We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
58775 County Rd 48, Greenport, NY 11944
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 2 left at
$450
View deal
Booking.com
$450
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Site
$315
View deal
Hotels.com$450
Travelocity$450
Priceline$450
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (221)
360
Panoramas (16)
Videos (2)

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Greenport
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
3.6
Located less than 100 miles from New York City on the North Fork of Long Island, this idyllic property evokes the timeless spirit of a classic seaside resort. Its Norman Rockwell charm will conjure memories of blissful childhood summers in the sun, while its recently renovated spaces offer the comforts of modern life. Our guest rooms and suites offer the intimacy of a seafront cottage, with all the perks of a full-service hotel and every room opens directly onto a waterfront deck, with access to our private beach. The property is a short bike ride or drive from a variety of authentic North Fork experiences, including the village shops of historic Greenport, several award-winning vineyards, local farms offering freshly picked delights, and so much more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Business Center with Internet Access
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Hiking
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Banquet room
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1131Reviews15Q+A93Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 425
  • 350
  • 176
  • 100
  • 80
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
COOKIESNAPPER wrote a review Sep 21
Baltimore, Maryland1 contribution
Very disappointed- parts of hotel were in disrepair. Some parts very nice / some parts decaying. The staff seems disinterested and not trained to provide any kind of above average service. Sad that there is no apparent leadership at this property.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Wnj75 wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
Sound View is a cozy hotel that has a Malibu beach vibe, which is centrally located to all that North Fork offers. It was our first long weekend vacation getaway with our new dog. Sound View is very pet friendly. We are very happy with their service and hospitality (Thanks Sasha:). The beach view from our terrace was breathtaking. Dinner at the hotel and live music was fantastic.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded Apr 28, 2022
Hello Wnj75, Thanks for the positive review, we're glad that shared your experience with us! We're happy to hear that we were able to properly accommodate your vacation getaway with your new dog. We strive to provide the best service we can and it's great that we were able to accomplish that for you. We hope we can see you guys and your dog again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
forresterp wrote a review Sep 14
New York, United States2 contributions2 helpful votes
From arrival day to departure day there were disappointments. We waited for 2 hours to get our keys upon arrival and then when we got to the room the keys didn't work...only the beginning. We had to go back during our stay to get new keys because when returning from an outing we came back and the keys didn't work again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 1 week ago
Hello forresterp, Thank for the review, we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced throughout your stay. We'll look into the issues you faced and please feel to reach out to ahernandez@soundviewgreenport.com if you have any other comments or concerns that you wanted to voice.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JTG46 wrote a review Sep 13
Greenwood Village, Colorado5 contributions
Soundview Greenport has a lovely setting. We were blessed with great weather which always adds to a vacation. Unfortunately the structures are in serious need of being refurbished. I was there for a wedding and could not get a room unless I paid for four nights and only needed 3 nights. I personally think that the amount I paid for my room was a bit excessive. There needs to be a better place to hang garments suits and dresses. After The first night our room was not made up the next day. I had to specially requested someone come in and clean our room and give us fresh towels. Apparently your policy requires that a guest request that the room be cleaned. This is ridiculous! Your policy should be all rooms will be cleaned unless a guest specifically request that it not be. We did not have a car and had to use local cab service, which was fine however the first two cards with numbers- that we tried we’re not successful.I will complement your staff as they were all friendly and more than willing to help and answer any questions.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 1 week ago
Hello JTG46, Thank you for the review, we appreciate the feedback. We're glad that you were still able to enjoy your stay with us overall, despite some issues. The night minimum is in effect since those dates are most in-demand which also applies to the overall rate. Please let us know if you have any other questions!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JCE474 wrote a review Sep 13
Garden City, New York5 contributions5 helpful votes
Cannot recommend this resort enough for a relaxing getaway just a few hours from NYC! Room was extremely functional and most comfortable with direct access to the beach. Pool offered a cooling alternative. The on-site restaurant - Halyards - was nothing short of amazing with a professional staff and excellent food. (The clam chowder and scallops were superb!) The location is perfect for trips to vineyards, breweries, restaurants and shopping.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 1 week ago
Hello JCE474, Thanks for the kind review, we appreciate that you shared your experience with us! We're happy to hear that we were able to provide a relaxing getaway and that you were able to properly enjoy the amenities available at Sound View to the fullest. Thanks for your support!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chrysoula718 wrote a review Sep 10
Long Island City, New York1 contribution
Sound View is a great accommodation for family, couples, or anyone wanting to get away and spend some time on the beach relaxing. Renovated rooms offer modern furnishings. Only thing we were not happy with during our stay was the room service or lack thereof. I thought the rooms would be cleaned with fresh towels, but upon calling the front desk I was told the rooms are only cleaned upon request. My husband called and requested extra towels as there were only 2 towels in a room that slept 4. The towels never got there that day. I called again the next day and they came to clean the room and bring us towels. It is a great convenience to have a private beach and pool within steps of your room. They provide beach/pool towels, umbrellas, and lounge chairs. Overall we had a pleasant experience and will be returning.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 1 week ago
Chrysoula718, Thanks for the four-star review! We're glad that you guys had a pleasant stay overall despite some hiccups. We are currently operating on housekeeping upon request only as you mentioned, but we'll look into the lapses in service you guys experienced. We'll look forward to seeing you guys again at some point!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tara P wrote a review Sep 9
Tarrytown, New York10 contributions5 helpful votes
Spending over $700 a night, I was excited for a luxurious stay. Boy was I disappointed. I was first distracted by the stunning view of the sound upon walking into the lobby but, once you start looking closer at things, you begin to get upset that you spent that much to stay here. From dirty, disgustingly stained cushions in the lobby to paint peeling off the doors, I was horrified that this place has 4 stars. The bathrooms are tiny and old. The air conditioner was not on entering the room and minimal amenities. There’s an awesome library room that’s old and has bugs in it. This place has so much potential to be something great…I can’t believe I spent $700 for a place barely worth $150. Thank god it’s only one night
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 1 week ago
801tarap, Thank you for the review, we appreciate the feedback. We hope we were able to remedy the issues you faced with us and please let us know if you have any additional questions or concerns.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeffrey C wrote a review Sep 9
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed here for one night on a 2 day visit for the location of Greenport, LI. The pricing is a bit higher but the location made it worth while. The car parking situation could be better instead of using the valet every time you need your vehicle. The view and cleanliness of the hotel is worth the staying overnight. I however, would prefer to stay a long weekend here. Staff is pleasant, kind, caring, and very hospitable towards all guests. The continental breakfast could be better with hot cakes, or waffles.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 1 week ago
Hello JeffreyC1746, Thank you for the kind review, we appreciate the feedback! We're glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, we do our best to provide an enjoyable stay for every guest. Thank you for the breakfast suggestion as well, we'll see if we can potentially look into that. We hope we have the pleasure of you company again at some point in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
helenraguso wrote a review Sep 7
1 contribution
Great location but for 1500 per night plus tax no one answers the phone at front desk to help if you need anything No towels at the pool bedding is horrible soap dispenser empty. At check out the staff said the manager would reach out to us because there was a problem with the bill two days later still waiting but they charged are credit card twice For the same room
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin Glew, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Helen, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our property but apologize that the service wasn't up to par. We will look to improve your points for the future, along with better training for our staff. We will reach out to you in regards to your bill shortly.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe20201984 wrote a review Sep 6
1 contribution
It's hard to feel bad about accommodations since every room has an amazing view directly on the beachfront, but some shortcomings are glaring: carpet-less gym flooring, untreated wood on the decks, furnishings that show... use.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Joe, Thank you for the review, we appreciate the feedback. We're glad that despite some shortcomings, you were able to enjoy your stay with us. We'll look into the issues you faced with us and we hope we have the pleasure of your company in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$307 - $694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sound view hotel greenport, sound view greenport
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sound View Inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLong IslandNorth ForkGreenport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sound View Greenport
Which popular attractions are close to Sound View Greenport?
Nearby attractions include Antique Carousel (1.9 miles), Mashomack Preserve (4.8 miles), and Lavender By The Bay (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sound View Greenport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sound View Greenport?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sound View Greenport?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sound View Greenport?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sound View Greenport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sterlington Deli, Southold Fish Market, and North Fork Table and Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sound View Greenport?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Sound View Greenport offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sound View Greenport?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Sound View Greenport?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Shelter Island Historical Society (4.1 miles), The Village Blacksmith (2.0 miles), and 1840 School House Museum (2.0 miles).
Does Sound View Greenport have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.