We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
58775 County Rd 48, Greenport, NY 11944
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 3 left at
$550
View deal
Hotels.com
Only 3 left at
$550
View deal
Official Site
$440
View deal
Travelocity$550
FindHotel$557
Trip.com$602
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (221)
360
Panoramas (16)
Videos (2)

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Greenport
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
3.6
Located less than 100 miles from New York City on the North Fork of Long Island, this idyllic property evokes the timeless spirit of a classic seaside resort. Its Norman Rockwell charm will conjure memories of blissful childhood summers in the sun, while its recently renovated spaces offer the comforts of modern life. Our guest rooms and suites offer the intimacy of a seafront cottage, with all the perks of a full-service hotel and every room opens directly onto a waterfront deck, with access to our private beach. The property is a short bike ride or drive from a variety of authentic North Fork experiences, including the village shops of historic Greenport, several award-winning vineyards, local farms offering freshly picked delights, and so much more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Business Center with Internet Access
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Hiking
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Banquet room
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1116Reviews15Q+A93Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 420
  • 348
  • 173
  • 98
  • 78
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JD wrote a review Today
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel would probably be a 3.5 if I didn't encounter a very easy to address problem with the service, that I still can't resolve. I left an important item in the room after check-out and repeatedly called and emailed the hotel to see whether it had been brought to the lost and found. No response. It is profoundly frustrating and an odd coda to a decent stay at the hotel. The hotel is impeccably designed with an outstanding location. The small rooms are just that, small, minimal, very little room to store bags or even place toiletries in the bathroom. The deck overlooking the sound offers second-to-none sunset views, if you don't mind sharing the space with the guests on either side of you. The A/C is archaic and not altogether effective or energy efficient, which can make for a noisy sleep. The grounds are really well-maintained and, even though it is right on a busy road, it doesn't really interfere with the tranquility. The staff is nice and seemingly very well-intentioned, but seemed overwhelmed—and not able to help manage difficult situations. For example, when we checked in the lock on the door leading to the deck overlooking the sound was broken. We were unable to open the door. I called the front desk a few times--no answer. I walked over and spoke with the desk personnel and they immediately called maintenance. Nothing happened for 45 minutes, nobody followed up with me. I called the desk again, no answer, so I walked over and suggested placing me in a different room may be easiest--it would address my issue of not having a functioning door and take the apparent time crunch off their maintenance staff. They immediately did so. Problem solved. Also, another issue arose: the portable bathroom near the pool was emitting water and a strong raw sewage small on our first morning. I alerted the front desk and it was resolved when we returned a few hours later. This is all no-big-deal stuff, but now since I've departed and can't go to the front desk to retrieve my lost item, the lack of service has a much bigger, and more costly impact. The restaurant is very good--but altogether there are many great options to eat in and around Greenport. The hotel is also pricey--which is to be expected. What comes as a bit of a surprise are all the local taxes and fews which add more than 25% to each night's stay. Some of the fees appear to be for local conservation and for a good purpose, but be mindful that they impact overall cost.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Wnj75 wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
Sound View is a cozy hotel that has a Malibu beach vibe, which is centrally located to all that North Fork offers. It was our first long weekend vacation getaway with our new dog. Sound View is very pet friendly. We are very happy with their service and hospitality (Thanks Sasha:). The beach view from our terrace was breathtaking. Dinner at the hotel and live music was fantastic.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded Apr 28, 2022
Hello Wnj75, Thanks for the positive review, we're glad that shared your experience with us! We're happy to hear that we were able to properly accommodate your vacation getaway with your new dog. We strive to provide the best service we can and it's great that we were able to accomplish that for you. We hope we can see you guys and your dog again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ginger L wrote a review Aug 17
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York481 contributions151 helpful votes
Was very happy with the staff for check in, the room was great with a beautiful view , the restaurant was very good. Enjoyed the pool. In fact was so happy when we checked out we booked another stay 3 weeks later. Looking forward to some beach time and good food
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JimSze wrote a review Aug 17
1 contribution
we realize that double queen room cost less than then a king bed room , so we brooked a double queen, the sunset view is really nice , every room came with a open balcony (I believe) . over all the room is very clean , view is beautiful , and very close to Greenport, breakfast was not good , its all self serve pre-made food, wish it would improve on that , but overstay was very nice( a bit expensive) . last tip is the road is every busy with fast moving cars if you travel with kids make sure they dont get out of your eye site.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AmyDsingsDisco wrote a review Aug 14
Brooklyn, New York1 contribution
The Soundview is aptly named; it’s a “sound view” and then some, serene and restful. While guest services and staffing could improve as well as minor details with the room, this is an ideal and idyllic place for a getaway
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kim T. wrote a review Aug 11
1 contribution
Sound View have a supportive team to assist guest; they try their very best to provide a great hotel experience such as a clean room and a very friendly welcoming front desk. The hotel provides a great beach view! I can see the sunrise and sunset, and see the beach every morning, how grateful it is!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Yuen, Thank you for the kind review, we appreciate that you shared your experience with us! We do our best to ensure that we provide a welcoming experience and it's great that we were able to fulfill that for you. Sound View's access to the water helps ensure that you are being provided with some of the best views possible and we're glad that you were able to enjoy it fully. We hope that we have the pleasure of your company again in the near future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Willow P wrote a review Aug 9
2 contributions
I was greatly anticipating our stay and looking forward to it so much. To my dismay when we arrived at noon even though we had requested early checkin they told us rather rudely to basically hit the road and come back in 4 hours. They didn’t even offer us a cup of water or show us other ways to enjoy the property while we waited. It was unwelcoming and unhelpful. they didn’t have feminine products in any of the public or private bathrooms which I found very odd and certainly an oversight for a hotel charging this much for a room. The soundview is special I will admit, but the price for what you get is hard to justify and the cocktails and food were lackluster. We ordered the steak, but it was inedible as the chef burned it to a well done crisp when I asked for medium. I had high hopes, many fell flat here. The view and location are incredible- I’ll give it that.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Willow, Thanks for the review, we appreciate the constructive feedback. For early check-in, we do try our best to accommodate them when made, but it's not a something that we can absolutely guarantee. We do apologize if the welcome was not as warm as it could've been, we'll look into that and make improvements accordingly (as we will with the feminine products available). We will do our best to rectify the issues you faced as soon as possible and we hope that we're able to see you again once we iron these wrinkles out. Please let us know if there's anything else we can assist you with.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SoundViewOverpriced wrote a review Aug 8
1 contribution
will never return. beyond overpriced. major parking issues. zero service by staff (if you can find someone). room was extremely hot with one small air conditioner right next to bed. rest of room you could barely go into because you were sweating. avoid this dump at all costs. many, many, many, many better options. oh, and the restaurant is terrible too
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin Glew, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Kevin, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time on property. We do offer valet parking and have parking spots directly in front of the building you stayed in, so we are unsure of any major issues. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to locate staff as we have staff members at the front desk, beach attendants, housekeeping and maintenance staff all throughout the property. We are sorry to hear the issues with the air conditioning unit in the room, we could have had maintenance take a look if it was brought up as an issue. We are sorry that you had this experience and will work on improving for the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
StrongBuzz wrote a review Aug 1
Brooklyn, New York3 contributions
We were disappointed at every turn here -- service and room. Doors to our room did not close properly, front desk staff often does not answer phone, no closet or dresser, housekeeping never came. Total rip off.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin Glew, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 2 weeks ago
Nomad766052, We are sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience at our property. We apologize if staff was not attentive as we are there 24/7 for guests. Our housekeeping services are upon request at the moment.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel G wrote a review Jul 2022
New York City, New York1 contribution
We kept using the word perfect. It truly was an incredible retreat: beautiful, quiet, right on the water, with a view that we couldn’t believe no matter the weather. We had everything we needed— the staff was attentive and accommodating, but also unassuming.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin Glew, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 2 weeks ago
Rachel, Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our wonderful waterfront property. We are also happy to hear you had lovely encounters with our staff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$504 - $853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sound view hotel greenport, sound view greenport
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sound View Inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLong IslandNorth ForkGreenport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sound View Greenport
Which popular attractions are close to Sound View Greenport?
Nearby attractions include Antique Carousel (1.9 miles), Mashomack Preserve (4.8 miles), and Lavender By The Bay (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sound View Greenport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sound View Greenport?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sound View Greenport?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sound View Greenport?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sound View Greenport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lucharito's, Sterlington Deli, and Southold Fish Market.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sound View Greenport?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Sound View Greenport offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sound View Greenport?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Sound View Greenport?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Shelter Island Historical Society (4.1 miles), The Village Blacksmith (2.0 miles), and 1840 School House Museum (2.0 miles).
Does Sound View Greenport have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.