We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garden City Hotel

Save
Share
45 7th St, Garden City, NY 11530-2890
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$175
View Deal
Preferred Hotels$175
Priceline$175
Booking.com$175
Agoda.com$175
Hotels.com$175
FindHotel$175
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (227)
Dining (52)
Room & Suite (37)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 10/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Garden City Hotel
Updated 10/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Garden City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Garden City Hotel is a veritable home away from home for a distinguished array of locals and visitors. Located in Garden City New York, Long Islands preeminent luxury lodging and event venue, The Garden City Hotel is perfect for business or leisure travel. The hotel features 269 guest rooms including 16 suites and a private Club Level on the 9th Floor. Strategically situated, the hotels entrance is directly across the street from the Long Island Railroad for an easy 40-minute commute into Manhattan and access to all areas of Long Island. With 30,000 square feet of versatile event and meeting space and The Patio Bar (seasonal outdoor extension of the lobby living room), King Bar and Red Salt Room restaurant by David Burke, The Garden City Hotel is one of the most iconic hotels in all of New York. **COVID-19 HOTEL UPDATES** "REST EASY" OUR SANITIZING PROGRAM 1. General detailed cleaning 2. Disinfecting of all high touch points 3. Sanitization with a ULV atomization fogging machine of the entire room 4. Management inspection and final virus eliminating UV light disinfection application 5. Room sealed and tagged Rest Easy 6. Housekeeping contact limited. Guest room refreshes performed every 3rd day of your stay. (Bath supplies and enhanced service graciously provided upon request) 7. CDC advised MERV 13 Filters installed for high quality and efficiency of indoor air filtration system The Fitness Center and Indoor Pool are temporarily closed until further notice.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Executive lounge access
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Croatian and 2 more

Location

Full view
55Somewhat walkable
Grade: 55 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,085Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 706
  • 195
  • 78
  • 46
  • 60
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MFabulous wrote a review Sep 2020
New York City, USA102 contributions98 helpful votes
I have to agree this is a very disappointing hotel. It more resembles a 3 star motel than a 5 star property. When I tried to check in, I was told that the front desk manager was upstairs and could not be checked in by the staff at the desk. I had to wait 30 minutes for the front desk manager to come down to check me in. By that time, there were about 5 other parties standing around to be checked in. When the manager arrived, there wasn't even an apology for the wait. I've never seen anything like this in a 5 star hotel. The rooms are drabby (motel like) with no amenities (no bathrobes, only 1 bath towel and no shampoo). The carpeting in the room was stained and the chair at the work desk was broken. Wifi in the room does not work. I won't be coming back here, that's for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at Garden City Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
I apologize for any delays you may have experienced and that the room was not to your liking. I would like to share that due to the Pandemic several high touch point amenities have been eliminated as recommended by the American Hotel & Lodging Association and the NYS Department of Health. Rest Easy, our sanitizing program, is also in alignment with the AHLA Safe Stay Guidelines. This includes, general detailed cleaning, disinfecting of all high touch points, sanitization with a ULV atomization fogging machine of the entire room, Management inspection and final virus eliminating UV light disinfection application; after which the room is sealed and tagged Rest Easy. Housekeeping contact limited for the safety of our guests and staff. We wish you well on your travels and hope you do give us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Read more
Christina C wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
We held our small wedding celebration at the garden city hotel. Brittany was exceptional and went above and beyond to help me and my family plan our celebration with very short notice. The server Jose and bartender Kyle were very attentive throughout the entire party. Everyone left very happy. I made the right choice choosing the Garden Ciry Hotel for my event. I’ll always look back with fond memories.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at Garden City Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Congratulations and thank you for sharing your special day with us! Weddings are what we do best and we think that Brittany, Jose and Kyle are exceptional too! On behalf of everyone here, we wish you a lifetime of love with many happy memories! We hope to see you soon again.
Read more
MTSZ wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
For the price and reputation of the Garden City Hotel, we were disappointed with the cleanliness of our room. There was a very large brownish/red stain on the carpet. The stain was so large, it was visible from the door.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at Garden City Hotel
Responded Aug 19, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. Our Rest Easy sanitation and cleaning process includes all CDC compliant practices and chemicals. In addition to that we also disinfect all high touch points and sanitize each room with a ULV atomization fogging machine and UV light disinfection application and the room is sealed and tagged Rest Easy. I sincerely apologize for the stain you found on the carpet. In the future we please inform us and so that we may resolve any issue you may have. We hope that you will give us another opportunity.
Read more
AdamGFitness wrote a review Jul 2020
West Hollywood, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
I feel like once upon a time this was a place that was trendy and cool. But that has stopped. The only way to sync your phone into the rooms Bluetooth is if you still have an iPhone 4 or 5. My room came with no tv remote so I had to manually change the channels at the side of the TV. They have a lovely outdoor garden area where you can order food and drinks. I ordered a bourbon in the rocks and it was $18.50. I also live in LA and for the bourbon I ordered that was an obscenely overcharged drink. I honestly don’t know why anyone would come here... There is also an old heavy man asleep all day everyday on the couch in the lobby. Very awkward. I came here for personal reasons and it was the closest hotel to my family’s house and I needed to be here but what a sh*thole. The bummer is they can get away with it because this area of Long Island is late to the game on good hotels. So what I’m saying is if you must stay here you’ll be fine but only if you absolutely must. But why not just stay home if you’re a local and why not just go somewhere out East if you want a getaway. Again, I had to stay here but this was the pits!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at Garden City Hotel
Responded Aug 7, 2020
Thank you for your feedback and apologize that the remote was missing. Had you called down we would have been happy to provide you with another one along with HDMI cables or anything else you may have needed.
Read more
beth l wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions
This hotel came highly recommended. Perhaps-before COVID-the accolades were deserved. However, I had a four day stay where Incried more often than I smiled. I also tried-unsuccessfully-to have the manager speak to me on several occasions. He chose to ignore me. I am a 62 year old woman who just found out weeks ago-due to medical malpractice-that she is dying imminently. I have two cancers, diastolic, acute heart disease & Multiple Sclerosis. I am legally blind in one area & my mobility is compromised. I arrived at the hotel with a walker & cane. The gentleman who checked me in-Tony-represented everything a front desk clerk should be. He was personable, accommodating, kind & helpful. He made the check-in process effortless & had my suitcases sent to my room by a porter. Sadly, the porter just left my cart & me to handle the heavy door & luggage removal by myself. The next morning, my trip took a downward spiral. I had the misfortune to encounter one of the most rude, derogatory & pompous “security guards”/front desk clerks I have ever run into. It was after 7 am; and I inquired as to local restaurants in the area as well as the complimentary coffee I had been advised was included in my stay. I also found out the robe that was mentioned on line was no longer offered to guests due to COVID. The Keurig coffee maker in my room came without any coffee. This same security guard commented that there was a Keurig machine in the lobby of my 2nd floor room. I told him I did not see one. He insisted it was there. I can confirm there is no Keurig machine provided on the 2nd floor of this hotel-only the 3rd. I was also told “we just got in. You will have to wait for coffee”. I also asked about local restaurants in the area. He again rudely told me to wait. The woman also working at the front told me she would print out a list of local restaurants for me-since I am disabled & use a walker & cane to get around. I am unable to drive, since I am legally blind in one eye & have gone fully blind in the past. As someone who has worked in the Hospital industry as both a server, front desk clerk & even a housekeeper when a single mother-and whose father & uncle co-ran a family hotel in the Catskills of N.Y.-I was taken aback by the abrupt, forceful & rude mannerisms of this front desk clerk. The previous night-thanks to the wonderful front desk clerk who had checked me in-I ordered dinner. The man who delivered my hamburger & ice bucket seemed unhappy when I gave him a $7 tip. I though that was quite generous for a $17 hamburger! I live on Social Security disability & a small military stipend. I decided to avoid the front desk staff the next day. There was a very pleasant & informative gentleman who worked the front desk my second afternoon. I had requested to speak to the manager when he was available. He said he would put that request in for me. The overnight security guard was also a very kind, sweet gentleman. I never did find any Keurig coffee except for the decaffeinated options offered in the second floor. When I departed the hotel, I requested help with a cart. I was told by the front desk that she was the only person on staff & she could not help me. The door in the room had already hit my back on several occasions. I started to lift my luggage onto the cart & was in so much physical pain; I had to sit down. I continued to put my luggage on the cart ‘ almost fell-slamming my back into the wall. I started to cry. I have been unable to hold down food due to my severe cancer conditions & I was exhausted from the fire alarm that went off after 11 pm the night before & awoke me. I struggled to get my cart into the hallway & one bag fell to the floor. I cannot bend down now due to edema on my legs from my heart disease. When I finally got downstairs-already in tears-I asked at the front desk why no one could help me with my luggage as they did when I arrived. The same security guard I had been avoiding like the plague-started screaming at me. He literally got into my face telling me “I trues to help you before. You complained about me”. Then he told me to get my car & leave. I reminded him, once again, that I am legally blind in one eye, had gone blind before-and this is no way to speak to a woman who is disabled with two cancers, heart disease, MS & vision loss. I told him I had to order a Lyft. All I wanted to do was leave this hotel after a horrific, threatening stay. If you are disabled, please avoid this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Owner at Garden City Hotel
Responded Aug 7, 2020
Your account of the actual events that occurred are quite distorted. At this time we will not be responding further. We wish you the best in finding a hotel better suited for your needs.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$185 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLong IslandGarden City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
269
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Garden City Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Garden City Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cathedral of the Incarnation (0.2 miles) and The Rose Room (0.01 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Garden City Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Garden City Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Garden City Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Garden City Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Garden City Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Burger Spot, Red Salt Room by David Burke, and Seventh Street Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Garden City Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Garden City Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Garden City.
Are any cleaning services offered at Garden City Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Garden City Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Garden City Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.