We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sound View Greenport

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (234)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (271)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 8 hotels in Greenport
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
3.6
Located less than 100 miles from New York City on the North Fork of Long Island, this idyllic property evokes the timeless spirit of a classic seaside resort. Its Norman Rockwell charm will conjure memories of blissful childhood summers in the sun, while its recently renovated spaces offer the comforts of modern life. Our guest rooms and suites offer the intimacy of a seafront cottage, with all the perks of a full-service hotel and every room opens directly onto a waterfront deck, with access to our private beach. The property is a short bike ride or drive from a variety of authentic North Fork experiences, including the village shops of historic Greenport, several award-winning vineyards, local farms offering freshly picked delights, and so much more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Banquet room
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Evening entertainment
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1,276Review15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 487
  • 379
  • 195
  • 117
  • 98
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jenni D wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
This was a great spot to use a landing pad to explore Greenport and North Fork wineries. Close to wineries, downtown and several parks and hiking trails. My studio room was a great way to balance some reading, making art and a little bit of work. Excellent view, you are practically floating on the Sound, it is a tradeoff for being so close to the road, which can be loud.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for the kind review! We appreciate having been your host for your Long Island visit and we're glad to hear that you were really able to delve into a relaxing experience. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenna R wrote a review Mar 2024
5 contributions3 helpful votes
Completely disappointed! For the cost of this stay, our room was a stark white jail cell. Not even a spare chair in the room. Zero view, unless you like looking out a small window at the parking lot. Book elsewhere!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Jenna, Thank you for the feedback. We're sorry to hear that we weren't able to meet your expectations for the room you booked, unfortunately our Standard Queen room is listed as a non waterfront room option in the room description. We will note your comments on the room and pass them on. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
K1P2Par3 wrote a review Mar 2024
40 contributions9 helpful votes
The view of Long Island Sound from our room was lovely. We were there on a stormy weekend, and hearing the waves crashing and the wind blowing was enjoyable. But on the inside - if you're only staying for a weekend and you pack light, you should be fine. Any longer and you'll have trouble finding space for your clothing. The bathroom had virtually no flat space to store toiletries. There was a thin area rug on the floor all around the bed, and it was a serious tripping hazard. There was a similar rug in the area where the included breakfast was served, so beware. I have to question why an inn in this sort of location feels the need to charge $26 a night for parking! How else do they expect guests to arrive?
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for the review, we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear about the issues you faced during your stay with us, we will pass this on the rest of the team in the effort to make improvements. The parking fee is quoted as on onsite fee on our website/ confirmation, but we do commonly have people visit via local transportation. Please let us know if you have any other questions!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mbarbarello wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Clean room, comfortably heated. The room had a beautiful view of the Long Island Sound. The on-site restaurant, The Halyard, was very good. The hotel staff were all helpful, proficient, and professional.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for the positive review! We're glad to have been your host for your personal vacation and we hope we are able to see you again in the near future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mgray733 wrote a review Mar 2024
Connecticut111 contributions39 helpful votes
What a lovely spot. Views are amazing! Room is clean and fresh. Bathrooms are clean but very small. Would be nice to have some sort of dresser to unpack into . The view is just amazing and even in March the weather allowed us to sit on the deck and enjoy a glass of wine at sunset. Every one of the staff we encountered, from the front desk, valet, bartender, waiters, housekeeping and breakfast staff were ready to help and go out if there way to make our stay wonderful. This isn’t a fancy hotel but one of those rare gems that are not found today where you feel welcome and have everything taken care of. The landscaping will be beautiful come summer but even in winter it is obvious how well cared for it is. The views are just beautiful. We would stay again in a heartbeat. Don’t miss all of the wonderful vineyards! The restaurant on premise was great for dinner and there are many local restaurants in Greenport that are worth visiting. My one piece of advice is to offer a little more breakfast options for the morning continental breakfast. Perhaps some fresh fruit :) we ended up going out for one breakfast.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for the kind review! We're glad have been able to provide you with a great stay here at Sound View and in general, it's great to hear that your were able to really experience Long Island as a whole. We will pass on your comments to the rest of our team and we look forward to being able to welcome you back with open arms!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Charles Lee wrote a review Mar 2024
New York City, New York1 contribution
In fact, I would like to give full marks for most of the facilities and the sea view. However, we visited during off-peak season and the hotel did not inform us in advance that the hotel restaurant, cafe and bar are closed from Monday to Thursday evening. In search of food to eat every day, I had to make another unplanned trip to the city, and this is something I don't want to consider again. Also, there were days when the bathroom door was locked at night, the phone in the room was broken, and the manager's contact information was not connected. If I hadn't learned how to open a locked bathroom door on my own, it could have been a huge problem.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you weren't able to enjoy the full scope of the property and the inconvenience entailed with that. Our restaurant hours do unfortunately change during the off-season, but specific hours are typically provided on the Halyard's and reservations are strongly recommended. We will pass on your comments in attempt to improve, please don't hesitate to reach out to us for any further questions and we thank you for having joined us at Sound View!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tennis36482 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Horrible hotel experience the bathroom was dirty. The room didn’t seem like it was cleaned and or ready for a new guest. Which is upsetting bc I normally love this place. So please someone get back to me
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your issues here with us at Sound View and we will pass this on to the rest of our team. Please reach out to us and we will do our best to assist or general if you have any other questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
hello865 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed in one of the apartments at the Sound View, and it was so incredibly calming. Falling asleep to the faint sound of the waves crashing was definitely a cherry on top of a fabulous trip. Clean and beautiful space, will definitely be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded Mar 14, 2024
Hello , Thank you for the kind review! We're glad to have been able to provide you with a beautiful and relaxing stay and we look forward to being able to welcome you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carolyn C wrote a review Mar 2024
Hong Kong, China5 contributions6 helpful votes
Nothing actually wrong with the hotel except for the price. they take every opportunity to charge you extra, including for extra parking. You're already paying a ridiculous price per night PLUS an amenity fee, and it is honestly a motel. Parking should not be $25/day for a place that you can only drive to. The room is lovely and the view is nice, but its not worth paying what we did. The welcome gift (something included in the amenity fee) was a tiny bag of chocolate chip cookies (bite-sized ones) and a bottle of still water. The water in the shower didn't get hot enough. The noise from the road is pretty loud, and you can hear everyone walking around upstairs. It's a lovely view, comfortable bed, and spacious -- the price point is just incorrect and they don't include a lot of the costs up front. You also have to request housekeeping which also seems wrong at the price you're paying.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded Mar 14, 2024
Hello Carolyn, Thank you for the review, we appreciate the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you found the value to be lacking, we will pass on your comments to the rest of the team in an effort to make improvements. Please note that both the parking fee and the amenity fee is listed in verbiage on our website and our confirmation email that was provided to you. Please let us know if you have any additional questions.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
111ronnie wrote a review Feb 2024
Northport, New York1 contribution
The staff tried to charge a $150 upgrade fee for a next level up room when all the travel sites and their own web site charges $40. Charged a hidden $23 fee for parking. Facility fee of $27 in the middle of winter with no offerings in return for the fee. Really felt ripped off. So upset because I use to love staying at the soundview. Hotel staff either has no discretion to make accommodations or are unwilling. This is a motel and there is no other parking anywhere. This fee isn't mentioned until checkout. The fee is for self parking.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport
Responded Mar 1, 2024
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that we weren't able to meet expectations- we will look into the issues experienced in an effort to make improvement. Please note that the parking fee/amenity fee are both listed as fees in our publicly available FAQ and our listing on Expedia (these fees are due separately on property). Please don't hesitate to reach out if you have any other questions or concerns.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Greenport area.
PRICE RANGE
$211 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sound view hotel greenport, sound view greenport
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sound View Inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLong IslandNorth ForkGreenport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOUND VIEW GREENPORT - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (NY - Long Island)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sound View Greenport
Which popular attractions are close to Sound View Greenport?
Nearby attractions include Antique Carousel (1.9 miles), Mashomack Preserve (4.8 miles), and Lavender By The Bay (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sound View Greenport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sound View Greenport?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sound View Greenport?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sound View Greenport?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sound View Greenport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Southold Fish Market, Sterlington Deli, and Lucharito's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sound View Greenport?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sound View Greenport?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Sound View Greenport?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Shelter Island Historical Society (4.1 miles), The Village Blacksmith (2.0 miles), and 1840 School House Museum (2.0 miles).
Does Sound View Greenport have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Sound View Greenport accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.