We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

White Inn

52 East Main Street, Scenic Route 20, Fredonia, NY 14063-1836
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
White Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 122: English reviews
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Agree completely with “Way overpriced for what you get.”. Great old building. Could be so fabulous. Staff was completely unengaged. The girls were nice when we talked to them but were very busy with their cell phones. We were able to walk to town where we went to Ellicottville Brewing Company. Food was great. Server was FABULOUS!

Helpful?
Thank HaveCarWIllGo
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From what we saw of the options around the heart of Fredonia, The White Inn is probably the best, if not the only option. The lobby is charming and the exterior too has nice appeal. Our room was clean, but quite small. The restaurant has charm as well and the service was friendly, but there were many items on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love old, historic hotels. Given a choice, I'd rather stay at one - even if a little funky - over a modern chain hotel. While the price point was very high for a hotel in the middle of nowhere, I was hoping charm, atmosphere and roominess would offset the cost. Sadly, the White Inn disappoints on many levels. What... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bobjake
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

I love the White Inn. It's a beautiful place. Clean and updated with and excellent staff. Everyone here is super nice and the place is a historical landmark of sorts. Can't say enough good things about it.our room was upgraded at no charge and we had the kind suite which was well, pretty sweet!

Helpful?
Thank Charles F
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016

This was once our favorite place to stay when visiting Suny Fredonia. Our last 2 visits have been serious disappointments. The restaurant was sold to a separate entity some time ago, and the Inn no longer serves a complete breakfast as part of the rate. Now what is offered is plastic warmer coffee and mediocre bagels and bread. More than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
Melanie G, General Manager at White Inn, responded to this review

We would like to take this time to apologize that you had some disappointments with your stay at the Inn. As we do offer daily housekeeping service to our guests, there is no excuse as to why your room was overlooked. This has since been addressed with our housekeeping department and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

Our room was an 80's/90's throwback, but the entrance to the hotel was nice, as was the restaurant downstairs. This place could easily be improved with some new window treatments and by getting rid of some of the terrible, dated wallpaper. Staff was nice and everything seemed clean. Overall I think our room was very overpriced for the way that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ally N
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

The White Inn has always been the place to stay in Fredonia because it is the only place to stay in the Village. My friends and I have stayed at the Inn for 6 of the last 7 years (since 2009). We won't be staying again for many reasons. First of all, the staff never seems to know what is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hidsue
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016

The White Inn needs some love. Big old house turned into a bed/breakfast style hotel. Rooms are extremely dated, carpets old, beds barely comfortable and service lacking. I think I'd have liked to stay here 30 years ago and experienced it in its hey day. There aren't many options for upscale hotels in Fredonia, NY -- i'm not sure why... More 

Helpful?
Thank brett s
Melanie G, Guest Relations Manager at White Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met and your stay was not what you had hoped for. We did however, upgrade you to a King Suite for the same price of $99 that you paid for your room before checking in. The fireplaces in the rooms that have them are for decoration purpose only, they have... More 

Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016 via mobile

In theory this could be a quaint B and B in an older historic building but it lacks charm and shows a lot of wear and tear and lack of real romance. I checked in late there recently, very tired, and was sent to my room, which was occupied by someone else. Upon returning to the desk a great deal... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank dalailamaesque
Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016

My husband and I stay here every year, we really like it!! The Inn staff is very friendly, after check in called our room to see if all was good and it was. The room was clean, stayed 2 nights. We will be back!!

Helpful?
1 Thank kerry k
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fredonia
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Dunkirk
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn
3.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Dunkirk
Clarion Hotel Dunkirk
#3 of 5 in Dunkirk
3.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center
17.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Chautauqua
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
15.1 mi away
Holiday Motel Westfield
Holiday Motel Westfield
#1 of 2 in Westfield
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A lovely boutique historic hotel with 24 rooms all with private baths located in the heart of Fredonia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Inn

Address: 52 East Main Street, Scenic Route 20, Fredonia, NY 14063-1836
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Fredonia
Price Range: $108 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your White Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Fredonia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay