We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Four Seasons Resort Seychelles at Desroches Island

Save
Share
Desroches Island Seychelles
Expedia.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
FourSeasons.com
Prestigia.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (349)
Pool & Beach (120)
Room & Suite (89)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Fishing
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Concierge
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

Full view
Contact
Desroches Island Seychelles
Getting there
Seychelles Intl Airport147 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
140Reviews21Q+A23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 122
  • 9
  • 6
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Katia C wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
+1
We stayed one week in Desroches Island during our honeymoon (after a few days in Praslin) and enjoyed every second. There are not enough words to express the level of service we received at the four season in Desroches Island. Every member of the staff including the wait staff, housekeeping, room service, front desk and anyone you passed makes you feel as though your comfort and well being is their top priority. The island is beautiful and very private, the food is really good, the beaches are great (Madame Zabre and Aquarium beach were our favorite), and sunsets are breathtaking. Every villa comes with a bike and even if the hotel offers to drive you anywhere by buggy we just loved riding along the island! We did snorkeling (we were lucky enough to see turtles and a shark) and even took surfing lessons for the first time and had an amazing time thanks to Nicole and Justin who are very nice and professional ! A special thanks to Allen, Grigorio, and Vanessa for making sure everything was perfect! We could not dream of a best honeymoon vacation, the whole place completely exceeded our expectations. We can’t wait to be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
MichaelaReisser wrote a review Jul 2021
Abstatt, Germany2289 contributions100 helpful votes
+1
Desroches is virtually located in the middle of nowhere, about 230 kilometres southwest of Mahé, reachable by domestic flight. It’s the only resort in the coral-based Amirante Archipelago. Nice welcome reception with many of the team members waiting at the arrival lounge. Same also happens upon departure. We got a brief show-around by buggy, then went straight to our villa. We stayed on the more northern part of the island (where it was sunny till sunset 😉) in a Beach Pool Villa with great beach and swimming options. On the western part there is currently some beach restoration going on due to erosion. Our villa was very cosy and we felt absolutely comfortable. Those category is different to the others, it’s a more rustic style. The relatively small pool is located in the backyard, yet some of this category also feature the pool on the side. It was lovely to sit in the night on the wooden terrace under the fantastic starry sky along with some drinks whilst listening to the sound of the waves. The other categories Ocean-View Pool Villa and Sunset-View Pool Villa come with a very well designed outdoor area, featuring a nice cabana and a bigger pool. The Ocean-View category is situated along the coral beach which is not really suitable for swimming. If you want direct beach access with swimming options, then the Beach Pool Villa or the Sunset-View Pool Villas are the way to go (and certainly the higher categories). Very impressing are the suites! Every villa comes with their own bikes. We absolutely loved to ride along the island. Also, you can call a buggy at any time or walk. There are 2 restaurants and The Deli. Main outlet Claudine is located around the pool area. During our stay, it changed between theme nights and à-la-carte with focus on Mediterranean cuisine. We attended the Indian and the Creole night. Overall, we thought the food could have been a bit more spicy as we really do like it that way 😉. The Lighthouse restaurant is on the end of sunset beach. It’s famous for dry-aged meat and seafood. We very enjoyed our 2 evenings there. It’s a wonderful, very romantic setting in the garden next to the beach, under the starry sky along with a stunning illumination. Really a pretty special atmosphere! Also, the lighthouse lounge is very unique and the place to enjoy sunset drinks – I can highly recommend The Kreol Kooler. Pretty interesting and extremely delicious was the grilled spiny lobster Japanese style, same valid for the wasabi prawns roll and sashimi platter. Hubby was very satisfied with his meat choices. F & B Manager Georgio was always around to check if all is fine. We had some special requests/modifications for breakfast which were very well handled, thanks again to the team. What should be changed due to environmental reasons is butter being served in single-use portions. Still own bottled house water is complimentary in all outlets and bars, very nice. Unfortunately, sparkling water at breakfast is chargeable. That’s something I expect to get on a complimentary basis in this luxury-league. Interesting, at sister property on Mahé it’s free (branded, they do by now not have their own water). So the way to go is to produce own sparkling as well 😊. The atmosphere is very familiar, staff was always amiable. Extra charges are a bit ambitious, but this is certainly owing to the location as many of the things need to be flown-in (bigger ones arrive by boat). They are now tending to collaborate closer with the village people in terms of food production. This is beneficial for the residents and as well for the resort as you can avoid the delivery issues, all would be super-fresh. And of course it is very sustainable! Desroches is about 6 km long and 1 km wide. A beautiful, very lush island with forest and coconut plantations. You can wander or cycle around the forest paths which lead through the island. So every day you can choose which of the different beaches you are going to occupy. There is a small village (no shopping options) and also the conservation centre. It’s run by the island conservation society and focuses on protection of the marine and land life and preservation respecitvely restoration of the native woodland. Located in the middle of the island you’ll find the huge tortoise sanctuary. Desroches houses about 90 Aldabra giant tortoises. Some are freely roaming around which is always amazing to see when you are on tour. Also, many of them are super curious so we had lots of funny encounters. The beaches on the eastern/southern side are rougher (at least during our visit, but I assume year-over). The lagoon side is on the western/northern part. Swimming opportunities depend a bit on the tide and on the seagrass, which arrives on some parts due to currents etc. That’s nature and you will always find an alternative place to relax, sunbath and swim. Our favourite ones are Madame Zabre and Aquarium. Aquarium is also interesting in terms of snorkelling. Rays and baby sharks love to swim around in the lagoon. A thing not to be missed is a romantic beach picnic. You can decide where you would like to dine and a nice set-up will be prepared. We savoured a creole-style lunch, accompanied by some wine and seybrew. The most beaches feature a hut with chairs, umbrella, towels and water bottles which is perfect as you don’t need to carry lots of things with you. On our last night we had a stunning stargazing on the runway. It’s so clear, no lights around to spoil the view. Lots of shooting stars, never seen that before, really an impressive experience. At the Castaway Centre is a wide choice of excursions/boat trips available. In addition also activities like kayaking, stand-up paddling, surfing, and certainly a tennis court. Also some environmental activities are bookable. Divers will surely be very satisfied as the spots around Desroches are famous for their drops and caves. During our 5 nights‘ stay, we felt pure relaxation, freedom, and seclusion far away from the rest of the world. We absolutely enjoyed our time on this beautiful, remote island. There is definitely something magical about Desroches and it’s surely a place we will repeat.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Alvertos Revach wrote a review Jul 2021
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg313 contributions362 helpful votes
Spent 7 nights in a Sunset Beach Suite (#1). We have been to a number of high end, private island resorts around the world. In the Maldives, at Bawah in Indonesia, the Brando in Tahiti, Fregate in the Seychelles. All in all, I feel like the FS at Desroches tops them all. They are not perfect - and I'll tell you why later - but given the current circumstances (100 staff vs. 300 pre-COVID), I believe they approach perfection. We arrived into Victoria-Seychelles Airport on a Thursday morning via Dubai. Once we exited the arrivals area we were greeted by a helpful and very polite member of the FS team, who escorted us to the Domestic Terminal lounge, where we waited for about 2.5 hours to board the local flight to Desroches. They are running only two flight per week from Mahe to Desroches at this time, on Thursday and Saturday mornings, so make sure you take this flight schedule into account when booking your flights. The lounge was large and empty, and we mostly snoozed. At some point we were taken to the Domestic departures area (think a small area with some seats and 2 "gates") from which we promptly boarded our flight to Desroches, on an Islands Development Company (IDC) 18 seat Beechcraft, which is a plane from back in the mid-90's (and it shows..!). The flight is a comfortable 35 minute one. Upon arrival at Desroches we were greeted by a number of the staff, and quickly taken by buggy to our room, which was very close to the landing strip. Check in took place in the villa, and was quick and easy. The villa, facing the sunset, was amazing, and a highlight of our stay. Very wel appointed and with very tasteful decor. There was a living / dining room with a 65' TV as you walk in, then the master bedroom with a very comfortable bed, then an office / second bedroom with its own 40' TV. There were two separate toilets, one complete with a second shower (this one close to the office / second bedroom), one large bathtub, a huge indoor shower with a glass door connecting it to an outdoor one, two separate bath-sink areas, and two separate closet areas. It's huge. Then you have your private garden, complete with a small dip pool (1.2m depth), a gazebo with a sunset view, 3 sun loungers and umbrella and direct access to the beach. The villa was kept spotless by a very kind and lovely lady who would come and take care of things every morning and do a turn-down in the evening. I was happy to see that the water provided was in refillable glass bottles, and not in plastic ones. There was also free coffee and tea in the room. The mini bar was well stocked, but prices were very expensive. Bath amenities came in refillable ceramic containers, and I think can be improved. The air conditioning worked wonderfully, and kept the villa at a stable 24C during the day. At night you could switch it off and the room was kept cool. There are also a number of indoor and outdoor ceiling fans, those can help too, although the temperature on the island is never too hot - tops at around 30C. Dining: due to Covid there are limited dining options. The main restaurant, Claudine, is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Then the Lighthouse is open on and off, and they do a set menu at the Castaway center off and on. We had a set seafood dinner at the Castaway center on our first night, and we thought it was too much food for too much money. I mentioned this to one of the managers, a wonderful Italian gentleman, Gregorio, who reduced the charge and also told us that they decided to address the wasteful portions and the very high price issue going forward. A special mention to Gregorio, he was everywhere, taking care of guests and solving issues, always polite and with a can-do attitude, an asset to this resort. Breakfast was ala carte, and you could order anything and as much as you wanted. The food was very good, although a few times there were some minor glitches with our orders (Gregorio also addressed the matter). Dinner at Claudine was off a limited menu, but the chef was very flexible. For example, I do not eat meat, so he substituted it with fish in a very good pasta dish. Expect to pay about €120 per person without alcohol. Dinner at the Lighthouse has more options, including sushi rolls and aged steaks (not for us...), and will set you back about €150 per person without alcohol for "normal" food (steaks run very high!). Wines start at about €100 per bottle and cocktails at about €17. Dinner for 4 on our last evening came to nearly €1,000, including drinks, service charge (10%) and VAT (15%). But the food was good, and the company great! We also ordered Room Service one evening, and did a Pizza and Movies night. The room service menu is extensive, the food was great, and we paid €99 for 2 pizzas (large), a ceasar's salad and some fries, plus tax, service and delivery charges. Although the hotel offers to take you anywhere by buggy, we preferred riding the bicycles that they have for all the guests. I have to say that, given the fact that parts of the island are reachable only via very bumpy dirt roads, these "made for flat surface roads" bicycles are not optimal. However they got the job done - my bum still hurts. The island is basically in four parts: The first part, near the landing strip, is the resort, with the rooms / villas, the restaurants, FS staff quarters, etc. Then you have an area on the north side with Residences built on the beach, some of which are managed by the FS and some by the Islands Development Company. Then you have an area were the IDC staff (mostly from India) live, who work as gardeners, tend the vegetable and fruit garden, etc, and a village where some locals live. Finally, you have a huge area to the North & East which is basically a jungle with some bike routes to remote beaches. There is a tortoise sanctuary that you can visit, and there are also many free roaming tortoises. We also saw goats and chicken close to the village. 5 of the beaches (in addition to the one which is eroded in front of the main pool) are serviced by the FS, and there you will find SUPs, kayaks, surfboards, picnic tables, showers, a toilet, loungers and umbrellas, fresh towels and cold bottled water. A great setup! There are radios on each beach if you want to call the staff. The best beaches are on the North side: Madam Zabre and Aquarium. Reef's End beach is not very nice but has great snorkeling. North Point is very secluded but a bit rough on the waves. I also visited Bombay Beach (too wavy and windy) and one more called Therese, I think, where they need to do a beach cleanup - lots of plastic has washed up. Overall, the beaches are amazing, and change completely from high to low tide. I highly recommend snorkeling (you can borrow everything you need free of charge from the Castaway center) and scuba diving (paid). The two guys running the scuba center were extremely busy, so I only had the chance to do two dives, and due to the weather being windy, both were at the same, nearby site. But I saw stingrays, turtles, lobsters, eels, sharks and many many fish. I also highly recommend visiting Tropic Surf, and getting (paid) surfing lessons from Justin and Nicole, a wonderful South African couple who are not just great at their job, but who also go the extra mile with the guests. They are great with kids, we saw them give lessons to a few while we were there, and the kids seemed thrilled to learn how to surf in such a place. The gym is very well appointed and the tennis court is in great shape, and has floodlights for evening matches. The Service, overall, was pristine. When one of my two flip flops broke (lesson learned: always take an extra pair), the staff found a pair for me, I believe from the stock of flip flops that the staff uses. When I fell from my SUP and lost my sunglasses in the seaweed, Justin came back to the spot a while later with a mask and fins trying to find them for over one hour. We didn't find them, and the lesson I learned is to use a sunglasses tether... On our last day, the flight to Mahe was at 11:30 while the flight from Mahe to Dubai was at 23:50. They arranged for us to picked up by taxi and taken to the FS in Mahe, where we spent the day at the beach, were given a room at the Spa to shower and change, then had dinner and then took another taxi and arrived happy for our flight at 22:30. Everyone had a smile under their mask - and bravo that everyone stuck to the rules and protocols regarding distancing and mask wearing. Everyone was friendly and polite. The staff truly made the difference. Some issues: 1 - TV: as there is not much to do at night on the island, I believe it would be a big plus to offer guests a bigger choice of free TV channels, especially movie / series channels. The €12 paid movies are OK, but... 2 - Internet: The hotel lets you know that there is no cellular connection on the island, so your mobile phone, unless satellite, will not work. But it says on the website: "Calls may be placed through the landline connection or via the Wi-Fi network". This is not correct. The internet speed anywhere on the resort is about 2Mbps, which is not enough to place calls via Teams, Zoom, etc. They told me they are working on this. And they have to, as, if they want to attract digital nomad guests, the current setup is prohibitive. I had a call scheduled one day and had to cancel. 3 - Beach in front of Sunset villas, main restaurant and pool: we were told beforehand that there is significant beach erosion on the Sunset side of the island This is true. The beach in front of our villa was very small to non existent (during high tide). I did not mind, as I was happy to cycle to any of the other beautiful beaches on the island, but someone might mind. 4 - Prices at the small boutique next to the reception are unnecessarily high. €105 for a high end bottle of shampoo ($38 online) is just too much. 5 - On our second day I noticed a used single use mask on the side of the main path from our room to the breakfast restaurant. It was highly visible. The mask was still there on the day we left. I'm sure many people saw it, but no one picked it up. I was tempted to do so, but wanted to see what would happen. Overall, one of the bast vacations ever. Excellent place, and we will certainly return soon!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Book a Sunset Beach Suite. They are close to the main restaurant, the gym and the Castaway center.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
alexarcabrera wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
There is truly no place like Four Seasons Desroches! Situated on a small private island, you have access to incredible secluded beaches like you've never seen before. The accommodations are incredible--towels and water at every secluded beach, the rooms and decor are breathtaking, the food and service is spectacular, as is the spa! We had the most incredible time. Lots of activities. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay special with lots of personal touches, everyone knew our names and that we were celebrating a birthday & honeymoon, even helped plan unique and personal experiences. We can't wait to be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from FS Seychelles Management, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles at Desroches Island
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear alexarcabrera, Firstly, congratulations on your wedding! I truly appreciate your kind words about our Resort and the beaches. I am very happy that our team were able to assist you to make sure you had an unforgettable stay with us and I wish you a belated happy birthday. The seclusion and adventure found on Desroches, provides the perfect opportunity for you to take time to yourself. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to paradise soon. Kind regards, Nick Solomon Resort Manager
Read more
Александр К wrote a review Jun 2021
226 contributions189 helpful votes
1. Swimming pool 1,5m width. More like small cold jacuzzi. 2. Air conditioning is old school and blows directly to the bed. 3. Food is horrible. No fruits at all. We asked for mango, watermelon, passion fruit and everything wasn’t available. 4. Service horrible and we never saw such bad service at 4seasons hotels. Like we waited for salads 40-50 minutes. If we ask breakfast for 9am, they bring it at 09:30. 5. Lots of black fly and mosquitoes on island. Conclusion is I do not understand how 4season give them license. It’s worst hotel from 4seasons that I ever been.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: My recommendation not to go with kids there.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from FS Seychelles Management, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles at Desroches Island
Responded Jun 28, 2021
Dear _F2877LB, Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with the service and overall experience during your recent visit. Please rest assured that all guest comments are monitored and actioned to ensure we are constantly improving our service and offerings. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back soon and exceeding your expectations. Kind regards, Nick Solomon Resort Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$807 - $2,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SeychellesDesroches Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
71
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Four Seasons Resort Seychelles at Desroches Island
What are some of the property amenities at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles at Desroches Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles at Desroches Island?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles at Desroches Island?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles at Desroches Island?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Four Seasons Resort Seychelles at Desroches Island have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Four Seasons Resort Seychelles at Desroches Island offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles at Desroches Island?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles at Desroches Island?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Does Four Seasons Resort Seychelles at Desroches Island have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.