We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Hotel

Save
Share
The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JB England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$177
Booking.com$177
Agoda.com$177
Expedia.com$177
Travelocity$177
Orbitz.com$177
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (206)
Dining (33)
Pool & Beach (1)

About

#3 of 6 hotels in Staines
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
A 16th Century hotel in Staines, The Swan sits serenely on the Thames, serving up blissful river views, fine food, delicious drinks and stylish accommodation. Recently refurbished to supreme standards, it’s a place where old and new come together to stunning effect.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
River View
Languages Spoken
English, German, Hungarian, Italian and 1 more
738Reviews7Q+A97Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 363
  • 201
  • 94
  • 42
  • 38
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
07480199995 wrote a review Dec 2020
Basingstoke, United Kingdom10 contributions6 helpful votes
Expect the rules to change during your visit to this establishment during Covid-19! Obviously they are very quiet but are trying to force you to have more food to stay after 3 drinks each, so it is like order some food and you can have a maximum of 3 drinks, then you have to Order more food to stay longer! Just a warning to you all, as we were very upset by the attitude change after the first food and drinks order! My food wasn’t even hot but I was just grateful to be out so didn’t complain! Omg I’ve just had diarrhoea twice, terrible stomach, not sure if it’s the food or drink but my food was cold! Here is a photo of my bill for myself, shows how they are inflating the prices... over £6 for a pint of lager🤦‍♂️they even charge a service charge🤦‍♂️
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Lauren Goldsmith wrote a review Nov 2020
Staines, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
Being a local resident,I have often enjoyed visiting The Swan, and after an absolutely appalling experience at The Belvedere Arms, Ascot just 30 minutes prior it was the most welcome opposite experience. The staff were super helpful in getting us a table (as we hadn't booked as we were due to eat at The Belvedere), friendly and polite and were great with my little boy. The food was good and it was a lovely setting and place to be able to catch up with my friends! They definitely helped end our lunch date better than it started! Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Tyrer, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded Dec 6, 2020
Hi Laurengoldsmith2104, Thank you for writing such a great review. We are very glad to hear that you had such a good time with us after a poor start to your lunchtime. We always strive to make sure everyone is having the best possible time while they are with us and try to set an invting atmosphere too. We look forward to seeing you again in the future very soon Many Thanks, The Swan Team
Read more
nedwob53 wrote a review Oct 2020
Yalding, United Kingdom202 contributions52 helpful votes
Great little pub/hotel right on the river. I’ve stayed 5 nights here over the last two weeks on business. Excellent food and service at all times, with breakfast a standout. Good fresh fish choices for dinner and as a Fuller’s pub it has the wonderful Hophead on draft to ice the cake. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Tyrer, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded Oct 24, 2020
Hi nedwob53, Thank you for writing such a great review. It is very good to hear that you had such a great time staying with us and that you were able to enjoy the great food and beer that we offer in the company of the great river view we have. We hope to see you again very soon, Many Thanks, The Swan Team
Read more
Steven H wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
So nice to get away for a night. This place was so much better than expected. The room was decorated exactly to my taste and didn’t feel small at all . It had everything that you needed. I had requested a riverview room. The room was quiet and warm. They are sticking to covid rules so it felt very safe . We had dinner out but the menu here looked nice. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely return .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Tyrer, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded Oct 24, 2020
Hi stevenhJ23SM, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. We are happy to hear that you felt safe visiting us with our covid-19 procedures and that you were happy with your room, the view to the river Thames in wonderful. We have just introduced a new Autumn/Winter menu with plenty new dishes that hopefully you can try if you choose to visit us again. I will also pass on your message to our team. We hope to see you again soon, Many Thanks, The Swan Team
Read more
Michael C wrote a review Oct 2020
18 contributions22 helpful votes
Fuller’s Kitchen at the Swan Hotel. The only thing that I was unhappy with was that the restaurant / Hotel had sold out of Grilled Cornish lemon sole, given we had booked a table for 19.45 for Saturday evening I was disappointed it had sold out. I realise Megrim needs to be eaten fresh as it perishes rather quickly. So I settled for the Owton's 28 day dry-aged Hampshire Sirloin steak and my partner had the Blackened salmon both cooked perfectly. We also booked for Sunday roast which was fine. If you are looking for a Autumn break, misty mornings on the water and the rich colours of the changing leaves on walks along the Thames Path, The Swan Hotel is perfectly placed, and you will be met with a warm welcome. The room was comfortable and very clean. The staff very very welcoming and friendly. The hotel & restaurant is very COVID SAFE with online check-in and sanitised key and much more Maybe I will try another Fullers Hotel for the Megrim ?
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Tyrer, General Manager at The Swan Hotel
Responded Oct 24, 2020
Hi Michael, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and your very informative feedback. The Cornish Lemon sole, is a very popular dish, and we are governed by our nominated fish supplier by how many they can supply us fresh on the day. Our kitchen is opened from 12pm, therefore unfortunately by 7.45pm on Saturday, after a very busy day we had run out. My apologies you were unable to order, but I am glad your alternative sirloin steak was perfectly cooked. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt safe with our Covid19 procedures. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Swan, and that you enjoy your time at other Fullers Hotel's. Kind regards,
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$111 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the swan hotel staines, swan hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSurreyStaines
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Swan Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Swan Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Staines Bridge (0.03 miles), Two Rivers Shopping Centre (0.3 miles), and Vue Staines Cinema (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Swan Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Swan Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Swan Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sushi Nara, Wagamama, and Momo Cafe.
Is The Swan Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Staines.
Are pets allowed at The Swan Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Swan Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, Polish, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Swan Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Runnymede National Trust (2.5 miles).
Does The Swan Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.