We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Herkimer KOA Campground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Herkimer
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Herkimer KOA Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 98: English reviews
Salisbury, New Hampshire
Reviewed October 25, 2016

I have been to a KOA campground before and I was not impressed. I said I wouldn't do it again, but this was for a Boy Scout merit badge weekend and my boys wanted to attend with our troop. We went as a family and got our own site separate from the troop. First off I called after I booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for giving KOA a chance with our park, Nicole! We are thrilled that we were able to impress you during your recent stay for your sons' boy scouts trip. We loved to have you all, and are happy you enjoyed your campsite, our activities, and our awesome staff. We appreciate your kind review, and hope to see you...

Shellharbour, Australia
Reviewed October 19, 2016

Stunning location on the river. Clean park with a variety of accommodation. We stayed along the river in a water and electric hookup site. The river has activities such as splash alley - where you can tube or and bass / trout fishing.Pets are welcome and there are a couple of doggy exercise areas. All sites had a fire pit,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sparky268
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

We are so happy that you were able to spend some time with us this Fall in one of our water and electric sites down by the water. We truly appreciate your detailed review and hope that you will come visit us again next season. Thank you for camping with us!

Trumansburg, New York
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Call it camping if you must, but staying in a heated cabin with hot and cold running water, a kitchenette, a shower, cable TV and a outdoor gas grill is as close to camping as I want to get! It was beautiful to awaken at Creekside to the sound of the water running by. Even with the campground being about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marguerite S
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

We are so thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay in our Creekside Cabin, Marguerite! We agree.. it is wonderful to wake up to the peaceful sounds of the great outdoors. Thank you for camping with us and for sharing your review!

Reviewed October 11, 2016

Nice campground with lots of activities for the children. We were there Oct 8-10 and both nights there was something extra for kids to participate in. Movie night, ice cream social, great play ground, biking, carnival night and games. Staff was very accommodating and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rainy T
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

We are so glad that you appreciate all the activities that we have available for children and others to enjoy. We thank you for your great feedback and hope to see you all again sometime in the future. Thank you for coming out to camp with us this Fall!

Binghamton, New York, United States
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the cabins just outside the mines. We upgraded to a deluxe cabin and are so glad we did! Everything was just as promised! We are returning in October and bringing our 6 year old grandson as a surprise!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that you had a lovely stay in one of our Deluxe Cabins, Nancy! We look forward to seeing you again and meeting your grandson soon!

Reviewed September 19, 2016

A Super clean Koa with a variety of campsites. Many by the river where you can tube or fish. A lot of sites had patios, full hook ups, the fire pit, some had grills ( like propane or charcoal ). Some had lounge chairs. Some cabins were primitive but clean and others had everything just like home. There was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan9754
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind, detailed review Susan! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, including our facilities and accommodations, breakfast, pet area, and activities. We hope to see you again soon!

Rahway, New Jersey
Reviewed September 12, 2016

We stayed in one of their solar cabins. It was perfect for the grandparents as well as the kids. The view was lovely. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. There was plenty to keep us all occupied. Our outside grill did not work, but that was only a bit disappointing. The shower changed temperatures without warning, but you are on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erika M
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review Erika! We're so glad your family had a wonderful time with us, and enjoyed your cabin, grounds, and amenities. We look forward to seeing you again sometime!

Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here in a 35' 5th wheel. 109 was a nice site....full hook up. Did not use facilities. The pull through sites had low branches. Worried about the shrouds, so took back in. The property is very well maintained. Staff was nice. Only negative for us was the fire ring behind the RV. No shade. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dopey1947
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for camping with us! We are glad you enjoyed your campsite, our grounds, and that our staff was able to impress you with their hard work and service. We appreciate your kind review, and look forward to seeing you again sometime!

Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

The camp ground is very well maintained. We were in a cabin. We thought we were going to be along the river but ended up across the street overlooking the road. Not a great vista. That was a little disappointing. We had one sub-par experience with the reception desk. When we called to ask a question the employee who answered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin A
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us this summer, Erin! We are glad to hear that you had a nice time in your cabin. Customer service is a top priority here at the Herkimer Diamond KOA Resort and we're sorry that you encountered a difficulty or two during your stay. We're glad that we were able to refer a technician and...

Reviewed August 17, 2016

This campground is really beautiful sitting right on the West Canada River. The staff are very sweet and helpful. The campground was sold out, so it was packed and full of kids. We travel without kids but the grounds are big enough it was not too close. The owners were delightful and invited us back to dine with them on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

We're so happy you had such a wonderful stay with us, Laura. We are glad you enjoyed our grounds, amenities, and facilities. It was an absolute pleasure to have you, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herkimer
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
649 reviews
6.9 mi away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
60 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
7.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
7.0 mi away
Bellinger Rose Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Herkimer KOA Campground

Address: 4626 State Route 28, Herkimer, NY
Location: United States > New York > Herkimer
Number of rooms: 140
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Herkimer KOA Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Full hook up sites along the river along the river have gravel pad, but are in the best position.”
 of 5 bubbles sparky268, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“Bring your clothes and food, everything else in there for you!”
 of 5 bubbles 401marguerites, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“if you don't like noise request not to be near barking dogs”
 of 5 bubbles Susan9754, Sep 19, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for spot by river or shady pull-thru if going in summer months.”
 of 5 bubbles laurasZ2628YK, Aug 17, 2016 | Read review
“You must reserve well in advance for the best sites”
 of 5 bubbles 984JohnL, Jul 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question