big issue... The staff were ok but something is very strange about how they provide service. We kept saying that every time we interacted with the staff, it seemed like this was the first time they were encountering a request -- such as, could we get a power adapter? Or, could I order a coffee? Routine questions seemed to flummox them and it just felt weird. Similar at the restaurant -- the waiter would just eventually appear at your table and basically stare at you. You had to kind of just say "well, I'd like to have such and such." Nobody ever welcomed you to the restaurant, asked if you'd like to start with a drink, asked if you are ready to order -- all the routine basic things you'd expect at a restaurant. That type of service was pretty consistent throughout the resort. Nobody ever smiled or said good morning or asked how your day was or anything pleasant like that. It was just very basic and awkward. Food in the restaurant was decent, at least. We ate all our meals there and were generally satisfied, although after three days, we felt like we had tried everything that appealed to us and would have hit a wall had we been there an extra day or two. The other big thing that took away from our experience was that wifi was basically out most of our stay. When we checked in, they told us the wifi was down but they were hoping to get it fixed the next day (and there was no real apology or offer of a credit or anything to compensate for this very big problem). It did eventually start to work late the next morning, but then for the next two and a half days, the wifi would go up for maybe 15 minutes and then go out for an hour, and then repeat a similar cycle. Also, when the wifi is down, that also means the phone in your room won't work, so you can't call the front desk for anything. So, if you're visiting this resort from a foreign country and maybe don't have good cellular service in Mozambique and rely on the resort having functioning wifi, I wouldn't recommend you stay here. The gripes mentioned above are very real and annoying, but we tried to have a positive attitude and focus on the good things, like the views, walking on the beach, reading on the deck, etc. If the problems we encountered had happened at a 3-star resort that cost maybe $100USD a night, maybe we'd be ok with it. But this place is charging $340USD a night! In Mozambique! So I think you have higher expectations and this place definitely misses the mark. We've traveled all around the world and stayed in a wide range of accommodations, and I have to say that Bahia Mar at the prices they are charging has to be one of the lowest value for money properties I've experienced. Seems like they need new management or something, someone who is on the ball, present, and responsive to feedback (which starts with soliciting the feedback and making yourself known and visible). Can't recommend anyone stay here, unfortunately.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel, General Manager at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello sfguy, thank you for your review which was quite a shock to me! Your concerns raised are indeed very important and all have been investigated. Firstly may I say how sorry I am not to have met you and been able to address your concerns immediately. Bahia Mar has a strong management team and your dissatisfaction should not have gone unnoticed. Crisp, new bedding has recently arrived from South Africa to ensure comfort and i am sorry that you were not able to enjoy this. I make no excuses for the difficulties you experienced with our temporary shuttle service, since this is, of course, completely unacceptable. Our beautiful new bus has at last arrived from Maputo and our normal, in-house courteous service is resumed. Whilst the WiFi signal is sometimes beyond our control, we do have 'dongles' from alternative internet providers in the case that the hotel's signal is weak, to avoid guests being totally cut off. Our biggest asset is our team, who are renowned for their courtesy and dedication to guest enjoyment of this beautiful setting. For you not to have experienced that is extremely disappointing to me and is currently subject to review. I do hope you will give Bahia Mar an opportunity to reverse your opinion, we would be delighted to welcome you again and make full amends for your experience here. Regards Susana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Juan wrote a review Jul 2022
Sao Paulo, SP3 contributions1 helpful vote
I cannot fault one single thing at Bahia Mar. Their photos on their website do not do them justice. It is, by far, one of the most beautiful places I've ever been to. You can stare for hours at the view from their garden and swimming pool and you won't get enough of it. Their staff is very attentive, the food is amazing and their tour to the Bazaturo archipelago is out of this world. I'm sure I'll be back. They also upgraded us to a room with a sea view because the hotel was not fully booked at the time, which was even more amazing. Thank you for an awesome time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel, General Manager at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your lovely words. We will be delighted to welcome you again at Bahia Mar! Warm regards, Susana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joseanair wrote a review Jun 2022
Rio do Campo, SC1 contribution1 helpful vote
It was a good experience, the place is beautiful, safe and with great service. The rest could be better, the dishes are not worth the amount we paid. Taste is not good and little amount. The shrimp soup is awful as is the spiced chicken curry. They didn't show me the cocktail menu, even though I asked if they had it. I only found out on the last day.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel, General Manager at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Jose, I am so sorry that you didn't have a good experience in our restaurant. Your comments are taken very seriously and will be investigated. Thank you so much for you review. Regards Susana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LindaBNew wrote a review May 2022
Montreal, Canada1 contribution
I stayed 11 nights to do an extended Fitness retreat. The workouts were demanding and yielded results, and the food and juice were delicious and so healthy! Chef Sophie excels at making healthy food flavorful! After Nelson had pushed me to my limits during the workouts, the ladies at the spa helped to 'repair' my body and make my aching muscles feel better. An amazing team of professionals that make you feel like you are part of the family!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel, General Manager at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Hi Linda, what a difference your time with us made! You left looking so healthy and glowing - it always makes us happy to see the transformation a Retreat produces. Great food, exercise and spa therapies all combine with the beauty around us to sooth mind and body, Thank you for trusting us with your wellbeing. Susana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie A wrote a review Apr 2022
20 contributions15 helpful votes
I absolutely adore Bahia Mar! My stay was 10/10 and I would definitely go back again. The staff are really friendly and professional. My pool suite was gorgeous and very spacious. My bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. There’s a gym too with a personal trainer and classes I could join. The food was so tasty especially the prawns. Yum! I definitely recommend staying there. It’s not far from the airport and I was able to book a boat tour around Bazaruto and benguerra island via the hotel (they arranged it). Thank you Love Jetsetter
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel, General Manager at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Jackie! So good to get this lovely feedback from a committed 'jetsetter', we love you to! It was our great pleasure to welcome you and we hope there will be many more opportunities for us to do so. Regards from the team. Susana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RMP1978 wrote a review Mar 2022
Dakar, Senegal92 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is as advertised. It's very beautiful, with a lush garden. I especially liked sitting outside near the water in the garden at night when the jasmine scent wafted through the air. The room was huge (upgraded to a luxury sea view room) and kept nice and cool. The food was delicious, although many items seemed to be out of stock. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Really great that they could arrange our COVID departure test. It took less than a day to receive the results. I'm really glad that we chose this hotel for our stay in Vilankulos.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel, General Manager at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Hi RMP1978, we are so happy you enjoyed your time with us, it's a special spot indeed! There's such a lot to see, do try to return again, we are waiting to welcome you. Susana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John M wrote a review Feb 2022
Coventry, United Kingdom60 contributions13 helpful votes
Went to Vilanculos for the Marlin fishing but unfortunately following the cyclone the water was too warm and whilst I cought plenty of game fish the Marlin were too lethargic and refused to bite. The hotel was very pleasant and comfortable with helpful staff. I paid in advance for our evening meal but would advise people to pay the menu price as this was much cheaper. All in all a nice hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel, General Manager at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Responded Mar 17, 2022
Hi John, we so enjoyed meeting you both. The cyclone up north did have a bit of an impact, but I'm sure next time you come the fishing will be perfect! Regards from the team at Bahia Mar. Susana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ginnette wrote a review Feb 2022
Lofthouse6 contributions1 helpful vote
Brilliant stay as part of our wider African adventure. The staff couldnt have been anymore helpful. Celebrated my birthday here and we were so well looked after. We had an excellent spacious room with an outside plung pool. The cleaning was impeccable and we felt so pampered. Before our travel across the hotel provided excellent information about obtaining a visa on entry (as the UK embassy were unable to deliver to us on time) which took away any anxiety we had before arrival. The hotel helped to organise trips - the Dhow snd Seahorse experience was fab! We had to unfortunately cut our stsy short in order to get back to the UK before entry requirements changed for the Omicron Covid variant - without the help from Susana Vidal we would have been stuck, she was so helpful with organising land transfers and early covid test results. We recomment this hotel to anyone wanting a luxurious stay in Mozambique!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel, General Manager at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Responded Feb 3, 2022
Oh Ginnette, we missed you after you left! Many thanks for this fabulous review and for being such a pleasure to host. Your next visit will, hopefully, be uneventful. Greetings from us all. Susana
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$216 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MozambiqueInhambane ProvinceVilanculos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Machilla Magic (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Restaurant @ Casa Rex, Casbah, and Zitas Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Portuguese.