We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Matobo National Park - The Matopos Zimbabwe
Lowest prices for your stay
Only 2 left at
$295
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
Travelocity$295
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (209)
Dining (35)
Room & Suite (18)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Welcome to Matobo Hills Lodge!The Matobo Hills are renowned not only for their beauty and abundant flora and fauna but also for their unique historical, cultural and spiritual significance. The granites of Matobo were formed over three thousand million years ago and have been carved by the erosive forces of nature into a remarkable gallery of sculptured rock covering several thousand square kilometres. In general terms two types of granite hills occur in Matobo. The chaotic jumbles of rocks and balancing boulders or ' castle kopjies' have been created by erosion working along the horizontal and vertical lines of weakness that formed as the ancient granites cooled. The massive ' whale backed' domes or ' dwalas' are the result of spheroidal weathering or 'onion skin peeling' that occurs during sudden changes in temperature. All of these forces of erosion act at an excruciatingly slow pace and it has taken nature hundreds of millions of years to create the incredible landscape we see today. Unfortunately she is not yet content with her efforts and her erosive power continues to act upon the surfaces of the rock. Nature will only rest when all the granites are gone and the Matobo becomes a flat, featureless sandy plain. Luckily for us this is going to take several more hundred million years so for now at least, we can continue to enjoy this amazing wilderness in all it's complexity. The northern section of the hills is a national park and it's wooded gorges and open valleys are home to a wide range of wildlife species including black and white rhinoceros, giraffe, sable antelope, kudu, impala, zebra, wildebeest and tsessebe.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Laundry service
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Contact
Matobo National Park - The Matopos Zimbabwe
Getting there
Bulawayo Airport34 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
261Reviews8Q+A49Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 162
  • 86
  • 12
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Becca A wrote a review Jan 2023
Suva, Fiji72 contributions34 helpful votes
Gorgeous lodge just outside Matobo National Park with fantastic views. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. Meal portions were very large so you won't go hungry. The hikes and excursions were lovely. Great opportunity to see Rhinos close up. Internet and cell coverage is not great but it allows one to fully relax.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mumuchigo f wrote a review Jan 2023
The rooms were awesome we enjoyed every thing about the comfort of the lodges, cleanliness, design and paintings, Food was good though we preferred buffet at some days, The staff are so welcoming, I would say Matopo hills is a place to relax a very relaxing place with good scenic views.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The pool is rough kids were getting hurt its not user friendly
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chengetai K wrote a review Jan 2023
5 contributions
Matobo Hills Lodge offers the perfect Safari holiday. Great accommodation, Awesome food and the staff is very friendly and always happy to make the stay the best experience possible. The convinience of the shuttle from Bulawayo city was awesome for us. The tour guide, Dylan, was amazing and very well informed making the safari experience also a great learning opportunity. Very child friendly environment my children absolutely loved it and want to have another holiday at yhe lodge soon. We will certainly be back. This is an unsung destination and i will certainly be singing about it and recommend Matobo Hills Lodge to friends and family. Keep up the good work. 👍
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mangisi P wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
The stay was okay.However there is need to improve on Wifi,apart from it not being accessible in the rooms,it was weak at the restaurant and bar.Also serving at the dinning was slow.Wifi is needed at the rooms
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mike M wrote a review Dec 2022
Spent 2 delightful nights at the lodge. Accommodation and Food was Fantastic. But........ the Service and Hospitality absolutely perfect. All the staff we so polite helpful and eager to please. I'd just like to single out Valentine and Ludo who went the extra mile to make our stay so memorable. We Will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Linda C wrote a review Nov 2022
Goromonzi, Zimbabwe4 contributions
I had a wonderful time at the Lodge, the staff offered excellent service. Kudos to Valentine, Ludo, Chef Sunny, and Dylan (some of the staff I didn't get to know their names). I will visit again. The rooms were clean, delicious food always served on time
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Daniel M wrote a review Nov 2022
Bulawayo Province, Zimbabwe19 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
The concept of creating a sort of authentic African village in its natural environment and in a primordial landscape is good, the implementation is a little less due to poor infrastructure. Hot water only part of the time, water seeping into the room floor, and the most problematic is no internet and not even cellular reception. After struggling hard for a day and a half, trying to connect, and travelling to the near city just to log on to the net, we were told minutes before leaving that there is a better connection in the conference room. To close the bill, they refused to accept payment in local currency even from a resident, even though this is against the law. they argued that calculating the rate would be too complicated...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Better drive there by a 4x4 jeep, do not drive during darkness. During your stay, forget about...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joshua Elliott, General Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge
Responded Nov 22, 2022
Dear Daniel. You really should get better at going on holiday. In the vast majority of places you visit things go so badly for you. One quick glance at your previous reviews shows a tirade of angry and outraged reviews full of exclamation marks and warnings! In your tiny few reviews so far, you have faced "impostors and crooks", "liars" and "real scammers!!!". You've demanded compensation from several places that you've stayed. You have had a booking reservation system "cause me severe and frustrating damage..and I demand compensation for it!". You have been the target of a "scam that is reserved only for white people". The list of massive and outrageous injustices you've reported against you goes on and on and reads like a tragic comedy. Why, oh why, Daniel do things seem to always go so wrong ? Bad Luck? We will take your three star review as a badge of honour when compared to some of the other one star diatribes you have left strewn over Tripadvisor. Let's get down to the nuts and bolts of your review. We love getting feedback, especially the negative stuff. That way we can quickly fix it and improve our product. It is so hard sometimes to get helpful, constructive feedback. Thank you for informing us about your hot water issues in your room. Because your particular room is heated by a solar geyser, the water may not be steaming hot at certain times. We will look into rectifying this issue as soon as possible. We did not find any evidence of water seeping through the floor in your room, but, as you know, there have been huge rain storms recently and it's possible the water got in somehow. If you had reported this to us at anytime during your stay we could have checked and rectified the situation for you. We are a lodge located in the middle of the bush. At great expense we use a satellite connection to provide wifi to our guests. Our wifi can on some occasions be slower than you would get through a fibre connection. Issues may be caused by a number of reasons such as weather, rain, lightning strikes, power surges etc. Our satellite connection limits us to how much data you can use. We offer wifi in the public areas of our lodge. "To close the bill, they refused to accept payment in local currency even from a resident, even though this is against the law. they argued that calculating the rate would be too complicated..." This is where things get sticky for you, Daniel. You see you have made a spurious claim that we do not accept payment in local currency, even from residents. Yet we have received multiple payments in local currency from several people every single day of your stay at our lodge (and have the signed RTGS swipe receipts to prove it). We have taken thousands of payments in both local and international currencies without a hitch. Here is the real story: Our amazing and patient, Head Front Officer, Tariro explained clearly to you that we accepted local currency. She repeated it more than once to you. In her written report on this incident, Tariro reported that on departure, you were in a "foul mood" and said you were in a rush. You asked to pay your bill in RTGS local currency, we gave you the invoice, you then refused that and asked to swipe in USD. You then swiped with a first card that came back with "Insufficient funds" (we have this swipe receipt too). You then used our wifi, which you claim didn't work, to move money, clear your bill and leave. In your final vitriolic little comment you warned future guests that they should forget about having "phone signal, internet or TV" at our lodge. In fact we have phone signal that guests and staff use everyday, we have Wi-Fi in all public areas and have a flat screen Tv with DSTV 24/7 in our conference room. But you knew that already, didn't you Daniel? We welcome all criticisms, valid or not, but we will not accept slanderous lies. By claiming that we do not accept payments in local currency, you have made a serious and false claim of illegality against our company. To anyone reading this please take note that, of course, we take payments in local currency.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nomathemba gwen... n wrote a review Sep 2022
Harare, Zimbabwe2 contributions
excellent customer service. Did a solo trip and the staff made me feel at home. Kudos to Chef Arnold the food was amazing..... had an amazing wilderness experience and got to see a crash of Rhinos thanks to the guide Dyllan, this is a definite must do activity if you go there . The tranquil and the aura of the historic place best described by guide Tawanda......You would think he was born at Matopos. In overall i had a great time and would recommend this excursion to anyone. Amazing trip . Thank you team Matobo hills
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marin Prebeg wrote a review Aug 2022
Oslo, Norway16 contributions3 helpful votes
Pretty much everything was excellent, including the rhino trekking trip organized by the lodge. The only potential issue was that WiFi didn't work during the first day, but I personally didn't mind that.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joshua Elliott, General Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us, My apologies we use V sat Wi-Fi as Matobo Hills Lodge is in the middle of the wilderness and occasionally we may face internet challenges. However we are thrilled you had a great time with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PRAISLY S wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We really had a great wonderful time at Matobo, from their best staff and to the food we ate it was so excellent 💯🙌…The place is so refreshing and I just can’t wait to come again this August !!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joshua Elliott, General Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us, We are thrilled you had an amazing time with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$299 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ZimbabweMatabeleland South ProvinceMatobo National Park - The Matopos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MATOBO HILLS LODGE - Updated 2023 Prices & Reviews (Matobo National Park - The Matopos, Zimbabwe)

Frequently Asked Questions about Matobo Hills Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Matobo Hills Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Matobo Hills Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Matobo Hills Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Matobo Hills Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.