We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
45 7th St, Garden City, NY 11530-2807
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$323
View deal
Priceline
$323
View deal
FindHotel
$265
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/28/22
Expedia.com$323
Travelocity$323
Hotels.com$323
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (255)
Room & Suite (79)
Dining (60)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/30/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Garden City Hotel
Updated 06/30/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 6 hotels in Garden City
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Celebrating more than 148 years of Luxury on Long Island. The Garden City Hotel is the area’s longest-operating and most prestigious property with a AAA Four Diamond Award rating. The hotel was renovated and reimagined from the original traditional backdrop into a striking contemporary classic and is part of Preferred Hotels & Resorts LVX Collection. Truly a destination for dignitaries and celebrities as well as business travelers, NY locals, and visitors from around the globe. Our first-class service is enhanced by timeless elegance and modern comforts to include the Red Hots Spa, Fitness Center with Indoor Pool, Red Salt Room, King Bar, The Patio Bar by David Burke and Crave45 Market, along with over 25,000 square feet of versatile meeting and event space. The Garden City Hotel proudly presents 269 spacious Guest rooms and Luxury Suites, redesigned as a relaxing retreat for overnight guests. The 25,000 square feet of enhanced banquet space offers the ambiance to impress. The hotel delivers the highest standards for business meetings and corporate events and our legendary Grand Ballroom is the ideal setting for a Conference, Gala Event or a Dream Wedding. Business and Leisure Travelers will appreciate the Garden City Hotel’s location with easy access to NYC and proximity to both JFK International (12 miles) and LGA Airport (16 miles) along with the Long Island Railroad directly across the street.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Valet parking
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Salon
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Executive lounge access
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Croatian and 2 more

Location

Full view
54Somewhat walkable
Grade: 54 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1170Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 752
  • 206
  • 86
  • 59
  • 67
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
bethmcdo wrote a review Sep 17
Fort Myers, Florida15 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I was sent to Garden City Hotel after Oheka Castle cancelled my 2 night stay the day I arrived to NY. I was very pleased with the hotel, room, service and area. I was not planning on even going to this area but I’m glad I did. The downtown area is lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at The Garden City Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to go into town. The Village of Garden City is a quaint village with many shops and eateries. Should your travels bring you back to the area we hope to welcome you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan C wrote a review Sep 15
1 contribution
Stayed here for 1 night for business. The staff was fantastic and provided excellent service and the checkin process was very easy. Our group had dinner at King Bar and again the service as well as food was fantastic.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at The Garden City Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back some.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen R wrote a review Sep 6
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here one night this past weekend. The Garden City Hotel is truly an upscale hotel. Multiple restaurants, spa, indoor pool and gym. The rooms and bathrooms were super clean and the hotel smelled fresh and clean immediately upon leaving the elevator. Beds soft and comfy. Definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at The Garden City Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback Karen. We are proud to have achieved AAA Best Housekeeping Practice Award year after year. Additionally we have also passed with 100% score the new requirements that consists of ATP swab testing of high touch points and surfaces. ATP monitoring is recognized by the National Institutes of Health and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicosiatraveller wrote a review Aug 2022
Athens, Greece2 contributions
Dirtiest Hotel I ever been. Cleaning once a week.?????? 4*hotel???? Rude personnel. Horrible breakfast, same buffet for 15 days. The only positive, close to the city centre. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. The traveller
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at The Garden City Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We do believe that your review is posted to the wrong business. We not only have daily service but we do not allow guests to decline service for more than 3 days. Our breakfast buffet menu varies each day with different items and an a la minute menu is also available as well out renown Brunch held every Sunday. We are located in the picturesque quaint village of Garden City and not near a city center. To get to NYC you do have to take the Long Island railroad to Penn station. We ask that you post this to the intended business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ramesh T wrote a review Aug 2022
25 contributions19 helpful votes
Had a pleasant experience with our stay with family overnight to attend a family gathering near by. Free car parking is offered and in house there is a coffee shop and a restaurant. Didnt use restaurant service as i felt its expensive. Closer to lot of restaurants. Overall good place to stay though a bit expensive
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Free Parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at The Garden City Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We hope next time you can try one of our two restaurant that also feature daily and weekly specials! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mindy F wrote a review Jul 2022
North Potomac, Maryland83 contributions69 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed over a high school reunion weekend. We are seasoned travelers and we are picky. This hotel is charming, clean, attractive and spacious. Staff was polite and helpful. We would stay here again and look forward to it. Really a highlight of a memorable weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at The Garden City Hotel
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Thank you for your feedback Mindy. We are glad that you enjoyed the weekend and your high school reunion. It was pleasure to have your group stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ischia1 wrote a review Jul 2022
Long Beach Island, New Jersey40 contributions40 helpful votes
Twenty years ago I went to school near this hotel and would drive past it weekly. I told myself that one day I’d stay there. Since then I’ve stayed in a variety of high end hotels and staying The Garden City Hotel met and exceeded my expectations. The customer service is top notch. The attention I received rivaled that of a small Bed and Breakfast despite this hotel being considerably larger. Everyone was kind, helpful, available and friendly. I would definitely stay here again. The hotel is squeaky clean and the bed was quite comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Free valet
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at The Garden City Hotel
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marc G wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
room was ok, there was no room service available the evening we stayed, the main restaurant was not open, the bar which used to be a go to destination now has second tier alcohol to offer, no top shelf vodka at all, we were served by a very nice young man who had an entire 3 weeks on the job and he was left alone to handle service. The old beautiful bar that used to have comfortable chairs and couches now had wood tables to serve food at since the restaurant was closed. the food was ok and the menu options poor. Other than that a great experience
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at The Garden City Hotel
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Thank you for your feedback Marc. In Room Dining is available on the weekends as well as Carve45 Market Place open seven days a week and pick up options from our restaurants during hours of operation. King Bar does in fact have premium top shelf liquor. Unfortunately as per your lengthy conversation with the manager and the bartender that evening, the vodka you requested had not yet arrived and we apologize for that. I am sure you can understand that there have been and continue to be many shipping delays. We are pleased the the newer member of our staff provided you with an excellent service experience. Although the name has changed The King Bar by David Burke Restaurant has been a full service restaurant for over two decades serving a beautifully crafted seasonal menu and drinks. We have tables a full bar and a lounge area to accommodate every guest need. We thank you for visiting and hope to welcome you back again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Naomi wrote a review Jul 2022
New York City, New York2 contributions
We booked two rooms for two nights through AMEX’s fine hotel program and I truly wish they would remove it as one. We used the rooms to prep for our wedding being held nearby last Thursday. We only really needed one night however, their check in and out time made it impossible to do that. Despite speaking to multiple people, the front desk suggested we book a night and then a day rate, to which we learned didn’t exist afterward. A day rate is the same as a night. I’ve stayed at 4 and 5 star hotels across many continents and cities and this hotel felt like what I imagine is a 2 masquerading as a 4. The service was abysmal. Our room key kept locking us out to which the front desk person suggested to keep away from phones (we kept them away on the dresser the entire time). Room service is not available at the hotel. However, oddly enough when I requested 7 empty champagne glasses to each room, they were delivered and charged about $3 per glass. Yes, empty glasses. One room never received their glasses. I had a $100 food and beverage credit with each room so when I tried to tell the front desk to put the champagne glasses under that, they told me I had no charges to the room. Of course there’s a charge on my card days later. When we asked to book a small conference room for my party, we were told we could only do so if we hosted the wedding at the hotel. Lastly, and this was the most shocking and upsetting experience about the entire stay, I called the desk one night asking for cutlery. The person responded verbatim “what are you asking for?” I said forks, knives, spoons… disposable if you have. They said “I don’t understand what it is you’re asking.” I said “Do you have silverware downstairs like a fork or knife that I may use in my room?” And they said “I’m sorry I don’t know what it is you need. You’re going to have to call in the morning and ask.” I promise you I’ve never in my entire life experienced a conversation like that at any establishment. The bellhops were the only friendly and good experience. I would never stay here again. My entire wedding party was in disbelief at the service of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at The Garden City Hotel
Responded Jul 15, 2022
To shed some understanding on your comments please allow us to explain. The Front Desk advised you that to check in as early as you needed that you would have to book the day before since check in time is at 4pm as was stated on the confirmation you received and during the booking process. We do not offer "day rates". We apologize that this was misunderstood or not to your liking. Unfortunately, sometimes RFID key cards can get demagnetized by other electronics. With the amount of people in each room it is very possible and likely that this happened regardless of where the keys were. Or perhaps the wrong keys were interchanged between all the activity going in and out of your two rooms. Although IRD does have limited hours we do have Crave45 Market Place where you can order items to your room or pick them up. We would have been more than happy to make any accommodations had we been made aware. It is a standard practice in any full-service establishment that serves food and beverages that a service fee or corkage fee is incurred when you bring your own. This was explained and you did order after acknowledging the charge, so it is perplexing that you are now mentioning this. Had you not wanted to accept this charge all you had to do is decline them. In any case you did not pay for this charge since you used your credit for this and brought in your own liquor. We do have rental fees for event space rooms. These are not offered complimentary and after this was explained you declined to rent the additional space. We did however accommodate all the extra people you had in each room. Rest assured you that everyone knows what cutlery and forks and knives are and this comment is demonstrative of your ill-intentioned review. Perhaps we are not the right fit for you and wish you all the best in finding a hotel that better suites your needs.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marcus Q wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
This hotel hands down is worth every penny. They treat you with respect, cater to your every need, and are hands down super professional. I would totally come back and stay here when I am in town. I loved Anthony at the front desk and Giovanni. They were amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at The Garden City Hotel
Responded Jul 7, 2022
Congratulations on your engagement! Our goal is to ensure that every guest has a memorable experience and we love being part of that experience. Thank you for your accolades on the staff. We will make sure to pass along. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$310 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLong IslandGarden City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
269
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Garden City Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Garden City Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cathedral of the Incarnation (0.2 miles) and The Rose Room (0.01 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Garden City Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Garden City Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Garden City Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Garden City Hotel?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Garden City Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Burger Spot, Red Salt Room by David Burke, and Seventh Street Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Garden City Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Garden City Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Garden City.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Garden City Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Garden City Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Garden City Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.